SATA Air Azores

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 122 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Zero help from SATA"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Do not recommend this airline as their service is terrible. We flew Ponta Delgada to Lisbon and had connection in Lisbon with KLM. Ticket was sold with connection. When we tried to check in luggage all the way to Amsterdam it was refused even though SATA does have interline agreement with KLM. As result of it we had to recheck luggage in Lisbon. Flight was delayed, took 25 min. for luggage to arrive in Lisbin, check in desk was closed by the time we arrived to recheck luggage. Missed connecting flight just because luggage was not checked all the way. Zero help from SATA, sent complain letter to them , after more than a month none reaction. Use TAP as they more flexible than SATA.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePonta Delgada to Lisbon
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed with the service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Fake advertisement of the ability to purchase additional baggage. 15 euros per kg. When I had originally purchased the ticket, it was made clear on the website that I would be able to purchase additional baggage. Today I was trying to complete my check-in and purchase the extra luggage however the website did not allow this option, I therefore rung the contact number available on the website to make the purchase and to my surprise was told that I could purchase the extra baggage only once I arrive at the airport, only after questioning the lady on the phone, I was told that in fact I could not take an extra suitcase but only pay for extra kilos in the luggage which I already have (£15 per kilo from the suitcase I already have). Unfortunately, I have already brought and paid for an extra suitcase from London to Lisbon with the expectation that I would be able to take it to Cape Verde. Im highly disappointed with the service I have received thus far, I usually take this trip with TAP however decided to try something new and now I am being charged an additional £450 for a suitcase. This was extremely unclear across the website and now I have no choice but to throw away my suitcase with all my belongings as the price of this was not advertised.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Cape Verde
Date FlownAugust 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight to Boston cancelled"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible airline. Our flight from Ponta Delgada to Boston cancelled due to plane issues in Boston. We were told that we needed to stay in line until they wrote on names and phone number on a piece of paper then told to leave airport and they would contact us when our new flight would be booked. Waited 24hrs without a call had to return to airport to try to get answers and let them know that 2 of the 4 in my group were diabetic without any more medication due to cancellation. They didn’t care at all, I had to plea with them to finally get on the plane Monday night from Saturday original flightt. We were not given any compensation for hotels food etc. Cost us in 2 days of hotels additional $400.00
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePonta Delgada to Boston
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"experience was terrible"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Ponta Delgada to Toronto. The worse flight and airline I have taken in my extensive 43 years of extensive travel. A 2 hour delay became almost a 6 hour delay in total between issues with crew, boarding, gate availability and more. The food was horrible, the crew were rude and the experience was terrible. On top of everything we are still on the plane after landing 45 minutes ago as we taxiing from gate to gate being told that there are issues (on our way to our 3rd gate now). I don’t understand how an airline can be so poorly run and how they coordinate so poorly with it’s crew. I don’t blame SATA for the gate issues (thank you Pearson airport) but everything else has been their fault. It’s 2019, all other airlines are doing better than you. Glad there’s more competition to the Azores. Stay away from SATA
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePonta Delgada to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Do not trust this airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Ponta Delgada to Lisbon. Do not trust this airline. My husband and I booked our trip to the Azores, from there we booked a flight from the Azores to Lisbon Portugal. We booked our flight with SATA airlines. We arrived at the airport to catch our flight to Lisbon only to receive an SMS text saying our flight was cancelled and we were being put on a flight 7 hours later than. Not only did they put us on the last flight of the day to Lisbon but they wouldn’t even put us on any waiting lists for earlier flights. We lost a day of our vacation thanks to SATA. Do not book or put your trust in them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePonta Delgada to Lisbon
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"option to fly middle row economy"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flight cancelled but not told about it until I showed up at the airport even though they had my cell number and email address. I was sent to a very long ground service line staffed by one person. Despite holding a business class ticket out of Delgada to Boston, I was only given the option to fly middle row economy in the back of the plane on a United flight through Newark 25 hrs after my original booking getting in to Boston 30hrs later than my original ticket. They put me up in the 69 euro/ night airport hotel in Porto for 24hrs. Despite asking, no compensation for the difference in price of the business class ticket. I paid an additional $244 to United to upgrade the seat to economy plus as I am very tall and find United economy seats painfully short of leg room.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RoutePorto to Boston via Delgada
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"refuse to give compensation"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Terceira to Lisbon, cancel the flight and refuse to give compensation according to EU law. They refuse to take responsibility and lie to you. Perfect example how an airline should not be run.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTerceira to Lisbon
Date FlownJuly 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"better leg room than some"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I was concerned when I read so many poor reviews but if anything it prepared me for the worst which did not happen. Flight was on time. Check in a breeze. Plane was spotless and better leg room than some airlines. I never expect fine dining on planes so I prepare by bringing some snacks. In saying that - the food was fine. And they refilled your wine or beer free. I also downloaded some movies on my iPad so we had our own entertainment - perfect. Coming back the flight was delayed an hour due to an issue with the incoming Toronto flight so you can’t do anything about that. They contacted me on my phone to advise me if the delay. All n all a very good flight!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Ponta Delgada
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"canceled our tickets"

(France)

Trip Verified | Ponta Delgada to Ile de Terceira. A deplorable company, which canceled our tickets without telling us (not an email, not a message), then resell them and tell us the day of boarding that the plane is full. A contemptuous customer contact, no help, no advice, no refund proposal. This setback has made us miss a match in Terceira and another in Lisbon. Today, after making us lose a fortune in airline tickets, the customer service of SATA turns a deaf ear, but we have not finished with them.
AircraftDH2
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePonta Delgada to Ile de Terceira
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worthless customer service"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Terceira to Ponta Delgada. After a delay on Terceira we were stuck for 7 hours. Our vacation was seven hours short because of the delay. According to European law you should receive compensation for this. After 5 months I only received an email back from the airline with just an excuse. I transferred the further mail changes to the travel agency where we had booked our vacation, but the airline still refuses (after 7 months) to pay for our vacation loss. Worthless customer service that can only be reached by e-mail.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTerceira to Ponta Delgada
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no