Royal Jordanian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 318 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"last time we fly with Royal Jordanian"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Today me and my Mother travelled onboard flight RJ 268 from Montreal to Amman as a transit point to Cairo. Upon our checking in at the airport, we were told by the counter check in agent that we require a PCR test. On their website it's written that transit passengers do not require it, as well Egypt as final destination doesn't require it. They stalled us at the airport and made us go get tested for a cost of 300 dollars. The manager was very rude to us and didn't bother to explain. This is last time we fly with Royal Jordanian.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Cairo via Amman
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"claimed that I did not show them the email"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | I have arranged my Round trip ticket with RJ to USA stopping over at Chicago and back to UAE. When I reached Chicago on the way back the ground staff in ORD wouldn't allow me on the flight blaming it on the PCR test and they asked questions about the email that I have received. The Lady on the counter (R.M) and her manager walked to the room behind the counter acting that they were trying to solve my problem, but it seemed like it’s a well-rehearsed drama. during that time, I called RJ call center in which the gentleman on the other side of the call told me that it’s a full flight and they will not be able to provide me an alternative flight until 27th of Dec. Soon after the manager and her employee walked out from the back room trying to apologies for the situation. I asked since its their mistake if they could offer a hotel at least and arrange a flight for the following day. They rejected and claimed that I did not show them the email of the PCR (in which I did) and it was my fault, and they are not able to provide me a flight for the following day.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Abu Dhabi via Amman
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"aircraft are dirty and uncomfortable"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | This airline does not provide any type of update for passengers on upcoming flights as other airlines do not even a reminder of your flight or the option to do online check in. The website is so bad and provides the very bare minimum in terms of flight information. The aircraft are dirty and uncomfortable, and there were lots of passengers that took their mask off during the entire flight without repercussion. The food was gas station quality at best and I was stuck with a broken screen during the second half of an almost 18 hour journey. The staff were nice, but they have little to work with.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Chicago via Dubai
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"refused to do refund"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Rj cancelled my flight and refused to do refund and provided only one option to use a voucher which I accepted (there were no mention that vouchers are non refundable ) few months later I wanted to use the voucher but there were no RJ trips from Sydney to Cairo (which is the original trip ) then I asked for refund and here comes the problem, they started sending me to different departments and ignoring my refund request then I waited for sometime and tried to book again but still no flights. I when I complained again that all other airlines now have flights on those routes I got a response to call customer service and when calling customer service they tells no flights and you can email customer care, email customer care and they point you to customer service really bad experience. One positive note that all customer service employees were personable but not helpful.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Cairo
Date FlownJuly 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"greatly disappointed"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | Cairo to Doha via Amman. I was greatly disappointed with the rude, unprofessional approach of the staff. I politely asked a staff who has issues the Boarding pass to me, that I need a permission to say goodbye to my wife. The staff rudely replied to me that ‘give me your boarding pass and I will cancel your flight’ . Through the flight, I thought I was the only customer who experienced such rudeness. At Amman, they delayed a flight, changed the one gate to another and the customers are angry and screaming to manifest their anger. By the way, the gate to board is not mentioned on the Boarding pass, you have to check on the screen by yourself. A worse experience, I will never book Royal Jordanian Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCairo to Doha via Amman
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"had to ask for anything/everything"

(United States)

Not Verified | Rude staff, minimal attention, had to ask for anything/everything, ran out of food, poor for entertainment - old movies, and almost had to demand cocktails. If this trip wasn't paid for w/AA airmiles, I would have been seriously annoyed. Even the seats reclined to a bed - you could feel the cross bars. This airline is only for those who have no other choice, shame on RJ! Suggest the official in charge take a British Airways trip and compare. RJ is the "Walmart" of the airline industry.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteChicago to Jordan via Cairo
Date FlownNovember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"staff at check-in would not let him board"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My son and I took PCR tests on Thursday afternoon for a Saturday flight to Dubai from Chicago. His negative PCR result lacked a time of day. Mine did not. The RJ staff at check-in would not let him board despite the fact that this test would have been within 72 hours no matter what time the test was taken on Thursday. We were offered no compensation nor any explanation where the RJ or UAE rules require a time of day stamp on the PCR test. He was unable to come and we lost a few thousand dollars in a series of flights and other ticketed activities.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Dubai via Amman
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Royal Jordanian you are appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Booked Crown class LHR - BKK but got an email from Royal Jordanian advising the flights had been cancelled two months after booking them. Had to call the airline to get a refund as impossible to sort out online via their website. Useless member of staff answering calls who didn't even know the airline had ceased operations to Bangkok. Told I had to email refunds department to apply for a refund - why I had the apply for a refund when they cancelled the flight I don't know. A month later no refund and the fun began with numerous emails and calls needed to chase. Each call worse than the last, I was lied to, told to call the London office and finally told they would process the refund but deduct admin fee's first. They used utter blackmail on the refund, accept the admin fee or get nothing back. In short even though they cancelled the flight I never got a full refund back. Royal Jordanian you are appalling, no morals at all, rude staff and thoroughly backward. I will never book again with you or recommend anyone else to book with you.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Bangkok via Amman
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"sad about the bad experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was traveling from Amman to Los Angeles. This was not a direct flight and it was stopped in London. I was in the waiting lines for close to 2 hours. Luckily I was ahead of time. When I approached the counter, I was asked for my passport and my ticket. I was told that I need to get a Visa from London for Covid. I was trying to explain to the counter staff that I was just going to be in London just for the few hours in the airport and go on another flight from there to Los Angeles as a transit. He was confused and yelling at other workers, asking if I needed a visa for this transit. The process was unprofessional and un-respectable. I had only 25 minutes to get to the flight. I asked if there was any way he could help me out and told me to visit, Passenger locator form and register myself. The internet was very slow and I was being accused for having a poor travel agent since I had not filled out this form. I called the travel agency and they looked at the book and the manual and called Royal Jordanian and informed them that I didn't need to fill out the form for Covid. They said it was only for those planning on staying in London, not for a transit flight. This cost me $100 since I had to redo the form twice. At the end they told me I was right. One of the workers escorted me to the flight. I am surprised why all the workers have no idea what the difference between a transit passenger and a passenger visiting. I was under stress for two and a half hours, and finally when I approached the boarding area to the plane. They asked me about the visa AGAIN! There was not supposed to be an application for a transit passenger. When I sit down in the airplane, I asked for water. They told me they will get me a cup of water before the plane took off. I didn't see the flight attendant again for another 45 minutes. The staff scream to each other. There is no manager or any one who knows what they are doing. Even in London, I checked with American Airlines, and it took me five minutes with a boarding pass. They understood I was just a transit passenger. There is a big difference about the service between AA and RJ. I am very sad about the bad experience. Hopefully they fix things in the future.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmman to London
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not allowed to board the flight"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | Unethical staff. Very bad services, I have spend an hour on checked in. They keep asking my visa, I am Malaysia Passport holder which is electronically approved at Dubai airport and no need to be stamped. I worked in Dubai since early the year and i have showed my employment history. After an hour, they checked in my bag. At the departure, suddenly i was not allowed to board the flight because no return ticket… The staff insist me to buy a ticket to Malaysia? Why i need to do it since i worked at Dubai?! They scammed me to buy a ticket and prevent me from board in. They left me with me trying to retrieve back my bags.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Dubai via Amman
Date FlownOctober 2021
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no