Hong Kong Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 129 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"Cabin crew and service is good"

(China)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Hong Kong. Ticket quite cheap (comparing to an average of HK$2500, this was only HK$1000). New aircraft. Check in at PEK is fast, but boarding is a little messy. Cabin crew and service is good (they may also accept flight logs). Meal was nasty as usual since air cater was done in PEK.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Efficient cabin crew"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Los Angeles via Hong Kong. Efficient cabin crew serviced passengers quickly and met all basic expectations. They might not seem friendly, but they were not rude. I assumed their focus were on speed and getting the job done. Good in-flight entertainment - lots of selections catering to local and international passengers. Plenty of snacks and drinks during flight, self-service style. Hot food were ok.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Los Angeles via Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"enthusiastic, charming and very efficient"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | HX offers very attractive price for business class for destinations such as Okinawa, Bangkok and Denpasar etc. An older ex SIA aircraft was used, the seat was 2x2x2 angle lie flat. For medium to short haul, that's perfectly fine. What impressed me the most are the wonderful set of crew on board, they are enthusiastic, charming and very efficient. For a flight of nearly just 2 hours, they managed to do a full service (welcome drink, hot towel, meal in 2 separate courses). Compared to my recent experience with Thai, who just stacked everything onto one try for a sector slightly longer than from HKG to Okinawa. HX has a good and extensive duty free catalogue. Boarding was very orderly, and parked at aero bridge. Despite the bad rep and recent financial troubles and rumours for shutting down, things seems pretty ok. They have every reason to stay on the market, and I wish them well, I will continue to chose them for Bangkok, Okinawa and Denpasar.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Okinawa
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no record of the service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was returning with my 92 years old dad from Shanghai to Hong Kong, because my dad has difficulty walking long distance, so I called two days ahead for wheelchair service. Upon check in the agent has no record of the service, but said will arrange a wheelchair in 30 mins. When it’s time I went back to the agent and had to wait for another 25 mins before a wheelchair was brought out. After being pushed to the gate, we were told another agent will be back and push my dad onto the plane. Upon boarding we waited but no one showed up. There was another lady on wheelchair and agent told her she needed to be the last one to board the plane. After most people boarded still no one came by, so I asked an agent and she immediately asked a female agent to push my dad in. After arrival to Hong Kong, We were told a wheelchair will be brought to door after everyone departs. Then 10 mins after everyone departed the plane, they told us a wheelchair is here and who wanted to go first (two passengers needed wheelchair). Since my dad was standing he was pushed thru the ramp to terminal right outside the gate. Then they asked my dad to sit on a bench while they went back to push the other lady out. Afterwards they said will check for another wheelchair for my dad while they pushed the lady out to customs. We waited for 40 mins without sign of any wheelchair. An agent was accompanying us and he kept checking. Finally my dad was upset and decided to slowly walked out himself while holding my arm. The agent said wheelchair was handled by another company and they were lack of resources! The flight service was decent but be warned if you have a need for wheelchair service!
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Hong Kong
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rescheduled last minute"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Vancouver. My flight connection was rescheduled last minute from a 2 hour layover into a 12 hour layover and they would not let me use the lounge while I waited. Now I’m stuck without a place to relax. I feel it would be easy for them to accommodate me for their own scheduling mistake, but they do not. Furthermore it seems the lounge staff and help desk do not even have the authority to accommodate me if they wanted to. Won’t fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Vancouver via Hong Kong
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Would definitely do again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Bangkok via Hong Kong. Flew on same exact brand new A-350 (B-LGH) on three of the four legs and on an older A330. The A350 was in the new herring bone configuration, which is more modern but not necessarily more comfortable than the older business cabin on the 330. Check-In ans Boarding efficient and quick, lounges in LAX (International Lounge) and BKK (Miracle Lounge) were mediocre, in HKG (Auris) - Great. Amenities were standard, food was good and it was presented well. Wine selection was limited, and drinks/refills were not offered as much as it should be customary in Business class. Cabin crew was hard working and courteous, maybe a bit inexperienced. My seat (12K) got stuck on both long legs and I had to be reseated. WiFi was only available on the last leg. Overall an excellent experience and great value for the price paid. Would definitely do again.
AircraftA350/A330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLos Angeles to Bangkok via Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"carrier does an okay job"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Other than a low price, I do not find many redeeming qualities. The aircraft were new, but the layout appeared a bit uncoordinated as did the design and color schemes. Service was very green and awkward. I found the food was very mediocre, rather institutional. IFE was lacking in selection. The seats were good and the flight was on time. This carrier does an okay job if it serves your low fare needs.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSan Francisco to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rude people at check in"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | Auckland to Hong Kong. Worst experience with an airline.Very unhelpful and rude people at check in. The women at the check in desk asked us to show her on our ticket what the flight number was, She couldn't read her own airline ticket. On top of that she also missed that the luggage were traveling all the way to Istanbul and messed that up. We'll never fly with Hong Kong Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"waited 24 hrs for our baggage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Our flight from Los Angeles to Hong Kong was delayed for 5 hrs, then Hong Kong to Manila was also delayed. The worst part is when we arrived to Manila, 3 of our baggage didn't arrive, we waited another 24 hrs for our baggage. Never gonna fly this airline again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"a very impressive experience"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong Airlines seems to be going strong, despite of the recent rumours about their financial hardship. For this route HX deployed an Ex SIA A330 plane, with old style angle lie flat seat at 2-2-2 configuration. It's from the 90s but still at acceptable condition. Leg room and seat pitch are acceptable, only it's a bit cramped when in fully flat position. This is ok for short haul flights like this one, so no complaints. Catering and wine selection is average. Beef is a typically difficult type of meat to serve and get right on board. My beef dish was tough, so I ate only half. Despite these short comings, what makes HX shine are their well trained cabin crew, who are courteous and hard working. They are also very pro-active and see to my every need throughout the flight, reminds me of how things used to be in the long gone past. They have a very good on board duty free catalog that offers some unique items. Fast track was given to help speed through immigration process. Priority bags are amongst the first to be delivered. Overall, a very impressive experience.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes