Hong Kong Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 148 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"never fly Hong Kong Airlines again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I tried to use the website to purchase extra baggage allowance, which would have cost about USD $30 for an extra 15kg, but the transaction did not go through. Instead I paid at the counter, and they charged me about USD $250. That was double the price of my ticket, basically tripling my cost. When I complained to the ground team, the attendant just told me "be careful next time." If you punish your customers, its a losing strategy. I could have paid the same amount for Cathay Pacific with none of the bad business practices and attitude. I will never fly Hong Kong Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Pathetic check in and ground service"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Pathetic check in and ground service at Hong Kong airport. Instead of reference, they ask for a ticket number. Ok provided. Check in not allowed. Transferring through Hong Kong from another airline. No problem- I’ll go to the transfer counter. They tell me transfer counter is only for Cathay Pacific. I need to go through immigration and check back in. Aisle K. So I run through the airport, through immigration and customs, back upstairs to check in, get terrible attitude from the check in staff. Staff on the plane are very nice, but come on guys. Get your stuff together. Or at least tell your passengers what to expect. Never again with Hong Kong Airlines
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Bangkok
Date FlownJune 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"The crew were extremely nice"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | The crew were extremely nice, the flight was about 4 hours and 5 hours for the flight back to Hong Kong. The flight was really smooth. Props to the pilots. The food was light and average. The drinks were cool, the in flight entertainment was "out of service" but pretty sure the airline is on a budget. Warning that the ticket only includes 7 kg of luggage to take on the plane, and have to pay individually for luggage in cargo hold. 20 kg round trip more than 800 HKD. Seat was alright, had decent recline, trying to avoid flying with Hong Kong Airlines until maybe a few years later when they earn some money back. Overall above average flight.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Tokyo
Date FlownApril 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"courteous fight attendants"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Punctual departure from Hong Kong and arrival in Taipei. In flight service is rather minimal for an hour and half flight despite light meals are still distributed from the courteous fight attendants. Food are simple and they tasted okay. Seats are average in the class.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Taipei
Date FlownApril 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Quality airport and in-flight service"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | This is definitely one of the underrated airlines. Quality airport and in-flight service for quite a reasonable price. Check in and boarding were smooth. The pilot has maintained adequate communication with us and the cabin crews were very attentive and helpful. The food was not superb but beyond average. The cabin crews kept checking us from time to time to see if we need anything else, which I asked one of the cabin crews for a refill for my cup and she was gladly to do so. Seats are average for its class. In-flight entertainment was great. A good selection of shows to choose from for less than a 3 hour flight. If you want to get the most bang for your buck, I think you can put Hong Kong Airline into the list.
AircraftA333
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Thank you to the flight attendants"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Thank you to the flight attendants of flight hx782 today, Monday the 27th. I left my phone in my seat on my flight and my phone made it to my next gate very quickly because the staff not only were wonderful but they care enough to not just put my phone in a box. I thank you from the bottom of my heart!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManila to Tokyo via Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"they're a just-meeting-expectations"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | The really good thing about Hong Kong Airlines is that their prices are fairly reasonable and it remains that way even till a day or two before departure, which makes last minute flying with them great. Also, they do not charge a premium on one-way tickets (i.e. The cost of a one way ticket is roughly half the cost of a return ticket), so it really helps when flying multiple destinations. It was a disappointment that amenity kits weren’t provided in Business Class and the entire IFE system throughout the aircraft was malfunctioning on the flight. This certainly isn't my first time flying with them, and they're a just-meeting-expectations airline on the whole. Nevertheless, after taking into account their general punctuality record, I appreciate and would still recommend them for their flexibility especially for a last-minute traveler around Asia.
AircraftA330-343
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"referring to strict booking conditions"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Hong Kong. We booked a flight with miles but had to pay # 60x2 EUR for taxes fees. We had to postpone our trip in November due to the events in HK and planned for February in order to stay within the limit of the validity of the ticket. But in February, nothing was possible and I asked for cancellation of both ticket, mentioning that I want to get my 13000 points x2 accredited to our accounts. Result: A credit of 54,04 EUR and very rude answer referring to strict booking conditions without any concern about Covid as if these people ignore the pandemic. Explanation about the credit can be get through the booking link, that not work. I sent a complain letter but after one week no answer.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed and dissatisfied"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Tickets were a mess when leaving Vancouver yto Hong Kong. Ticket lady had to reprint them and fix our seats even though I had previously paid to select my seat. While getting that straightened out, saw a notice that the online entertainment was broken for the 14 he flight. Got on the plane and they didnt offer a paper, magazine or anything with no entertainment. Food was pretty good but when I selected fish and got chicken instead. Asked for alcohol drink they said they had wine and no coffee for food service but later they were giving coffee and beers. Also made everyone sit their chairs up to eat before serving. I found out that they did have alcohol but I had to go to the back for it because if I rang the assistance button they rarely delivered. I was very disappointed and dissatisfied. On a 14 he flight you need entertainment, they apologized for it but then tried to sell us treats from their menu to compliment the non movie movies.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"very good solid service"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Beijing. A very good solid service. The food is not ideal but satisfying. In flight entertainment was not working but was advised of this at check in. The boarding procedure was fast and the captain made adequate announcements keeping us informed at all times. The seat has a good recline pitch and is quite comfortable for the short trip.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Beijing
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes