Hong Kong Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 137 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"no way to clarify booking details"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | We were 17 people traveling together and at Bangkok airport we were asked to pay extra for Myanmar (4 of them) passengers because their name was entered wrong. We have travelled HK Airlines before but this wasn’t a problem then. Myanmar citizens have only one continuous name with no surname or first name and we booked their tickets by entering their name twice in both fields. At the airport we were told that this is wrong and we needed to enter Mister or Miss in the first name field and the surname field to be entered with the whole name. Nowhere does it say this as we entered the name according to our previous experience. The ground staff said she was only working there and she could not do anything but follow orders. I do think if you take on a job you are expected to fulfill your responsibility towards the job and not fill a seat! Calling the Bangkok office is of no use because they do not pick up or keep you waiting and the automatically disconnects. So there is no way to clarify booking details. We went to the Bangkok office before the flight date and they didn’t say that there was an issue with the names then. This is high unacceptable. The flight itself was uncomfortable - the planes both to Hong Kong and to Osaka were small with no personal TV.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Osaka via Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"enough for short-haul"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Taipei. During this 90-minute flight, using the IFE system is enough. The cabin was not much comfortable as the A330s was quite old. The catering service was quite short with a sausage bun but it's enough for short-haul. After touch down in Taipei, taxing was a bit long due to traffic control.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Taipei
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"would recommend them"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Hong Kong. The really good thing about Hong Kong Airlines is that their prices are fairly reasonable and it remains that way even till a day or two before departure, which makes last minute flying with them great. Also, they do not charge a premium on one-way tickets (i.e. The cost of a one way ticket is roughly half the cost of a return ticket), so it really helps when flying multiple destinations. Other than that, it is quite an average airline with average legroom, below-average food, service, average IFE, etc. This certainly isn't my first time flying with them, and they're a just-meeting-expectations airline on the whole. I appreciate and would recommend them for their flexibility especially for a last-minute traveler around Asia.
AircraftA330-343
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Hong Kong
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"they offered me a refund"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I booked a trip with Hong Kong Airlines in March 2019 for travel in December 2019. I booked it this far in advance so that I get decent prices on the flights. My flights were confirmed by Hong Kong Airlines and I booked the hotels at my destination. One month after I booked the trip, Hong Kong Airlines contacted me to let me know that the airline had cancelled our departure flight and that they were bumping us out by one day. Then 3 months prior to departure, Hong Kong Airlines contacted me again to let me know that the airline had now cancelled our return flight and they would be bumping us out by one day for our return flight. I contacted my travel agent to let them know that this was not acceptable as it would cost me more money again to book a hotel for the extra day. After spending hours and days on this, nobody at my travel agency or Hong Kong Airlines was able to assist me. At the end, they offered me a refund. I let them know that the reason I had booked my flights 9 months in advance is because I wanted to ensure that I get decent prices on my flights. Giving me a refund 3 months prior to departure is not going to help me find similar flights on the dates that I needed them on.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Bangkok via Hong Hong
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Getting seats assigned impossible"

(Panama)

Not Verified | Los Angeles to Bangkok via Hong Kong. I purchased a ticked from an online travel agency, and none of the seat selections was respected, even though the receipt showed them as confirmed. For online check-in instead of using the name and locator number, they require the ticket number, which was not on the agency confirmation. The lounge in LAX was mediocre. On the LAX to Hong Kong leg, the hard product (cabin/seat) at first glance looked quite comfortable enough. The soft product was of vastly inferior quality. The seat was dirty, crumbs on the seat, and stains on the armrest. The service was uncoordinated and slow. The bread came after the main course. The drinks were poured once, and any further request for either a refill or more water was only brought after a long wait or a reminder. The wifi was unusable. One could see the network, but there was never a connection. Getting seats assigned on the return portion was impossible at airport checkin on the outbound, and could only be done 24 hours prior to the last segment departure (not 24 hours before the first segment departure, as is standard). A call to their customer service line resulted in "I cannot open the seat map." There is a lot of competition on these routes, and, I'm sorry to say, for the price, this is the worst option.
AircraftA350 / A330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLos Angeles to Bangkok via Hong Kong
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the Cabin Crew were exceptional"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | My son and I were flying from Vancouver to Hong Kong with Hong Kong Airlines. Everything was going extremely well, until my son's stomach started to hurt and started throwing up. The Cabin Crew were extremely nice and they allowed my son to lie down in business class. One of the Cabin Crew was really nice to my son. They asked if he wanted hot water every hour and also gave him some medicine to reduce pain in his stomach. Overall, I think the Cabin Crew were exceptional and they also arranged him a wheelchair.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Vancouver
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"that was the ticket I bought"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | My flight was Sapporo to Bangkok but I had to transfer on Hong Kong about 24 hrs. For first 24hrs I accept to wait because that was the ticket I bought but the airplane was delayed after that. I asked them as I want to get a shower but they say no and give me a voucher for food. The flight still delayed so they gave me a second voucher food which mean nothing to me. I’m disappointed didn’t fix the problem properly to me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Bangkok
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"they changed my seat"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Okinawa to Hong Kong. Very bad service, I reserved aisle seat, but they changed my seat without notifying me. After just boarding the flight, they have not turned on the AC and the cabin is really hot.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOkinawa to Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Cabin crew and service is good"

(China)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Hong Kong. Ticket quite cheap (comparing to an average of HK$2500, this was only HK$1000). New aircraft. Check in at PEK is fast, but boarding is a little messy. Cabin crew and service is good (they may also accept flight logs). Meal was nasty as usual since air cater was done in PEK.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Efficient cabin crew"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Los Angeles via Hong Kong. Efficient cabin crew serviced passengers quickly and met all basic expectations. They might not seem friendly, but they were not rude. I assumed their focus were on speed and getting the job done. Good in-flight entertainment - lots of selections catering to local and international passengers. Plenty of snacks and drinks during flight, self-service style. Hot food were ok.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Los Angeles via Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes