Copa Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 247 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"really average airline"

(Brazil)

Not Verified | Sao Paulo to Panama City. This airline is a really average airline. The 3 other flights I had on this airline were actually ok. But this flight was terrible. São Paulo to Panama City in a Boeing 737! The flight was delayed, the food was awful, the seats were uncomfortable, even though there were some bright sides. The IFE was ok, the staff was always nice and kind, but there was no wi-fi, which was a blow.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSao Paulo to Panama City
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Save yourself the problems"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Quito via Panama. After flying with Copa a few times I experienced something that is the reason for me to never fly with them again. Four of us boarded in SFO with the weighed, sized and approved carry-on items but when transferring in PTY to Quito, we were refused boarding. Because our carry-ons were either fragile or expensive items, gate-check was not an option. Sorry, Christmas gifts for airport workers in Panama City is not something I'm ready to do. We were allowed to board SFO to PTY and a later flight from PTY to UIO but in the meanwhile, we were refused boarding and had to wait almost 5 more hours to get to Quito. At one point a manager told us that if we didn't like the carry-on rules on the Copa website, we should contact them about changing them. Seriously? Never again. For all the goofy stuff that goes on with air travel, this is the first time that our contract was changed on the whim of a gate agent. Save yourself the problems and stick with American flagged airlines to Latin America.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Quito via Panama
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"stuck at airport for 11.5 hours"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Caracas via Panama with Copa Airlines. I have been stuck at the airport for 11.5 hours. Been lied to repeatedly. At their mercy, they haven't handed out blankets or water. I thought that this was a good airline, boy was I wrong.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Caracas via Panama
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service is not helpful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New Orleans to Panama City. Worst airline ever. They never have anyone available to help you with issues with your flight. The customer service line/center is also not helpful. They are seriously the worst ever and I will never book a other flight with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Orleans to Panama City
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I’ll never fly Copa again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Belo Horizonte to Denver via Panamá. Terrible experience! During the recovering process of surgery, I had to travel from Brazil To United States for my father in law’s funeral. I thought I could trust Copa Airlines to do the basic task of safely transport my son and I, with our luggage. I was wrong. Not enough having rude flight attendants on both legs, when I landed in Denver, I was informed that 2 of my 3 checked luggage, were delayed and probably lost! Nobody has a clue about where they are. In addition to my physical and emotional pain, now I have to deal with the lack of consideration from Copa Airlines. I thought airlines were in this world to transport people from point A to B, but Copa is proving to be nothing else but a big headache, disappointment and a waste of money and time. I should be going to support my family at this sad moment, but thanks to this airline, I’ll be shopping for clothes so I can have something to dress during the memorial and funeral. I called the airlines a couple of times and each call took me one-hour waiting; just to say that they don’t even know where my baggage is! I’ll never fly Copa Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBelo Horizonte to Denver via Panamá
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It was the worst experience"

(Brazil)

Not Verified | Miami to Rio de Janeiro via Panama. It was the worst experience. My first experience was in August and my route was MIA - PYT - GIG. But, unfortunately, instead of going to Rio de Janeiro I ended up at an airport in a small town called Cabo Frio for lack of fuel on the airplane. I stayed there for more than one hour inside of the plane. After they had filled the tank, we were able to return to Rio de Janeiro's airport and finally land. The second time wasn’t different, actually it was worse! It was 3 days ago, I did the same route MIA - PYT - GIG. My flight was scheduled to 10pm and land at Panama at 3pm and then RJ at 12am but my flight from Miami to Panama had a delay of 5 hours and I lost my connection to Rio de Janeiro. I waited 1hr ish just for one Copa Airline’s employee arrived, then I waited at least 3h more because was only one employee to assist the whole travelers from that flight. Finally, after some hours they assisted and told me that the next flight to my final destination was just 2 days after because all others flights was full, I complained because I had to work, and they told me that was nothing they could to about it. After, they sent me to a Hotel with a transportation, and they told that in 2 days the same transportation is going to pick me up at 11am and bring me back to the airport. That was nothing I could do, just wait two days. So, before I leave I asked for my luggage, of course, and the Copa Airline’s employee told me that was gone to Rio de Janeiro. Two days after, I was in the hotel lobby at 10:45am waiting for the scheduled transportation, after 1h and nothing, I started ask on the from desk of the hotel and nobody had anything information about it, so I called the Copa Airlines Central and they didn’t have any information about it as well. And on this call, I asked for my luggage again, and they told me the same thing, that was gone to Rio de Janeiro. So I insisted to get more information about the transportation because it was impossible nobody had any information about anything, but it was no good. In this situation I lost 2h more, at this time I just needed go home and I was afraid to lost my flight, so I called a taxi and it took me at least 1h to the airport. When I got there I did my check in and asked one more time about my luggage, and they told me that arrived in Rio de Janeiro 2 days ago. I finally arrived in Rio de Janeiro and went to get my luggage that everyone told that it was arrived, but of course it wasn’t! When I arrived in Rio de Janeiro a Copa Airlines employee told that my luggage wasn’t there and probably (he wasn’t sure) my luggage still in Panama. They asked me to fill out a form with all my information, including my address, so they can send me by mail. I have no idea how many days more it is going to take, but this is unbelievable and very unprofessional, the employee are not prepared for any situation, nobody knows anything.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Rio de Janeiro via Panama
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very bad services"

(United States)

New York to Havana via Panama. Very bad services from this airline, no customer services in the airport or over the phones waste of time and money. I will not recommend this Airline at all. We purchase a ticket and confirmation was sent. We go to the airport and we are not in the Copa airlines system. I will never try to use this company again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Havana via Panama
Date FlownNovember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"certainly fly them again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Guatemala City to Panama City in business. Only drawback was ground services in Guatemala, it took 35 mins for a queue of 5 though staff not unfriendly - only reason for not giving a 10. Boarding was fine and on time. On-board was fantastic, FA called us by name and took our meal order before take-off. Business class has 10 seats in a 2-1 configuration on the plane, so wider and more recline then economy, so felt spacious from the start. For the 2 hour flight had our own FA attending to us and my salmon dish was really tasty, served with warm bread. A decent choice of drinks for a short flight. Never flown Copa before - I was impressed and would certainly fly them again.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteGuatemala City to Panama City
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Excellent airline"

(Costa Rica)

Not Verified | San Jose to Guatemala City. Excellent airline. The flight was from Juan Santamaria Intl. to La Aurora Intl. operated by Copa Airlines Colombia, a flight of 1 hour and 25 minutes. The plane was so cold, also. Meal was a sandwich and a drink, I ordered a Coca-Cola.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose to Guatemala City
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Not baby friendly"

(United States)

Not Verified | Rio de Janeiro to Panama City. Not baby friendly at all. They have a priority lane that goes slower than the regular lane, because everyone goes there, no employee to check who goes where in the lanes, I have never seen that with any other airline. So we ended up waiting on line with a crying baby. We asked someone why it was taking so long, they said they would take us next but didn't! On the plane, an employee got mad because I was walking in the aisle to calm my baby. Worst airline company for babies! The food is not very good and we had a 6 hour flight with no entertainment.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRio de Janeiro to Panama City
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no