Copa Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 255 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"we could not board the plane"

(Argentina)

Not Verified | We had a flight from Panama city to Buenos Aires, Argentina on March 21st at 6pm. Among the passengers, we have two people with cardiac issues that were surprised by the pandemic away from their house. Upon arrival to the airport, they told us that we bought a "ticket" but not a "seat" so we could not board the plane. Then, the airline lied to us saying that the airport in Buenos Aires closed! The consulate had to intervene! You have absolutely no respect for people, who already have a ticket! Never flying with you again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePanamá city to Buenos Aires
Date FlownMarch 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"menu selection is poor,"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Panama City. Old plane. The seats are very wide, the reclining angle is average. It was not convenient to escape, and the flight was almost 8 hours! The menu selection is poor, average food quality
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSan Francisco to Panama City
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"good employee and helpful"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Curacao to Panama. The check in department from Copa airlines at Curaçao, the manager is a good employee and helpful. I had a problem with my ticket (KLM). She helped me with a ticket I had bought from KLM and I had Curacao to Panama and Panama to Amsterdam, the customer service of KLM didnt give me the ticket and no changes passed to Copa. I could not check in and it was a Sunday all closed. When Maggy (manager) at checkin counter from Copa Airlines helped me a new ticket that I could follow mn trip. I want to thank for her help again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCuracao to Panama
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Never flying with Copa again!"

(United States)

Not Verified | Los Angeles to Panama City. Book this airline all the time for my international trips and as a regular customer, I am highly disappointed that they were not able to accommodate my request. I booked a flight for $720 two weeks ago and because of this Corona Virus outbreak, price drops to $590 and Copa aren’t willing to refund the pricing difference due to an event that is out of my control. Never flying with Copa again!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Panama City
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Do not use this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Miami to Panama. I had a reservation for my girlfriend and me for February 15th 2020. We had to cancel due to family problems. No refund but I was told that I could use our tickets before December 2020. When I tried to reschedule flight I was charged close to $700 dollars for the two tickets for the penalty. This is simply daylight highway robbery. Do not use this airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Panama
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"bad customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I purchased a RT ticket from Panama City (PTY) to Santiago, Chile with a return back to PTY and then proceed to Medellin, Colombia; total ticket value was $789.60. I cancelled the trip and kept the value of ticket. I wanted to use the $789.60 value of the ticket to book a flight from PTY to Pereira, Colombia (PEI-Matecana Intl.) one way which has a cost of $191.00. The airline was going to charge me the following fees to reusing the ticket: 1. $150 penalty 2. $ 75 agency fee Total $225.00 I was asked to pay an extra $45.74 on top of the $789.60 original ticket to purchase a $191.00 one way ticket and use to use the value of the ticket to pay for the $225 feed; which would amount to $416.00 ($191 + $225). COPA would keep the $373.76 remaining balance and sell me a new ticket for an additional $45.74. Therefore, the new one way ticket to PEI would have cost me $835.34. This airline is about taking your money; horrible food, old airplanes, uncomfortable seats, and bad customer service.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePanama to Santiago
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Food is much better"

(Colombia)

Trip Verified | Cali to Mexico City via Panama. I used to fly with Avianca, with which I had elite status and a chance of an almost certain upgrade. However, I switched to Copa because of four reasons. Firstly, Avianca became very unreliable; the flights are usually delayed. Second, the immigration in Bogota El Dorado airport - usually, a transit airport for me flying out of Cali - takes ages. Third, the El Dorado Bogota airport often presents heavy delays because of the weather and excessive air traffic (it is a high altitude airport located in the mountains). Fourth, the food became horrible on Avianca. In the case of Copa, none of the above is relevant. All of my flights were on time or arrived earlier. Less than an hour transit in Panama is more than enough: no need to pass through security/immigration check again. I never heard that Panama airport was closed because of the weather. Food is much better in Copa then on Avianca. Seats: you can even choose preferred seats like the emergency exit of first rOw free of charge. The only improvement, which may be necessary: WiFi (none as for now). I would definitely continue using Copa instead of Avianca whenever is possible.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCali to Mexico City via Panama
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Montevideo to New York via Panama City. Copa Airlines was the worst experience, I arrived at the airport an hour before my flight and they told me that my flight was about to leave and that I would have to change my flight, after we asked them please that our flight was in one hour. they attended reluctantly and wanting to charge us $ 200 dollars for our luggage because they were only over 5 pounds, the truth is a horror and customer service in Montevideo are the worst do not have any experience to lead with customers, apart from The person who attended us was upset because we did not want to pay the $ 200 dollars of overweight and only paid $ 40 which is what they charge for extra luggage, we changed the seat without letting us know and placed us in the emergency doors donate the seats They are not declining, very disappointed I do not recommend it and I will never travel with you again.. Copa Airline, fue la peor experiencia, llegue al aeropuerto una hora antes de mi vuelo y me dijeron que mi vuelo ya estaba por partir y que tendria que cambiar mi vuelo, despues de que les pedimos por favor que nuestro vuela era en una hora nos atendieron de mala gana y queriendonos cobrar $200 dolares por nuestro equipaje porque solo estaban pasadas de peso 5 libras, la verdad un horror y el servicio al cliente en Montevideo Uruguay son los peores no tienen ninguna clase de experiencia para lidear con los clientes, aparte como a la pesona que nos atendio se molesto porque no quicimos pagar los $200 dolares de sobre peso y solo pagamos $40 que es lo que cobran por un extra equipaje, nos cambio el asiento sin dejarnos saber y nos coloco en las puertas de emergencia done los asientos no son declinables,muy desepcionada no la recomiendo y nunca mas viajare con ustedes otra vez.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontevideo to New York via Panama City
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"really average airline"

(Brazil)

Not Verified | Sao Paulo to Panama City. This airline is a really average airline. The 3 other flights I had on this airline were actually ok. But this flight was terrible. São Paulo to Panama City in a Boeing 737! The flight was delayed, the food was awful, the seats were uncomfortable, even though there were some bright sides. The IFE was ok, the staff was always nice and kind, but there was no wi-fi, which was a blow.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSao Paulo to Panama City
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Save yourself the problems"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Quito via Panama. After flying with Copa a few times I experienced something that is the reason for me to never fly with them again. Four of us boarded in SFO with the weighed, sized and approved carry-on items but when transferring in PTY to Quito, we were refused boarding. Because our carry-ons were either fragile or expensive items, gate-check was not an option. Sorry, Christmas gifts for airport workers in Panama City is not something I'm ready to do. We were allowed to board SFO to PTY and a later flight from PTY to UIO but in the meanwhile, we were refused boarding and had to wait almost 5 more hours to get to Quito. At one point a manager told us that if we didn't like the carry-on rules on the Copa website, we should contact them about changing them. Seriously? Never again. For all the goofy stuff that goes on with air travel, this is the first time that our contract was changed on the whim of a gate agent. Save yourself the problems and stick with American flagged airlines to Latin America.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Quito via Panama
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no