Brussels Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 520 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"a feeling like taking a local train"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Slow boarding as one lady had to do the check in for an nearly full plane. An old A319. A small and rather decent continental breakfast was served in business class, unfortunately with wooden cutlery and carton cups for coffee or tea; FA were very neutral, the faster you could finish the meal the better. No more small chocolates. Did not receive ice or lemon in soft drink. Not a pleasant flight at all - a feeling like taking a local train.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBrussels to Munich
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"whole exchange was extremely unfriendly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We were flying to my son's wedding. The visas were delayed so had to put departure back two days. Brussels airlines wanted to charge us £1400 - we could get the same trip elsewhere for £600, so asked to cancel the outward trip and retain the return trip. They started by charging us £160 for the both of us, and said they would call us back. They never did. When I called back the price went up to £450 - to keep a flight I had already paid for! I told them I had been quoted £160, but they would not budge. I refused to pay it and bought entirely new flights from another airline. The whole exchange was extremely unfriendly. I will never touch this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Entebbe via Brussels
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"poorest short haul business class in Europe"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Boarding was slow - once again caused by passengers bring on far too many pieces of hand luggage. Flight was done in an old A319 . The service in business was extremely poor - simply scandalous. The meal was a kind of a basket in carton filled with uneatable vegetables - nearly duck weed with a few pieces of chicken. Wooden cutlery , and coffee and tea in carton mugs , bread was not fresh. The only nice item were the 2 chocolates. Brussels is for sure qualifying for the poorest short haul business class in Europe. FA did perform an attitude "ok we must serve you" and as fast as possible - no refill for my drink offered. Shame on you Brussels Airlines !!
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBerlin to Brussels
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"second one gets cancelled automatically"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Flight comfort is okay in Economy Class, no issue there. From now on I will avoid them as much as I can due to the following experience: I booked a return flight BER>BRU>BER, but due to my own mistake the first flight was booked for the evening instead of the morning. As there are no alternatives with BU, I booked a single flight to Brussels with another company and didn't check in for the Brussels Airlines ticket. If you don't check-in into the first flight, the second one gets cancelled automatically if you don't confirm with their services within a day or so. And the heads up is done with a simple email, on a Saturday morning in my case. I ended not being able to check-in with the flight back to Berlin, calls the support and just get brushed off, that I "should have read the fine prints".
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Brussels
Date FlownMarch 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I was being punished for being a vegan"

(United States)

Trip Verified | November 10, 2022 I traveled with Brussels Airlines and Lufthansa from Atlanta to Banjul. Two days prior to my trip, I called their customer service to inform them that I was a vegan and would like to be served vegan meals for my journey. I think I speak for many when I say my expectations are always low when it comes to airlines food. Gone are the days when you use to get decent meals on the air whilst traveling. So I really wasn't expecting much. Just a whatever meal until I get to my destination. Well to my disappointment, on all of my transits flights I was only served one vegan meal, that is unacceptable. On the Atlanta flight to Frankfurt, I was served rice with a few vegetables for dinner, which was fine, no complaints there. Then comes breakfast time, everybody was given their whatever meal and I was told that they only have an apple for me, "the flight attendance exact words to me were, "well you a vegan right, I can only give you the apple." I respectfully said no thank you to her. Everybody else was given their whatever meal which was a sandwich, yogurt and an apple. My flight from Brussels to Banjul, again I was served some nasty looking what looked like beans with some red sauce over couscous and that was all I got. For breakfast, they gave me and everyone else a big waffle which I didn't eat because I suspected there might be eggs in it. These airlines should do better in the ways they treat people. I went online and booked my ticket to fit my travel needs and at a price that was affordable to me. So when I tell you am a vegan, you should make the proper accommodations for me, this was a very long journey with very short transit time. It was very intense running from one gate to another trying to catch the next flight, I expected a better service once am in the plane. I felt like I was being punished for being a vegan and it not right. You must do better next time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Banjul via Frankfurt / Brussels
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"didn't face any big troubles"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | I had heard horror stories about this company. I had four flights with them and didn't face any big troubles. Went to Prague from Faro, with a stop in Brussels. First flight was delayed for a bit more than one hour. It happens, who knows whose fault it was. Second flight was on time. Pretty normal, the whole operation and staff. Good luggage allowance for the rate.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFaro to Prague via Brussels
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"nobody of Brussels Airlines did anything"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | I tried to fly business class from Tel-Aviv to Brussels on Brussels Airlines. I passed security and customs and took a seat at the Dan Loune. At boarding time I went to the gate and boarded the airplane. There I found out that there was already some-one sitting in my chair which was strange. After reporting to the stewardess we found out that I misbooked my ticket. Never happened, but this time it did. As it was a night-flight I should have booked on the day of arrival, not a day before. Even though there were still seats left I was not allowed to fly and was escorted from the plane. From that point nobody of Brussels Airlines did anything. Middle of the night, left alone, no rebooking, no nothing. Only comments 'your flight has left, your problem, goodbye'. Let me be clear: I passed all security, customs, lounge and final boarding with a passed ticket! If anyone would have noticed I could have rebooked on the spot as I had a flexible business ticket! Brussels Airlines did not care about anything. Just kicked off the plane and left alone. Up to now nobody of Brussels Airlines has responded to my filed complaint. Calling is no use, they only state 'just wait our response to your claim'. I fly over 20 times per year but such a handling has never occurred to me. I know the booking error is on my side, but shame on Brussels Airlines in every way. I will never, ever fly them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteTel Aviv to Brussels
Date FlownOctober 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"last time I travel with them"

(Israel)

Not Verified | We arrived at the airport in Israel to check in, some of the hand bags allowed us to get on the plane and some of them claimed that there was no room (actually there was a lot of free space). We got on the plane and there was no air conditioning, when we contacted the crew members they claimed that there is no air conditioning until take off. During the flight, minimum service, we asked for tissues, they bring you one handkerchief, a glass of water, they brought a quarter of a glass. In short, not pleasant at all! We landed in Brussels and suddenly we are informed that the connecting flight has been cancelled. We are waiting for alternative flights and then they inform us that they have a flight but to wait until the next day (it turned out later that that flight was also canceled!). There was someone who did "get" an alternative flight but he got on the plane and was told there was no room! We had a family event that we had to be at and it didn't even matter to them that the happy husband wouldn't make it to the event on time. At some point we asked to go to the management, an official approached us and told us that he would take us there. In practice he took us to passport control and took us out of the airport. Our travel agent arranged a flight for us through London, we actually arrived at the Brussels Airlines station and they ticketed us, after we arrived in London they informed us that Brussels had sent us on a canceled flight and that the connecting flight from London to New York was also cancelled. In short, this is the last time I travel with them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTel Aviv to New York via Brussels
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"crew was very friendly"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | When I saw the airplane with the painting on the plane I was surprised and I love it. Brussels Airlines have a few aircraft painted in a different theme. The boarding was on time, also we landed on time. The plane was really clean, seats comfortable. The crew was very friendly. Only I was a negative surprise that for this 2 hours flight we have to buy even water, but ok that a lot of airlines do that. Overall I was a positive surprise with a friendly crew and a nice flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Brussels
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"poor information from the cockpit"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | The flight caught a lot of delay caused by the arguments about the luggage of one passenger. So after 55 min we were finally in the air. Apologies were said in a way "we must do it" unfriendly FA, poor information from the cockpit. You have to pay for drinks and even in business the drinks are served in carton cups. In Hamburg 40 minutes waiting for the luggage;
AircraftA M319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to Hamburg
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no