Avianca

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 339 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I don't recommend this airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Washington to El Salvador. Both of my husband's flights were delayed, when flying to El Salvador and when flying back to Washington, the flight was delayed by 9 hours going to El Salvador and 4 hours coming back to Washington! In both times the reason according to them was because of technical problems, which I don't believe. I don't recommend this airline
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to El Salvador
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Avianca customer review

(Chile)

Trip Verified | More than 4 months ago we bought plane tickets to fly to Havana from Santiago. The original date was November 16 and return on the 23rd of the same month. We bought for that date because we will participate in a congress. We called to Avianca November 5th and they said to us that they change our ticket unilaterally, the new date is November 17 and returns on the 22nd on the same month. I explained to them that this date did not serve me since I lost two days of course and two days of hotel but they were not able to offer me any solution besides that they do not want to reimburse the money thay we spend for those two days me for the hotel and the course.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSantiago to Havana
Date FlownNovember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancelled our flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Washington to San Salvador. Avianca cancelled our flight no email nothing, even the staff at the front of Avianca say "we just found out now". Also when calling to reschedule I got hung up three times before getting thru then they have an English line but waited 20 min and still got hung up on finally get someone on the phone and did even correct my ticket correctly, then asked for a discount because this is a huge inconvenience and the guy didn't even care. Also got shorted and day and still for the same price ? does not make any sense.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to San Salvador
Date FlownNovember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delayed our flight constantly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Cusco to Lima. Definitely do not recommend flying with Avianca. They delayed our flight constantly for 6 hours, giving us different excuses. Several of us had connecting flights and needed to know if we had to find alternatives, but were told that a plane would be coming soon. The supervisor was conveniently in a meeting during most of this. When several people asked for a refund, they were told that it would not be possible. When we asked if there was any way they could help us by allowing us to fly on another flight or asking another airline for assistance, they said there was nothing they could do. We were given coupons for a free meal while we waited to a small cafe, which ran out of food quickly and ended up resorting to bread with a slice of meat. When I was finally home, I filed 2 complaints because the first time the person on the phone didn't file it correctly. They are willing to give me $22 in credit or some miles with them. That's pretty petty I'd say. I won't ever fly with them again and I would encourage others to avoid them as well.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCusco to Lima
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Very unreliable airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Washington to Managua via El Salvador. Both when flying to Nicaragua and flying back home to Washington the flight was delayed by 5 hours-6 hours each time in El Salvador! The first time flying to Nicaragua no reason was given for the delay other than the flight was canceled. The second time was due to a “delay”. Very unreliable airline and my understanding talking with others is that this is very common.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Managua via El Salvador
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"most unreliable airline"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | Río de Janeiro to Quito via Lima. Have to say, probably the most unreliable airline in the industry. Every time I book with Avianca something ridiculous happens turning a simple flight into a significant emotional event that last days. They just can’t get their stuff together and do the basics. The staff tend to be equally uninformed and tell customers anything to move them along but their info is usually incorrect. Really, I been fooled a few times because they seemed to have better timings than LATAM on some routes, but of what use is the schedule when they couldn’t keep the timings if their lives depended on it. Another important trip blown by Avianca’s incompetence - total disappointment and unreliable.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteRío de Janeiro to Quito via Lima
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"everything moved along efficiently"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | The baby bus A319 was indeed a small plane, but everything moved along efficiently. We boarded on time, were airborne on time and arrived at the destination ahead of schedule. Decent legroom, nothing to rave nor complain about, but more importantly the boarding process was seamless and so was the disembarking process. Baggage arrived with zero issues. Worthwhile noting that tickets were expensive though - US$375 per person for a one-way ticket. Breakfast was a tiny sandwich with juice, certainly a long way from satisfying hunger pangs but still better than having nothing at all. Despite all the negative reviews here, it's one of the only options from La Paz to Lima since it was one of the only two airlines flying this route, apparently, hence just cross your fingers and hope for the best. Do not be afraid after reading all the negativity here. Not all is bad.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLa Paz to Lima
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Really bad service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Bogota to Pereira with Avianca. Seat 1c, no air con for over 45mins. We took off 1.15hrs late. No snacks, drinks weren't offer to me. Staff just spoke to their mates on the place. Really bad service.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBogota to Pereira
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"have nothing to complain about"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bogotá, Colombia to Santa Marta, Colombia. I have nothing to complain about. The flights cost less than half the cost of what comparable flights would cost in the U.S., and the plane and seating seemed pretty standard for coach service. I didn't get a choice of seat with the fare I chose, but I was happy I got a window seat both ways. I'd fly Avianca again without hesitation.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBogotá, Colombia to Santa Marta, Colombia
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"so-called business class"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bogota to San Andres Isla. The only way that I can describe our "business class" or so-called "Clase ejecutiva" experience is what a joke. It is truly unbelievable that an airline like Avianca when there are so many options and competitors on the market treat customers like that. They robbed us in the most stone-faced way. Their business class is nothing more than the first 3 rows of seats being separated by a curtain from the coach class with exactly the same seat 3x3. No In-flight entertainment, no WI-FI, no reading material besides the safety card and I believe, in the longest flight this airline has within Colombia (1:40 min +taxi ), one cup of coffee or soda (not even the whole can) was offered. At my request of another drink or food even to buy, the flight attendant "politely" denied my request and simply told us nothing was available. I wonder why my wife and I along with one more passenger were the only ones on that "exclusive" side of the plane. They definitely got us and looking at the extremely low quantity of people flying on that cabin, it looks that already other people learned their lesson and sprayed the word among others not to pay that step up in price for absolutely nothing in return. Shame on you Avianca. I used to be so proud of flying in your planes back in the day but looking at how low have you become a cheap airline, I am going to make sure myself, family and friends will look elsewhere for our future flight needs.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBogota to San Andres Isla
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no