Avianca

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 452 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"customer service is just terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I took Avianca from Bogota to New York on an overnight flight. The seats did not recline at all, there was no screen on the seat and the legroom was terribly tight (and I’m an average size person - 5’8” and 165 pounds). The plane we took was different from the one advertised when we booked - had I known I wouldn’t have booked with Avianca. Further, the food is terrible - it’s a small sandwich with white cheese and a piece of tomato with water and coffee on the sides no options, no proteins, no other drinks offered. Finally, customer service is just terrible. They differed me to a What’s App chat or a messenger chat (I tried both) and neither even responded to the message. Bottom line is, don’t trust anything you read on their website and keep your expectations at absolute minimum (you won’t have to stand on the flight).
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSao Paulo to Bogota via New York
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"taken the money from my account"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flying to El Salvador and coming back to the LAX round-trip through Avianca. I had paid for my dad's seats and mine and a check in bag through Avianca website which offers you a great discount. I got to the airport the day of my flight thinking everything is paid for and the surprise was that they have no record of my payment but of course Avianca have taken the money from my account. I show the person that was helping me the transaction from my account and he said I need to make a claim and I need to pay for my check in luggage because they have no record, therefore while he was explaining me there is a worker who was very rude and told me with an very bad attitude "we can't do anything for you, the luggage needs to be pay for or go to the website and make a claim or go to the Avianca website there is a return button so you can get your money back, and told the guy that was helping me "if she doesn't wanna pay stop helping her and move the line". I asked for the manager which she told me nicely that I need to make a claim. I have sent 2 emails and I haven't gotten a response yet when I called customer service I could only get my money back through the website I sent one is Spanish and one in English and through this day still waiting, what kind of service is this?
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEl Salvador to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I'll never fly these people2

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked a flight with Avianca. I got confirmation saying my payment was approved with a booking code along with an Eitinerary. I called yesterday May 17th to select my seat only to find out I did not have a ticket. They told me I needed to contact my bank. My bank told me & sent me transaction that my purchase was approved on their end & basically the airline did not do their part. So this whole entire time for a couple months I thought I had a ticket only to find out I did not have a ticket a week before my flight. Needless to say I'll never fly these people. My bank has refunded my money because they see that the Avianca did not do their part. So needless to say I won't be going on this trip now
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Bogata
Date FlownMay 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"I was asked for private information"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | My boyfriend and I were traveling from Bogota to Madrid when we were stopped by the boarding stuff and asked for detailed information about our exit to Madrid. My boyfriend showed them the flight number from Madrid to Paris, which was for 1 day after the current flight and then I was asked for my return tickets to Chile, my home country. I found strange that the staff of an airline asked for that type of information. Anyway, I answered the question, saying that I will travel from Paris to India afterwards. It was then when I was asked for my flight from Paris to India, even though I wasn't flying with them! The excuse they gave to me was that they must ask to any tourist for their return tickets or after destinations. My boyfriend from Ireland wasn't asked at all, whereas I was asked for private information. I went to their website and isn't mentioned that the staff has the authority to ask for further information. For me, was an insult. Also, the stuff was rude, in particular the lady that typed the info on the PC.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBogota to Madrid
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Will never fly with them again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible costumer service. To every question you ask the answer is “I don’t know”. When we got to Costa Rica, my travel companion’s luggage was nowhere to be found. One of the Avianca rep’s gave us the claim form and disappeared. No one showed up to collect the form for over 2 hours so we left. It’s been over a month and still no word on the luggage nor they have compensated for it. Will never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to San Jose
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they still haven't refunded me"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I bought a fully refundable ticket with Avianca on 17th March 2020. On 2nd April 2022, they finally got around to refunding me on 2nd April 2022, but it had been so long since I bought it, that the bank account I bought it in had closed. I sent them proof of this and proof of the fact the bank's clear policy is to return payments to sender when an account is closed but yet they still refuse to refund me. They say the bank needs to send me a letter, which the bank does not do anymore. Avianca refuse to show me evidence that the payment has not been returned like they claim. They are being highly unreasonable requesting a letter regardless of the fact I have sent them a bank closure statement and their policy on returned payments. Their service has been pitiful from start to finish. Don't ever pay more for a refundable ticket as it will take you more than two years battling to get it back. And they still haven't refunded me.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Santa Marta via Bogota
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Total surprise and disappointment!"

(United States)

Not Verified | There are no business cabins or seats at all but the airline sold the tickets as business class. The seats are just premium seats in a small plane. No service at all let alone business class services. Total waste of money. This must be a fraudulent business practice. I have travelled in business class with Turkish Airlines. There must be a standard to verify the seats/services for a business class as Avianca claims. The airline advertises and sells “premium economy class” tickets as “business class”, which is fraudulent and nonprofessional practice. There is no business class boarding either. Total surprise and disappointment! Do not use this airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNew York JFK to São Paulo via Bogota
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"This is a terrible airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is a terrible airline. I have Global Entry, TSA pre-check. When I went to go through that line in Miami I was told there was something wrong with my boarding pass and I had to go stand on the line at the counter and get it fixed - I was never told what was wrong. When I got to the counter they literally shut down every single window to have a 20 minute "morning meeting". They had about 60 people in the line and completely shut the whole operation down for this "meeting". When I got to the counter I was issued a new boarding pass with no explanation as to what the problem was. On my return flight back all I had with me was a carry-on for me and a carry-on for my son. They told me I could pay $100 a bag to carry them on or $80 to check them on the plane! Absolutely nuts but there is nothing you can do as you are at their mercy. The one positive thing I can say is that the flights were on time - nothing else. The food was absolutely terrible and the customer service reps at the counter are rude. When I tried to add bags on line on their website before the flight it was absolutely impossible to do so. To try to call them and talk to a human was also impossible. I will never fly Avianca again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Guatemala
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff aren’t kind or polite at all"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Avianca went from being one of the best airlines in Latin America to the very bottom of the list. The website and the App don’t have enough information or they don’t work, neither in Spanish nor English. Calling to the customer service department or talking to an agent is impossible. The lines are busy no matter what time I called and when you finally communicate with someone, the call gets cut. Tried to communicate with a representative for a week without success. I tried to purchase an extra piece of luggage before a flight and it was impossible, they said they couldn’t sell it to me and I’d have to pay in the airport where the costs is 3 times more expensive. This airline shouldn’t be operating. It’s abusive, their staff aren’t kind or polite at all and the fares aren’t even cheap. What a mess! 
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to New York
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"subject to change and no refund"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They are the only airline to offer nonstop flights to countries south of the US. They have changed their regulations where if you purchase a seat reservation or any additional service they are subject to change and no refund. They change flight schedules with no accommodating alternative. You can purchase a flight for 4 am and they will cancel and reissue a ticket for a flight at 6pm leaving you arriving at your destination past midnight. I purchased my flight and seats well before the time of my travel they issued me a new ticket as part of their schedule change but also gave the seats I purchased to different people putting my issued seat to the rear of the aircraft I called complained they said its all subject to change and availability but those seats should not have been "available" if they were purchased.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSan Pedro Sula to San Salvador
Date FlownMay 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no