Avianca

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 579 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"food really bad both ways"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Unfortunately Avianca is the only airline at the moment flying from London to Colombia direct. The fares are expensive due to having the monopoly of this route. Noticed since the visa requirement for Colombians entering the UK was relaxed they increased the price. The food was really bad both ways and served cold. The USB port was broken and the toilet seat would not stay up. On board they are still enforcing wearing masks when the bulk of the airlines stopped. I really do hope another airline flies to Colombia direct from the UK.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bucaramanga via Bogota
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"No help at all from the airline"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Worst customer service ever. I bought a ticket for my mom, and the airline cancelled my reservation, and I never got notified, yesterday I started to do the check it process and the ticket does not exist, I called and nothing they can do, I tried to buy a new ticket which it's extremely expensive for tourist class. Their website wasn't working so they did a reservation, my mom is now in the airport trying to pay and the second booking does not exist and her flight is today. No help at all from the airline or any of their agents.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBogota to Madrid
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It was a sardine can for a flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Avianca Airlines services are the worst. My husband and I paid for Premium Economy, with extra leg room, that was a joke, the seats are one on top of the other, my knee touched the seat in front of us, and when the passenger in front of us reclined his chair our leg were squeezed. The width of each seat is 14 1/2 inches max. I don’t know what is the deal of selling extra leg room and charged their customers more for something that is not accurate. It was a sardine can for a flight of 11 hrs. The crew members weren’t great either. There is no TV on board, expecting the passengers to watch their own electronic devices, what about older people, some aren’t technology savvy. Awful The food offered was a bread with 1 sliced of ham and 1 sliced of cheese, wasn’t free either. They sell those and even water, all that after charging one arm and a leg for the trip. My husband and I decided not to ever use Avianca again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteAsunción, PY to JFK New York via Bogota, Colombia
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"First and last time traveling this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airline ever! Just when you think it can’t get any worse it does. I paid for my suitcase when I purchased my ticket but because it was a little bigger they made me pay an additional fee as if it were sports equipment. I purchased water in the airport but they would not allow me to bring on plane. They don’t serve anything on the flight. Not even water, no TVs or any form of entertainment. First and last time traveling this airline. Horrible customer service!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBogota to San Juan
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible service. Overcharged for baggage despite published price. Horrible old plane with bad options to get drinks (water, soft drinks) without paying.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIAH to SAL
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"The service is very bad"

(Ecuador)

Trip Verified | Avianca is a low cost airline with normal carrier ticket prices. The service is very bad, not even water in 5 hour flight. They change class of ticket without reimbursement.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteRio de Janeiro to Quito
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible airline and customer service"

(Guatemala)

Trip Verified | Terrible airline and customer service! Tried checking in 24hrs prior the flight. The website did not work for an entire day, and took pictures of it to prove at the counter. The lady at the counter told us "it is what it is" but we had to pay $10 for check in. How in the world are you going to charge for checking in? Plus, we could not add a second luggage from the website, because it was giving errors in each try. I had to pay $250 for a second luggage when in the broken website it said $90 for the second one, just because it was at the counter. Avoid this airline at all costs, even if it is "cheaper" it will cost you more than other ones at the end. Save your money.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Guatemala
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was standing in line to check in and was pulled out of line by n rude female agent. She looked at my ticket and told me that my carry-on bag (that I paid for) and that I would have to pay to check in the bag. I informed her that I had already paid for this bag. She refused to listen and forced me another $120 to check it in. They would not allow me to pay the difference. This is after paying nearly $500 for my tickets. Terrible customer service
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Medellin
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They take your reservation, payment, and just a few hours before the flight they email you saying that there was a problem with the payment and that your reservation has been cancelled. That forces you to renegotiate ticket price rate and tariff ending paying more for your ticket. I had the same twice in a period of 2 months and ended up flying LATAM. Contradictions in the scam: they tell you that there was a payment error to cancel the ticket. But then they tell you that “ticket price will be fully refunded”, so the question is did they had a payment problem or not ? It is just a scam. No calls from representatives, no excuses with strong arguments, just a scam. Avoid this airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBogota to Cucuta
Date FlownDecember 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not recommend this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I'm very disappointed with Avianca Airlines. I have used this airline frequently. I was overcharged for $200.00 dollars and on top my flight was delayed. I will not recommend this airline, to anyone.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteGuatemala to Los Angeles
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no