Avianca

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 306 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"catering is close to non existent"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Bogota. 4.5 hour delay. Plans changed and trip cancelled: Had a Lima to Cuzco on another airline on same day of arrival and lost my ticket. Had to buy another ticket. Still waiting 3 weeks later to see if Avianca will compensate me with anything. On board catering is close to non existant. Late dinner, small portions. Worst of all no breakfast or snack with a good coffee before landing. That was a 7 hour flight! Inadmissible. Can't make up my mind yet if I should give them another chance. It will depend if they compensate for the extra money I had to spend to fly to the sacred valley.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Bogota
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"pleased with the flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Washington to San Salvador. I was very pleased with the flight. Since we arrived the check in was quick and pleasent. The staff at check in were very friendly and helpful. The flight attendants were all very professional and attentive. It was the best experience .
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to San Salvador
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"The worst airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Medellin to New York. The worst airline. The staff very disorganized and unkind. The old planes and the entertainment equipment (tvs) damaged. The airline lies to its customers and fail their problems. Do yourself a fly with another airline. Lo peor cómo aerolínea. El personal muy desorganizado y poco gentil. Los aviones viejos y los equipos de entretenimiento ( tvs) dañados. La aerolínea miente a sus clientes y fallan a sus problemas. Hágase un favor viaje con otra línea.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to New York
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"my worst mid-haul flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Bogota to Rio de Janeiro. This is my worst mid-haul flight, the seat were terrible for Business Class! Meal was good, Flight Attendants were helpful.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBogota to Rio de Janeiro
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Cabin crew were professional"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Mexico City to Bogota. The plane is small but it's okay for 4 hrs flight. Cabin crew were professional. The only problem was Check-In Process and Boarding at MEX. There's no benefits as Star Alliance Gold/ Business Class Passenger. People pass the queue as they want and the staff is just stay like a statue, I didn't know it's the Airport's fault or Avianca's flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMexico City to Bogota
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York Jfk to Lima via Bogota / Medellin. Worst experience and worst customer service. I bought my tickets three months in advance. Finally the day of my flight arrives and just got an email (two hours before my flight) saying sorry for the inconvenience your itinerary has changed. They added another stop to my flight plus extra time. I was supposed to arrive to Lima at 9:30 am. Now it is scheduled to arrive at 5:49 pm. I called customer service. Please update your phone numbers. They have several that do not work after finally finding one that actually worked, I was put on hold for 20 mins until they hang up on me. This is ridiculous. I am told at the counter they are not responsible about what happens in Bogota and there is nothing they can do. Does this company expects their customers to be ok with whatever change they make last minute? With no excuse? Unacceptable! Will never use this airline anymore.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York Jfk to Lima
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Service was excellent"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Medellin to Miami. Had my doubts about Avianca given the poor reviews posted on this site. Compared to European business class, they have a proper 2+2 set up with recline-able seats and headrests. Boarding was efficient for business class and Star Alliance Gold Members and families. Service was excellent with better than average three course meals with pre-take off 'champagne'. FAs were attentive and both legs were early/on time. IFE screens could do with an upgrade as their definition was blurred Special business class ticket meant that price wasn't that much more than standard economy. One minor niggle is it seems impossible to get anything resembling an invoice from their internet ales.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMedellin to Miami
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"disgrace of a company"

(United States)

Not Verified | Boston to Santiago via Bogota. Worst airline customer service I’ve ever experienced. 14 hour delay caused us to miss a second flight, and the airline did nothing but set us up in a cheap, run down hotel in the bad part of Bogota. Absolute disgrace of a company, I’d rather drive across the continents than give them my money again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Santiago via Bogota
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed with the service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | El Salvador to Washington. Totally disappointed. The Avianca lady before entering the gate for departure was disgustingly rude! She did not greet me and just shouted “your boarding ticket!” What kind of friendliness is that? Also, the day I arrived I did not know where to go so I asked for help. Both the ladies standing checking the boarding tickets refused to acknowledge me saying “excuse me” (trying to get their attention) and kept on talking instead. When they finally decided to answer me they gave me the wrong instructions (yes I got even more lost instead) it was just a way for them to get rid of me. My whole family has used Avianca but at this point now I am disappointed with the service, and will double think before flying with Avianca again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteEl Salvador to Washington
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"attendants seemed friendly"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Lima to Cusco. I was happy to see that the tour agency that booked all my tickets booked me on Avianca, as they were a star alliance member. This meant I could use my Royal Orchid Plus Gold privileges. Our whole itinerary was from Buenos Aires all the way to New York City, making stops along the way. One thing that made me wonder straight from check in was the matter of people trying to cut queues by going to the Business class line. I went up showing my gold bag tag (I had lost my wallet hence my gold card) and the guy still asked for my name. This happened at two of the three airports I had to check in at. Star Alliance lounge in Buenos Aires is crowded not because of lack of capacity, but because too many priority pass users were getting in. When I went there they had stopped admitting priority pass but thankfully my star gold status was enough to admit me plus my mum. Due to the amount of people, I could not connect to the lounge wifi. That is quite a bummer for any lounge. Boarding was organised from A to F, with star gold getting group B. I actually liked this more than boarding with business class passengers as you can board in a more orderly fashion. I settled in seat 7K, but as two rows behind us were empty, i opted to sit by myself and give my mum an empty seat next to her for more comfort. The seat is similar to Thai airways in two aspects; it had massive legroom and a footrest. Something much appreciated on a long flight. After takeoff, service didn’t commence until halfway through the flight, and the flight attendants explained this was due to the turbulent weather while flying over the Andes. At least I ate in the lounge. A paper box served on a flimsy tray with a yoghurt, and inside the box was a potato cake which seemed to be too salty. Food on Avianca seemed to be of okay quality, not comparable to Thai airways or ANA, all of which are in the same alliance. The paper box makes the food look cheap but for environmental quality it seemed okay. We had to go to re check our bags in Lima for our flight to Cusco, and that flight was uneventful. For our flight from Cusco to New York via Bogotá, I asked for an upgrade at check in. This was met with a very quick yes. Unfortunately there was no lounge either in Lima or Cusco. Lima is a hub airport so why is there no lounge!? The boarding pass still showed I was in economy, but at the gate they said “you were already upgraded at checkin, here are your new seat numbers.” This was an older business class and I found that the seat was merely just wider and had better service. The food was still so-so but I finished as I was hungry. Apparently for our overnight in Bogotá, we found out our luggage didn’t make it to Bogotá, due to weight constraints. They arrived four hours later after being rerouted. Re-checking the bags in Bogotá, I was put first on the standby upgrade list. I wasn’t upgraded as all business class passengers checked in. The Avianca lounge left a lot to be desired. The Star Alliance Lounge finder with my filters put on indicated I could use the diamond lounge, but I was denied access and directed to the gold lounge. I was wondering why the New York flight is frequently delayed upwards of an hour, and I found out that they do strip searches at the gate. But this was to select passengers and they delay the entire flight. This was more or less the same story, and flight attendants seemed friendly. Given the choice of alliance, I wouldn’t mind flying Avianca again that much.
AircraftA330-200, A320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLima to Cusco
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes