Avianca

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 329 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"nice for domestic short-haul"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Short-haul flight, good service. Only problem a short delay for take-off caused by ground traffic. Overall nice for a domestic short-haul flight. Will choose it again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBogota to Medellin
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"do not fly with this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I took a flight from Buenos Aires to Miami with a lay over in Lima. I had never been mistreated this way, the on board personal are very rude. You are not getting anything for free your paying full market fare. Please take my advice and do not fly with this airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBuenos Aires to Lima
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they are having problems"

(Colombia)

Trip Verified | Bogota to Munich. This is the worst airline service I have taken in all my life. Most of the flights are delayed for hours on end for no apparent reason, customer service offer no help, are often rude to customers, and the service at the airport is very unfriendly. I have taken about 10 Avianca flights this year, nationally and internationally, and I have had problems with 8 of them. Apparently there is shortage of planes by the airline and they are having problems worldwide, but they are solving the problems by affecting the customers. Today they decided to inform me that my flight, leaving later tonight from Bogota to Munich, would be 4 hours delayed, with no reason given. This has affected all my travel arrangements and costed me a lot of money to fix.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBogota to Munich
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"a great flight experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Bogota. We had a great flight experience. Boarded on time. Departed on time. Comfortable seats with full lay down. Extremely friendly, good service. Very nice amenity kit. Flight was AV 89. Definitely would fly them again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLos Angeles to Bogota
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"the crew was very kind and friendly"

(Colombia)

Not Verified | My flight was from Bogotá to Madrid in business class with Avianca. I was the last one to board, but the crew was very kind and friendly. My seat was slightly broken in the bottom and there was a paper in it when I boarded the airplane. Also, the crew offered me chocolate ice cream for dessert but sadly, later they said they had run out of it. In pite of that, I asked to watch the sunrise and they took me to a place just behind the control cabin to watch it in a window that seemed specially designed for that.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBogotá to Madrid
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"didn’t receive the ticket"

(Panama)

Not Verified | Medellin to Barcelona. Only 2 seats were available at that overseas flight. We bought them online. We should received electronic ticket before 8 hours according to the reservation conditions. We didn’t receive anything. We called several times the call center and when to a sales office. First time, Call center told us to wait 18 hours. After that time we didn’t receive the electronic ticket. Sales office couldn’t tell us the status. It was not possible to buy another ticket in another flight as they still were validating. We called again call center and told us that we should wait until the day of the flight to know if the payment when through (we complained as this is out contract conditions). Finally, 24 hours later they cancelled the booking. They, even, didn’t try to process the payment as the bank didn't send any failed attempt (as they usually send when there is any error). Finally, we checked for the same tickets and they were 1200 USD more expensive. We bought a different one for 600 USD more expensive. Obviously, they wanted to make sure to sell those tickets and to sell them to the higher price.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Barcelona
Date FlownAugust 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"noticed a decline in the quality"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Salvador to San Francisco. I have flown Avianca many times and have noticed a decline in the quality of their services. I usually travel business class from SFO-SAL-SFO - the last time on August 11 of this year. On the SFO/SAL leg of my trip I took AV 565 (an early morning flight) in business class and, while the crew was attentive and the seat relatively comfortable, the food was atrocious. We had no choice of meal as they ran out of a second option (there were only 12 business class passengers) and wound up eating some sort of a omelette burrito stuffed with bacon which was just inedible. I have had better meals in Economy. Once we landed, my bags took for ever to be delivered at the carousel even though they had the "priority" tag (I saw plenty of other bags from the same flight without the priority tags before mine turned up). On the SAL/SFO leg of my trip (AV 560), the plane - an A320- had old recliner seats (the sort one sees in domestic first class for 1 hour trips). The entertainment selection lacked personalized screens AND the music channels were not operational - this was a long 5 and half hours flight, so the combination of a relatively old and uncomfortable seat, paucity of choice for movies and no music at all made it for a particularly boring time. I might add that the food offering was also mediocre: we were offered some nuts with a drink prior to the meal (not warmed up, either) which consisted of a choice of chicken, beef or vegetarian selection. Thie beef was tough and flavorless (no matter how much salt and pepper I poured on it) and was followed by a mediocre mousse-like dessert. Again, the experience was salvaged by the attentive and nice flight attendant which, on both legs, were the only positive aspects of the experience aboard Avianca. i would not recommend that anyone spend the 60,000 miles required for a round trip from SF0/SAL on Avianca. One barely gets the sort of service expected during a short domestic hop; old seats lacking the bells and whistles of modern business class, horrible food and indifferent luggage handling for priority tagged bags. Not worth either the $$ or the miles.
Aircraftairbus 320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSan Salvador to San Francisco
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Both flights were delayed"

(Colombia)

Not Verified | Took flights with Avianca from Cali to Bogotá to Valledupar. Both flights were delayed by more than 1h,r lounge in Bogotá ran out of food quickly at around 13:30. Very basic food and beverages. In short, I only take Avianca if there's no other choice, and from Cali that's usually the case. Flights are ridiculously expensive as well.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteValledupar to Bogota via Cali
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"kindness of Avianca crew member "

(United States)

Not Verified | I am very grateful for the kindness of an Avianca crew member on the ground in the Havana airport who helped me save an artwork that I had purchased in Cuba but that was confiscated by the customs personnel at Havana airport. This man would not let me go back to the departure gate to check my carry-on bag so that I would not have to discard the artwork even though there was lots of time before our flight was to depart. I asked the Avianca staff person at the gate for help, and she went to customs, got the artwork out of the trash, had me put it in my carry-on, and helped me check in the bag. She went out of her way to help me. Unfortunately, the piece had been broken when it was tossed out, but I am hoping I can fix it. Also, at SFO I missed the last subway train home because it took 90 minutes for our luggage to be unloaded, but that's not Avianca's fault - it's because SFO makes them park very far away from the terminal.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHavana to San Francisco via Bogota
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Horrible staff"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bogota to New York. Horrible staff, I was sick with a doctors note and was ordered to lay down. Flight attendant would pester me to move and after a bit of arguing she responded with “Ok, I’ll Let you stay but I won’t give you food.” And I stayed the whole 7 hour flight without food or drinks. As well as they handled my luggage very poorly.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBogota to New York
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no