Avianca

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 417 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"zero refreshments or entertainment"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Decent on time flight that was nearly full. However zero refreshments or entertainment for a 2 hour flight. Flight attendants were busy gossiping much of the flight vs helping those on board.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBogotá to Leticia
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"unpleasant and horrific experience"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Avianca by far is the worst airline I have traveled with. I had the most unpleasant and horrific experience with regards to quality, standards, hygiene, and customer service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Bogotá
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they blind you with the price"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My flight cost $167 to book and my 1st checked bag cost 83 dollars. This is truly ridiculous. I should have read the fine print but just like Spirit, they blind you with the price.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBogota to Santa Domingo
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"fly with any other airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airline owed me a credit due to a cancelled flight on their behalf. I tried to rebook a flight months later & wanted to use my $499 of credit which decreased to $307 magically. It took 5 days! For someone to even help me get my credit which had to be uploaded onto their special UATP card - once I had the credit onto this card & tried to purchase my flight it didn’t process. Once again I’m on the phone for hours, I got hung up multiple times & transferred to at least 6 people to “help” me. I was so frustrated why they couldn’t just do it themselves & do the booking for me since they see I have a credit! They then told me I had to convert my USA page to the Colombian page to that currency for the credit to work? So confusing. After days of trying they told me to try a different browser to purchase my flight using my UATP card so I did & it worked finally UNTIL the site basically robbed my credit money & I wasn’t able to purchase my flight because the page crashed! I called up again & all they can tell me was they’d file a claim that they’d get back to me in a few days like what a joke. After 6 days that was all they can do for me & from waiting so long the flight price increased so much I had to end up paying out of pocket for the flight. Never again will I go through this airline they are beyond untrained with customer service & can’t manage their own tasks or even know how to work their systems. That credit was owed to me & now it’s gone when it was originally $499 they decreased it to $307 which I feel was confusing since I knew how much money I was owed. Please fly with any other airline if you want to fly to Colombia because you will have a headache dealing with them honestly.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Bogota
Date FlownMarch 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Overall a horrific experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Charges and more charges, money hungry airline. Not worth the stress or money to fly with Avianca. Luggage cost was much more than what was stated initially when 6 tickets where bought, a charge of $80 per luggage. Checking at airport had another $20 charge per person, despite Avianca check in Website webpage not working. The charges kept racking up. The airline front desk person was rude, unprofessional, and not helpful at all. We felt pushed aside, undervalued as a customer. Overall a horrific experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Guatemala
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Think twice before booking with Avianca"

(United States)

Not Verified | Booked a trip to Colombia with my family on business class. The experience started at the counter. The placed somebody training to take care of the business class line. When I asked about the lounge, she said that no lounge was available. She sent me to the food court if I needed something to eat. Fortunately, I checked with the Star Alliance lounge, and I was able to get in. Avianca decided to board the plane from the back. They claim it is due to Covid (even though business class is in the front of the plane, forward from the door). In a 7 hour flight, we only got one drink (water, soda, of juice, no alcohol) and a small box with a disgusting burrito and stale chips. What is worst, my seat was loose and every time I moved forward the seat will come forward with me. The entertainment was a joke. Very old movies. No TV options, no music options. Think twice before booking with Avianca. It used to be a great airline with fantastic service, but it is no longer the case. We will not be booking any trips on Avianca any more.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBogota to Los Angeles
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly with this airline again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrible experience. I will never fly with this airline again. I paid to upgrade my seat to first class thinking it would make the trip more enjoyable. It did not. My seat was old, uncomfortable and broken. My seat was kicked from the person behind me (in the next class because the class was only divided by a curtain). My return flight did not have inflight entertainment (4 hour flight). The laughable excuse for food that was served was inedible.  Nothing but a gluten filled box: pretzels, cookie and some type of meat (did not look cooked) and cheese in a croissant. I am allergic to gluten and was unable to eat anything. The fact that they also don't serve alcohol makes you wonder why anyone would fly with this airline, let alone pay to upgrade for an experience such as this.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNew York to San Jose
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"told us our booking was cancelled"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | We booked a flight and then try to request a change via their WhatsApp assistant. The assistant told us that it was in learning mode and couldn’t complete our request, from there we spend hours on the phone with their call center that was unable to make the change so we decide to keep the initial flight for which we had a ticket and that was paid for. At the airport they told us our booking was cancelled. I didn't receive any email notification nor a reimbursement for this. Their client service is really bad as they just repeat things like robots without being from any help.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Santa Marta
Date FlownDecember 2021
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"refused to make any changes"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked flights to San Jose Costa Rica for July 2022 but my wife's work place canceled all vacations for July/August 2022 due to staff shortage. Tried to make changes on the website kept crashing lousy website though the app didn't work also. Two hours on the phone finally got to talk to an rude agent refused to make any changes or give us refund. I tried to reason by paying more for the trouble still refused. the cost of $837 gone. she canceled though knowing they can resell the seats and still no refund due to the conditions of purchase. Other airlines were a lot more reasonable.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to San Jose
Date FlownDecember 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never flying with Avianca again"

(Colombia)

Trip Verified | I had to reschedule my whole flight and all the tours I had plan because in trying to save time Due to the high traffic in Cali Colombia I attempted to sign in through the app. The app would not let me check in 2 hours before my flight! When I did it on line, same issue. So i tried the WhatsApp Avianca assistant that let me to the same online app that wouldn’t let me check in. When i showed up to the airport not only did i lose time explaining to them what was going on but i lost a ton of money for missing my flight due to Avianca's faulty check in process. After showing them so they could see with their own eyes what had happened, instead of just putting me on another flight for free to compensate for all the issues they charged me a “penalty” and the penalty cost literally the same price as my previous ticket. And they charged me to check in after having showed them the issues I had with their app. At this point I had to assume it was a scam. If it weren’t for the fact that I already have my flight booked to leave (and it’s non refundable of course) I would guarantee never flying with Avianca again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCali to Cartagena
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no