airBaltic

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 267 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Low cost airline"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Low cost airline. I asked for some water to take medication and the first answer from the crew was that I had to buy one, after complaining that this was a necessity for me to take a pill I was told I could get some free water but that it was not good to drink. What kind of airline is this?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVilnius to Munich
Date FlownJuly 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"One of my favourite airlines"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | HEL-RIGA-HEL. Flights on time. Ticket prices affordable. New and clean aircraft. Flight attendants not so smiling but effective. One of my favourite airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Helsinki
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"Flight got canceled"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified |   Flight got canceled. I called airline no one informed about my possibilities for alternative flight. Then day time got notification that alternative flight to Riga via Stockholm will be delayed by 2 hours so had to call again requesting alternative flight via Helsinki. Eventually final flight got delayed by another one hour - common practice as in order to avoid paying compensation they await other passengers with connections.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Riga
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"delayed our baggage to Vilnius twice"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | AirBaltic delayed our baggage to Vilnius twice (in August and in November). And since Vilnius is not our final destination (we have to take a bus to cross the Schengen border to get to my hometown) we either have to stay and wait for the suitcases to arrive hopefully next day or arrange a suitcase delivery by ourselves. AirBaltic neither compensates any expenses we suffer from their incompetence nor delivers the suitcases to our hometown. Worst service onboard. Vilnius airport Lost & found section is always jammed with people claiming their luggage and suitcases waiting for delivery or pick up. As far as I can see it AirBaltic can forget a suitcase not only in transfer flights but in direct flights to Vilnius. I can't say any good words about KLM as well: we bought tickets from KLM site and expected them to reimburse expenses that we had since AirBaltic was their code sharing partner and European legislation allows us to choose which company to complain to (not only the Montreal convention). But the opened ticket for complaint was promptly closed with "apply to Air Baltic" and no possibility to object or re-submit the complaint with more details.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Vilnius via Amsterdam
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a freezing boarding process"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We were bused to the plane in -18°C/-2°F weather instead of using the tunnel, leaving us outside for at least 10 minutes. Despite Vilnius airport not being busy, this airline opted for a freezing boarding process instead of the standard EU procedure. Although I paid for extra luggage online the day before with receipts, AirBaltic insisted on an additional payment, claiming they couldn't see the initial one, despite sending a receipt the day before. Additionally, the airline doesn't offer complimentary water.
AircraftA220
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVilnius to Amsterdam
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"refusing to send the stroller back"

(Latvia)

Not Verified | Went on holiday with my husband and our 1 year old. We checked the stroller at the gate but turns out you can't pick it up at the gate at Schiphol so we went to baggage claim (half an airport away) where only the top seat of the stroller arrived. Called and wrote AirBaltic for support, followed all the instructions, finally after a ton of investigative work on my part found out that both parts have been sent back to Riga (3 weeks after the flight). Now AirBaltic is refusing to send the stroller back to me and requires me to come pick it up at the airport... with a baby...without a stroller. Don't get me wrong, I'm happy the stroller has been found, but this is not a good policy. No apology from the airline for the inconvenience of course.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Belgrade via Amsterdam
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"mishandled baggage and compensation policy"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | I am writing this review to share my deeply unsatisfactory experience with AirBaltic regarding mishandled baggage and the compensation policy they offer. During a recent trip, my wife and I faced a series of mishaps with AirBaltic. Despite correctly registering our baggage, it was not delivered as expected. Our baggage only arrived 22 days after it was “mishandled” causing significant inconvenience. The subsequent lack of accurate information and delayed communication compounded our frustrations. To make matters worse, the compensation offered by AirBaltic amounted to a mere 40 Euros per passenger, irrespective of the extent of the inconvenience caused. It is disheartening to note that AirBaltic's compensation policy, as evidenced by my experience, remains fixed at a total of 40 Euros per passenger regardless of the circumstances or the expenses incurred due to their mishandling. The company's failure to effectively implement the "all possible measures" required by the Montreal Convention raises serious concerns about their commitment to passenger satisfaction and adherence to international aviation standards. It is essential to be aware of the policies and standards upheld by airlines to make informed decisions and ensure a stress-free travel experience. Please learn from my experience and consider other options to avoid potential disappointment and inconvenience during your travels. Safe travels, and may your journey be far smoother than mine.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Tallinn
Date FlownJune 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"No service, narrow seats"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Worst airline ever. No service, narrow seats, delay, customer service very unfriendly or not willing to listen. Worst is that they think they are ood… likely just asked own staff and their family
AircraftA220
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Tallinn
Date FlownJuly 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The airline to avoid"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | I have to fly often on ZRH-BEG-ZRH route. Unfortunately, Swiss has outsourced this route to airBaltic. If I had a choice I would never fly this airline again. The flight BEG-ZRH is never less than 1h late, usually more. Once they couldn't land in BEG for some invented reason and took us to Zagreb instead (it's less than 400 km away). After landing in Zagreb, they somehow "decided" that the best course of action was to take us back to Zurich and let us all call the call centre tomorrow and figure out how to get back to Belgrade. Passengers had to fight the crew and especially the rude pilot to be let off the plane in Zagreb and to be able to find their own way to Belgrade (again, less than 400 km away, so there are options like rent a car which are completely viable). Switzerland and Croatia are both within Schengen so there are no immigration issues, it was just the flight deck not wanting to deal with stuff and wanting to take the easy way out. The only positive things I can say is that the crew is usually nice and friendly and that the planes on this route are brand new A220 which are pretty comfortable and nice. But that's not enough. The airline to avoid at all costs!
AircraftA220
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBelgrade to Zurich
Date FlownAugust 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"it is my favorite airline"

(Latvia)

Trip Verified | I have flown with them 30+ times. Honestly, it is my favorite airline. The sweet and sour chicken is amazing. It is very clean! Did not have any problem with the staff on this flight or any other flights. 10/10 airline
AircraftA220-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Frankfurt
Date FlownAugust 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes