airBaltic

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 224 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"humiliating flight experience"

(Latvia)

Trip Verified | Riga to Paris. I just had the most humiliating flight experience. The ground service team (gate control) before letting people on board is just terrible. First of all everyone got their hand luggage checked with a ride attitude, and if you even had 100 grams over the absurd 8 kg limit, you must pay 60 euros to get in. that 8 kg limit also includes anything you bought in the duty free store in the airport. Now to my experience flying with my already small violin case. As in most airlines, musicians, most specifically violin players are allowed to bring their violin case on board without extra charge, because if you can't place it in the overhead locker (if it is already full because of other people luggage) then it just easily goes under the seat. That being said, the flight was half empty. And the boarding gate control knew it. Nonetheless, they looked for every opportunity to cash money in. But with music instruments is a whole another thing. You see, we cannot allow them to be placed in the hold. There are countless examples the one of a kind and highly valuable wooden music instruments that get placed in the hold are crushed or beyond repair, because of the temperature and the their fragile state. That's why also oversized music instruments, such as cellos, can be taken on board. The most horrible thing is that the gate control had the audacity to demand me payment without even letting me see the rules about music instruments. And they demanded that the already small violin case is being taken in to the hold. With the knowledge that the flight is half empty! I don't understand how cruel a person can be. And if it were not for the understanding stewardess, then we would not be taking the flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Paris
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very reasonable price"

(Belarus)

Trip Verified | Vilnius to Berlin a very pleasant flight. Since my last experience with airBaltic they have updated their fleet with new A220-300s. The procedure of online check-in is very clear and quick, and for now it's possible to use a mobile boarding pass - not required to print it. The flight was punctual, smooth and uneventful. A220 is a nice aircraft, rather quiet, seats are very comfortable and spacious. All ground and cabin staff were polite and helpful. And a very reasonable price. Will definitely fly airBaltic again.
AircraftA220-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVNO to TXL
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"flights were very good"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Berlin to Tallinn. I found the service professional. The cabin crew and the airport staff were friendly. The flights were very good. One thing needs to be improved. I prefer that there is no change of gate at the airport which happened in both of my trips.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Tallinn
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"additional €60 for my cabin luggage"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Vilnius to Amsterdam. I was charged an additional €60 for my cabin luggage such was 10kg in a normal Samsonite cabin sized suitcase. Apparently their policy is to allow only 8kg? I have never had my bag weighed by any other airline. Why should 2kg matter. I won't fly with Air Baltic again. Its not about the money ... its the feeling of being fleeced by am unscrupulous operator.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVilnius to Amsterdam
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"more attention to ground service"

(Estonia)

Trip Verified | Brussels to Riga. Planes are mainly comfortable and crew onboard is nice and friendly. Food and beverages what you can buy onboard is also good. Flying is good and comfortable, but check-in and boarding are below average. I have been flying all over the world the last 10 years. So I share my last experience with Air Baltic. My flight from Brussels to Riga should depart 9.55. Real-life we depart 10.15. Not so big deal we arrived on time. I was 07.30 in the airport to do check-in. After my arrive check-in just opened. Before me was 9 persons to check-in. Then I was next in line and check-in lady was replaced. The new lady lost her ID card so she was unable to do any check-ins. So lady before and the new lady walked away and they only say somebody will be here. So finally check-in was done. They check in 10 persons with one hour. Then I go shopping and then boarding was announced and everyone told to be quick so we can depart on time. Never heard that kind of announcements before. May by Air Baltic you change your boarding system. It is unacceptable to say that kind off announcement in my opinion. I have used Air Baltic before 4 times and every single time I had some issues in check-in. It looks like that their check-in and ground service is really below average. So also we wait for 1 hrs for our check-in luggage at Riga airport. So if you are ready to deal all that crap before the flight for low-cost flights I recommend Air Baltic. I rate planes and comfort on flight 4 but ground service -1 so the total score is 2. If they but more attention to ground service I think they will be a much better airline. Air Baltic first opinion is most important. I hope that in future if I use your service again I get a better experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to Riga
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid at all costs"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Helsinki to Barcelona via Riga. Having gone with them twice before and being disappointed both times i reluctantly gave them another shot, and how i wish hadn't. These guys are literally unbeatable at the level of unfriendliness to people. Right at check in, despite having put extra care into my weight limits and allowance (i booked an extra seat for musical instruments) i got second-guessed and barked at. The cabin crew were ill spirited and seemed annoyed at the sheer presence of people. It doesn't hurt to treat each other as human beings, does it? Dont give these guys your money. Avoid at all costs.
AircraftA220
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Barcelona via Riga
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid at any cost!"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | Never flying with airBaltic again! I flew with them from Vienna to Riga, in October. One of the worst travel experiences. They lost my baggage, returned it five days later, visibly damaged, and said they can only reimburse the expenses I made (clothes and personal hygiene items, since I was left in Latvia with zero belongings) up to 40 EUR, and only for personal hygiene items. As for the luggage, they said I should fix it at one of their partners, who just so happen not to have offices in my country. They are quoting a law from 1999 and hide behind the ”we did everything that was possible” disclaimer in order to avoid responsibility. Avoid at any cost!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Riga
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"inconsistent customer experience!

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Riga to Oslo. Very poor and inconsistent customer experience. Was told at the departure airport that my hand luggage would be fine and quicker as I had short transits, since I was eligible for checked in baggage but didn’t have any. Then got charged at the gate of Riga airport.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Oslo
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"stay away from airBaltic"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Cheap airline, will never use them again. Started weighing carry on baggage at the time it was time to board airplane. It leaves you no time and no option to take anything out of carry on bag, if it has overweight, because simply you have no place to leave your belongings. So you have no other choice than just pay 60 eur ,and check in your carry on bag. Usually other airlines check your carry on bag at the time you get tickets, so you can take anything out if you need to and put it into your check in luggage, but this airline does it at the boarding time, so they could make that extra 60 eur from you. There plenty of good airlines around, so stay away from airBaltic, if you have an option.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVilnius to Amsterdam
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

" Absolute nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Riga to Gatwick. Never flying with Air Baltic again. Made a whole load of people check and weigh their luggage. I knew I was slightly over the weight (400g) so removed something from my bag and then put on my pocket. Partner had to remove things and add to my bag to make his fit though it was fine on the way out. Then they reweighed mine. Luckily ok. Absolute nightmare and they were charging people €60 a pop!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Gatwick
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no