airBaltic

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 205 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"make money on extra weight luggage"

(Latvia)

Trip Verified | Riga to St Petersburgh. Airbaltic has no idea what good customer service mean. They have no exchange policy on ticket that cost more then 400$. They trying to make money just ripping off they clients and not providing excellent service. Terrible to make money on clients on extra hand weight luggage.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to St Petersburgh
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"not a smile or goodbye from the flight attendants"

(United States)

Not Verified | Berlin to Vilnius with airBaltic. Delayed by 45 minutes. Short flight. Seats were narrow and very little leg room. I noticed 4 flight attendants - 3 male and 1 female. 2 of the 3 male flight attendants attended the business class passengers, which there were none. They sat at the business class seats for the majority of the flight. The other male and 1 female flight attendants started selling drinks. When we deplaned, not a smile or goodbye from the flight attendants. It's ok. They probably didn't speak English.
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBerlin to Vilnius
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't recommend this company"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Vilnius to Berlin. We really can't recommend AirBaltic to anyone. Short: They are cheating with their scales, showing two kg more than the actual weight of your baggage to threat you with paying 60€ extra. Both flights were delayed. The service on the plane is lacking everything. Detailed: We were two persons checking in one baggage. At the check-in shelter we got told to reorganize our belongings since the baggage was too heavy (allowed are 20 kg for the checked-in and 8 kg in total for the hand luggage). We stepped aside and used the scale next to the AirBaltic shelter to make sure our baggage would fit into the weight limit. After putting on another layer of clothes and reorganizing our belongings, we double-checked the kilograms with that scale. Back at the check-in shelter their scale suddenly showed 2 kg more again. Same with the hand luggage! Both had "overweight" even though we just checked it at the scale next to it! AirBaltic is cheating with their scales. I was too confused to say something, but the grumpy guy at the shelter was "nice" to only give a threatening warning for next time. After getting to the gate we put off the additional clothes that we put on to save weight in the luggage (We are thin people, don't blame us for that), but they checked the hand-luggage of each passenger again while boarding. Many people got charged for overweight luggage and had to pay 60€, if they wanted to get into the plane. That was stressing us out, we put back on all the clothes, only to put them off again after passing the check. Never had such a stressful boarding in my life! Flying back and forth with AirBaltic, both the connections were delayed (Maybe due to checking the passengers' luggage twice). While waiting for boarding, there was no person to answer questions and no excuse given for the irritating delay. While flying you don't get any free drinks, even for water they make you pay extra. The seats are too narrow and make you sit very stiff and compact to not disturb anyone else. For choosing a seat on your own, o wonder, they make you pay extra. The seats are listed in different price categories. It was the cheapest connection we found, but after this horrible experience we will never decide for AirBaltic again and won't recommend this company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVilnius to Berlin
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Friendly and efficient crew"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | An excellent flight from Riga to Copenhagen. Friendly and efficient crew, and great legroom. Flight was very punctual. My only criticism is that the 737 on this flight was 20 years old, so quite worn.
AircraftBoeing 737-500
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Copenhagen
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"charges every singe extra gram"

(France)

Trip Verified | Riga to Geneva. Airline charges every singe extra gram, including any Tax Free shop acquisitions (60€/luggage). Staff attitude is very unpleasant. Unless required, won’t use this airline again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Geneva
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible service!"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Riga to Oslo. Terrible service! All passengers checked and charged 60 euro for overweight, even if only 1kg, jackets, pocket contents and the book in your hand included. Passengers that took their clothes on accused by the company representative for being childish. If checking in less than one hour before departure you get charged 35 extra euros.
AircraftDon’t know
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Oslo
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Fix your attitude!"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Vilnius to Amsterdam. The weighing of hand luggage created huge lines, people were irritated and were made to pay huge fees. If you fly from other countries with AirBaltic they never weigh and create such bad situations. Only in Lithuania! Fix your attitude!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVilnius to Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they made me pay 60€"

(Estonia)

Trip Verified | Tel Aviv to Tallinn via Riga. My cabin luggage was 400g overweight and they made me pay 60€, while saying that if you don't you won't get to the flight. At the same time they knew that flight was being delayed! I had friends who could deliver those overweight things to me next week for free!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTel Aviv to Tallinn via Riga
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"try to avoid in the future"

(Lithuania)

Not Verified | Riga to Frankfurt. We were forced to weigh our hand luggage and pay 60 eur for excess luggage due to 2 Rigas Balzams bottles that we bought at the duty free! They also changed our seats randomly. As much as i would like to support the local industry of my home region, I am leaving a negative review because the whole experience was a big nuisance and could have been avoided (e.g. bigger airlines dont enforce such strict hand luggage policies). Will try to avoid in the future.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Frankfurt
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We checked our luggage at Riga Airport on August 2, 2019, and all was in order. When we picked our luggage up at Schiphol airport in Amsterdam it looked like it had been caught in a wedge, as the entire right side was caved in and the handle was completely snapped in half. We immediately filed a report with the airline representative at baggage claim and subsequently filed a claim directly with AirBaltic and waited for a response. On August 7, 2019 we received an email from a customer service rep from the airline, instructing us to take the damaged luggage to one of their authorized repair shops to have it looked at and evaluated for reimbursement or repair. Problem is, all the authorized shops are located in those cities that airBaltic services, which does not include the United States, where we live. I informed them of that fact on August 10 and have not heard anything back from her. After a lot of searching I was able to find airBaltic's U.S. website and forwarded all correspondence to them on August 19, 2019, with a request to contact me. As of today, August 26th, I have not heard anything from them. Given the lack of service on the part of airBaltic, I urge anyone considering using this airline to find another carrier and avoid this airline like the plague.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiga to Amsterdam
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no