AirAsia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 665 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Chaos at check in"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bali to Bangkok. Chaos at check in counter in Bali! The counter opened late and passengers were nervous. There were many flights leaving around the same time, passengers from earlier flights tried to skip the queue and go first making other passengers furious. There were no sign indicating which flight should check in first and which flight later, so passengers clustered everywhere in front of check in counters. Very unpleasant experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBali to Bangkok
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"refused to check in both bags"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Hat Yai. Lack of standard among ground staff. I pre-purchased 20kg of sport equipment baggage aiming to cover 2 bags of mine. (The combined weight of my 2 bags was 18kg.) A ground staff told me that I could only check in one bag and had to hand carry my other bag. Her reason was that the other bag could not be sport equipment! I've traveled with sport equipment several times with AirAsia, but this was the first time a ground staff refused to check in both bags because such staff believed that my other bag could not be sport equipment! I wonder why other ground staff from my previous flights never had a problem with me..
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Hat Yai
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"not good customer service"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | Bali to Seoul via Kuala Lumpur. AirAsia sent us an email the morning of our flight stating that they pushed back our departure. We contacted the customer service chat and tried to resolve the issue. The initial agent said that they would put us on an earlier flight out of our current location, however, they failed to provide us a case number. Additionally, they stated that the flight change would be processed in 2 to 3 hours, which is ridiculous. We had to contact a second customer service agent through their chat service. They then provided us with our case number but reiterated that they could not expedite our flight change any faster than the 2 to 3 hours quoted by the initial agent. When we asked if there was a number we could call the agent stated that they are in the process of closing all of their call centers. They did nothing to ease the stress of having a last-minute flight change that would make us miss a day of work. This was unhelpful and led to the last few hours of our vacation being stressful and having to re-arrange multiple plans. Definitely not good customer service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBali to Seoul via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"departs 10 minutes earlier"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | Kuching to Kuala Lumpur. I arrived at the Gate 4 at the Kuching International Airport at 9.20 this morning (12 Sept 2019) for the 9.30 Kuching-KL flight, but the push-back for the plane had already taken place. The ground crew gave me an excuse as to why the plane departed 10 minutes earlier than scheduled. Consequently, I had to purchase a later flight (10.50 Kuching-KL flight) at a cost of RM349. If the plane in actuality departs 10 minutes earlier, then the Airline should state inform passengers that the flight was scheduled at 9.20, not 9.30 am.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuching to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"could not have been more unhelpful"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hanoi to Denpasar via Kuala Lumpur. Customer service could not have been more unhelpful. We had credits towards a flight that “due to a bug in their system” they weren’t able to apply to our flight. Which is questionable - why should we pay for their error and incompetence? Every time we tried to rectify the issue we were issued a new agent and new complaint number and had to start from scratch every time. In the end, they said they were working to applying it towards our flight but it could also be used to pay for baggage. Of course the problem was never resolved, so we assumed we could at least check our baggage using our credits. Wrong. Apparently there is no systemic connection between the people at the air Asia counter and the customer service people online. The people at the counter were unhelpful at best. Ultimately, the customer service online system and the physical counter at airasia are somehow not linked. Very advanced system! We were told we had to request online 4 hours in advanced of the flight to use the credits towards our baggage. Of course this was not mentioned by customer service online. The people behind the counter were very rude and condescending and made no attempt to resolve the problem other than to tell us to contact online customer service - the same folks who had not responded to any of our recent inquiries/ noted we could just apply the credits to our baggage for our next flight. I have had the shit beaten out of me by a bunch of meth heads, and I preferred that to dealing with air Asia’s customer service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Denpasar via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"could not be more unhelpful"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Jakarta. Flight was delayed by 6 hours and AirAsia could not accommodate me getting on to another flight. I was travelling for a specific event which I could not miss, so I had to purchase another ticket on another airline at KL airport. AirAsia could not be more unhelpful and told me to go through their AVA chat line to request a refund for my missed flight. I did - only to find out that my case was never recorded. Just tried to process the refund again and ran into technical issues. The ordeal was extremely stressful and expensive, and their customer service is a joke.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Jakarta
Date FlownAugust 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a nice flight with no problems"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Colombo to Kuala Lumpur with AirAsia. It was a nice flight with no problems. Boarding was orderly. Seats were comfortable and I got some rest. A nice budget airline. Will fly them in the future.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteColombo to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Will fly AirAsia again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Melbourne. This was an eight hour flight and I had three seats to myself. I was able to get some well earned rest on the flight. Boarding was good. Will fly AirAsia again.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Melbourne
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Still waiting to board, holiday ruined"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Nha Trang with AirAsia. Simply the worst airline in the world, many years running. I’ve been unfortunate enough to have to rely on this sorry excuse for an airline for years and not once, not once, have I ever had a good experience. Not a single flight that went smoothly, with no delay or some other nonsense. Awful service, always late, anything to take your money and always unpleasant. The only thing they haven’t charged us for yet is oxygen on board, which at some point it will probably be charged also, 10 cents per breath. If only there were other options for certain destinations. Today’s misfortune: retiming of flight the day before, only to come to airport, go to gate as indicated and find out there (i.e. at the gate) that there would be another delay on top of a change in gates. Still waiting to board, holiday ruined. Avoid this airline if you can. Pay more, get better service somewhere else.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Nha Trang
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Awful service, always late"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Nha Trang. Simply the worst airline in the world, many years running. I’ve been unfortunate enough to have to rely on this sorry excuse for an airline for years and not once, not once, have I ever had a good experience. Not a single flight that went smoothly, with no delay or some other nonsense. Awful service, always late, anything to take your money and always unpleasant. The only thing they haven’t charged us for yet is oxygen on board, which at some point it will probably be charged also, 10cents per breath. If only there were other options for certain destinations. Today’s misfortune: retiming of flight the day before, only to come to the airport, go to the gate as indicated and find out there (i.e. at the gate) that there would be another delay on top of a change in gates. Still waiting to board, holiday ruined. Avoid this airline if you can. Pay more, get better service somewhere else.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Nha Trang
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no