Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1350 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"6 days without my bag"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified |  Madrid to Toronto. My bag is delayed for 6 days now, and the staff in Air Canada is careless. I am without clothes for 6 days and they are careless. I flew from Madrid to Toronto on the 14th August. Before I leave I asked Air Canada about my bag, they told my they have it, but it wont be on the same flight, it will arrive tomorrow. When I arrived to Toronto, I informed Air Canada about it again, they registered it in the system & told me it will be delivered in 24 hours. It didn’t arrive. Now it’s been 6 days without my bag.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Air Canada had terminated the Toronto to Delhi route"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On 2/3/19, I purchased a one layover trip with Air Canada to Delhi, India (round trip route: 7/21: DC-Toronto-Delhi 8/5: Delhi-Toronto-DC). However, 10 days before our departure day (7/12), I received an email letting me know that my flight schedule had changed. After speaking with a representative I was informed that Air Canada had terminated the Toronto to Delhi route and that I would have to be placed on different flights in order for me to reach my destination at the dates I had initially selected. After a few back and forths, I was able to be placed on a two layover journey to India, with the following route: 7/21: DC-Montreal-Munich-Delhi, 8/5: Delhi-Vancouver-Toronto-DC. As a result of this change, my initial one layover ~18h trip turned into a two layover ~26h voyage. Additionally, when booking my trip, I was asked to select and pay for my seats, as the seats were not free of charge. Once I had boarded, I realized that I had not been assigned to the seats I purchased. I contacted Air Canada about this but never received a reply. On August 4, 2019 (one day before the return flight), I received a text message from Air Canada letting me know that the AC45 return flight on 8/5 would be departing at 5.55am (although the return flight I had initially been placed on was scheduled to leave at 7.40am). Over the course of my return, the boarding gate for two out of the three flights were changed shortly before boarding, resulting in a delay for one of the flights.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteReagan to Delhi
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"the best business class seat"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | London to Toronto via Halifax. It's definitely not the old AC business class. No drinks order before take-off, no champagne offered only mimosa, maybe time of day. Meals delivered automaton by most of the crew (a couple stood out for warmth) but I have to say the London kitchens came through again for vegan with a delicious chick pea curry, mushrooms, steamed spinach and baked tomato. The Toronto AC kitchens should take note as mostly appalling idea of vegan food served from them. I had the croissant, I know not vegan but worth the stray. Other than meal service crew were scarce. 60 minutes after take off and no drink or crew member seen. I had to press the call button after a couple of hours to order some red wine, no top up after the meals at all. Still the best business class seat in North America and though entertainment was pretty mediocre compared to years ago I managed to find something on HBO to keep me hooked the whole flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Toronto via Halifax
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"mess of a boarding process"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Toronto. A 2 hour delay for unexplained scheduling issues (no other delayed flights at LHR). Complete mess of a boarding process meant the whole thing turned into a melee. The policy of 2 carry on bags meant that we wasted 20 minutes trying to find space for everyone’s hand luggage. Also an old plane which hadn’t been fully cleaned.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"inside left a lot to be desired"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew Montreal Dublin on one of their new A330. Brand new paint job on the outside but the inside left a lot to be desired. Faulty recline, old seats, wonky tray tables, very dated and tatty cabin. Entertainment screens failed before they started, crew had no idea what to do. Not a big deal as these things happen and crew handed out coupons. A week later the return flight, same plane and the gate attendants tell us the entertainment systems still not working. What are you playing at air Canada? Why are you sending defective aircraft on transatlantic flights, really not on, you had a week to fix it. The 1 in this rating is for the cabin crew who were good. Looking forward to Aer Lingus doing the route next year.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Dublin
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not a sufficient time to transfer"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I have purchased Air Canada ticket at a higher price in order to get a shorter connection time. Instead I got delayed 1 hr from Milan to Toronto and 2.5 hrs from Toronto to Montreal. When I asked the customer service why I could not make an earlier flight from Toronto to Montreal I was told that 1.5 hrs was not a sufficient time to transfer the baggage. It looks like 1.5 hrs min was enough for baggage transfer when I paid for my initial itinerary, at least thats how it was presented.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Montreal via Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Seats are too tight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Shanghai. Seat comfort terrible. Air Canada used to be average airline, but now aircraft configuration is such that passenger comfort is least thought. Seats are too tight and so few washrooms with long lines on ultra long flights like mine.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Shanghai
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Both flights delayed"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Both flights from Toronto to Montreal and Montreal to Toronto delayed. First from Toronto to Montreal because the captain was late then because some of the crew was late. Waited 2h in the plane without moving. Coming back from Montreal to toronto delayed again, over an hour waiting in the plane. Captain makes an announcement apologizing for delay but they are still waiting for passengers supposed to be on the plane. I guess next time I can sleep in and Air Canada will park the plane and wait for me. Never flew aircanada and not had an issue to I would definitely suggest staying away if possible. Book another airline and save yourself the pain.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"No vegetarian option"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Toronto to London. Boeing 787, so ok aircraft. Premium economy so bigger seats. Onboard staff don’t know how to smile. Only small glass of orange juice or water in premium econ (compared to virgin where you get Prosecco). Food really odd. A breakfast omelette with fried potatoes and creme freche - on a 7hr flight 9am to 9pm Toronto to LHR. Followed by a turkey and cheese rol. No vegetarian option without booking ahead, and a breakfast followed by snack on a 7hr flight? No lunch. Like being on a bus, but costing nearly £2k a seat.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteToronto to London
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"flight was not one of the best"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Rome. Excellent Check In process in dedicated area, our Oversize luggage was handled efficiently. Maple Leaf Lounge lacked European Newspapers and was tired. Efficient Boarding process, no welcome drinks or attention prior to take off (The Purser told be she had a late arriving Commissary and was struggling to Board 450 passengers hence no service in Business Class prior to take off). Comfortable Lie Flat Seats, Good selection of Wine & Champagne. Dinner was acceptable but poorly presented. Excellent Breakfast with a freshly cooked Omelette. Service was courteous and efficient but lacked charm and it really seemed that the Cabin Crew were just going through the motions. On Time departure and arrival. We will continue to fly Air Canada Business Class but this flight was not one of the best we have experienced.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Rome
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes