Aegean Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 509 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"thoroughly competent performance"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Athens. A late departure of 90 minutes caused by early morning fog at Gatwick which had delayed the incoming flight from Athens was handled competently with regular updates from the flight deck including information for those with connecting flights. Aegean are still a full service airline. Lunch was a chicken and rice dish, which was perfectly adequate, with a full bar service. Athens arrival was to a remote stand with bus connection to the terminal. This all worked well but there was a disappointingly long wait at immigration for EU citizens with no wait for 'other' passports. More an airport issue than an Aegean one. Overall a thoroughly competent performance.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Athens
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



12th November 2018 : Aegean Airlines response

Dear Mr. Duckworth, we warmly appreciate receiving your positive review on our provided services during your trip with us. We will be happy to welcome you on board soon again! Thank you.

8/10

"What more you could ask for"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Amman to Athens. There is nothing to write about this flight. Aegean Airlines delivered what was important: air travel from point A to point B, on-time, reasonably comfortable, with decent service. What more you could ask for?
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmman to Athens
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



1st November 2018 : Aegean Airlines response

Dear Mr. Tran, thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent travel experience with us! We are looking forward to welcome you on board soon again!

9/10

"a nice customer service"

(Cambodia)

Trip Verified | A good, hassle free airline with a nice customer service. There was no delay but they didn’t provide me food on route from Paris to Athens. The plane was new and I could not hear the plane sound during flight. So my ear didn’t hurt.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Athens
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



1st November 2018 : Aegean Airlines response

Dear Customer, we are happy to read your positive review regarding your recent flight with us. Please note that the only cases where we do not offer meals, is when our passengers are resting. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you on board soon again!

10/10

"flight attendants very friendly"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Cairo to Munich via Athens. We flew Aegean because their flight was convenient, not too expensive and the fee for extra luggage was very fair. We moved back from Egypt to Germany, so we had a lot of luggage. Check-in was done by Egypt Air staff and was efficient. We were allowed by airport security to use an unused check-in counter to check the weight of our luggage and we had to repack a bit, so when we checked in, our 5 suitcases matched the weight-requirement exactly. The clerk seemed to be a bit disappointed. Boarding the aircraft was on time and flight attendants were very friendly and helpful with our hand luggage. My wife was carrying a musical instrument and nobody cared that it was quite bulky. Service on the first leg cannot be rated, as we both fell asleep before even take-off (it was 3:30 a.m.). Changing planes in Athens was okay, only the departure gate was anounced quite late. Then the flight to Munich was nice, flight attendants very friendly, breakfast was okay, beverage selection fine. All luggage arrived on time in Munich. I cannot remember any in-flight entertainment, as I was mostly sleeping, but on flights with duration less then 2,5 hours one does not need entertainment.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCairo to Munich via Athens
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



1st November 2018 : Aegean Airlines response

Dear Mr. Gerhart, we warmly appreciate receiving your positive overall review on our provided services during your flight with us. It will be our honor to welcome you on board soon again. Thank you for your preference to us!

10/10

"staff were polite and helpful"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Istanbul to Athens. I made six different flights with Aegean Airlines and its subsidiary Olympic Airways in a mix of business/economy classes on Airbus A320 and Dash-8 planes. All left and arrived on time. The Aegean/Olympic staff both on the ground and in the air were polite and helpful. Meals, when they were served, were good. The planes were clean and comfortable. The lounge in Athens Airport had really good food and a selection of Greek wines.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteIstanbul to Athens
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



9th October 2018 : Aegean Airlines response

Dear Mr. Boonzaier, thank you for sharing such a favorable review regarding your recent flights with us. It is always a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our services throughout your trip. We hope to welcome you on board very soon!

8/10

"recommend the airline"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As a Gold Member I fly regularly with Aegean and can compliment the timeliness, friendliness and professionalism of staff. I have been flying regularly from London to Thessaloniki via Athens (approx. 16 flights a year). On this occasion I was more than disappointed. The flight was delayed (not the airlines fault) but the crew did not seem to be interested in the comfort of staff. On several occasions elderly passengers struggled to place their luggage in the overhead bin and received no assistance from crew who stood by and watched. I was surprised by this as I usually they always assist. Due to the delay in take off the connection time in Athens would be shorter than normal. At this point, as always, I was not worried as Aegean usually does a excellent job in handling connection flights. Upon arrival to Athens and once departing the plane the connection Ambassador was shouting for anyone going to Thessaloniki to hurry - very unwelcoming! To make it worse she then decided to start sprinting and was shouting at everyone you have to run! Run or you will not make it. Looking at my fellow passengers who were mostly elderly this was more than unacceptable. My partner as well, due to an injury could not keep up. I told the member of staff to calm down and take it slow but she kept shouting to run and hurry. At this point I decided to proceed on my own with my partner to the gate and we made it in plenty of time before boarding had even started. Never have I experienced such rude behavior and such unnecessary stress. As a connection ambassador she should have known that there was time and that we would have easily made it to the gate with time left to spare. Instead everyone was pushed to walk at a fast pace with people struggling and no one taking notice. Aegean needs to review this and ensure the ground staff offer a good connecting experience with staff making sure everyone reaches their next flight in comfort. Even with the bad experience I can only recommend the airline and all they have achieved but find it necessary to share all types of feedback.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Thessaloniki via Athens
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



9th October 2018 : Aegean Airlines response

Dear Mr. Kannigatis, we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent trip with us. It is our goal to ensure that you enjoy the same level of services throughout your trip with us, on and off board. If you wish, you may share with us more details, in order to further check it, through https://aegeanairlines.custhelp.com/app/email. Thank you once again for your time.

3/10

"pre-boarding for families"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Thessaloniki to Athens. We checked in just fine, gave our luggage in, went through security and arrived at the Aegean lounge within minutes. We had booked a separate seat for our son with the intention of using a car seat for him. When we showed out boarding passes to the nice lady that greeted us in the lounge we inquired about pre-boarding for families. She did not know anything about it and simple said that we would be boarding from the lounge area when an announcement is made. We also inquired about gate checking the stroller and receiving it for use at our connecting airport in Athens she did in fact state that we could take the elevator down to the bus which would take us to the aircraft for boarding and that there we could gate check the stroller to be given back to us when we arrive at the gate in Athens. When the time came we heard the announcement for boarding for our flight and as we gave our boarding passes to the same lady that greeted us on the way in, she scanned them, checked our passports and asked us to wait next to the door to take us to the elevator. After all passengers went through the door, we were asked to follow her to the elevator to find that there was a line there of approx. 6 passengers in wheel chairs waiting to use it. Also the bus that all other passengers boarded was waiting on us. At this point she asked if we could carry the child in hand to walk the stairs down to the bus, and she offered to carry the stroller down as well. Although I did appreciate the offer, this was not an ideal situation. When we got to the bus, I was holding our son, my wife was holding carry on luggage and I had to manage a folded stroller as well, all while standing in a moving bus. Perhaps if as they advertised had offered proper pre-boarding for families with young children these things could go a bit smoother. We arrived at the aircraft and gave the stroller to the person standing at the bottom of the stairs, to be returned to us when we arrived in Athens. Got on board the aircraft, started installing the car seat for my son, which thankfully did not take long. We were told by the staff on board that the child would have to be sitting on either mine or my wife's lap for take-off and landing and they provided us with a seat belt extension to use for this. As in a previous flight, I did not argue with the staff and complied. Lufthansa did not have any issues with the use of a car seat used during take-off and landing. In any case the safest place for a child under the age of 2, is securely fastened in a car seat with a 3 point harness. When we arrived at Athens and de-boarded, we asked for our car seat and they were searching for it, while the bus to take us to the terminal was waiting for us. Took them a few minutes, but they found it. One last thing that I would like to point out is the fact that the plane was late departing from Thessaloniki, and that we had a connecting flight from Athens which we barely made thanks this. The thing that made this situation even worse was the fact that the bus driver delivered us to a door all the way on the other end of the terminal were we had to go.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteThessaloniki to Athens
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



1st October 2018 : Aegean Airlines response

Dear Mr. Matsos, we are sorry to read your less than favorable review regarding your recent trip with us. Indeed, families with young children, passengers in need of special assistance as well as Business Class and Gold Member passengers are allowed to board first. Regarding the car seat, please note that it is necessary to be ideal for aircraft use and an extra seat must be reserved, you may find the relevant information on our webpage under the following link: https://bit.ly/2xKKaB9 . We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us which is well noted.

2/10

"not so pleasant"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Munich to Thessaloniki. This was the first time we flew with our infant son and were really excited to be flying with Aegean as in the past we have had a very good experience with them. This time around though it was not so pleasant. We had booked three seats (all business) so that we could place a car seat on board for our 14 month old son. We expected to be boarding before all others in the plane thus having plenty of time to put our things away and to install the car seat in the seat and securing our son. This was not the case. When it came time to board they announced boarding for business class customers so a whole lot of people lined up in front of us - no pre-boarding for families was offered as advertised on their website. When we got into the jet-way we were greeted by an Aegean Airlines employee who asked us about the car seat being checked to the final destination. We explained that we had purchased a seat for this, he demanded to see 4 boarding passes. Yes - 4 boarding passes, one for me, one for my wife, one for my son, and one for the car seat. I remember thinking you have got to be kidding me. After a few minutes of explaining to him that we had purchased 3 seats and one was for an infant with the intention of using a car seat for safety and after he said he had to check with the staff on board we were allowed to board. All 3 of us (or 4 of us according to that employee). So at this point all other passengers were boarding, so I had to wait for the car seat install until all passengers were on board - not an ideal situation. Furthermore we were told that we could not use the car seat during take-off and landing and the child had to sit on either myself or my wife using a seat belt attachment which they provided. At this point I was really not in any mood to argue with anyone and I did as they requested. We had our son sitting on our lap for take-off and landing instead of him being safely secured in car seat with a 3-point harness. Let me point on that this was a connecting flight for us from NYC which we flew Lufthansa and they had no issues with our son sitting in his car seat safely secured, yet Aeagean Airlines employees thought it to be unsafe due to regulations.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMunich to Thessaloniki
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



1st October 2018 : Aegean Airlines response

Dear Customer, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. We would like to mention that families with young children as well as passengers in need of special assistance, Business Class Passengers and Gold Members are able to make use of priority boarding. As for the car seat, please note that a special procedure must be followed and it is indicated on our webpage under the following link: https://bit.ly/2xKKaB9 . Should you need any further assistance on this, you may contact our Customer Relations Department via our online form https://aegeanairlines.custhelp.com/app/ask . Thank you.

1/10

Aegean Airlines customer review

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I flew from London to Cairo via Athens. Once arrived in Cairo we found that one of our bags went missing. We filled in a report form and told we would be contacted shortly. We received no reply for the duration of 2 weeks at which point I went to their office on the 4th floor in Cairo airport to find out that the bag had arrived and was returned once again to Athens. We were never contacted or informed of its arrival. The lady I spoke to said she would contact Athens and request for it to be returned. 2 weeks later we still have no bag and the office in Cairo is saying they have received no reply from Athens. Absolute shambles.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Cairo via Athens
Date FlownAugust 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



27th September 2018 : Aegean Airlines response

Dear Mr. Hamil, we are sorry to hear this and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. We suggest you to contact our Customer Relations through https://bit.ly/2n99Txa and provide our colleagues with the respective details in order for them to check it and further assist you. Thank you.

1/10

"we had to change aircraft"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Athens to Hamburg. Overall a very bad experience. We boarded the aircraft for the flight to Hamburg through a jetway and while taxiing they told us that there is a problem and we had to change aircraft. We were waiting inside the aircraft without any other information and about an hour later we were asked to deplane to a bus and then board another aircraft through a boarding ramp. Aegean could have used a jetway to avoid this hassle and they should have better informed us about the expected delay. We arrived at Hamburg delayed by at least 2 hours and no apology throughout the flight. All staff behaved as if nothing had happened. My family missed their train connections and had to pay for new expensive tickets.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Hamburg
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



21st September 2018 : Aegean Airlines response

Dear Mr. Leteres, we are really sorry reading your less than favorable comments regarding the specific travel experience with us. Our wish is for our flights to depart/arrive with the use of the boarding bridge, however its use is subject to Airports’ availability. Regarding the delay of your flight, we assure you that our aim is to always depart on time, however, there are occasions when flights may be delayed for reasons which rest well beyond the operating carrier’s control. We do hope to welcome you on board soon to revert this experience to a completely positive one throughout! Thank you.