China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1956 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"food is relatively monotonous"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I lost my wallet before boarding, but thanks to the staff there I got it back - many Thanks! The plane is new, and the seats in economy class are well spaced, though I'm taller. The crew is very considerate to help with the luggage. The food is relatively monotonous but the portion is sufficient. I hope that it can be improved after the epidemic is over. The on-board WI-FI has no option for paid use, which is not very friendly to non-members.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to London
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"airline service is good"

(China)

Trip Verified | The ground service is awesome. A kind lady took me to choose my seat, helped me address my oversized luggage, and led me to the security check. the airline service is good too, almost everyone could get a blanket if they wanted. The next flight from Sydney to Perth, I even couldn’t get a blanket in the plane from Qantas.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Sydney
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"cabin service should be enhanced"

(China)

Trip Verified | I was almost late for checking in, like 7 mins left. The staff of China Southern were very friendly and enthusiastic and assisted me to handle the luggage check-in matters and helped me to get through all the procedure that needed for Covid-19 application. However, the cabin service should be enhanced, especially there are no socket and USB-plot on the aircraft A380, and no pillows and earphones are provided, which are necessities for international flight. Meanwhile, the crew members should smile more when they work. Hopefully they can attach more importance on these aspects.
AircraftA380-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a great flying experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | China Southern Airlines gave me a great flying experience. The staff was serious and responsible throughout the whole journey. Since I had a lot of luggage, the staff helped me carry my luggage and assisted me with the security check. I will continue to support China Southern Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"The trip was very pleasant"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The trip was very pleasant with China Southern Airlines, staff was very warm, friendly and patient. The staff assisted me with the security check All in all, it was a very good and memorable trip and I will choose China Southern Airlines again in the future.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seats on the plane are very comfortable"

(China)

Trip Verified | Although their flights decreased a lot due to the epidemic, it had no impact on their quality service. Maybe there are fewer flights and fewer people at the airport, but the staff at the check-in counter are more careful than before. Boarding is also very smooth. The seats on the plane are very comfortable. The greetings from the flight attendants make me feel great!
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangZhou to Tokyo
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service was very comprehensive"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Tokyo. Guangzhou is the headquarters of their company, so there are many self-service check-in equipment at the airport. Although they are unavailable due to the epidemic, their staff are very professional. The check-in counter does not have a long queuing time. The meals on the plane are simple, even it is only a four hour flight time, But the flight attendants provided me with blankets and slippers, the service was very comprehensive.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangZhou to Tokyo
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"professional ground staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I booked flight tickets from Guangzhou to London 4 times with different airlines and all of them were canceled for different reasons. It's not easy to travel everywhere you want from China in the current situation. This was the fifth time I had bought a ticket to London and I was looking forward to my trip. But on the morning of the day of the flight, I received a call that I would not be able to board the flight due to capacity restrictions at London airport. During the following ten hours, I was told to wait for the phone call and someone would help me with this problem. I was really desperate until my friend suggested I go to the airport directly and ask the ground staff to see if there is a better solution. So I arrived at the airport 6 hours before my flight left. I talked to the check-in desk manager who talked to me so warm and very kind and my hope was relighted by him. After he knew my situation, he did not make me wait and just try to help me to find a way to get on the flight. He told me that if any other passenger cancel the trip, I could take place the seat of the flight as a standby passenger. And he kept my phone number and told me he would contact me as long as he get any news. Half an hour later, I went back to his counter and he told me that I was very lucky that a passenger canceled the ticket and I was able to get on the plane. Then he have done my boarding pass very soon and showed me where to go for security just within 5 minutes. I was so appreciative that everything this manager did. Now I have arrived in London and I am very grateful met such a professional ground staff. With his help, I saved time and plenty of money to rebook flight tickets.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to London
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I appreciate the staff help"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I booked a flight from Guangzhou to London on 14 September 2022. On the morning of 14 September, I received a call that my seat had been canceled. I was so angry and confused, so I went to the airport after I got the call. I arrived at the airport and spoke to the duty manager at the check-in desk. I was told that there were 4 passengers who have the same problem as me and he could help me to see if anyone cancel his seat before the departure so that I could get on the flight. I was so lucky that someone canceled the tickets and I successfully boarded the flight. I appreciate the staff help.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to London
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"handled the upgrade at the counter"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | This is my first trip since covid-19. In order to make the trip more comfortable, I handled the upgrade at the counter. The price is very favorable. The staff are also very professional and they also provide a lounge. There are hot food and drinks in the lounge. The service, food and drink on board were also excellent. After arriving at Incheon Airport, the helpful staff came to talk with us and told me the entry precautions. There was no problem with customs and immigration.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Seoul
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review