Vietnam Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 487 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Vietnam Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 29th June 2015

Flew economy class return Melbourne to Ho Chi Minh City on the A330, and a couple of internal flights with Vietnam Airlines. Flights were on time, staff are fine - they just go about their job. Good food and entertainment on the international flight. Comfy seats on all flights. The best thing about them were the price of my tickets. I booked 5/6 months in advance and got great prices for a full service plane.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHCMC to Melbourne
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Vietnam Airlines customer review

Review by (Ireland) 25th June 2015

VN 661 to Singapore. Flight left on time on the plane was clearly quite old but clean nonetheless. The middle seat between the other passenger and me was free so it added to the level of comfort. The meal was filling and quite tasty - when you fly around Europe and get little or nothing this makes such a nice change! The cabin was quite warm. The crew did several drink runs and were always available. Would fly with them again if I was in the region.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHAN to SIN
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Vietnam Airlines customer review

Review by (Vietnam) 17th June 2015

Just got off an excellent long haul Qatar Airways journey and came down with a bump connecting onto a domestic flight with Vietnam Airlines to Danang from Saigon (VN114 14/06/2015). Crew were usual grumpy and rude self, refusing to hang my suit up because that's apparently only a business class service. Chief purser had a terrible attitude and was very rude, basically ignoring me. Immediately after take off half the crew sat and relaxed in business class seats. The others passed out some water and joined them! They say they want to be a 4 star airline! I'm amazed they're even a 3 star one!
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSGN to DAD
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Vietnam Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 16th June 2015

After reading many reviews about this airline I had a few concerns. I booked with Flight Center and was having a few issues with them about my flights. I called Vietnam Customer Service in Sydney Australia and they soon put everything right. Check in was smooth with fast track priority. The new business class lounge was excellent, had a nice foot massage. Once onboard we were warmly greeted by the crew - refreshing hand towels and champagne. Food was good, drinks were plentiful. Nothing was any trouble for the crew their English was excellent. As it was a long stopover we were taken to a hotel which was an excellent chance to shower, rest and have a meal. Ok so they are not in the same class as Emirates etc and I have flown them but for the price that you pay their service is excellent.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to London via Saigon
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Vietnam Airlines customer review

Review by (Vietnam) 13th June 2015

I live in Vietnam and have to fly Vietnam Airlines regularly. In their magazine they say they want to become a 4-Star airline. They are not even a 3-Star airline. I am a Platinum member but get treated as badly as all the others. There is no flight out of HCMC on time, even when the weather is good. Business Lounges are filthy and dirty (while the staff plays with their smartphones instead to clean up the tables). Upgrades never happen. Instead, right after take off the crew brings their friends and family members into Business Class to fill up the empty seats. On trips to Europe I try to avoid VN Airlines as much as possible. This airline needs a stronger focus on quality and needs to start listening to their customers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

Vietnam Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 7th June 2015

Flew VN780 MEL-HCMC on A330. Very good flight clean and comfortable good food staff a little grumpy but didn't worry us. Not the greatest of entertainment systems but enough to get by. I'd fly with VNA again and I recommend VNA.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Vietnam Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 4th June 2015

VN780 May 23rd 2015. I fly regularly from Melbourne to HCMC with this airline. The optiontown upgrade to Business class great and excellent value for money good food attentive friendly staff clean planes and lay flat bed seats. Nothing like arriving home in the morning refreshed after a good sleep. When I have to go to Vietnam I don't even consider using any other airline.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Vietnam Airlines customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th May 2015

6th May from LHR flight VN50. Return flight on 19th May from Hanoi flight VN55. I was very dissatisfied from the moment we entered the plane cabin staff were very unhelpful bordering on rude the plane on our outward trip was almost empty so the crew had little to do. I was expecting to have regular water or juices offered but this did not happen and on such a long flight it was needed. Delivery of food was an interruption into their rest time and the lack of English language was not good so communication was very difficult the plane was quite old and the seats very uncomfortable with very little leg room. The return flight was full so it was even more uncomfortable the service was just as bad and the screen on my seat was broken and just flashed throughout the flight. I asked the crew member for help and got a shrug and she put the magazine over the seat and that was it! I will never choose this airline again unless they improve their planes and train staff to a reasonable standard. I have never heard so many complaints by passengers on a flight before.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Vietnam Airlines customer review

Review by (Singapore) 27th May 2015

We flew from Singapore to London Heathrow via Ho Chi Minh city on business class. The plane an A321 departed Singapore on time. Only 5 seats in business class were occupied. Fairly short flight and no inflight entertainment. Upon arrival in HCM we disembarked and quickly boarded a bus to the airport. We were given complimentary access to the business lounge. The flight to London Heathrow was re-timed which meant spending an extra hour in HCM. For this route the plane was a Boeing 777. Business class was half full. The interior was clean but only one toilet in business class also used by the pilot and his officers. When occupied we had to use the toilets in economy class. The meal was limited in choice. Inflight entertainment was accessed from ipad with a good selection of movies. Seats were quite narrow and not fully reclined. Service was fine with personable crew. The indirect route was a bit of a hassle but for the price we paid for business class which cost about the same as premium economy for other airlines flying direct meant it was worth the extra journey time. Boeing 777 will be replaced by new Dreamliner from London Heathrow in July 2015. Look forward to experiencing flat bed in business class on return leg.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Vietnam Airlines customer review

Review by (Malaysia) 27th May 2015

Flew from KUL to CDG Vietnam airlines use A321 for KUL-HAN route B777 for HAN-CDG route. A321 is a typical short haul flight with good meals provided no private screen IFE only overhead screen broadcast system. B777 is an old aircraft with old fashion interior a small seat back screen with NON on demand IFE means they have time schedule to broadcast the movie. On DME to KUL VN use A330-200 surprisingly this is a modern aircraft with nice interior larger seat back screen with video on demand entertainment system. Flight attendants were polite food provided was good. They even served cocktail and sparkling wines. As for amenities they only provide blanket and pillow tooth brush was placed in bathroom with minimum quantity for grabs. No duty free shopping. VN should refurbish their B777 aircraft's if they want to continue using this plane in order to compete with other 3 star airlines as it is really outdated. If you want to fly with VN and expect a bit more comfortable flying experience try to choose route using A330-200 or their newly aircraft - A350 and B787.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes