Vietnam Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 536 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"friendly and thoughtful"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | I took an economy class flight from Ho Chi Minu city to Singapore.The aircraft was Airbus A321 and uncomfortable to sleep. The cabin crew was very friendly and thoughtful. The seats had many free space. Food was delicious with chicken and rice.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh to Singapore
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"ATR 72-500 was old and dirty"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dalat to Da Nang. Horrible. The ATR 72-500 was old and dirty. The galley did not have a trash bag and the lavatories were lacking in soap and potable water. One cabin crew member didn’t even tell passengers to place their seats in the upright position for landing until my mother reminded him to. Vietnam Airlines flies the ATR 72-500 through VASCO. I would only recommend if you were flying the A330 and above with Vietnam Airlines.
AircraftATR 72-500
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDalat to Da Nang
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew nice and very helpful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh City to Hanoi. Old Airbus A321. Very outdated interior. Crew nice and very helpful. Personally, they made this flight great. Food wasn’t great. I only ate it because I was hungry. Since it was a morning flight, the breakfast was a meat pie and some fruit. Legroom was nice. Equivalent to JetBlue in the USA. Entertainment was provided on the inflight ceiling video screens. To be honest, if Vietnam Airlines decided to retrofit the A321, it would be a great experience. Overall: 8/10. I would recommend flying them, but try to snag a seat on the newer airplanes like the B787 and A350.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Hanoi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"not good service at all"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Melbourne to Ho Chi Minh City. This was not good service at all. The flight was first delayed for 6 hours, then it was finally cancelled. They did thankfully put everyone up for accommodation. However, passengers had to wait for 2 nights before their flight was re-booked. I personally think that this is horrendous - do not recommend.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"girlfriend cancelled his flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Saigon via Phnom Penh. My son’s girlfriend cancelled his flight from Melbourne - Saigon, Vietnam air then cancelled all of his subsequent flights without any notice. He had to then re-purchase all of these flights again so he could get home for $1300. Our flight from Phom Penh to HCMC was cancelled with no notification. Luckily our hotels concierge was able to get an alternative flight with Qatar or we would have missed our connecting flight from HCMC to Melbourne, book another nights accomodation & fly the next day. Vietnam airline was uncontactable on a Sunday & the guy at the transfer desk said this happens all the time. We would never fly with them again even though Vietnam is an excellent destination for holidays.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Saigon via Phnom Penh
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"friendly cabin crew"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Ho Chi Minh City. Great seats space, friendly cabin crew, the fish and bread are delicious. Our flight was delayed 30 minutes than departure time because of the weather.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Good airline and reliable"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Flew Vietnam Airlines domestic Danang-Saigon 1/7-2018 on an A321. This was a flight on an award ticket from their frequent flyer programme that I booked myself online without any hassle. Used miles and paid 6 USD in taxes only. Airport check-in smooth despite surprising long morning queues. Inscribed luggage was above my limit but accepted without a word. Flight on time or even a bit early. Bus-gating in both ends was a devastating anti-climax for the entire experience. In the air eventless, only soft drinks provided. I always carry coffee-sachets for them to make me a cup of instant coffee. They made me a cup twice despite the flight was full and fairly busy. Luggage delivered after 5 Minutes upon arriving to the belt. Good airline, and, more important: reliable.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDa Nang to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"delay for over 2 hours"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Dalat to Ho Chi Minh. Flight VN 8381 had been delay for over 2 hours. I'm not complaining about the delay due to weather condition, but due to airline regulation delay after 2 hours and before 6 hours they should prepare food and drink. But the officer on duty said if the delay not because engine, the airline only provide drink, how you can explain that?
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDalat to Ho Chi Minh
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"remembered by the staff"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Flew HAN-HUI on a Saturday evening on 9th June 2018. Check-in took only 30 seconds – this is typical for business travel on domestic routes (inc. of SkyTeam priority members). They announced by email in the morning a delay of 1 hour, which was fine for me and somehow not surprising on a Saturday evening. Lotus lounge in Hanoi T1 is huge and very well arranged and catered. Enjoyed quick WiFi and had a shower in one of 3 neat shower-cabins. The flight was on the usual A321 with 4 rows of biz-class. We were 6 persons in that cabin and the caretaking was fine. Newspapers provided. As usual on domestic, the food makes no sense to me, but it is levelled out by the drinks offering inclusive of not less than 4 brands of beers. I was recognised (remembered) by the staff which were extremely hospitable. The boarding was on a comfortable jet-bridge.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHanoi to Hue
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"most improved airlines"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Vietnam Airlines has to be once of the most improved airlines from booking online to actually travelling. I first traveled on this airline from Hanoi to Phnom Penh in 1984 and it was a shocker. But this year I have had 5 trips with this airline this year and as I could only find my ticket for one flight I will restrict my comments to this flight. Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh on one of Vietnam's A350-900, which is a great aircraft: better than the Boeing 787-9 although the latter is also good and Vietnam Airlines uses this aircraft as well. Smooth check-in, easy boarding and friendly cabin staff. Only downside was a pathetic snack that is not characteristic of Vietnam Airlines international flights. But the solution a Pho Bo at the airport before boarding and perhaps a Bia Saigon or Bia Hanoi. My only gripe is the difficulty in checking online for some sectors and fairly poor frequent flyer program.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes