Best Cabin Crew  

Vietnam Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 355 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"nothing to write home about"

(United Kingdom)

Hanoi to Cam Ranh with Vietnam Airlines. Airport very quiet as it was Chinese New Year. Lounge was okay - reasonable selection of food and drinks. About 30 metres from the gate. The aging A321 was rammed - end to end. A very strange mix of passengers with total disregard for safety compliance. One women in row #2 was standing up jigging her baby about until the point of turning on the runway. Then she sat down and did not fasten her seatbelt as did her travel companion in the front row. What was most bizarre sitting on row 2 was a plane Captain on a re-location flight to Cam Ranh. He ignored it all - very strange. Plane pushed back 5 minutes early. Seats okay, pretty basic but comfortable. No booze except local beer. Food I passed on, as it was a sort meat pastry thing. My wife left most of it. FA were very robotic and looked bored. Plane landed on time. We are touring the Far East and have two more flights with Vietnam Airlines. It wasn't terrible but nothing to write home about.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHAN to CXR
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"appalling customer service"

(Cambodia)

We booked to fly from Cambodia to Heathrow with Vietnam Airlines with our cat and were booked in with the agent in Cambodia. We asked numerous times if we needed anything else as we knew all the requirements to get our cat through to London and were told everything was sorted and was in order. Three days before we were to fly, we asked for the airway bill reference number and were told we didnt need this! We of course looked into this further and after serious screaming from the manager at the agent location, telling us we were in the wrong, eventually they admitted their mistake - to which they told us they would take our money and cancel our tickets if we didnt collect the money immediately! Which of course we had to do. However we then lost out on hundreds of pounds of onward travel we had booked for that date, not to mention the cost of renewing our animal requirements yet to no avail and no compensation! I am sure this airline is fine to fly with but do not book your animal transfer with them and do not trust promises made! Appalling customer service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteREP to LHR via SGN
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"cabin crew very warm"

(Malaysia)

Kuala Lumpur to Hanoi with Vietnam Airlines. Lovely seat, even it seems old compared to other airlines in the same region. Seat recline was not functioning well. Dinner was great and I tried the local Vietnamese foods, it was delicious. Cabin crew very warm, despite there is some misunderstanding because of some of cabin crew not fluent in speaking English. Anyhow, service is what matters. I love the in-flight magazine. No in-flight entertainment, quite boring for that matter.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKUL to HAN
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never use again"

(Canada)

Arrived 2 hours early as requested for our flight from Nha Trang to Ho Chi Minh City with Vietnam Airlines. They delayed the flight from 15:35 to 19:40 without prior notice. Been stuck at the airport for over 7 hours, another flight left at 17:00 to Ho Chi Minh but we were told to wait. The scheduling staff are completely incompetent and I will never use Vietnam Airlines again. They cost saving do not compensate for the neglect towards customer service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCXR to SGN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"amazing aircraft A350"

(Singapore)

Flew with Vietnam Airlines from Singapore to Paris via Ho Chi Minh City round trip. I choose VN because I wanted to fly with the new A350 and the fare in business class was the same that Economy with SQ. Ho Chi Minh City To Paris the A350 had technical issue and they replaced it by the old Boeing 777-200 so I was a bit disappointed. However the communication and customer service were well managed, plus VN gave me 200USD compensation because of this incident. Paris to Singapore I had the pleasure to fly with this amazing aircraft A350, quiet, smooth in the air, cabin is very comfy and I managed to sleep the all flight. Both legs, the cabin crew were friendly, not really pro active but prompt to reply to any request. Food was good especially the Vietnamese one. The only negative point is the IFE - a very limited choice of movies and music but enough for me. Overall a very good experience. Vietnam Airlines is making effort to move to the next level.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSIN to CDG via SGN
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the service was excellent"

(Singapore)

Recently travelled Vietnam Airlines from Singapore via Ho Chi Minh City to Frankfurt, and return via Hanoi to Singapore in Business Class. Chose this airline because of their competitive pricing, the fact that they are introducing new planes (Boeing 787 / A350) on the European routes. Seats on the short-haul flights were adequate for the duration of the flights and the service was excellent. Each passenger is served individually, not the mass service via cart as many other airlines nowadays also provide in Business Class. Transit both in HCM City and Hanoi was fast and uncomplicated, the Lotus lounges adequate, whereas the Hanoi lounge is newer and has a better ambience than the HCM City one. On both long-haul legs we were on the 787, which has flat bed seats in a 1-2-1 configuration, which allowed for a good rest. Inflight entertainment system is good, screens of high quality and we had the impression that compared to earlier reviews the selection of international movies has improved, albeit not yet at the standard of Singapore Airlines or Emirates. Service was great and the flight attendants were friendly and attentive. Only slight complaint was that on the HCM City to FRA leg, the premium wines were out of stock too fast.
AircraftA321 / Boeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSIN to FRA via SGN
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"product is very stable"

(Vietnam)

Travelled Vietnam Airlines from Phu Bai to Da Nang via Ho Chi Minh City in December 2015 and and HUI-HAN in January 2016. All flights in A321. Product is very stable, flights on time, and attractive prices as purchased in ample time prior to departures. Service onboard for economy is virtually non-existing, but cabins are clean and well maintained. A minor change of 25 minutes postponed departure was well alerted several days prior to departure by SMS, email, and reissued ticket.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHUI to DAD via HAN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"flight delayed 10.5 hours"

(United Kingdom)

London Heathrow to Bangkok via Ho Chi Minh. Our flight was delayed 10.5 hours which caused us to miss our connecting flight to Bangkok. We missed 24 hours of our 2 week holiday and were travelling with my 87 year old father and his friend of 84. Technical reason was given for this new aircraft. We are still waiting to hear from Vietnam Airlines as we are told they are responsible for compensation. That's a month now. So infuriating. Also, the screens flickered and were unable to watch any films
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to BKK via SGN
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"delayed for 4 hours"

(United States)

My flight on January 8th from Ho Chi Minh city to Cam Ranh airport got delayed for 4 hours with no particular reason. My flight was supposed to depart at 12:25; however, after waiting for three hours, it got delayed one more time. The ground team at Cam Ranh Airport also gave my family attitude when they asked for the exact departure and arrival times. It was a very unpleasant experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSGN to CXR
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"crew was friendly"

(Germany)

Flight from Ho Chi Minh City to Frankfurt on the new Boeing 787-9 in Vietnam Airlines Premium Economy. Seats were in 2-3-2 arrangement with pretty large seat pitch, so more than enough leg room. The seat also reclines in a big angle and I could sleep for more than 7 hours between the two meal services. For dinner and breakfast were two choices (asian sytle or western style) available. The quality and quantity was very good and the meals were both tasteful. The crew was friendly and responded immediately on requests.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSGN to FRA
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes