Vietnam Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 492 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Would consider flying again"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Kansai via Ho Chi Minh City. The first-leg (A320) from SIN to SGN had a slight delay of 15 minutes. Vietnam Airlines operates from the new Changi Airport Terminal 4 and uses a common lounge, which is reasonably comfortable and decent selection of food. For A320 the seat configuration is 2x2 with good and wide seat pitch, although without any IFE expected for a A320. Comfortable enough for a less than 2hr flight with dinner served. Flight attendants were efficient in general but communications generally lacking. For SGN - KIX (A350), able to use the Lotus lounge at Ho Chi Minh airport. However while the food selection is great (especially the beef pho), the scheduling of most departure VN flights at the same time (late night) means the lounge is fully packed like a market, almost war-zone like. Was offered access to another lounge but it's like 10-15mins walk away at the other end of terminal. Nonetheless staff is helpful in finding seats but first time experiencing a 'market-like' lounge. Business cabin is configured the standard 1x2x1 with fully reclined seat-bed and provided with an amenity kit, the cabin is bright and clean but not really aesthetically designed but more functional purpose. Seat and legroom is comfortable but perhaps some might find it tight if they are on the plus size side. IFE Screen is huge but browsing through the content it's quite limited in movies or any latest blockbusters. Flight attendant (japanese i guess? speaking in good english to me while handing me a tieng-viet menu) communicates well with cheerful disposition. Takeoff as scheduled and the A350 is quite a pleasant and stable flight. Cabin dim soon thereafter. A main issue is probably on the inflight meal schedule which took place 2hr-2.5hr into the flight. Given it's a 5hr or so flight it makes more sense to serve breakfast just before landing instead of interrupting passengers' sleep in between flight. In general aside from the meal schedule the flight from SGN to KIX was pleasant and comfortable. Flight attendants generally efficient but compared to SQ, CX or even TG the more personalized and enthusiasm is lacking. After landing saw this fellow passenger at the centre backrow (business cabin) splitting phlegm onto the floor and there's no response from the attendants. Presumably giving a benefit of doubt the splitting is into the sickness bag or something but i could see the 2 passengers in front of him feeling disgusted. Would consider flying again with VN all in all with expectations managed (not really sure the baseline for a 4 star airline), but more value definitely on the new A350/B787 aircraft
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Kansai via Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Dreamliner flat beds, great staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew Sydney to London via Ho Chi Minh. I’m really pleased to see that Vietnam Airlines business is improving. Dreamliner flat beds, great staff, entertainment still a bit naff but we live in the age of iPads and downloadable Netflix so that’s not an issue. Food really good this time. Only complaint is the lounge at Ho Chi Minh where they sell space - leading to bad overcrowding. Air con was not effective in lounge either - it was much cooler in the terminal. Lounge food horrible. Sydney sky team lounge great.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to London via Ho Chi Minh
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"disgusted by the situation"

(France)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Phu Quoc via Ho chi Minh City. My partner, a friend and myself booked a flight from Bangkok to Phu Quoc. We arrived at Bangkok airport to check in. 2 French and 1 irish staying 8 days in Vietnam. The lady took for ever to check our bags. We saw her going over to colleagues carrying our passport. We didn't know what was happening. But after few minutes she came back without saying anything. We asked: "Is everything ok?" Thinking that was weird that she had to go to talk to other colleagues with our passport. Anyway, she gave us our boarding pass saying everything was ok. Then we landed in Vietnam thinking the service was good on the plane. My French friend and I went through the custom with no problem but when my Irish partner presented his passport, it seemed that something was wrong. Being on the other side of the gate and not knowing what was happening was very frustrating. But then when I got to talk to him, he said that apparently he needed a visa. Visa on arrival were not to be given so he was in very big trouble because it was illegal for him to even be in the country!! The nightmare started. We had 1h50 to collect our luggage, register and check in again to take the second flight towards Phu Quoc. He had many many talks with airline agent, immigration officers, agent, at this stage we missed or flight. We tried to register online to apply for a visa which cost us 52USD - for nothing because apparently the office was closed - and then, after few hours he filled out some forms and paid an other 160usd to finally around 7.30pm get through the custom. How can the Vietnam airline agent not Know, tell us, inform us or say anything about the visa? Why did they let us take the plane knowing that it was not even meant to be possible to get a visa on arrival? Luckily enough we were not sent on deportation for the night and back to our departure point like it happened to an other couple, but what if? Thinking we were paying a little more to have a very nice time, we have been disgusted by the situation. I would not recommend to fly with Vietnam Airliness to anyone who are not very knowledgeable about visas. We lost one full day of our holiday, stressing out and sleeping on a chair at the airport, a night at the backpacker on the island pre-paid, 200usd for a visa which is meant to cost 12usd if you are aware and 150€ by 3person for the flights!
AircraftA381
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Phu Quoc via Ho chi Minh City
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Food offering on board is poor"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Hanoi to Hue on 9 December 2017. A321 aircraft, we left on time. Gate-boarding by air-bridge. New CIP Lounge they offer in Hanoi is excellent in all aspects and better than many international lounges. Nice panorama view, good food, many hot dishes offered, good workspace, and spacious environment. Food offering on board is poor: 2 cold, western open sandwiches are totally inedible to me. It has been the same ridiculous sandwiches on this route for 10 years. Drinks offering better including four beer brands offered. Not much innovation on this airline, but punctuality and effectiveness weighs more to me as the alternative LCC’s operating these routes are in high risk of irregularity.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHanoi to Hue
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"only impressive things was the meal"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Hanoi to Moscow. The only impressive things were the meals they served. Everything else was not. The flight attendants were not as mannered and well-trained as those of some other airlines. I wonder why they allowed the Vietnamese passengers to take out the food they brought from outside and eat aboard. Many stood up, walked out of their seats and grouped together in other area to talk and eat noisily. When they finished, they irresponsibly left a lot of garbage there and went back to their seats. Many Vietnamese passengers didn't care about the belt-fastening symbol that was lit, so they stood up and either talked or picked their stuff from above their heads. They didn't care about their safety? No flight attendants came to tell them to stop doing that. They just walked past them. The aircraft was quite noisy when the Vietnamese weren't asleep.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Moscow
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"is a reliable airline"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh City to Hue on 3 December 2017. Nice aircraft, A321, flight on time. Check-in quick and smooth. No additional value of online check-in if one has to drop luggage anyway. Purchased on-line “prepaid additional luggage” 20 hours prior to departure and it cost me only 10 USD instead of 40 USD if paid at the counter. No IFE but flight info was displayed on small, shared, ceiling screens. Gate-changes. No airbridge provided in any of the two airports. I don’t like boarding by bussing around in airport during bad weather and rains. Good information from crew. FA’s have nothing to do onboard as there is no service and should be reduced in numbers. No meal or snack given on board – but FAs were having meals in their kitchenette. Luggage delivered on the belt at arrival quickly – some 5 Minutes time. Good value for money, some 45 USD in total as purchased during campaigns. That includes 20 kg inscribed luggage plus hand-luggage. Eventless journey, boring, but Vietnam Airlines is a reliable airline. At times very cheap.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Hue
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Overall experience is great"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh City. Overall experience is great. Everything went smoothly from the ground to boarding. Attendants were great. The fish rice breakfast is fine compared to value. No inflight entertainment as it's a short duration trip. Security checkpoint at Noi Bai was fast. Will fly again for sure.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Very nice attendants"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Everything went smoothly from Haneda International Airport to Noi Bai International Airport, except the immigration line at Noi Bai International Terminal (T2) was terrible. Lines were not respected and the immigration officers are careless to the waiting people in lines. Services at HND and on the flight were great. I was served with Japanese style meal and good beverages. New aircraft. But the seat was a little small. Very nice attendants even though they need to improve their English pronunciation and errors a lot.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Haneda to Hanoi
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"attendants on board are professional"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Flew Seoul Incheon to Hanoi. Vietnam Airlines has improved a lot over the last few years with new and large aircrafts. The overall experience is great: good ground services, lounge, smooth check-in. The attendants on board are professional, especially the Korean attendants - very nice and professional. The meals are great as well with Korean style meal. I will surely fly again with Vietnam Airlines in the future.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSeoul Incheon to Hanoi
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Information provided extremely poor"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Travelled Hue-Saigon, 5th October 2017 on an A321. Arrived 2 hours early on a Sunday morning. Flight got cancelled due to persistent typhoon outside and heavy rains and flooding. Waited for next flight and next flight but also cancelled - eventually the airport was shut down and I and other passengers were taken back to town by a bus. Had to find own accommodation. They then send me an email in the afternoon where they have rescheduled me on a new, inserted extra flight on 6th November (the following day). All passengers for the day were stranded. I then had big problems with onwards flights as I would not able to show up in Saigon even on the same day. Vietnam Airlines tried to help me but were not professional enough to sort it out and failed. Instead, I managed to solve it myself by postponing the next connection by two days to be sure to catch the planes in SGN. As for VN, I then came to Phu Bay airport the next day and they instantly checked me in on the extra flight. I was offered to go on an earlier flight at check-in counter, they would inquire as people were still checking in. Later in the lounge they provided me another boarding pass for the earlier flight. Very convenient as there is nothing to do in Phu Bai airport lounge as it is boring and and service deteriorates. No beer, no fresh coffee, no toner in the printer, no hot food. What a shame for a 4-star airline. The brewery is located only one km away and sells 4 cans of beer for 1 USD – much cheaper than all the soft drinks and milk offered in the lounge. The flight followed schedule. Food on board ridiculous, three micro-sandwiches which go in one single mouthful, but its not worth eating. Drinks better (e.g. 4 brands of beers offered) and FAs very alert. Only 2 rows of 4 seats makes business class feeling cramped despite good seats. Bus-gating in both airports with special business class shuttle. Luggage smoothly handled and arrived in few Minutes. Its not yet a 4-star airline: fairly good, but with significant faults. VN ground-staff handled the typhoon issue to a tolerable level but could have done better and provided more options and accommodation to passengers. Should have send passengers to Danang Airport 80 km away but did not offer. Information provided extremely poor and were very slow to rebook or take any action.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHue to Saigon
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes