Top 100 Airlines  

Vietnam Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 407 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"cannot check in online ex-Melbourne "

(United Kingdom)

Melbourne to London via Ho Chi Minh City. Since we flew with them 2 years ago they have upgraded to the Boeing 787 and business seats are great and fully recline making for a good sleep on a long haul flight. The only main issue we had with this trip was the check in process in Melbourne. For some reason you cannot check in online out of Melbourne (you can out of Vietnam and London). Being in Business class this didn't worry me too much but when we arrived at the airport we were stuck in a queue for over 30 minutes due to other passengers with huge amounts of excess baggage (certainly not appreciated when we've paid extra to sit up front). I was worried we'd not make it through security in time for he flight. I suggest they need to open a line especially for these travellers or restrict luggage limits as it really was out of control and there were not enough check in staff to manage. I fear some economy passengers may have nearly missed the flight due to this also.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to LHR via SGN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"travel Vietnam Airlines again"

(Brunei)

Verified Review | I got a very cheap fare from Kuala Lumpur to Moscow via Hanoi (return leg via Ho Chi Minh City). The return flight was retimed and the airline emailed me for the alternative booking and it was very efficient. Check in was efficient. Luggage was checked through. Food was good and cup noodles provided in between meals on the long haul sectors. Transit was easy and straight forward. I would travel with Vietnam Airlines again.
AircraftA320 / A330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to SVO via HAN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a very high pro-active standard"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Review is a summary of return flight from Melbourne to Paris via Ho Chi Minh (and via Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh on the return leg). I've flown Business Class with two of the 5 Star and five of the 4 Star airlines and I rate Vietnam Airlines equal to the best and better than most. I will absolutely fly them again. The on-line check-in wasn't available but the process at the airport was fast and efficient. VN uses the Qantas Lounge in Melbourne (OK but not great), Air France in Paris (huge but very comfortable and good food) and their own in Ho Chi Minh (fairly small but comfortable). Because the time between connecting flights in Vietnam was more than 5 hours VN includes a free transfer to a hotel where in addition to the room you get an included meal in the restaurant. The transfer process for this is very friendly and seamless. On board service across all legs was absolutely consistent, of a very high pro-active standard and equal to the service I have experienced on 5 star airlines. The afternoon departure flights featured 6 course main meals with good choice and of very good quality - some of the best I have had. Four choices of wine including a French Grand Cru. Between meals on the long legs attendants came through with plates of canapés - including when only the insomniacs were awake. Planes. The A350 is superb. The elimination of central overhead bins gives a cathedral feel to the cabin. Because the layout is 1x2x1 and the side overhead bins so large there is more than enough storage space. Good seat privacy and fully flat beds. The A330 is starting to age but immaculately clean. The angle flat seats which have pull up privacy dividers are still very comfortable but with the usual "slide down" when sleeping on angle seats. The IFE is limited so load some movies or music on a USB or an iPad if you can't sleep on a plane. VN has an excellent product and really knows how to look after business class passengers both on the ground and in the air.
AircraftA350 / A330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCDG to MEL via SGN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"VN are very solid"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Travelled Hue to Hanoi return, Ho Chi Minh City to Hanoi in economy and Hue to Ho Chi Minh City in business. The airline wins in the end over others on punctuality and ability to communicate changes early and accommodate wishes to changes. All their competitors on domestic routes in Vietnam often hide, misinform, mislead, or reverse any problem – of which there are many. On top they have so many fees and taxes that even a zero-fare ends up being more expensive than VN-fares, which include luggage, seating, and no “payment convenience fees”. VN are very solid. An extremely conservative product kept in dull colours and design from the 80’ies. No food in Economy, some bites in Business. No entertainment. No shopping. Ticket prices are good or even excellent when bought under their plenty domestic campaigns.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHUI to HAN / SGN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"nothing to criticise overall"

(Australia)

Travelled on several flights within Vietnam all on similar aircraft, flights left on time and arrived slightly early. Check in ok in one case we were offered a 30 minute earlier flight. FA spoke good English and helpful in assisting in luggage storage. Seat comfort good with plenty of behind seat storage, no IFE and each flight a refreshing towel and bottle of water provided. Nothing fantastic but nothing to criticise overall - we arrived safety and on time.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSGN to HAN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"I enjoyed the trip"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh City. One day before the scheduled departure i received an email that my flight from Hanoi to Saigon would be delayed for 20min and the aircraft would be changed to a B777-200ER. On departure at the check-in counter, I was informed that the flight will be delayed by 3hrs because the plane had a technical fault. So i get a voucher to eat in a Restaurant at the departure area. The food at the restaurant was mediocre. I would appreciate it if we could have had a lounge access. After boarding I was surprised that they switched back the aircraft to a B787-9. The flight attendants welcomed us warmly. Legroom was great but unfortunately, the seat width was very narrow. The seats were uncomfortable. It would make more sense if the seats configuration would be 2-4-2 instead 3-3-3. IFE had not been put into operation maybe because of the short flight. English Newspapers were offered on board. Meals were distributed. You could choose between pork pasta and chicken with rice. Water, juices, soft drinks, tea and coffee were also available. I enjoyed the trip with Vietnam Airlines. It was very annoying that the aircraft was delayed by 3hrs.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to SGN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"quality of the meals are great"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Ho Chi Minh with Vietnam Airlines. Check in was very fast and easy. Skyteam lounge in Bangkok is located quite centrally and has lots of food and beverages, Cabin in A321 is standard, The quality of the meals are great, especially for Vietnamese food (eg. fresh spring rolls). I appreciated the service onboard. I found the crew efficient and pleasant. After the meal, they brought me a cup of earl gray tea with caramel cookies. They check if passengers are comfortable and require anything in a polite manner.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to SGN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"satisfied for the money I paid"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Flew Vietnam Airlines from Da Nang to Hanoi. As a Lotusmile Platinum member (SkyTeam Elite Plus) I was given the priority everywhere at the airport, so check-in, security, boarding were all very fast and convenient. The lounge at Da Nang International Airport was a little disappointing since there is a not a variety of food until lunch time. However, the flight was on time which was more than I expected since there is a often half-an-hour delay for an average Vietnam Airlines flight (sometimes it can reach up to 4 hours). As I flew in economy class on such a short domestic route like Da Nang - Hanoi, there was no meal served, however, the crew members managed to deliver everyone a bottle of drinking water with smile, and then left everyone in peace. Overall, I was satisfied for the money I paid.
AircraftA321-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDAD to HAN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"will not be flying this airline again"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Heathrow via Ho chi Minh City and Hanoi. Terrible airline. To start things off the Vietnam Airlines staff at Sydney Airport told me at check in that I needed to purchase a $300 visa on the spot to board the aircraft - due to the fact that Vietnam Airlines preys on customers that book their ticket online un-aware of the visa requirements for a domestic flight within Vietnam. They purposely make their aircraft stop twice in Vietnam in order for a visa to be necessary on the way to Heathrow airport from Sydney. Upon arrival at Ho Chi Minh City airport (Tan Son Naht Airport) I was approached by staff of the airport who charged me $120 for a photo and a stamp, not only was that a rip off but it was a number they came up with on the spot, as I was able to bargain it down to $80. To make matters worse this incompetent airline and their rude staff lost my bag during their unnecessary 2-stop stop over, and all they offered me as a follow up procedure was a childish sheet of paper to write my name and colour of the bag - hopeless! I will not be flying this airline again, and I warn whoever does choose to fly with Vietnam Airline that they are aware of the visa requirements to transit within Vietnam, and to buy their visas before flying (which only costs $10 funny enough) or be faced with a $400 visa and stamp fee at the airport prior to departure. Oh, and on a final note - the inflight entertainment was very poor and outdated, especially for a long haul flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to LHR via HCM / HAN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"good service and on-time"

(United Arab Emirates)

A possibility of reserving seats while booking a flight would have been a great, but you may do so during online check-in 24 hours prior to boarding. Also good if the online check-in is possible 48 prior to departure as some travel many hours prior to the flight. Our flight from HCM to Hanoi was excellent, not much fancy but good legroom, clean aircraft, good service and on-time. Reading all reviews this came in as a surprise, the return journey was as good on an older plane. Food was also excellent and the overall experience was fantastic. Booked online and got a fantastic price with Vietnam Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 777 and A330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHCM to Hanoi
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes