Top 100 Airlines  

Vietnam Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 388 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"food was mediocre"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore - Hanoi - Singapore with Vietnam Airlines. Both ways were fully booked and was disappointed that there was no option for us to chose our own seat, even though I performed web-check in. Website was a little confusing as this flight was booked in a package with my accommodation with a tour agency and there wasn't an option to manage my booking on the website. Meals could not be changed as a result and one of my family members who was a vegetarian had to do without a meal on this very short haul flight. Check in staff were pretty efficient which was a stark contrast to the onboard cabin crew. Service on board was pretty bad as they were able to speak basic English and were not able to understand what we wanted. During meal times, a crumpled menu was shown to customers on the choice of food that was available onboard and sign language was used to indicate which option we would like to have. Some cabin crew appeared rather restless and tired throughout the whole journey, as with the slow and inefficient meal and drink service. Seat pitch was great, as a tall person (1.8 m) like me was able to sit comfortably even with the seat in front at its maximum reclining position,albeit the small aircraft utilized for this particular route. Entertainment onboard was shown using an overhead screen and only one movie were shown on both legs. The food was mediocre at its best along with the drink service.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to HAN
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"meals were returned untouched"

(Ireland)

Flew from Hanoi to Dublin via Paris. The plane was the new Airbus so the entertainment levels were above standard. There were no controls for the air conditioning, so for twelve hours I mixed being freezing cold to sweating profusely. Both meals were returned untouched. Drinks and beverages consisted of a whiskey and ginger ale and a bottle of water. When I asked for another drink I was told "there's not enough for everyone". The stewards disappeared for most of the flight and didn't respond when the attention button was pushed. The toilets were dirty. I will never fly with Vietnam Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to DUB via CDG
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"the price was incredible"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Three of us booked last minute (5 days before) Vietnam Airlines flights from London to Ho Chi Minh City and the price was incredible. We flew on the Boeing 787, which was spotless and very comfortable. Inflight entertainment was sufficient, plenty of choices to keep you busy for the 12 hour flight. Luckily for me on the way there it was quite empty and was able to obtain a row of three seats and have a large amount of space to sleep. No problem with the food, it was pretty much spot on. The flight back wasn't as good. There was a lot of turbulence, and the food wasn't anywhere near as good of standard as the flight out. The only real negative was the fact the control for the inflight entertainment was in the middle of the armrest -I lost count at the amount of times we had either turned each others films off, called a member of cabin crew or turned the reading light on!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to SGN
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"mostly unsmiling service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew from Singapore to Ho Chi Minh City via Hanoi, Hue with Vietnam Airlines. All three flights in economy class were pleasant, and the flight assistants offered efficient but mostly unsmiling service. The aircraft are showing their age, but the cabins were clean and the seats were comfortable with plenty of legroom. Two flights were on time; the third operated an hour late. A tasty meal was offered on the Singapore-Hanoi flight, and on the domestic sectors a bottle of water and a refresher towelette. All in all good value for the money.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to SGGN via HAN
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"the food was excellent"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Overall this was a pleasant journey. The onboard service on both sectors (Vientiane to HCMC and HCMC to Melbourne) was good, and the food was excellent (especially on the long haul sector from HCMC to Melbourne). Regional business class seating on the A321 aircraft was comfortable for the short sectors. I was surprised to find pod business class seating on the A330 - it was not lay-flat, but I managed to get a good night's sleep. The only disappointment was the small and outdated IFE monitors, and the lack of storage around the seat compared with other airlines' offering. At HCMC, where we had to be bussed from the plane to the terminal, I was impressed that Vietnam Airlines made sure that business class passengers had a special bus which left for the terminal as soon as all passengers had disembarked. On arrival at Melbourne our luggage was on the carousel before we got to the luggage hall. Vietnam Airlines offers a relatively cheap business class option between Australia and SE Asia, one that is well worth considering.
AircraftA321/A330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVTE to MEL via SGN
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a good flight"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Midnight flight out of Hanoi to Tokyo Narita with Vietnam Airlines. Crew were friendly. Drinks was served after take off followed by distribution of immigration form. Breakfast was served 2 hours before landing in Tokyo Narita. PTVs were new but the choices of programs available was limited. Taken everything into account, a good flight.
AircraftBoeing 787-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to NRT
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"crew were courteous"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Short hop from Vientiane Wattay to Hanoi Noi Bai with Vietnam Airlines. The aircraft used was a new A321, Seat was comfortable and the aircraft was clean. The flight was almost full but boarding was efficient and the crew were courteous. Only drinks service was available in this flight.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVTE to HAN
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"leg room was plentiful"

(United Kingdom)

I flew with Vietnam Airlines From London - Hanoi and also from Saigon back to Hanoi and then on to London. The long haul flights were around 12 hours so I was happy to find the leg room was plentiful, the seats were comfortable and the entertainment was excellent. The service on the flight to Hanoi was great and I was happy enough with the food offered, no complaints here. The return leg I was disappointed to find the sound was not working on my TV screen and also we were not really asked if we would like many refreshments but all in all a good flying experience. I was very impressed with the Boeing 787, they are quiet, the air quality is high and they are really clean.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to HAN
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"predictable, solid product"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Flew Hue - Ho Chi Minh and return on 30/4 and 8/5. A321 aircrafts. Spotless travels, although not exciting in any aspect. Conservative airline, dull colours, no entertainment. But things function well: extremely quick check-in (less than a minute’s duration each time), priority care, mileage provision, lounges in both airports, luggage, and punctuality. The route with the A321 provides the classic business class recliner seats, which are nice and spacious. Cold, useless snacks served on-board – it is clearly an attempt to make western food instead of embracing some good local dishes. Coffee and tea was the only hot thing on flight. Call-buttons answered instantly. Soft drinks were plenty. 4 brands of beers offered (Halida, Carlsberg, 333, and Hanoi) which is a plus and rare gesture for domestic travelling nowadays. Predictable, solid product, likely worth the 237 USD spent on a return, despite a dull and completely eventless trip. Economy class would have been 100 USD less and worth to consider to choose in future. No IFE for these flights of 80 minutes each. Lounge in Hue is mediocre and underproviding as compared to the Lounges in SGN which are better.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHUI to SGN return
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"overall flight was nice"

(New Zealand)

Ho Chi Minh City to Hanoi with Vietnam Airlines. Flight was ok in economy class in 2-4-2 configuration. Booked this particular flight as scheduled to be on A350 but changed without notice. Not at all impressed with ground staff who snatched my PNR and checked me in using a self service machine when I was doing it fine myself. Changed schedule and refused refund even though it broke minimum connecting time. Overall flight was nice but ground staff and sales offices are useless
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSGN to HAN
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no