Vote Now  

VietJet Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 74 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"I expect better customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | While VietJet is a budget airline, I expect better customer service and communication. I purchased tickets for a friend and I from Ho Chi Minh to Da Nang; a month before our flight, VietJet kept emailing me about changes to our flight. Half of the emails were in Vietnamese and several of them didn't actually include new information. Our original fight time was about 11am, but with all the flight changes, it was moved up to 6:00am. At least they notified me about these changes though. While in Hue, my friend and I found out from the receptionist at our hostel that our flight had changed. We were reserving seats on an airport shuttle two days in advance, and the receptionist wanted to verify our flight time. Our scheduled flight of 2:20pm wasn't showing up online when she checked. Upset and confused by this ordeal, I looked up my reservation separately. Sure enough, the flight time had changed, but I hadn't received a single email from VietJet regarding this change. In addition to all of this, upon arriving at the airport, we were informed that our backpacks must be checked because they exceed 7kg. The cost of checking one backpack weighing up to 15kg is ~US$14. We only paid $22 for our tickets. AirAsia has a similar baggage policy, but in the five times I've flown with them, they have never enforced it. The VietJet flight wasn't fuller than any of my AirAsia flights either.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSGN to DAD
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"dirty with rubbish on the floor"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Da Nang to Ho Chi Minh City. Delayed over 1 hour, on boarding the stewardess was playing with her nails, not looking at, welcoming or smiling to passengers. Plane was dirty with rubbish on the floor. The plane was an old Bulgarian Air plane with old branding, and begging for refreshment.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDa Nang to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"overall experience was good"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Flew VietJet Air from Bangkok to Phuket. Although the latest reviews of this airline were quite negative, I decided to book a flight with them, since I wanted to paint my own picture and I was convinced by the price. The overall experience was good and matched the ones I had with other low cost carriers in Europe: Bus transfer to the aircraft, little legroom, no inflight service. You have to pay for all extras like checked luggage and seat selection. The price for checked luggage was surprisingly low, so that I booked one 20kg suitcase, but skipped all other extras. Although we did not select seats, we got seats together and even a window seat. It is a low cost carrier and you get what you pay for. If you adjust your expectations, you will not be disappointed.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Phuket
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"such a difference in price"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Hue to Ho Chi Mihh City. I fly every few weeks and mostly in Europe and North America but I've never seen such a difference in price between the advertised price on Google and the final total of the tickets once you book them through the VietJet Air website. Google include all hidden fees, but with VietJet Air by the time I got my flight booked my price tripled (there were no add ons). I was even thinking of taking a bus not to give this company any $ but unfortunately we have an international flight today from SGN, VietJet Air advertised our 1h.25 min flight as $44 cad on Google, by the time you get to their website it's $65 US, and by the time you check out it came to $236 for 2 passengers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHue to Ho Chi Mihh City
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"blatant attempt to procure money"

(Australia)

Verified Review | On a flight with Vietjet Air from Bangkok to Chiang Mai last month I was forced to pay 2.5 times the original fare I paid for my daughter because we included the middle name on her booking form. The booking form asked to include Last Name, Middle Name and Given Name of any person travelling on the ticket. It did not ask for the names as they appear on the passport. My daughter's middle name does not appear on her passport. But because it asked for her middle name in this form I included it. Because of this they made me pay, in cash, more than the double flight cost to remove her middle name and get on the flight. This is just ridiculous and makes me very angry. She was identified through her passport but would not allow her on the flight because of her middle name. Where is the common sense and any sense of reason or fairness in this? Clearly just a blatant attempt to procure money from customers. And in cash too! I would love to pursue this matter further but already they are denying my claims through their customer service department.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chiang Mai
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"everything becomes worse"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | I live in Vietnam since 3 years. Vietjet Air was a good low cost airline before. But since about 1,5 years everything becomes worse. Nearly all flights are reschedulded. On 24 December 2016 I had a flight from Singapore to HCMC with a new departure time 4 hours later. My last flight yesterday from Phu Quoc to HCMC was 2 hours earlier as in timetable. No service, now assistance and extremely arrogant. If you write to the customer service with a problem, they just don't reply. Especially if they see that there could be a problem for Vietjet Air.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhu Quoc to Ho Chi Minh
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"young, smiling and proactive crew"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Ho Chi Minh City to Singapore. I was quite suprised by this small airline. I have not seen such a young, smiling and proactive crew for quite a long time. I did not find seat pitch to be that cramped. Aircraft was quite well-maintained. Took off with a delay of 20 minutes but landed in Singapore exactly on-time. Based on this experience and considering the very low ticket price I paid, I would fly again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Singapore
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Skyboss was a no-brainer"

(United States)

Verified Review | Ho Chi Minh City to Phu Quoc. Since I bought the ticket day of, I didn't have time to review the baggage/check-in fees of the low-cost carriers that flew from HCMC to PQC, therefore buying Vietjet's Skyboss was a no-brainer to avoid any fees that come with flying a budget airline. From check-in to baggage claim, all the services that come with "Skyboss" offset and/or exceeded its value for the inconveniences that come with low-cost carriers. Priority check-in and security were fast and convenient, especially since it was a domestic flight. From there, I went to the lounge where I had access to wifi and a good spread of food/drinks. I saw that the flight had somewhere north of a 25% delay-rate, so I knew the lounge (which is also a part of PriorityPass) would be valuable. Unfortunately, the flight board doesn't update fast, so you need to keep an eye on boarding. I was originally seated in the 2nd row, but the flight attendant offered me a seat in the first row where I would have more legroom. When deboarding, a separate shuttle van promptly took us to our arrival gate - this was overkill since there was only 3 of us and the rest of the flight was packed in on shuttle buses. Loved the piece of mind, distinction, functionality, and value that came with buying a premium economy ticket.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSGN to PQC
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"keep an eye on boarding time"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Hanoi to Danang. The worst airline experience I have had in my life. Have travelled a bit, but never experienced anything like Vietjet Air. When everything goes to plan, it's an almost decent airline. As soon as anything goes wrong you're absolutely stuffed. Keep an eye on your gate and your boarding time. Everything can change in an instant and there may be no announcement.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to DAD
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never use this airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | Ho Chi Minh City to Nha Trang. They changed the flight time and failed to notify any foreigners that were taking the flight. They said all Vietnamese people made the change but all foreigners did not. Naturally the airline should accommodate it's customers because of such a blatant mistake on their part not being able to communicate with their foreign customers. They were not willing to pay for a different airlines flight to lessen our delay time of 20 hours. They also refused to give any accommodation for a hotel or taxi service. When talking to the manager I was asking to speak to his boss or to be accomodated for their mistake he said that accommodating customers beyond booking another flight was against the policy. I then asked to see the policy he spoke of and he said no it is a secret policy. And as I was still talking to him he just walked away. So foreign people should never use this airline, even if it has convenient times because they will change the time of the flight and never tell you.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSGN to CXR
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 74 Reviews