Airline of the Year  

VietJet Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Be careful with VietJet"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Chiang Mai to Bangkok. Be careful with VietJet Air. Evening before flight I tried to check in online, but system said that my booking number was not found even I checked it many times. Chiang Mai airport is not big and I live just in 5 minutes from the airport. So I arrived to the airport 50 minutes before my flight, which is domestic and I had no baggage. VietJet Check In counter was absent (I know airport pretty well). It took about 1-2 minutes to figure out where it should be. No signs, just a couple of VietJet employees who told me that I'm too late for Check In. If you have no baggage, and at checkin counter exactly 43 minutes before domestic departure - it is too late for VietJet and they can do nothing with it. In Chiang Mai airport it is just 5, maximum 10 minutes of walk to the boarding gate, including security check from checkin area. So I missed my 2 flights with VietJet and business meeting in Bangkok. I never had problems like this before and it was my first and last experience with VietJet.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Bangkok
Date FlownMay 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"fed up with the many reschedules"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Travelled 11 May, Saigon to Hue. Price was cheaper, but Vietnam Airlines can still be cheaper and would be my first choice whenever schedule fits. As for VietjetAir the price of ticket was fine but I am fed up with the many reschedules, cancellations, and combining (merging) two flights into one) of their flights. Further, the risk of delays is always high. In my case, they reissued my ticket three times in the week up to departure and forced changes to my original schedule. The original flight “disappeared” 4 days prior to departure. So they gave me only one option of a very late flight (arriving Hue 23:30). However, they eventually departed on time according to this latest change. In the Airport they tried to put me on an earlier flight, but it did not work as it was closed 40 Minutes prior to departure. Without luggage I could have made it. On board good service and fresh crew. Luggage service fine and they were not fuzzy with excess hand-luggage.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSaigon to Hue
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"Below any acceptable standards"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Ho Chi Minh City to Danang. Purchased tickets for a weekend away with Vietjet as they had very convenient prices. At the gate we were surprised with a delay. No extra information provided. Then another delay was informed. Overall, under two hours delay but nobody from the airline was able to provide information. When finally managed to speak with someone, the reason, at first was late arrival of the aircraft which then changed to servicing the aircraft. Eventually upon boarding the plane, we had to change seats as the storage/pocket area of my daughter's seat was filthy. The plane had litter all around which was very unpleasant. Waiting for our return flight from Danang now and this flight is also delayed. No one from ground staff around to provide any explanation or updates with new flight time. Needless to say we won't be flying with Vietjet Air again. Below any acceptable standards within the industry.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Danang
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the most terrible airline"

(South Korea)

Verified Review | My flight was the 31st March at 9:30am. So i set the my all schedule on that day. And when i woke up on that day. I just got a email from the Vietjet. My flight was changed to 5:30am. It was sent at 4am. And my flight was from Nha trang to Ho Chi minh and from Ho Chi Minh to Singapore. So I could not take all flights. And I called to the center, and they just said they can refund money. It is the best way to help me. I could not understand the Vietjet airline management system. It is the most terrible airline. I won't take the flight anymore. Their management system do not have any responsibility to guests. They destoried my all schedule. I just cancel my all schedule. So terrible experience. I recommend please do not take the flight for your time and money.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNhatrang to Singapore
Date FlownMarch 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I expect better customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | While VietJet is a budget airline, I expect better customer service and communication. I purchased tickets for a friend and I from Ho Chi Minh to Da Nang; a month before our flight, VietJet kept emailing me about changes to our flight. Half of the emails were in Vietnamese and several of them didn't actually include new information. Our original fight time was about 11am, but with all the flight changes, it was moved up to 6:00am. At least they notified me about these changes though. While in Hue, my friend and I found out from the receptionist at our hostel that our flight had changed. We were reserving seats on an airport shuttle two days in advance, and the receptionist wanted to verify our flight time. Our scheduled flight of 2:20pm wasn't showing up online when she checked. Upset and confused by this ordeal, I looked up my reservation separately. Sure enough, the flight time had changed, but I hadn't received a single email from VietJet regarding this change. In addition to all of this, upon arriving at the airport, we were informed that our backpacks must be checked because they exceed 7kg. The cost of checking one backpack weighing up to 15kg is ~US$14. We only paid $22 for our tickets. AirAsia has a similar baggage policy, but in the five times I've flown with them, they have never enforced it. The VietJet flight wasn't fuller than any of my AirAsia flights either.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSGN to DAD
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"dirty with rubbish on the floor"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Da Nang to Ho Chi Minh City. Delayed over 1 hour, on boarding the stewardess was playing with her nails, not looking at, welcoming or smiling to passengers. Plane was dirty with rubbish on the floor. The plane was an old Bulgarian Air plane with old branding, and begging for refreshment.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDa Nang to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"overall experience was good"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Flew VietJet Air from Bangkok to Phuket. Although the latest reviews of this airline were quite negative, I decided to book a flight with them, since I wanted to paint my own picture and I was convinced by the price. The overall experience was good and matched the ones I had with other low cost carriers in Europe: Bus transfer to the aircraft, little legroom, no inflight service. You have to pay for all extras like checked luggage and seat selection. The price for checked luggage was surprisingly low, so that I booked one 20kg suitcase, but skipped all other extras. Although we did not select seats, we got seats together and even a window seat. It is a low cost carrier and you get what you pay for. If you adjust your expectations, you will not be disappointed.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Phuket
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"such a difference in price"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Hue to Ho Chi Mihh City. I fly every few weeks and mostly in Europe and North America but I've never seen such a difference in price between the advertised price on Google and the final total of the tickets once you book them through the VietJet Air website. Google include all hidden fees, but with VietJet Air by the time I got my flight booked my price tripled (there were no add ons). I was even thinking of taking a bus not to give this company any $ but unfortunately we have an international flight today from SGN, VietJet Air advertised our 1h.25 min flight as $44 cad on Google, by the time you get to their website it's $65 US, and by the time you check out it came to $236 for 2 passengers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHue to Ho Chi Mihh City
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"blatant attempt to procure money"

(Australia)

Verified Review | On a flight with Vietjet Air from Bangkok to Chiang Mai last month I was forced to pay 2.5 times the original fare I paid for my daughter because we included the middle name on her booking form. The booking form asked to include Last Name, Middle Name and Given Name of any person travelling on the ticket. It did not ask for the names as they appear on the passport. My daughter's middle name does not appear on her passport. But because it asked for her middle name in this form I included it. Because of this they made me pay, in cash, more than the double flight cost to remove her middle name and get on the flight. This is just ridiculous and makes me very angry. She was identified through her passport but would not allow her on the flight because of her middle name. Where is the common sense and any sense of reason or fairness in this? Clearly just a blatant attempt to procure money from customers. And in cash too! I would love to pursue this matter further but already they are denying my claims through their customer service department.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chiang Mai
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"everything becomes worse"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | I live in Vietnam since 3 years. Vietjet Air was a good low cost airline before. But since about 1,5 years everything becomes worse. Nearly all flights are reschedulded. On 24 December 2016 I had a flight from Singapore to HCMC with a new departure time 4 hours later. My last flight yesterday from Phu Quoc to HCMC was 2 hours earlier as in timetable. No service, now assistance and extremely arrogant. If you write to the customer service with a problem, they just don't reply. Especially if they see that there could be a problem for Vietjet Air.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhu Quoc to Ho Chi Minh
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 78 Reviews