Top 100 Airlines  

VietJet Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 39 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"service was friendly"

(Germany)

Flew Hanoi to Danang with VietJet Air. If you only want to get from A to B and it is not a too long flight, this airline is absolutely perfect. Service was friendly, they immediately gave me water for taking my forgotten pill without any charge. They changed both flights for us to to better flight times. It was so easy to upgrade the baggage. We paid for 40 kg more (4 persons) at a very cheap rate. If you need a drink or something to eat during the flight: just buy it. All four of us can recommend this airline for short flights (about 90 minutes).
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to DAD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"there was no problem"

(United States)

Verified Review | Ho Chi Minh to Hanoi return, and both outbound and inbound flights were OK. They changed the flight departure time but informed us well ahead. So there was no problem. Seats were OK. Staff on the ground and flight were curteous. Nothing to mention bad. It was a family trip of three. We flew from New York to Ho Chi Minh via Air China. Separate tickets were bought from Vietjet online from USA. No surprise prices because invoice explains everything.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSGN to HAN
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"overall a poor experience"

(United Kingdom)

Short VietJet Air flight from Nha Trang (CXR) to Ho Chi Minh City (SGN). Booked the flight a few months in advance and a week before flying I decided to check the flight details via Manage my booking. Without having been notified by email or phone (they had both details), I see that the flight time had changed by almost 12 hours! When I called up their call centre the call hung up after 10 minutes as they were too busy to respond. I went to their office in Hanoi in person and got the the flight rebooked to one closer to my original departure time. The lady explained they only notify people of a time change if they have a Vietnamese phone number! Helpful. Arrived at Nha Trang airport with plenty of time. At scheduled flight time the plane had not arrived and no information was provided and no ground staff in sight. Plane arrived 45 minutes late and no apology. Plane was fairly comfortable but seat pitch was awful. Overall a poor experience.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCXR to SGN
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"ground staff utterly woeful"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Hanoi to Da Nang with VietJet Air. Ground staff were utterly woeful. On both legs we were told we had not paid for check in luggage demanding "You need to pay for luggage. Ho many pieces you want to pay for?" When I confronted them about it and showed them the receipt they suddenly and quietly checked our bags on. I saw this happen repeatedly to other passengers too. Onboard the staff were helpful and friendly. Their shuttle service in Hanoi should be avoided at all cost. Even after asking the driver three times if they went to Hoan Kiem Lake or near the Old Quarter, to which he replied yes every time we were still harassed off the bus at around 3km away, whilst the driver and other locals laughed at us. Cheap, but you get what you pay for.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to DAD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"felt a little dated inside"

(United Kingdom)

I booked Vietjet Air from Hanoi to Danang as it was far cheaper than Vietnam Airlines, the only other option. We had a good experience with this airline. Admittedly our departure time did change a couple of times which we only ascertained by checking on the website ourselves - we didn't receive email notification. Our original departure time was 21.40, then it seemed to change to 21.20, then eventually 21.05. It was a bit confusing as there seemed to be lots of flights for this route all within about 30 mins of one another. It felt a bit like catching a bus - you're not quite sure what time it'll turn up. However, we got to the airport in plenty of time, and checked in with ease as we had checked in online. The check-in assistant was helpful and friendly. We boarded and departed on time without incident. The aircraft felt a little dated inside, but was perfectly comfortable. The cabin crew were friendly and helpful and all in all it was a good flight. As I'd read reviews re this airline I was prepared for potential issues such as flight time changes, and we pre-empted these by continually checking the online airport departure boards etc to see the latest info, and by getting to the airport in plenty of time. Perhaps we were lucky that all went to plan, but, at £62 for 2 of us to fly from Hanoi to Danang, when Vietnam Airlines was at least 3 times this, I certainly have no complaints about this experience. You get what you pay for, after all.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to DAD
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"numerous reschedules experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Hanoi to Ho chi Minh with VietJet Air. I must say the numerous reschedules we have experienced for our previous return flight and the incoming one are totally not professional. Reschedule a flight (which we already rescheduled twice before) from 6am in the morning to 8pm in the evening (and communicate the change the day before). They are not able to provide any reasonable alternative and compensation is very disappointing. It was a short trip (3 days) to Da Nang and VietJet Air just ruined the first day.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to SGN
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delayed for indeterminate time"

(Vietnam)

I've been flying with VietJet Air a dozen times. Not once it hasn't been delayed. This time there's something wrong with the plane. The crew took us to the plane. Made us wait 15 minutes in the heat and without any explanations they put us back in a bus. Give us an excuse that this plane is actually going to Danang, when there's clearly something wrong with the plane. Then we wait 10 mn in the bus. Back to the airport with no explanation or information on what's going on. 10 minutes later we're informed that the plane has been delayed for an indeterminate time.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSGN to HAN
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"was furious with Vietjet"

(Australia)

Prepare to pay 660,000 dong (USD30) more for baggage charges at airport no matter what your ticket says. We purchased tickets online from Danang to Ho Chi Ming City which were quite expensive for a Vietnamese ticket at 2,000,000 dong ($90 USD). During the booking process it says that they have “pre-selected 20kg of optional baggage per person”, I looked for options to select different amounts of baggage as we had about 15kg each, we proceeded to book the tickets When we arrived at the airport the lady at the check in desk said that we had no baggage checked in and that we would have to pay extra for it of 660,000 dong. I said that we had booked in baggage and even produced the screenshot of the booking screen showing that 20kg of optional baggage was selected for my booking per person. The lady at the desk claimed that if you wanted to check in baggage you would have to call Vietjet and book the ticket that way and insisted that I did not book baggage even though it said so during the booking process. I dug my heels in and said that I was not going to pay because it clearly states that baggage was pre-selected when I booked the tickets. She then asked me to email the screenshot to her and she made a call to the main office. When she came off the phone she said that they agree and I have to pay the full amount of 660,000 dong. I was furious with Vietjet but still courteous to the lady as I know it is not her fault after all. They also refused to allow me to pay the lower charge of around 300,000 which is what I would have been charged for my baggage up to 3 hours before my flight time. There was approximately 30 other people paying for extra baggage due to their misleading ticketing also.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDAD to SGN
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"staff cheerful and efficient"

(Canada)

My wife and I took three flights in February, 2016 with VietJet Air just before or during Tet. I booked because it was the only airline with short notice seats avaible. I was expecting the worst. Saigon to Da Nang on the 4, returning on the 11. Then Saigon to Phu Quoc on the 12. All planes packed. All planes left within minutes of their scheduled departures. All check-ins quick with pleasant staff who communicated well in Emglish. Cabin staff cheerful and efficient. I was surprised but happy.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSGN to DAD
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"not as bad as cracked up to be"

(Vietnam)

Flew Vietjet for first time to visit Hue from Saigon. It was delayed 2 hours going and 5 hours coming back. Also one hour wait to retrieve baggage from the carousel in Saigon due to three flights and only one carousel. Apart from that, courteous service and comfortable safe flights. This may be budget but you can buy a meal onboard - all Vietnam airlines can offer is water. A lot cheaper than VN! Charming playing of 'Hello Vietnam' on landing. All in all not as bad as cracked up to be. Worth at least one star.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSGN to HUE
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 39 Reviews