Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1322 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"shrugging off responsibility"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Istanbul to Neveshir. This is a follow-up to my review first posted on 23rd Sept 2018. Well as it turns out, first impressions didn't quite last. Any frequent traveler would have experienced a delay in baggage arrival before, and this had to happen to us on this leg of the trip as well. Simple procedure right? Not with Turkish. While even other budget airlines can provide a proper and decent PIR (Property Irregularity Report), they couldn't. We went to the lost & found offices of 3 airports in turkey - Istanbul, Kayseri and Nevsehir, all of them got us to "contact a different department", bla bla bla, basically shrugging off responsibility and bringing us all over the world. When the baggage finally arrived at our hotel, it was an 18 hour delay. That's normal. What wasn't normal was that there were no forms to sign to acknowledge receipt of the baggage! The handling company said that "we are a third party engaged by the airline" and there was nothing to sign! While outsourcing of such responsibilities are normal, all other courier companies have let me sign a document at the point of collection to acknowledge receipt as well as to document the time of baggage arrival. So the story continues. When we finally managed to get our hands on a PIR, it was a computer generated one with no letterhead, no company stamp and no signature. A 9-year old could have reproduced the same document using MS word. Most importantly, it did not even state the eventual time of baggage arrival. How is any insurance company going to process a claim if a PIR does not state the time of baggage arrival? So now we are going around the world, from one department to another to yet another again, just to get our hands on a proper PIR. Case is not yet closed.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Neveshir
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"This airline is a mess"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Istanbul to Geneva. This airline is a mess. On the ground I asked to change my seat even if I needed to upgrade - “we are full”, so I asked again “ok so your answer is no?”, “yes I just told you we are full”. I got on the plane and business class is empty.I asked the flight manager “sorry I cannot upgrade you on the plane”! First they have no idea of the situation or seating arrangement or he didn’t listen to my request, or they are not interested in being successful and profitable.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Geneva
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"First time on Turkish and I'm impressed"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | A pleasant surprise. In a narrowbody aircraft type we weren't expecting any IFE, but much to our pleasant surprise, there was and a huge international selection at that! Even though it was barely a 2 hour flight, it made the experience a lot more comfortable. Check in counters were smooth and efficient and did their job well. Seat pitch presented a decent amount of legroom for a narrowbody plane. Breakfast served was delicious too, and with metal cutlery no less! First time on Turkish and I'm impressed. Only downside are the long queues while transiting in Istanbul but I hope that would be sorted out after the new airport opens next month.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZagreb to Kayseri via Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"attendants were efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Manchester to Ercan via Istanbul. Check in at Manchester was fast and efficient in business class, the reason for that would become apparent later. Plane was due to depart at 1100 but when we went to the gate as advised, the inbound passengers were not being allowed to deplane as the next gate along was loading for departure and presumably the staff were worried that the passengers might get confused. Eventually, we boarded and found we had the business class cabin to ourselves. Plane left 45 minutes late and the service during the flight was, as to be expected, superb. Food was good and tasty and we were able to sleep on this section. The cabin crew were very good. Because of the delay, we were short of time in Istanbul and were ushered straight to our next flight bypassing security. The flight from Istanbul to Ercan was aboard a A321 with the 2+2 seating layout. Boarding for this flight was chaotic as is normal for this airport. The flight was only 1 hour 20 minutes so it was not too bad, but premium economy would be a better description of the business class cabin. The seats were not particularly comfortable and the seat adjust buttons did not seem to work. The meal on this flight was superb. The flight attendants were efficient and did their best on this short flight.
AircraftA330 /A321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManchester to Ercan via Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"over $750 USD to change date."

(United States)

Trip Verified | Kiev to Chicago via Istanbul. We have used them before and it was good. This time in Septemmber it was not. We went to Ukraine and called them before buying our tickets and asked them if we had to change our date what would we need? They told us just call 24 hrs before the Flight and change the date, well when we called a week before to change the date they charged us $150.00 each to change it and we lost our seats that we paid over $250.00 each and they charge over $750 USD to change date. The flight was 2 hrs late with out any information to us. All the passengers had to stay in 1 small room with almost no AC or info why.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKiev to Chicago via Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a nonsensical response"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Valencia to Odessa via Istanbul. Beware of seats reservation scam. I reserved emergency exit seats - at a handsome price of 56 euro each for 4 people. They were booted out of their reserved seats, the crew made no attempt to resolve the situation claiming that the seats were double booked. Really?? On August 20th I filed a request for compensation "We have registered your feedback with reference number TK-1385157 . We aim to reply to your feedback within 7 days by completing the necessary research and evaluation" Today - a month later - I received a nonsensical response, and no refund.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteValencia to Odessa via Istanbul
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"the plane has already left"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Our flight from Venice to Nairobi provided a two-hour stopover in Istanbul. Two weeks before departure we were advised that the flight to Istanbul Nairobi had been anticipated and that therefore we would have had only one hour of call but that we would have done it easily (before confirming the acceptance of the flight change, we talked with the customer service Turkish who gave us confirmation - I hope that the phone calls are recorded, as well as an email in which we confirmed that we would have made it). As expected, the flight from Venice to Istanbul leaves late. We get off the plane at 18.05. The flight to Nairobi would leave at 18.40 but already on the panel appeared written "gate closed". We go to the gate and at 18.15 we are there the flight was due to leave at 18.40) and the gate is actually closed and the plane has already left. They send us to a desk for customer support that is not the right one and we find out after 10 minutes of waiting thanks to another customer who warns us. After having gone through 3 Turkish desk (Ataturk airport is not really small ...) we arrive at the correct one where in an absolutely rude manner they warn us that we would have to wait 24 hours for the next plane. Without baggage. They still give us assistance by providing us with a hotel and full board. They ask us if we prefer it near the airport or the center of istanbul and we ask that it be the center. They make us get on a bus without telling us where we were going and leave us in a hotel near the airport ... no ifs and buts, without even the foresight to say: sorry in the center was all full. We lose 24 hours of vancaza, the hotel booked in Nariobi, the various visits etc. ruined holiday. We are asking for a refund. They are denying it. saying that we agreed to have only 1 hour stopover: we agreed to have 1 hour of call, true - we never agreed to lose the connection. (mail and turkish phone calls in hand) we go ahead and we do not give up. (nothing to complain about the convenience of flight, meals etc, all unexceptionable). IT: l nostro volo da Venezia a Nairobi prevedeva uno scalo di due ore ad Istanbul. Due settimane prima della partenza siamo stati avvisati che il volo Istanbul Nairobi era stato anticipato e che quindi avremmo avuto solo un'ora di scalo ma che ce l'avremmo fatta agevolmente (prima di confermare l'accettazione del cambio volo, abbiamo parlato con il customer service Turskish che ci ha dato conferma - spero che le telefonate siano registrate, oltre che ad una mail in cui ci confermavano che ce l'avremmo fatta). Come c'era da aspettarsi, il volo da Venezia ad Istanbul parte in ritardo. Scendiamo dall'aereo alle 18.05. Il volo per Nairobi sarebbe partito alle 18.40 ma già sul pannello compariva scritto "gate closed". Ci fiondiamo al gate e alle 18.15 siamo lì (ribadisco il volo sarebbe dovuto partire alle 18.40) ed il gate è effettivamente chiuso e l'aereo è anche già partito. Ci mandano ad un desk per assistenza clienti che non è quello corretto e lo scopriamo dopo 10 minuti di attesa grazie ad un'altra cliente che ci avvisa. Dopo per essere passati per 3 desk Turkish ( l'aeroporto Ataturk non è proprio piccolo... ) arriviamo a quello corretto dove in maniera assolutamente sgarbata ci avvisano che avremmo dovuto aspettare 24 ore per l'aereo successivo. Senza bagaglio. Ci danno comunque assistenza fornendoci un albergo e pensione completa. Ci chiedono se lo preferiamo vicino all'aeroporto o al centro di istanbul e chiediamo che sia il centro. Ci fanno salire su di un pulmino senza dirci dove stessimo andando e ci lasciano in un albergo vicino all'aeroporto ... senza se e senza ma, senza neanche l'accortezza di dire: ci spiace in centro era tutto full. Perdiamo 24 ore di vancaza, l'albergo prenotato a Nariobi, le varie visite etc. vacanza rovinata. Stiamo chiedendo il rimborso. Ce lo stanno negando. dicendo che abbiamo accettato di avere solo 1 ora di scalo: abbiamo accettato di avere 1 ora di scalo, vero. non abbiamo mai accettato di perdere la coincidenza. (mail e telefonate turkish alla mano) andiamo avanti e non ci arrendiamo. (niente da ridire sulla comodità del volo, pasti etc, tutto ineccepibile)
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVenice to Nairobi via Istanbul
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst ground crew service"

(Philippines)

Not Verified | Gothenburg to Manila via Istanbul. The worst customer service, the worst ground crew service, the worst assistance I have ever experienced. We requested mobility assistance and the customer service reassured us that it is already fixed. When we arrived in Istanbul airport, the flight crew who assisted me get off the plane just left us without any explanation or instruction. We were clueless where should we go and where should we wait. When we asked an airport staff, he just told us in a rude manner to stay where we are and wait for the assistance for the next flight. We were so unsure and worried so we asked again a ground crew if there is an assistance coming to help me. I am handicapped and cannot walk so we really need this assistance. Boarding time is 1:05 am and it was already 12:50 and no help came. We just went to the gate by ourselves. We asked the ground crew about the assistance but all the ground crew are clueless how am I going to get in the plane. All the passengers are boarding and we are still waiting. In my previous experience, we are supposed to be the first to get in, not the last.
AircraftTK84
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGothenburg to Manila via Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"the seat was okay"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | Dalaman to Istanbul. Well, the seat was okay. The food was just a sandwich and it wasn't really fresh. Cabin crew was nice and friendly. Drinks are standard. The pilot's announcements were not understandable (almost every pilot at Turkish Airlines can't speak English clearly, I don't know what kind of exam they pass).
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDalaman to Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"food service were so slow"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | Istanbul to Dalaman. The food was okay. I The plane was new, ife was new, the seats were new. Legroom was good for a short flight. The cabin was clean. Takeoff and landing were smooth. Cabin crew looked unprofessional. But the drink and food service were so slow!
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Dalaman
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes