Vote Now  

Thai AirAsia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 21 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Staff service overshadowed the negatives"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | After having a rather bad experience with Nok Air, I came in with extremely low expectations. However, I should've set my expectations a little higher! The Check-in Queue was very long, however the check in staff were nice and orderly. After choosing to buy hot seats at Check-in, I had to pay at the ticket counter. The staff member there was fast and extremely nice. After duty free, I found out that my plane was a special livery plane (HS-ABD). Boarding was by bus, so I was able to take pictures with the plane. Boarding was was orderly, and fast. Cabin crew greeted me and all the crew said hello. After reaching my seat I noticed it had standard legroom. Disappointing as I paid an extra 350 baht and all I got was priority boarding. After take-off I purchased a buy on board meal of Chicken Rice, Nasi Lemak and Thai-style Chicken stir fry. My chicken rice was slightly bland but was worth the money. The staff very friendly when taking requests and chatting with passengers. There were english and Thai versions of the magazine (3Sixty). The plane pushed back on time, touched down 10 minutes early, and baggage delivery was prompt. To conclude, AirAsia is a great choice, maybe I just like the extras, so I will purchase them while booking the tickets. The ticket was cheap, so worth the money. Staff service overshadowed the negatives. However, the problem with the hot seats needs to be addressed. I will fly with Air Asia again.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDMK to MFM
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"an excellent inflight service"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Chiang Mai to Singapore via Bangkok Don Mueang on Thai AirAsia. I went on a holiday to Chiang Mai, and last minute I was desperately wanting a bonus trip in Bangkok. Then I approached the check in staff and asked her can I check in only to Bangkok, and forfeit the DMK-SIN flight and I will buy new ticket for that sector. But she told me that it's not possible unless I forfeit the entire ticket and buy a new ticket to Bangkok, I cannot check in partially to Bangkok only. Because I have the fly thru service and I need to pass immigration in Chiang Mai, not Bangkok. I was told the same by the ticket counter staff. I had no choice but return to Singapore this time and plan another Bangkok trip. I was disappointed by these, but on the bright side, everyone was nice and willing to help me even though my request could not be fulfilled. Despite all these, I still think that Thai AirAsia is providing an excellent inflight service, on both flights, the cabin crew are warmly helping every passenger, especially those people in need. The cleanliness of the cabin, including the lavatory is well maintained, AirAsia is deserved to be world's best LCC, and despite the above disappointment, I would still recommend Thai AirAsia.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCNX to SIN via DMK
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"warm service from cabin crew"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew on FD354 from Singapore to Bangkok Don Mueang and transit to FD3427 to Chiang Mai. The airline offers the Fly-thru service which means I do not need to collect my baggage in Bangkok despite many other LCCs require connecting passengers to do so. On both flights I was amazed by the warm service from the cabin crew. The on-board refreshments are for preorder or purchase onboard, in decent prices. I would recommend Thai AirAsia for this route.
AircraftA320 / A320NEO
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to CNX via DMK
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"curious mixture of positives & negatives"

(United States)

Verified Review | My flying experience Bangkok DMK to Singapore with Thai AirAsia was a curious mixture of positives and negatives. AirAsia uses the older Don Mueang Airport to serve Bangkok. This was convenient for me as it is located quite close to my hotel, the Rama Gardens. DMK was considerably more crowded and run-down since the last time I visited when it was Bangkok's principal airport. The check-in counters are not well identified with signs, and I had to wander for a while and ask for guidance before I found the appropriate location. The Premium Flex add-on to the low DMK-SIN base fare costs about $30 USD and gives the passenger several priorities, including a separate check-in line, preferred boarding, more comfortable seating, a choice of hot meals, and 20 Kg of luggage. Once located, the check-in process was polite and efficient. Passport and security checks went reasonably quickly, but the terminal's air conditioning system didn't seem up to the challenge of the Thai sun and the teeming crowds. The boarding areas had more windows, but with the great views of the active runways came even more heat. The boarding process went smoothly. I had chosen one of the “Hot Seats” - the window seat in the forward, over-wing exit row. Except for these rows, which were empty, the flight was completely full. I don't know if this is a common feature of A320's, but the actual windows in these rows were so clouded with condensation moisture that they were essentially opaque. Another disappointment associated with these exit-row seats was that passengers in these seats are not allowed to purchase and consume the wine and beer that is sold on-board. The hot meal I had pre-ordered was actually quite tasty, but it would have been considerably improved with a Singha beer or two. Our departure and arrival were punctual, the crew were efficient and courteous, and the flight was smooth and uneventful. Despite the fact that my suitcase had been tagged for priority handling, it was the absolute last bag to appear on the luggage carousel, several minutes after the “last bag” sign had appeared. Given the opportunity, I would certainly fly with Thai AirAsia again, particularly now that I know the pitfalls to avoid.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteDMK to SIN
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"only 15 minutes between flights"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | I booked Bangkok Don Mueang to Luang Prabang (Nov 2, 2016), but I was flying to Bangkok three hours before my flight with AirAsia. 6 days before the flight I receive and email from AirAsia, that it was rescheduled, so I won't be able to get on this flight, because instead of three hours I will have only 15 minutes between my flights. They provided only two options: I can take any other flight on the same route within 7 days of my original flight. Or I can receive a refund with AirAsia credit (not cash), which I can use only within 90 days. So my options are to spend a night at the airport (or pay for a hotel in the city from my pocket), or get useless credits, which I cannot use, because I will be leaving the country. Live Chat is alway unavailable, I tried it before and had the same results. E-form answers are always by template, no one really cares to read your messages, they only provide some default answer depending on keywords in your message. And when I tried to contact them by phone, after third attempt someone finally picked up the phone, I listened for intro messages for couple minutes and then the guy on the phone told me exactly the same, what was described in the email. Superb support service!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDMK to LPQ
Date FlownOctober 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"food fresh, cabin staff professional"

(Greece)

Verified Review | Even though AirAsia is not my favorite airline (because it is always more expensive than Lion Air and Thai Smile) I had no other choice to fly from Utapao to Chiang Mai. Hot seat was nice with enough legroom, food paid on board fresh and cabin staff very professional. I do not understand the meaning of priority boarding of hot seats if all passengers are boarding to the same bus.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUTP to CNX
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"professional crew and perfect punctuality"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok (DMK) to Yangon. Outgoing flight begin with hassle check in. I am well prepared with web check in, no luggage checked, early arrival and only need an immigration card. The queue is horrible with large crowd packed in every square inch of ground handling area, with no way to tell where the queue start. I spent 1.5 in the scrum and almost missed my flight. Once on board everything's fine. Aircraft is pretty new, professional crew and perfect punctuality. Returning flight on 8 year old A320, but seat cushion torn, dirty floor, stained and glared windows. I found my seat have broken recline button and cannot be kept in upright condition. I was reassigned a seat only to find that the one in front also has this problem.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDMK to RGN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"last 2 flights have not been on time"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok Don Muang to Chiang Mai, flight booking for 9:40, instead they changed my flight to 10:20, and from CNX to DMK from 15:45 again they changed to 16:45. These are not the first time. Because last year I bought 5 flights for this year with them, and so far the last 2 flights that I flew with them have not been on time as well. Being a budget airline does not mean you can ignore being on time.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDMK to CNX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"a good flight as usual"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Flew Bangkok to Phuket with Thai AirAsia. Overall it was a good flight as usual. Flight on time, staff nice and friendly while being very professional, pilot experienced and the flight (including the touchdown) was extremely smooth. In my personal opinion although it might be a little bit more expensive to fly with Thai AirAsia than the other budget airlines (i.e. Lion Air), it's generally worth it. The usual thing as always - their seat is a bit too hard - but for a 1 hour flight it's perfectly fine.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to HKT
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"very friendly and helpful"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was my second Thai AirAsia flight this year flying from Hong Kong to Chiang Mai, the prior one being from CNX to HKT in January. I paid extra for the 'Hot Seats' and had seats in Row 1 each time. These seats have plenty of legroom and weren't that much more money. I also pre-purchased meals on a couple of the flights and pre-paid for checked baggage on my flight in January. I found the FA's on all flights to very friendly and helpful as were the ground staff. The Hot Seats get you priority boarding which is good if you have carry on. The prices for drinks on board are also very reasonable. I paid $3 for a Singha beer which is a bargain considering US airlines will charge $7 for a beer. All in all I had good experiences on all my flights with them and would not hesitate to use them again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteHKG to CNX
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 21 Reviews