Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 546 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

Southwest Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 4th August 2015

I wanted to say Thank you and give super kudos to an employee who worked at the Southwest ticket counter in Atlanta. I never write a review but this was a experience I had to share regarding flight #860 leaving ATL going to SFO. My boyfriend and I fly Southwest all the time, he is usually on a companion pass and I'm usually a reserved ticket. Very few times we've run into overbooked flights and missed connections. I noticed when ever we do hit these bumps in our travel the person at the ticket counter treats his situation totally different from mine. Makes one think - does the type of ticket a traveler has warrant the type of service he/she receives during these traveling hiccups? Any issues I have with my reserved ticket are handled promptly and with a pleasant demeanor. This particular time I was not traveling with my boyfriend and there was a hiccup with the flight. I purposely stayed on the phone while he went from Southwest Airlines employee to employee and every person was rude, and flat out didn't give the type customer service you would expect from one of the most respected airlines. Being at the Atlanta airport from 8:00 am till 4:00 pm and having no luck getting back to San Francisco, I'm sure he was ready to give up. Good thing we held on a little while longer. The ticket agent seemed to not care what type of ticket he had. Her main concern was making sure the customer ended up where he needed to be. Thank you 1,000 times over. I wish I could have been there to speak with someone on the spot. I only wish that the employees at the ticket counter treated all customers the same and handled their flight hiccups with the utmost professionalism no matter how stressed out they may be and no matter if it's a buddy pass, companion pass or reserved ticket. Thank you again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteATL to SFO via LAX
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Southwest Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 2nd August 2015

My flight was cancelled multiple times making my flight from Atlanta to Baltimore impossible. After waiting 10 hours in the airport I boarded a plane only to be taken off the plane 30 minutes later for "engine problems". After hours of cancellations and delays I was finally put on a direct flight to Boston from Atlanta, arriving in Boston 12 hours after I was originally scheduled to arrive. Then, my return flight from Boston to Baltimore was once again cancelled and delayed. I arrived in Baltimore 6 hours after I was suppose to. Next I discovered that my flight from Baltimore to Atlanta was cancelled, all other flights were full, and Southwest won't pay for me to take another airline. I ended up having to take a bus to DC in order to catch a flight to Atlanta. They refused to help or fix any of the problems they created for me and I will never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAtlanta to Boston via Baltimore
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Southwest Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 2nd August 2015

Our flight from Baltimore to Tampa on July 11th was the best flight we've had on Southwest. Unfortunately our flight back home from Tampa to Albany wasn't as pleasant. No fault of our flight attendants. I purchased the early bird special option in order to get better seating for my daughter and I. It appeared that we had a decent spot for boarding until it was announced that this would be a connecting flight and there were already 90 people on board. I purchased the early bird to have a better chance at getting an isle seat due to severe claustrophobia. Not only were all the aisle seats taken but my daughter and I weren't even able to sit together. I ended up in a window seat and my daughter ended up in a middle seat two rows back. If that wasn't bad enough, we were pretty much the last people to exit the plane.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteTampa to Albany
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Southwest Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 27th July 2015

I flew Southwest 5 times in the month of July and was delayed at least 2 hours for every flight. My parents are flying home on Southwest as we speak and are delayed 3 hours. Their plane made it to the runway and now is receiving maintenance while passengers remain on the plane with no a/c. Add at least 2 hours to any trip you book with southwest. Unacceptable service.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteOrlando to Baltimore
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Southwest Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 27th July 2015

Flight from Seattle to San Jose - flight 923 - landed on time, but the connecting flight to Ontario - flight 4032 - scheduled to leave at 8.30pm was going to be delayed to an unknown time, as the lady behind the counter was telling us that the plane encountered mechanical problems but would post the exact departure time as soon as the plane was airborne. At exactly the same time the PA announcer explained the delay was due to fog over San Diego. Finally and after about two hours delay and the merging of the Phoenix flight with ours, we boarded heading to Ontario.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSeattle to Ontario via San Jose
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Southwest Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 27th July 2015

Flight 2674 from Ontario to San Jose was delayed about 40 minutes, lady behind counter claimed delay was due to mechanical problems, suggested to carry our luggage on so we can catch up with our connecting flight -flight 862- to Seattle. Unfortunately or maybe fortunately or it could have been planned that way, the flight to Seattle, was also delayed over one hour. Was told 20 people on the same plane boarded the plane heading to Seattle.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteOntario to Seattle via San Jose
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

Southwest Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 24th July 2015

I'm very upset that Southwest has chosen to implement this new boarding system. I'm flying with my 10y/o daughter. I checked in online and received what I thought were seat numbers. No, it was a boarding position. The flight was full and all the "A boarding positions" were taken so I couldn't even pay the extra $80 to increase the chances of my child sitting with me on the flight! I don't care where I sit on the plane, however, when I'm traveling with my 10 y/o daughter or any family, it's nice to sit with them. I would rather fly with an airline that assign seats upon check-in than to roll the dice to see if I can sit with my child. My first bag is free but to sit next to my child is $40 per ticket. Spirit Airlines doesn't even charge extra to assign seats to their passengers once they check in and Spirit charges for everything.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBuffalo, NY to Dallas, TX
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

Southwest Airlines customer review

Review by (Mexico) 23rd July 2015

This is the first time that I've flown WN, so I didn't really know what to expect. Check in at BOS was efficient and the attendants were friendly. I opted to purchase the "early bird check in" and was slotted at A53. The aircraft was nice and clean. The FAs were friendly, and were helpful. The flight left on time, and actually landed 30 minutes ahead of schedule. I had no problem finding a seat that I liked. Based on this one experience, I would recommend and fly WN again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBoston to St. Louis
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Southwest Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 21st July 2015

On a recent flight originating from Fort Lauderdale, FL to Richmond, connecting in Atlanta, the plane arrived to the terminal on time and was expected to depart on time. After the incoming passengers exited, the person in charge of boarding made no attempt to load the plane. After a lengthy delay the passengers of flight 1505 were informed that a service technician was addressing a problem and the flight would incur a minor delay. In a confusing and poor miscommunication between the Gate personnel and the gate attendant we were given conflicting and garbled information as to new delays and would be given more updates as soon as the problem was closer to correction. I checked the Arrivals/Departures monitors and saw that numerous incoming and departing Southwest flights were being delayed by hours. Another update around 3 hours later informed us that the scheduled Flight 1505 would not be departing at all. A different plane would be assigned to Fort Lauderdale once it landed from Atlanta. This would be around 10.20 pm. We were finally asked to form a line to make arrangements for whatever Southwest could come up with. My best option was to wait until Monday to get back to Richmond. I tactfully informed the Gate Agent that that was not an option as I had a job to return to. I asked about a flight closer to Richmond, ready to be boarded. I was told that option wasn't available, and there was nothing left. Finally I asked if another flight could get us closer to Richmond, and a rental car be provided to drive the remaining distance. Again, nothing but the travel vouchers were offered. Then a option to book a flight to BWI was available, arriving at 2.00 am. No hotels were available. I again asked about car rental. I was informed Southwest didn't offer or would pay for a rental. No other airline was available either, seems SW doesn't work with anyone else either. We took the flight to BWI, and had to get a rental at 2.00 am. Arriving home at 5.00 am, and with a extreme distaste for the way Southwest treats their paying customers, we decided never to use this carrier again.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteFLL to RIC
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

Southwest Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 20th July 2015

It's become the "usual now" I am a loyal Southwest customer, fly 2-3 weeks each month. Now delayed 3+hrs due to maintenance issues in La Guardia. That's 3 substantial, over an hour, delays in last 4 flights. Sure makes it easier to pick other airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNashville to Seattle
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes