Vote Now  

Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 552 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"one of the poorest experiences"

(United States)

Verified Review | Oakland to Burbank. I had one of the poorest experiences in recent travel with Southwest Airlines. I found the ground crew and attendents at the gates somewhat rude and very unhelpful. I missed my flight because of a last minute gate change and when I complained about lack of proper communication the gate crew rolled her eyes and looked away. So unprofessional! Perhaps Southwest should treat its employees better so they don't act out like this in public and treat the passengers better.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOakland to Burbank
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"don't like the group seating arrangement"

(United States)

Verified Review | Nashville to Minneapolis. I will never fly Southwest Airlines again. Direct flight and we had a stop in Chicago? That doesn't sound like a direct flight. Got chuckled at when we questioned why. Checked in at the same time as my husband and our boarding "groups" are A and B. Therefore with the "group" seating we don't get to sit together. We could pay $80 to upgrade to preferred seating so we get first dibs on seats. If we checked in at the exact same time, tickets are linked one confirmation number why would our boarding "group" not be the same. Do not like the group seating arrangement. Will not fly this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNashville to Minneapolis via Chicago
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"stupidest airline in the sky"

(United States)

Unverified | Newark to Orlando. Open seating policy. I've never flown Southwest Airlines before today. In fact we're still taxiing as I write this. I was told the night before that there is an open seating policy with Southwest but until boarding I didn't quite understand what that meant. For those of you who do not know, when you check-in you are assigned a zone and a number. This is the order by which you board and from there it's general admission. Maybe that sounds fine until you travel with your wife and kid and realize that you will be forced to rely on the general good will of the 160 people who have boarded the plane ahead of you in order to sit with your family. We were not so fortunate. Even when the entire plane of passengers was bribed with free drinks for the flight, there were still no takers. I boarded the plane only to find 14 or so empty middle seats. This is my first and last flight on Southwest Airlines. The stupidest airline in the sky.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEWR to MCO
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"have had 99% good experiences"

(United States)

Verified Review | Reno to South Padre Island via Dallas. Great seats, excellent service, on time departure and arrival, good value. I have been flying Southwest since I was 18 (and before that, but not on my own dollar). I have the SWA Chase points card RapidRewards. I love that too. The only thing SWA does not offer is premium econ, between first class and coach, which I wish they did. Often on flights I give them my drink coupons or offer to pay and they don't let me, they will comp the drink, or a nearby passenger will share coupons. Not sure why but the people who choose to fly SWA are pretty awesome. Great baggage handling and free bags. Excellent flight change policy: it is free, and if you need to catch a flight from another airline, they will try to help, which has saved me a huge amount of stress and dollars. I have had 99% good experiences with Southwest Air. I wish they flew to Hawaii and Europe!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteReno to South Padre Island via Dallas
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Horrible customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Orlando to Minneapolis via Atlanta. Worst experience flying to date. Horrible customer service, no compassion. After being taxied to the run way we were taxied back to the gate, they bumped us to another flight without giving any other options, because with the time sitting at the gate we would not make our connecting flight. We now have over 8hrs of extra time in the airport. We were not offered anything for the inconvenience and we're handed a card with a customer service phone number. When calling the number they are open Monday through Friday and we are flying on a Saturday, not helpful at all. Not once did anyone apologize for the inconvenience but instead made us feel like an inconvenience to them. I would not recommend Southwest Airlines to anyone, especially when traveling with kids.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"issue is the false advertisement"

(United States)

Verified Review | Houston to Midland via Dallas. I'm disappointed because the Southwest Airlines commercials and adds state that if an emergency arises that they are always willing to work with a customer. I called Southwest, stated that we had a family emergency arise, that I had to transport my mom to the hospital. The customer agent stated she was sorry and that I needed to pay $216.00 extra for another flight. If you're going to charge people then don't tell us you would love to work with us. However inflight services by pilots and cabin crew are and have always been fantastic for me, the airline has been on time and in most cases saved 20 mins from jetway to jetway. I had one flight that was 20 mins late only because the pilots had a false engine reverse thruster alarm sound when landing from the previous flight which the mechanics corrected promptly and without incident. My only issue is the false advertisement.
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHOU to MAF via DAL
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Poor customer service"

(United States)

Oakland to Las Vegas. I have not yet taken this flight yet, but I was rescheduled to take this March 8 flight after my March 7 flight was canceled 2 months in advance with out any reason. We cannot take a later flight as I purchased these tickets to match up with a wedding trip in Hawaii. When a customer is put at a disadvantage the company usually does something to accommodate the disadvantage they put the customer in. Southwest only offered to refund my flight. But there is no other airline that is flying to our home that late. The only offer that would be accommodating is to refund atleast partial points, or the money I had to spend to buy the points. Now my husband and I have to spend $100 on a hotel room to stay the night in oakland. I am a Southwest card-holder. Two other family members are, they only use Southwest, and that will change now. Poor customer service and an unwillingness to refund me in points even!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOakland to Las Vegas
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Disappointed in the service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Louisville to Dallas via Tampa. There wasn't enough room for all carry-on bags. People forced to check personal bags including purses. Seating was first come first serve but we weren't told about that. I wasn't able to sit with my husband even after spending a good chunk of money for the tickets. Squished between two strangers for a three hour flight. Disappointed in the service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSDF to DAL via TPA
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"business Select is a rip-off"

(United States)

Verified Review | Boston to Baltimore with Southwest Airlines. Business Select is a rip-off. I was allowed to board early. However, even with over 30 seats empty, I still had someone sit in the middle seat next to me, because I obviously can't choose where others sit. I didn't receive my free drink because of weather. So I paid $400 extra to board early, which gave me no advantage. I can't even believe they have a business option with just these insignificant advantages. My flight home again had many open seats but alas I had a middle seat occupant yet again. This was my first time flying Southwest and I will never ever fly with them again. I called to let them know I was dissatisfied with my first experience and their response was that unfortunately I would still be dissatisfied by the end of the call because they couldn't do anything about. Business Select is a joke. Please don't waste your money.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBOS to BWI
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"absolutely unbeatable service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Phoenix to Houston. We made an honest mistake and booked our flight for January 24th instead of December 24th. Southwest Airlines was amazing and transferred our tickets and found a flight for us on December 24th for no extra charge! Absolutely unbeatable service. They make the flight entertaining.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePHX to HOU
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes