Top 100 Airports  

Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 503 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"great first impression"

(United States)

Verified Review | Traveled by myself from Grand Rapids to Philadelphia with a stop in Chicago Midway. Looked at prices for other airlines and I saw nothing less than $350 round trip. A co-worker suggested I check Southwest Airlines website since they don't pop up on Priceline and other travel websites and found the same flight for $240. Good first impression there. When I arrived I learned that my first flight from GRR to MDW was delayed 45 minutes as the plane was stuck in IAD - however, the attendants seemed very eager to get us to our destination and boarded those with close connecting flights first so they wouldn't miss them. I was impressed even further by the friendliness of the ground service. Great sense of humor. This was a reoccurring theme on each flight. Planes were clean and well maintained. I understand some of the planes received new seats which supposedly are far superior to the old ones. Wasn't super comfortable but better than any I've sat in on an American Airlines flight. I purchased wifi for 8 bucks and it lasted for the entire day, so I used it on both flights even though I had to change planes. Cabin service was efficient with a large selection of drinks. Attendants were very personable and helpful. I like how they read gate info before landing. Also worth noting that I travelled alone. I can see how their open seating process could negatively effect groups of people traveling together. They do offer family boarding after the A group boards which was neat to see. I landed a first row seat 3 of my 4 flights and it was very spacious but all carry on must be stored above. If you're traveling light it's worth climbing over a few people as the leg room was fantastic. Overall great first impression of Southwest. No large complaints worth noting. Can't beat their prices. It's hard to find good rates to bigger cities when flying out of an airport as small as Grand Rapids. Will definitely fly again.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGRR to PHL via MDW
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"refused to reply to my emails"

(United States)

Nashville to Tampa with Southwest Airlines. My flight was cancelled with minimum notice. They had the entire full flight go to the 2 agents at the gate to rebook (they did not even tell people there was an option to go up front to check-in). Being A-List Preferred I called the number and they tried to put me in an open seat on the 1:55pm flight but they could not help because somehow SWA closed making reservation changes to them from flight 37. After the A List plus folks could not help I went to front check in but they had no ability to get me out until the 9:45pm flight. Despite my Business Select fare I got a boarding pass with position B5 on it. When I complained I paid the high fare and was A-List Preferred they said they could do nothing but I could try to better myself (13 hours later) at the gate. They also said if I called back Monday they would connect me with customer service. In addition to going out 13 hours later I had to wait 1 hour to get my bag back and leaving the airport paid $12 for parking that would have been included in my regular parking fee for 24 hours. On Monday I again called the A List Preferred number to be connected to the customer service to complain as I was told Sunday. They instead told me to send an e-mail. You have no idea how frustrating this has all been. Not only did I not get to meet the people I was to have lunch with Sunday I arrived at my hotel well after 1AM (flight landed at 12:20AM) to have to be at my office a 7AM meeting. I did want to talk to someone who will explain why SWA will not let me verbally complain and maybe get SWA to think how badly they handle these situations. To this date they have refused to reply to my emails.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNA to TPA
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew was very friendly"

(United States)

Dallas to Fort Lauderdale with Southwest Airlines. 1.5 hour delay, had to switch gates and planes mid boarding due to hydraulic fluid leak. While it was an inconvenience at least we had peace of mind. Safery first. The Captain and crew took the time to explain the problem and were prompt and courteous getting us boarded on the new plane and on our way. On our flight back to Dallas (flight 3137) the flight crew was very friendly and made our early morning flight a breeze. Loved the jokes and sense of humor. We have been on other airlines where the flight crew were not so friendly and almost rude so it was very refreshing to see some sense of humor in the air especially on an early morning flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDAL to FLL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"a wonderful experience"

(United States)

On my recent trip from San Francisco retuning home to San Diego with Southwest Airlines, I had a wonderful experience with a kind and knowledgeable flight attendants. Attentive and customer service oriented. It made my experience on this short flight memorable and reminded me how positive interactions can make something mundane really meaningful.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to SAN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"rewards card going straight to the shredder"

(United States)

Las Vegas to Raleigh Durham with Southwest Airlines. I don't travel often, however the few times in the year when I do, our flights with Southwest are always delayed. Not for 30 minutes or an hour. Delays that are two thirds of the actual flight. One of our recent flights from San Francisco to Orange County was delayed longer than if we driven. Southwest being cheap and squeezing all their margins. This will be the last time we are fly Southwest. That rewards card is going straight to the shredder when we get back.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAS to RDU
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"plane was clean and comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My Southwest flight took off on time from Fort Myers and landed 30 minutes ahead of schedule in Pittsburgh. Plane was clean and comfortable. Mixed drinks are only $5, snacks are good. Boarding is first come, first serve, but my daughter and husband and I all found seats next to each other even boarding in the "C" line. Luggage all arrived at our destination. Only negative is that they charge $8 for WiFi, which is excessive for a 2 hour flight. Will definitely choose them again - their fares are reasonably priced for a carrier that doesn't charge you to check luggage.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRSW to PIT
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Southwest get new management?"

(United States)

Albuquerque, NM to San Antonio, TX via Dallas, Love Field TX. I have been making about 8 to 10 flights a year for at least 9 years. My family lives in RI, and I live in NM. So I travel cross country once or twice a year, plus vacation and work trips to the Bahamas, Florida, Quebec, Mexico, and last winter Cambodia. I have always attempted to fly Southwest Airlines in the past, whenever traveling (domestic) to a location that they have service to, and I generally try to avoid American Airlines. Over the last few years flying is less and less of a faster trip, due to lengthy waits in security, and the expectation that we travelors arrive at the airport earlier and earlier, as well as layovers that get longer and more frequent delays. In the last couple of years I have come to expect that, unless I am flying on the very first flight of the day, I will be delayed. I have mentally added that time to overall travel time, when planning a trip. Southwest always seems to deliver that midday delay, and I now expect it. Today, Southwest outdid themselves. I think I may finally reached the point where voluntarily flying is perhaps no longer worth it. Maybe I would rather stay home. There have been several moments today when I wished that I could leave the airport and just go home. Why am I so set on spending the time and money to somewhere else anyway? I can go swimming in Albuquerque. The first such moment was when I got to the airport at 7:00 am for my 8:55 flight only to discover that it does not exist anymore. It was posted as delayed, now it's just gone. I have to wait until I am called to be told how I will be rerouted. So now I am leaving an hour and 50 minutes later, to make a Dallas flight that will take off about 2 hours later. So I can still pick up my rental car during daylight. I make it to Dallas, I get on the plane, we are a bit delayed because we need to get some more gas because we need to fly around some heavy traffic to get to San Antonio. No we are now waiting an additional hour and 45, due to bad weather. Well, ok, I can still do my drive before it gets dark (I've never driven in San Antonio). I can even get off the plane if I want, I will just have to reboard (because that is so much fun). So it is really pretty hot in here, but it is too late to go home. We can leave now, (so they say). We just have to wait for the passengers to get back on the plane. Did Southwest get new management? Is this a new marketing scheme?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteABQ to SAT via DAL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no compassion, not friendly, not helpful"

(United States)

Writing this review not as a passenger but as the uncle of my nephew who attempted to fly from Chicago Midway to Albuquerque on WN 563 on July 21st. Yes - Southwest had a computer meltdown and their flights were all messed up. This has happened before to them and other airlines. But alas it always comes down to how an airline handles things like this that differentiates them from others. My nephew is Italian and doesn't speak English fluently and is 14, so I needed to get the Escort pass from the ticket counter. The line was over 1,000 people long if not more, stretching into back halls. I told the SW agents at the line entrances I just needed to get the Escort pass as he can't go thru alone. No - no help. Rude people who just say - get in line. There was no one at the Business Fare line - literally no one - and she wouldn't just let me go up there to get the pass. I had used a Skycap to check his bag in as that line was only 50 people long, so literally just needed the agent to give me the pass. Not a single SW person helped me - but going back to the Skycap - he did! He stopped what he was doing and walked me back to the counter and had an agent quickly issue me the pass. So simple - didn't really stop the process of handling other passengers. Just for this I wouldn't fly SW again - there was no reason the Biz counter couldn't have helped me (and 2 other passengers needing just a quick minute with an agent. So we go thru security - eat and go to the gate where it says "on time". Some flights delayed, some cancelled, some on time. They board other flights, at our boarding time they have people line up, flight attendants already on board. Then an announcement: "Flight 536 is cancelled, we have no pilots, please get in line for rebooking". No apology - in fact the 4 hours at Midway not a single SWA agent said I'm sorry for what was happening - just deal with it. So I get on the SWA app and the only flight I can get for my nephew is on the 23rd of June. Ok - so now ask an agent how I can get his bag. No - no way, we are not pulling bags from flights. I said he is 14 and has no clothes here as he is visiting. Sorry - we are not pulling bags. I said some choice words to her and then she says to speak to a supervisor. Wait 45 min in line - the supervisor says no - with a smile - and I can try to go to baggage claim and see if someone there would help. So I go to baggage claim - and the agent there is friendly - but she is just guiding people as that line is 20 people long. She said the bag will go to ABQ and just let it go. If I wait in the line they may not pull it, or if they do it could be hours. At least she was friendly. So for 2 days my nephew will not have any of his things - not a dire situation - he can wear my clothes. But again - it was just the sheer nature of the SWA agents. No compassion, not friendly, not helpful. I will never spend a single penny at Southwest again. SWA has gotten too big for its britches - they used to be good in the 80s and 90s, now just one of the Big 4 and treating passengers like cattle. Lets see if the flight tomorrow goes out on time or at all, I have my fingers crossed.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMDW to ABQ
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no other flights available"

(United States)

The customers of flight #1647 from Hartford to Orlando were mislead and given empty hopes. We were told at about 12.15 pm that our flight was an hour delayed. Then soon after canceled. Next, we were told, "please sit calmly Southwest will figure this out." Finally, no other flights available, this flight is canceled all together. All other bookings were available until Sunday July 24th. Useless for us, since we were coming back on Sunday. I shifted gears quicker than Southwest and booked a flight with JetBlue for an additional $1000 to fly out the next day. I have been trying to contact Southwest online or via telephone call with no success. This is an awful way of doing business.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBDL to MCO
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a very comfortable experience"

(United States)

I recently flew on a Southwest Airlines new 737-800 from St. Louis to Washington National and it was a very comfortable experience. The flight was full going there and on the way back but the cabin crew was very helpful and able to get to us very quickly. When we checked our bags, even with it being about 50 of us in the group, they were able to take care of us pretty quickly along with taking care of the other people not with our group at the same time. Overall, I would recommend flying with Southwest.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSTL to DCA
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes