Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 683 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"my bag soaked to the core"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tampa to Atlanta. Being 4 hours late isn't a big problem, but arriving with my bag soaked to the core is. Everything wet, including the Band Aids in my toiletries kit. This is the second time this has happened to me on Southwest Airlines. You would think that a major airline would have figured out how to keep their client's baggage dry.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTampa to Atlanta
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"extend my sincerest gratitude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Raleigh to Phoenix. I would like to extend my sincerest gratitude to everyone at Southwest Airlines. I was on emergency leave to go see my grandma as she is very sick and not expected to live much longer. My mother in law made the reservations for me as I was in the field on a training exercise. She made the mistake of booking my return flight back late which would have had severe consequences for me. She called and spoke with a wonderful representative and explained what happened. The representative was able to fix everything and get me on a flight back so I can report back to my unit with a day to spare! My flight out to AZ was amazing. I had never flown Southwest until now. My mother in law made me a believer and I will fly Southwest unless you don’t fly where I need to go. Again I can’t thank you enough.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRaleigh to Phoenix
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"a total inconvenience for us"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrible experience with Southwest Airlines! We were rerouted to a different flight and as we were getting on we were told the overhead bins were full so they made us check our carry on. So I checked before sitting down and there was room in multiple overhead bins. Laziness on the crew members part and a total inconvenience for us as passengers. If you have a choice I would use a different airline. I was not impressed to say the least.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOakland to Santa Ana
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"huge thank you for helping"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to San Antonio. I would like to give the agent a huge thank you for helping me change my flight last minute. My wife and I were in Chicago for the Cubs opening game on Monday 4-9. It was postponed for 4-10 due to weather. Although we already had our flights for 4-10. As soon as we found out we called Southwest to rebook. Since I used my points to book the original flight I was unable to change flights without buying an entire flight. We also couldn’t reuse the tickets to the game to any other game. So we had to either watch the game or try and sell the baseball tickets. It was our first ever opening day. The agent helped me and gave me a one time courtesy flight for Wednesday and we were able to go to the game and still make it back home on time for work. I couldn’t thank him enough! I appreciate Southwest for doing this. We are back home and we had an excellent time.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to San Antonio
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"condescending bag check employees"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Orlando to Raleigh. This review concerns the bag check employees at the Orlando international airport mco for this airline. I brought my bag and baggage claim check ticket to the counter to be checked. The attendant insisted I put the sticker tag on my bag myself even though my hands were full and there was a huge line behind me. When I accidentally dropped all my things he became annoyed and demanded I pick them up, as if I’d leave it them there. He then was displeased with how I applied the sticker. I said I’m sorry I don’t normally do this. He said that’s why I’m showing you how. However, that’s not my job, that’s his job. I’m not working right now. He was so condescending and rude, it left me feeling terrible. Beyond that, a similar incident happened last time at this airport for this airline at the bag check. Everything else about this airline is great. It’s not worth it to lose customers because of rude condescending bag check employees. Customer service should probably be a bit more important.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Raleigh
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"staff was extremely rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Houston to Midland via Dallas. Our flight was delayed over an hour last night which i have no issue with because things happen. However, the doors to the plane were still open, and after repeated requests from most of the passengers, the staff would tell us nothing of why exactly we were stalled so badly that a lot of us feared something was fishy, sketchy etc. Babies were screaming because they hadn't eaten in hours but mom's were not allowed to go and get them food even though we sat there for a very long time. They wouldn't allow passengers to get up and use the restroom until we pretty much said we were going to just go everywhere. The staff was extremely rude and didn't communicate to anyone why we were being delayed again, which is their job. I overheard multiple families saying aloud "this is why you don't fly Southwest". Nor I or any member of my family will fly Southwest again!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Midland via Dallas
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"cancelled at the last minute"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We booked our flights to and from NYC through Southwest. On the day we flew into the city, our flight was delayed over 4 hours and then completely cancelled at the last minute. We had to rebook with American Airlines on the spot as Southwest had absolutely nothing that would help us. They provided us with a $200 flight voucher, but that was nothing compared to the $800 tickets we had to purchase on the spot at the airport to be able to arrive in NYC in time. Today we are flying back, and our flight has just been delayed 2 hours, therefore causing us to miss our connection flight. When I called customer service, the woman on the phone was rude, inconsiderate, sarcastic, and very unhelpful. After 20 minutes on the phone, she provided us with a few other options, but all of them would be much at our expense - which was completely unprofessional due to the fact that the airline was the one causing the problems. We were left with no choice other than to stick with our flight and figure out what we are going to do at the airport. Hopefully we will not be stranded in our connection city. Do not fly Southwest.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLouisville to New York City
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"lack of empathy provided"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Fort Lauderdale to Providenciales. I am extremely upset on the level of customer service, communication, and lack of empathy provided by Southwest. It’s disappointing to speak to a multi million dollar company who has the ability to make changes over $99 who opts not to. I purchased a ticket in June to travel from FLL to PLS (Turks and Caicos) on November 9th. After Hurricane Irma and the destruction of rental property, I was encouraged to contact Southwest in September and explain my situation. The representative reassured me that I would be able to have a travel credit due to the weather and cancellation of my trip. She explained to me that I have one year to use my voucher. Here today, I am trying to use my travel credit by Southwest to go to my graduation, and to me disappointed I cannot use my credit for travel for me and dad. After communicating with Southwest it was explained to me that "Unused travel funds may only be applied toward the purchase of future travel for the individual named on the ticket." This however was not explained to me when my trip was cancelled or I would have choose the option to receive a refund. I have explained my case to two representatives with Southwest. The last person I spoke with stated that I has three options (1)lose my travel credit (2) take off $100 off my credit, which the reminding balance then could be used on both travelers or the best one yet (3) Have my commander write a letter stating that I will unable to use the flight credit because I may be called to drill?
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to Providenciales
Date FlownNovember 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Nice job, Southwest"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Got violently ill this morning, just as my group was called to board. Southwest Airlines staffer across from gate B20 at 9 am canceled my flight, alerted gate, rebooked me, identified closest hotel and gave me voucher for distressed customer rate, which Crowne Plaza honored. Nice job, Southwest. I'm going to keep flying where staff steps up and helps a customer in a fix.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Antonio to Indianapolis via Dallas
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"customer service is appalling"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Detroit to San Juan. The customer service is appalling. I booked a flight of over $500 to go to San Juan. When I get to the airport they say they are stopping in Atlanta. I ask why and to review my itinerary. The lady was rude. Then I shrug it off and go to my connecting flight on New Orleans to only be told that I will be going back to Atlanta for a another stop. Why am I on a plane to go to Atlanta twice! I called and the agent was arguing with me that it was the flight pattern when I have my itinerary on my app showing it is not. Nothing was done to accommodate or rectify they extra travel back to the same place - and now my flight is delayed over 3 hours.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to San Juan
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no