Top 100 Airlines  

Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 509 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"say that they are brilliant"

(Australia)

New Orleans to San Diego. My partner and I were visiting the US from Australia and we have taken 4 internal flights with Southwest Airlines in the last 2 weeks - we have to say that they are brilliant. We bought "wanna getaway" tickets that were cheap and all flights left on time and there were no problems. I read online previously that you must check in exactly 24hours before your flight to make sure you get your seats, which we always did (we set alarms to remind us 24 hours before on the dot!) Staff were friendly and we loved that this airline has no hidden costs and a big suitcase each flies free. Would definitely recommend these guys!!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMSY to SAN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"incompetent phone staff"

(United States)

Verified Review | Reno to Los Angeles return. Southwest Airlines is spiraling into a bad, dark place. Seems it has now become SWA company policy to have even the most pedestrian 70 minute flight delayed by more than 2 hours. There is no reason for this. There was no weather. There was no equipment failure. There were no technical glitches. And to boot the phone agent kept trying to get me to take a standby flight to Las Vegas instead of getting me home to LAX where my car, family, life and all that matters to me are. Not only can this airline not handle the simple logistics of shuttling equipment back and forth between two cities that take 70 minutes to fly between, their incompetent phone staff cannot understand the difference between Los Angeles, CA and Las Vegas, NV.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRNO to LAX
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"becoming as bad as Delta"

(United States)

Verified Review | Baltimore to Las Vegas with Southwest Airlines. Flying home after a weekend with friends our flight was delayed as the aircraft was stuck in San Diego due to fog. Our original flight was due to leave at 11:10am. The fog was cleared by about 10am by the weather service. Still this 40 minute flight has not left yet and is now scheduled to leave after noon. We were rebuffed after several attempts to rebook and told no available seating although when you go online there are expensive tickets available later in the day. The gate representative basically said it is not her fault and she can't help us or do anything to compensate us as there was fog in San Diego. If we can't get out today she will try to rebook us tomorrow. We can email to complain and as previous reviewers have said, that's not very effective either. Southwest used to be my go to airline - now it's becoming as bad as Delta and that's pretty bad.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBWI to LAS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"So awesome, thank you"

(United States)

Verified Review | Ft Lauderdale to Boston. I've always flown Southwest Airlines. Never had a problem and actually enjoy flying with them - crew is extremely friendly and quite funny. Today I decided to write a review because I left an item on the plane. One of the flight attendants remembered where I was going and came to my gate with my item. I am extremely grateful and was so surprised! So awesome, thank you!!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFLL to BOS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"impressed how quickly they found a solution"

(United States)

Verified Review | Originally booked a flight from San Jose to Phoenix (and return) with Southwest Airlines. At the airport, the flight from San Jose was cancelled due to mechanical problems with the plane. I received a text alert even before an announcement was made at the boarding gate, so I made my way to a customer service counter. The agent was fast and to the point, while remaining courteous. I ended up being re-routed through John Wayne (Orange County) airport, and eventually arrived at Phoenix less than 3 hours after my original flight. For my troubles, I received a $200 voucher, which is more than what I paid for the round-trip. I was impressed by how quickly they found a solution to the cancelled flight, and amazed by the financial compensation.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSJC to PHX
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"incredible customer service"

(United States)

Los Angeles to Portland. Southwest has some incredible customer service. I completely messed up and accidently missed my flight to go back home. I briefly explained what had happened and without hesitation, the very friendly female clerk got me onto another flight within a few minutes. There was no charge, no hassle, and before I knew it, I had another flight back to Portland. Very appreciative of the great customer service and the williningness to work with their customers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to PDX
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"great first impression"

(United States)

Verified Review | Traveled by myself from Grand Rapids to Philadelphia with a stop in Chicago Midway. Looked at prices for other airlines and I saw nothing less than $350 round trip. A co-worker suggested I check Southwest Airlines website since they don't pop up on Priceline and other travel websites and found the same flight for $240. Good first impression there. When I arrived I learned that my first flight from GRR to MDW was delayed 45 minutes as the plane was stuck in IAD - however, the attendants seemed very eager to get us to our destination and boarded those with close connecting flights first so they wouldn't miss them. I was impressed even further by the friendliness of the ground service. Great sense of humor. This was a reoccurring theme on each flight. Planes were clean and well maintained. I understand some of the planes received new seats which supposedly are far superior to the old ones. Wasn't super comfortable but better than any I've sat in on an American Airlines flight. I purchased wifi for 8 bucks and it lasted for the entire day, so I used it on both flights even though I had to change planes. Cabin service was efficient with a large selection of drinks. Attendants were very personable and helpful. I like how they read gate info before landing. Also worth noting that I travelled alone. I can see how their open seating process could negatively effect groups of people traveling together. They do offer family boarding after the A group boards which was neat to see. I landed a first row seat 3 of my 4 flights and it was very spacious but all carry on must be stored above. If you're traveling light it's worth climbing over a few people as the leg room was fantastic. Overall great first impression of Southwest. No large complaints worth noting. Can't beat their prices. It's hard to find good rates to bigger cities when flying out of an airport as small as Grand Rapids. Will definitely fly again.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGRR to PHL via MDW
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"refused to reply to my emails"

(United States)

Nashville to Tampa with Southwest Airlines. My flight was cancelled with minimum notice. They had the entire full flight go to the 2 agents at the gate to rebook (they did not even tell people there was an option to go up front to check-in). Being A-List Preferred I called the number and they tried to put me in an open seat on the 1:55pm flight but they could not help because somehow SWA closed making reservation changes to them from flight 37. After the A List plus folks could not help I went to front check in but they had no ability to get me out until the 9:45pm flight. Despite my Business Select fare I got a boarding pass with position B5 on it. When I complained I paid the high fare and was A-List Preferred they said they could do nothing but I could try to better myself (13 hours later) at the gate. They also said if I called back Monday they would connect me with customer service. In addition to going out 13 hours later I had to wait 1 hour to get my bag back and leaving the airport paid $12 for parking that would have been included in my regular parking fee for 24 hours. On Monday I again called the A List Preferred number to be connected to the customer service to complain as I was told Sunday. They instead told me to send an e-mail. You have no idea how frustrating this has all been. Not only did I not get to meet the people I was to have lunch with Sunday I arrived at my hotel well after 1AM (flight landed at 12:20AM) to have to be at my office a 7AM meeting. I did want to talk to someone who will explain why SWA will not let me verbally complain and maybe get SWA to think how badly they handle these situations. To this date they have refused to reply to my emails.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNA to TPA
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew was very friendly"

(United States)

Dallas to Fort Lauderdale with Southwest Airlines. 1.5 hour delay, had to switch gates and planes mid boarding due to hydraulic fluid leak. While it was an inconvenience at least we had peace of mind. Safery first. The Captain and crew took the time to explain the problem and were prompt and courteous getting us boarded on the new plane and on our way. On our flight back to Dallas (flight 3137) the flight crew was very friendly and made our early morning flight a breeze. Loved the jokes and sense of humor. We have been on other airlines where the flight crew were not so friendly and almost rude so it was very refreshing to see some sense of humor in the air especially on an early morning flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDAL to FLL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"a wonderful experience"

(United States)

On my recent trip from San Francisco retuning home to San Diego with Southwest Airlines, I had a wonderful experience with a kind and knowledgeable flight attendants. Attentive and customer service oriented. It made my experience on this short flight memorable and reminded me how positive interactions can make something mundane really meaningful.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to SAN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes