Ryanair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1158 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never had a worse travelling experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Budapest to Dublin. I have flown on many different discount airlines, both inside the states and outside mainly in Europe. I've never had a worse travelling experience than with Ryanair. The airline has yet to be on time for flights, and for this trip was delayed both ways significantly. (An hour sitting on the flight to Dublin and already 20 mins to Budapest.) The attendants are rude and unhelpful and do not provide any useful information. For example, telling the cabin the delay is from a attendant who was going home because he's sick instead of the reality that he never showed up, which is what was said earlier. It wasn't that only instance where the staff acted errantly. On the way back to Budapest my fiance and I got belligerently approached by a staff member who demanded to know why our "Visa Check" had not been completed and that she didn't have time to check it herself. (Even though we've been waiting in the delayed priority line for the plane for 20 mins). I tried to explain to her that the staff we dropped our luggage off with said we had nothing else to do but go to security. Finally, the website also needs to have a better system of checks when offering other services, like car rental. My fiance and I rented and paid for a car in Dublin, knowing that an extra fee is often charged to people under 25. The site gave no indication that this wasn't taken in account for, or that there was an issue with our rental. When we showed up the company would not give us a car, and did not offer us a way to contact the airline for a refund. We have yet to get a reply from customer service in their limited and costly to call internationally hours. I will never buy another ticket with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBudapest to Dublin
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"make its flight miserable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Copenhagen to Stansted. I and my mate were assigned to two distant seats, even though next to both there were two seats empty. The airline puts its best efforts to make its flight miserable. Via the airline Web site I also rented a car, which I was unable to collect due to a clause, (the rental agreement was 20 pages), which requires the UK driver to produce a DVLA (Driver Licence Agency) passcode. The DVLA Web site was not available when I attempted to collect the car. So, the car rental required an additional £15.00 in order to use a Premium Help Line and get the passcode. Last, but not least, they asked me to sign a clause granting the rental car company to charge my credit/debit card of any fee, fines, even if I was not present. It appeared to me as to sign a blank cheque. What you pay is what you get from Ryanair. I will stick on booking the airplane seat only for the time being.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Stansted
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline customer service"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Stansted to Limoges. Possibly the worst airline customer service. As I checked in the agent handed me back my boarding pass and travel documents but kept my passport by mistake. By the time I realized it was missing, I was at the gate but with 40mins to spare till the flight went. I though a simple phone call to the check in agent would solve the issue. First there was no signs of any Ryanair staff at the gate. Only Swissport agents who could not care less about my issue. I had to insist for them to ring the check in desk. The agent acknowledged they had my passport. However they would not bring it back to me. I had to go get it myself. The gate being the furthest away meant a 20 min run both way. In short there was no way I could exit security and return to the gate on time to catch my flight. I asked them if they could wait for me for a few extra minutes rather than offloading my bags. Their answer was no, and the gate will be closing soon too. Any airline who respect their passengers would have had the passport rushed to the gate on time by one of their staff. Especially so since it was the check in staff fault. As a result I ended up missing my flight and best of all I had to pay a re-booking fee of 100 pounds, even though it was the check in staff fault. I also had to book a room at the airport hotel which cost me another 100 pounds. I did wrote to Ryanair about the issue and other than standards letter of apologies explaining that they can't be held responsible for the agents lack of support they were not prepared to cover any extra cost involved. This is a gross misconduct coming from Ryanair. Ryanair already have a very bad reputation, and this is just adding on to that pile.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStansted to Limoges
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Best flight so far this year"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Ryanair from Gatwick to Dublin. Had problems with barcode at security - ran down to Ryanair desk - very helpful lady - told me not to panic and issued fresh ticket straight away. Called to gate promptly and started loading passengers within about 20 minutes. All done by cabin crew in an efficient and friendly manner. No problem with cases or seats. If people not sat together it was not an issue - short flight. The newer seating is much better than the dreaded old lumpy seats and makes for a much more comfortable flight. Landed on time and off and out into Dublin. Best flight so far this year.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Dublin
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"terrible customer service"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | I had a flight booked from Stansted to Dublin on Nov 15 at 17:00. Due to a 30 minute delay on the bus from London to Stansted, I got to the gate a few minutes after it was closed. To put me on the next flight, they charged a fee of £105. Even when there were about 5 seats available on the next flight, according to the representative who took my plight. Meaning, I paid extra £105 for a flight that had previously cost me €5. All other airlines are willing to accommodate this kind of extreme situation, except for Ryanair. Poorly managed, terrible customer service, and on top of it all, they make it extremely hard for people to complain (try and look for their Customer Service number). In reply to my complaint, Ryanair said that charging me that fee was a "gesture of goodwill" for the fact that I was late so, according to them, the fault was mine.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStansted to Dublin
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"exploited as much as possible"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Rome to Tel Aviv. We were seated separately, and even after a passenger agreed to switch seats with us the air crew prevented it. Before boarding the crew was very rude and checked passenger hand baggage for overweight in order to charge extra money. The entire atmosphere was as if the passengers are not customers but a source of money that should be exploited as much as possible.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTel Aviv to Rome
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will always try to avoid"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London Stansted to Barcelona. I fly Ryanair regularly but they have a new policy of seating people apart when they buy tickets together, just to charge more money. I was flying with my wife, we checked in in advance and saw that they sat us apart even though there were plenty of seats free. The flight was actually far from full, both seats next to me were free when I got there, but they still would give us separate seats. They are going back to being the cheap inconsiderate company they were before! I will always try to avoid them from now on.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Stansted to Barcelona
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"we were seated separately"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | We flew as a couple to Bologna for a short break. We didn't pay to sit together as we think this is a complete rip off and Ryanair need to look at their policy regarding this. We checked in together on both occasions but we were seated separately despite there being numerous empty seats in the cabin. Take off delayed by 45, no info from tannoy. Girls very pleasant at check in. Nice enough flight, brought own food and entertainment. Return leg quite pleasant and received the standard service. Italian crew on both legs, quite rude and brisque. Not bad for 180 euros.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Bologna
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"I was prepared"

(Greece)

Verified Review | Ticket really cheap: 50 euros. Thessaloniki - Napoli and back, paid three months in advance. Only hand luggage: I had weighed it and I was sure that it was under the 10 kilos limit. It was tagged at the gate and taken from me to be put underneath because we hadn't pay for priority boarding, I had read the new terms and conditions, so I was prepared, though it is rather ridiculous to carry it all through the airport. I was allocated in 9F and my husband at 33F but we didn't pay the 4 euros to be allocated together. Airplane was safe, departure and arrival time were on time. We will choose again Ryanair, because we like: safety, accuracy, reliability and of course low prices. We don't like its policy to ask you for money for all other things, but Ryanair is not Emirates after all .
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNaples to Thessaloniki
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Very efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Friday flight Stansted to Dublin. Given a ten minute delay notice but despite that loaded on quickly and departed on time. No fuss with clients and baggage all very slick. Flight passed quickly and landed half an hour early. Very efficient. No problem with people and their seats. It seems if they wanted to sit together they paid the relevant price or if they werent bothered took what was allocated. Much the same as any other airline. 10/10. Dont know what the moaning is about.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStansted to Dublin
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes