Ryanair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1093 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Plane was very old and uncomfortable"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew Ryanair from Naples to Barcelona. Lined up at the Gate only to wait for over an hour. No explanation as to what was causing the delay. When we got on board we were told the previous crew had gone home and they had to find a backup. Plane was very old and uncomfortable. No seat recline? Bought some inflight drinks and couldn't use credit card as it wasn't European. Had to wait another hour for bags at the destination but not sure if that's the airline's fault. In the end arrived over 2.5 hours late.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNaples to Barcelona
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Crew attentive as always"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My longest Ryanair sector so far, considering I have flown many times with them before. If you play by the rules, and do as they say you get a cheap flight that's usually comfortable and on time. Using Stansted for this, the gate was far away from the terminal which is fine. Having bought priority boarding, I was one of the first to board but somehow that doesn't matter, just be at the front of the regular queue and you'll save a few quid in the process. Only 90 carry on's can be placed in the overhead locker so I asked for mine to be placed in the hold, gate staff are more often than not happy to assist in that matter when they are asked. Bag tag goes on and I left my suitcase with a baggage handler. Onboard the aircraft was with the old Ryanair cabin on one of their oldest Boeing 737-800 although, she didn't look it. The majority of the Ryanair fleet have the older, more padded seats in a 189Y configuration so good if you're a little larger, like myself. The newer in the fleet with the Boeing Sky Interior have the lighter-weight seating which has far less padding but more legspace although I cannot vouch for that. The seat was comfortable and legspace was okay although another inch would of been beneficial for all 6" of me. Crew attentive as always passing through the cabin twice on this three hour flight providing a refreshments service which I find to be overpriced so buy before hand in the airport where you'll save money. Crew also passed through the cabin with some perfumes, electronic items and the famous Ryanair scratchcard. Onboard was rather warm but the flight was near enough full so that's to be expected. A comfortable crossing. A smooth landing into Sofia and we parked on a remote stand. Bussed to the terminal on a sweltering old bus into Terminal 2, the better of the two terminals. Ryanair being one of the few low cost carriers to use Terminal 2. Passport control was smooth with border police just visually checking my passport while there was a short delay with getting my bag on the carousel. Returning was a similar affair. The gate staff at Sofia look for oversize bags at the gate so please be warned in carrying oversized bags not to the restrictions. They were also checking for oversized second carry on bags too. I asked for my suitcase to be placed in the hold which the obliged. The flight was delayed 40 minutes due to a delay with the inbound aircraft; something that does happen from time to time with the last flights of the day with Ryanair. I slept for most of the flight home onboard a full flight. Air-conditioning was on although it was rather warm onboard and I slept comfortably for such a small space. A quick left hand turn onto short finals ensured a smooth landing into London Stansted. Parked on a remote stand again and was bussed on an old London bendy bus to the terminal where my bag was waiting on the carousel. If you do as your told and play by the rules, you will get a cheap flight. Book ahead in advance and it will be cheap too. If wanting to travel with luggage, the daily BA offering from London Heathrow might be a cheaper option when travel to airport costs are included. Yet another happy Ryanair experience which has certainly got better in the last few years.
AircraftBoeing 738
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Stansted to Sofia
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"overall positive experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This was a very early morning flight from Madrid to Toulouse. I was able to check-in online and found the bag-drop to be efficient and reasonably quick too. There was quite a long wait at the departure gate and this is where things were poorly managed. Boarding was not well organised at all. The cabin crew were welcoming and undertook the safety demonstration in a professional manner. I found the crew to be hardworking and very approachable. The flight left on time and arrived promptly. The interior of the flight was clean and rather spartan. I had not used Ryanair in years but this overall positive experience has made me consider them for future trips.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Toulouse
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Definitely use them again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manchester to Madrid. A lot of people rubbish Ryanair, but if you follow their requirements you should have a great flight. If you want to be sat next to someone pay for it. Check in as early as possible, use their app. If you want to board early buy the appropriate fare. Arrived 2.5 hours before departure at T3 Manchester to check bags. The Ryanair section was unbelievably busy considering it was 3.45am. However, the line of about 300 people was processed efficiently within 20 minutes. Boarded on time and welcomed by very affable crew. Aircraft had new sky interior and seats which make a huge difference. Plane clean too. Departed on time and crew did usual BOB/scratch card/duty free service. Landed on time in Madrid. The cost £180 for two travellers with a leisure plus ticket( priority boarding, seat selection and 20kg baggage allowance each). Remarkable value. Definitely use them again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Madrid
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"The plane was very hot"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Birmingham to Malaga. Shocking service. In the airport the displays went from showing the gate number to final boarding with 2 minutes, they rushed everyone onto the plane making people leave behind drinks that had been purchased. Once on the plane captain announced that they were missing vital paperwork and do we could not take off. After 45 minutes the captain said that the drinks trolley would be coming round if anyone wanted to buy a drink. The plane was very hot and staff unhelpful. When paperwork arrived we were then told there was no flight window and so had to wait another 35 minutes. But they kept the seatbelt sign off do passengers could go to the toilets.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Malaga
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"comfortable and good leg room"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew from Madrid to Rome Ciampino. No frill airline. We checked in several days ago. The Ryanair counter at Madrid airport was crowded but line was moving quickly. All bags checked without any issue. We also bought priority boarding which was a perk really. Ryanair do not size or weigh carry on luggage so it was good for us. Seats were comfortable and good leg room. We had a newer B737-800. I bought coffee on board which was great. The flight was on time. Overall no complaints.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Rome Ciampino
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Split up a family of 4"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Ryanair from Stansted to Rome. Terrible from start to finish. Split up a family of 4. Both ways. With our children both having a spare seat on the way home! The flights were delayed both ways by a total of 3 hours. Priority boarding was longer than normal boarding. We were normal boarding. The plane was too hot, with the air above our heads barely blowing. The seats and floor were dirty, with the seat next to my husband covered in melted chocolate. We were so far apart from each other we couldn't see any other member of our family, even though my children are not yet 18. They are deliberately splitting people up if they refuse to pay the extra to choose seats. So if you leave it to chance you will be guaranteed to sit apart. They never used to do this, so why start now? But please, do not give in or they will win. The staff were heard talking, and they all want to leave and go to other airlines. Heartless, greedy and cheap.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStansted to Rome
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"overall I was quite happy "

(Ireland)

Verified Review | One way flight to Paris Beauvais. I paid for a business plus ticket so had priority check in for my luggage which was quick and with no queue. Security check was really quick and efficient. Priority boarding and I had the front row seats with plenty of legroom. Flight arrived on time. The downside was no complimentary snack and drink with business plus and no lounge access. The luggage delivery in Beauvais was quite slow. Fare was not cheap when travelling business plus but overall I was quite happy with Ryanair.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Paris Beauvais
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"intentionally seat families separately"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Timisoara to Stansted. A star is too much. One of the worst companies to fly with nowadays! They intentionally seat families and group separately with the option to pay extra (another £10-£12) to be seated together. There is no such a thing as customer service with Ryanair! Truly recommend to avoid flying with them!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTimisoara to Stansted
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not use or recommend Ryanair"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Girona to STansted. Being on beginning of the queue, non- priority, wasn´t allowed to go on board with a small luggage. I complained to the staff and they said that too many people were on priority. they told, me really rude, that next time I had to buy priority if I didn´t want that to happen. When the flight started more than half of the luggage place on board was empty. I asked the stewardess why that happened and he said that wasn´t their problem and give me no help or answer. Will not use or recommend Ryanair ever again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGirona to Stansted
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no