Airline of the Year  

Ryanair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1066 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"will try to avoid them at all costs "

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Have flown with Ryanair a few times at this stage and from now onwards will try to avoid them at all costs as they are probably the worst airline after United. They come across as a low cost airline but they make up for it in as many ways as possible. If you want checked baggage it is an addition a fee of approx €35 each way for a 15kg bag! If you don't have a boarding pass before arriving to the airport they will charge €50 to print each one and their latest trick is to try and get people to pay for their desired seat allocation. If you don't want to pay for your seat allocation they will purposely split you up, myself and my partner were about 10 rows apart on our way to Palermo and back from Dublin. We know there were many others in the same situation including families with children. On my return flight I even had a free seat next to me. Seats don't recline on the planes and there are zero complimentary refreshments including basics like water. If you're flying from Ireland, just pay slightly more to fly Aer Lingus as at least with them, what you see is what you get.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePalermo to Dublin
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"forget luggage in the cabin"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manchester to Milan Bergamo. Seats apart if you don't pay Ryanair's fee, and forget luggage in the cabin unless you pay for priority boarding. And this is the second time they ruined a holiday for us - first time they simply stopped flying to our destination from the airport we had booked to fly from, costing me car parking charges and hassle of arranging an alternative holiday not in term time; second time they lost us the first day of our holiday by putting back the departure time by 6 hours - a useful ploy to get them around the three hour delay EU compensation rules. I vowed not to fly Ryanair again. Booked to Austria with Easyjet and they have also started the seat charges too.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Milan Bergamo
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"extremely rude employees"

(United States)

Verified Review | I implore others to avoid this airline at all costs. Do not be swayed by low prices as you would be better off walking to your destination. I have flown many airlines over the past 40 years and the worst experience I have had with an airline goes to Ryanair. If I would have been smart enough to read reviews before booking tickets from Stansted to Edinburgh, I am sure I wouldn't be typing a review while on holiday. Nickel and dimes are more like 20 - 100 $ to Ryanair and you will pay or you won't board your flight. No customer service, extremely rude employees who would obviously rather be somewhere else.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Stansted to Edinburgh
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"insufficient time for a thorough clean"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Over thirty minutes late leaving Poitiers, but arrived at Stansted only a few minutes behind schedule. Pretty scruffy aircraft, obviously the late arrival in Poitiers left insufficient time for a thorough clean. Aisle seats are not great given the constant movement of trolleys and the inevitable knocks to arms and legs. Random Seat Allocation - This term is somewhat of a misnomer. The only way it is random is that if you don’t pay to select a seat before travel you will certainly be allocated seats away from others on your booking. BA despite their recent demise usually have the sense to allocate passengers on the same booking adjacent seats. On this flight we were seated just 15 rows apart. From the comments of other passengers and on social media, this really must be considered an ‘own goal’ by the airline. Surely it would be better to increase lead in prices a little and get rid of this ridiculous policy and stop antagonising numerous passengers. Until the last couple of months I had been increasingly impressed by Ryanair’s more customer focussed attempts. In future I will travel with another carrier wherever possible. Hopefully, the ‘bean counters’ at the airline will revert this ridiculous policy
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePoitiers to Stansted
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"causing delays to the cabin trolley service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew from Edinburgh to Vigo. Ryanair were responsible for my wife and I being separated, they tried to hold our seats to ransom unless we paid £20 extra (each way) for allocated seating which we refused on principle. As a consequence we were allocated random seats. The craziest thing is my wife found herself sitting in the middle seat between a husband and wife who were also allocated random seat numbers. Anyway, we got our revenge by frequently wandering up and down the plane to speak, thereby causing delays to the cabin trolley service. I suggest others should do likewise until this policy is binned.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdinburgh to Vigo
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"entirely disorganised and messy"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Absolutely awful experience flying with Ryanair from Mykonos to Athens. My friend and I made sure to buy 2 x 15kg luggage allowance each because we knew the charges would be exorbitant otherwise. Imagine our fury when the lady at the check-in counter insisted that "it wasn't reflected in the system", and tried to make us pay an additional €62 to check our extra bag, even after we showed her our e-receipt, booking confirmation and boarding passes. She spoke to us as if we were stupid and just kept repeating "1 each," even though we had already explained multiple times! Seems ridiculous that the system could generate my documents with accurate information but couldn't do the same for hers? It reeks of a huge scam to get customers to pay more, even if they've already paid for extra baggage allowance. Boarding at the gate was entirely disorganised and messy, and the staff kept forcing passengers to prove that their carry on luggage was within the restricted size, only to tell them that their bags would have to be checked because the cabin was full. The staff in general were extremely rude and kept yelling at people to get out of the business class waiting area, even though there weren't any signs properly demarcating the place. To top it all off, the flight was half an hour late. Ryanair may have the best prices, but I give it 0 stars for quality, service and hospitality
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMykonos to Athens
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid if you can"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Ryanair from London Stansted to Krakow. Ryanair started a random seat allocation scam, even if you book tickets together. They make sure people traveling together don't sit next to each other until they have paid an extra fee. Everyone around me had the same experience. Miserable staff. Only flew them out of the desperation because no other flight was available. Avoid if you can.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Krakow
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"many difficult passengers onboard"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I was found absolutely mortified when coming back from my holiday flying with Ryanair. The plane was hectic and had many difficult passengers onboard for the cabin crew members. Me and my sister paid for allocated seating going and coming back from Bristol to Malaga which cost us £20 in total, which we didn't mind because we knew we'd be sat next to each other. Once we sat down we found it quite disrespectful to see passengers moving their loved ones next to the empty seats next to them and the crew allowing them to do so, and it wasn't just the one it was several. The flight finally departed and we was in the air ten minutes in a cabin crew member came up to us and asked if we would be separated for the flight for a lady that wasn't very well, when I explained that we had paid for these seats and many others hadn't but moved her response was roll of the eyes and stormed off. After that she was cold with us all flight and went straight past with the drinks trolley without even asking us!! It's made me not want to book with this airline again if that's how staff treat their passengers.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Malaga
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Outrageous - excessive charge"

(United States)

Verified Review | Outrageous - excessive charge just to check in at the airport. Fifty euros each - 100 euros to check in for the flight - that we had already paid for - through online booking. A friend of mine and I booked a reservation on Flt # FR6332 from Barcelona to Santiago de Compustelo - approximately a 1 hour flight. After waiting in the check in line for 20+ minutes, the agent informed us we would have to pay a fee of fifty (50) euros each - just to check in for the flight, in addition to the fee for the flight which we had already paid. Along with some 40 or more other passengers, we all had to go to a different location, wait in line again and pay the fee, in addition to 35 euros each for our checked bag - a total of 85 euros each which was in addition to the cost of the flight. Ryanair advertises themselves as the "low fare airline". What a lie! There was no argument, no one to hear our complaint and it is impossible to reach them by phone.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Santiago de Compustelo
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"assigned separate seats"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Stansted to Athens. Being assigned separate seats at check in time and forced to pay for changing your seat is just ridiculous. This is a whole new level of low. I've been a loyal Ryanair customer for almost 10 years but enough is enough!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStansted to Athens
Date FlownJune 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no