Top 100 Airports  

Frontier Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 588 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"refund outgoing flight but not return"

(United States)

Minneapolis to Chicago with Frontier Airlines. My husband and I checked our flight on the way to the airport, signed up for notices and received none, and got to our flight gate to a cancelled flight, as did many other passengers. We were offered no other flight or transportation options, terrible customer service, no in-person representatives at all, and a refund on our outgoing flight but not the return flight. Awful experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMSP to ORD
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no guarantee they will get you home"

(United States)

Verified Review | Atlanta to Salt Lake City with Frontier Airlines. Customers should note that if you choose to accept the lower cost of flying with Frontier they do not make any guarantee they will get you home in a reasonable fashion. We boarded the plane in Atlanta, taxied, sat on the runway for about an hour and then returned to the gate. As soon as we were unloaded from the plane I began calling the Frontier customer service line (a outsourced call center) to try to make it known that my husband was expected to work the following day. I also spoke to the manager at the desk in Atlanta who told me that she would make a note on my account but that nothing could be done until the flight was canceled. By 7pm that night it was determined that the fuel gauge was not working and that the replacement part would not be in that night. Thus following, the flight was canceled. We were the first ones back in line at the reservation desk where we waited for another 45 minutes. We knew that there was a flight out on Delta that night around 10:30pm that we could get my husband on unfortunately, after waiting to speak to someone at the desk regarding rescheduling, we were simply handed a piece of paper with the options of canceling for a refund (leaving us stranded in Atlanta), calling a "customer service" line to reschedule (also a call center with limited authority) with a $400 voucher or wait for a Frontier flight to get home. As we spent the next 2 hours working through these options with the hundreds of other stranded customers, we found that through the Frontier customer service line, the flight on Delta that was advertised through Delta as a $687 would actually be jacked up in price and almost $1000/ticket. For our family of 6, this option would have cost us about $3600 out of pocket. Booking a flight out through another airline the next day would have still cost us about $2000 out of pocket (after already paying $1100 to Frontier) for a one way flight. As this was just not a reasonable thing to ask any family to do, we inquired about when Frontier could get us home. The soonest flight they could get us home on was Thursday - 4 days after the time we were scheduled to be home, resume work and schedules for our children. This would not be a reasonable solution for anyone. We spent the evening trying to be calm and work with what we have been given. We talked to the manager who called corporate and were once again told there was nothing to be done. I am shocked that Frontier is able to employ people to be the punching bag at the airports for all of the stranded passengers. I am shocked that when tensions rose 7 hours after we were scheduled to depart, airport police were called to be used as Frontiers "bouncers". I am shocked that the only customer service available to passengers is a call center with very limited authority. I am shocked that as you sit on endless hold with the customer service line, the hold message is prerecorded with static followed by a pause to make the caller think they have lost the signal and thus hang up.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATL to SLC
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service left much to be desired"

(United States)

Verified Review | Denver to Atlanta and Atlanta to Las Vegas with Frontier Airlines. Worst flying experience so far. Nearly all of my flights including connecting flights were delayed. My last flight arrived on time but there was a 2 hour delay due to them them not knowing which gate we would depart from and "cleaning the lavatories. Airport announcers were unprofessional, often laughing during their announcements concerning the delay. The seating was very uncomfortable. It would definitely be worth taking another airline in the future. The customer service left much to be desired.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEN to ATL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"lots of hidden charges"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Las Vegas to Salt Lake City with Frontier Airlines. I booked Frontier and nothing was mentioned about the carry on luggage fee. So here I'll warn you guys before taking this airline. Carry on is USD 40 and check in is USD 30. We were forced to pay and they told us to book direct since all other websites would not mention about the hidden charges. Staff are rude. Lots of hidden charges. Buyers beware.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAS to SLC
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"this was a much different airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | Cincinnati to San Diego. Get ready to pay extra for everything and deal with terrible customer service. My impression of Frontier went from 8/10 to 2/10 just from two separate flights. They were both the same - horrible. I was a huge Frontier fan and flew with them exclusively from the Cincinnati area to the west coast. Somewhere around 10 flights, but I haven't flown with them for 5 years. I was delighted to buy a cheap Frontier ticket. I used to love their chocolate chip cookies and personal TV in the headrest infront of you. I was looking forward to it. To my disappointment, this was a much different airline from 5 years ago. They replaced all the seats with uncomfortable and small seats (no TV). They charge extra for everything. You pay extra for carry on baggage ($30 at time of this review, and $60 if you forget and pay at the gate - price recently went up too). Extra for soda, snacks, coffee, and juice. Only water is complimentary. Oh and the ice. These à la carte type airlines really make you feel like they nickel and dime you. Plus we had really bad interactions with the stewardesses on both flights. One woman was rude to us on the first flight, and on the second flight two women were very rude to us. I would have looked past the poor customer service after the first flight, maybe she had a bad day. But both flights? Frontier should be ashamed.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCVG to DEN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a nickel and dime charge policy"

(United States)

Verified Review | Denver to San Francisco. This was the last leg of a SFO-DEN return trip. The booking was for a 6:50pm departure. We left after 12AM. I explained that because they left so late, I would miss my airporter and could not catch another until 8:AM when the airporter resumes service. The airline reply was that since they did not cancel the flight I would get nothing but a $15 food voucher. I find this inexcusable and will not use Frontier again. Also as a tip, even though I gave myself 3 hours to catch my airporter, it wasn't enough to compensate for an inept organization. And lastly, they charged me $45 each way for a carry on luggage. Poor customer service and a nickel and dime charge policy.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEN to SFO
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rude customer service"

(United States)

Rude customer service, from gate check to steward's to pilots. Returning home from Denver to NY, after delaying flight 4 hours and sitting in the airport for 6, they boarded the flight, left the gate and then cancelled the flight due to non-existent weather conditions. Wouldn't acknowledge that no other flight going to NY was even delayed due to weather, but they use the weather excuse so they don't have to accomodate people in hotels. At customer service, employees (and I use that term loosely) told most that the next flight out was in 4 days. When asked what one should do, sleep, food etc, customer service rep told them to stay at the airport. After receiving a partial refund and booking 3 one way tickets the next day on JetBlue, my tickets, taxis, food expenses were an additional $500. Airlines should be forced to show proof that delays/cancellation due to weather. Ran into someone the next day who had opted for a flight to Philadelphia, desperately looking for seats on another airline. He told me that Frontier was about to cancel the Philly flight as well and he needed to get home.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGA to DEN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"it was a fantastic experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | Orlando to Atlanta. After reading the negative comments about Frontier, I was pretty nervous to give them a chance. I had to be in Atlanta last minute and they by far had the best fares. I'm a very nervous flyer and always choose airlines with the best ratings so this was definitely a first. Well needless to say, it was a fantastic experience and I will definitely fly them again. As long as you are prepared (as you should be) with extra fees, it's not a big deal. Also, you are allowed a pretty decent size purse for free. The seats are not bad. Granted my flight was not super long but they are in a semi reclined position and I dozed just fine. In my opinion, the seats are actually similar to some on AA and United flights as far as size and recline position. Yes, they don't cover the back of the seats with fabric and the trays are small but who really cares? I expected no legroom as I didn't upgrade and that was actually not a problem either. My legroom was the same as on my last AA flight. The flight attendants were just as nice as the ones on EVERY other airline I've flown, I didn't deal with the desk attendants directly. They came on at the same time as on every other airline clerk desk (a little prior to boarding). They seemed helpful and got a few last minute people on our flight who missed their last flight. You can bring snacks and drinks so you don't have to pay for them. I don't think the savings is worth complaining about pretzels and a small cup of soda. The pilots were great and more talkative during flight then I've ever experienced (which is fantastic when you are a nervous flyer). And finally, our flight was early arriving both going and returning.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMCO to ATL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"did not do TSA pre check"

(United States)

I travel round trip from Chicago to Denver 2 times a month and normally fly Southwest but last minute had to book a return trip and went with Frontier. Found out they did not do TSA pre check. I have always had a pleasureable experience with them especially their rates. But, I will not fly with them any more until they get TSA pre check. Both of these airports have long waiting lines through security and will book other airlines until they change their policy. What a shame.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEN to ORD
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the seats are poor"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Fransisco to Denver with Frontier Airlines. I've flown Frontier 6 times this summer and every one of my flights have been delayed. When you finally arrive I have had to wait at least an hour for my bags. The seats are poor, they don't even recline. You are jammed up in a plane. The flight attendants are rude. This airline is the worst and I would choose Southwest or Delta in the future.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to DEN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no