Frontier Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1194 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"missed the flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas Ft Worth to Cincinnati. Was doing a one way flight from Dallas to Cincinnati with Frontier Airlines. I work in the Aviation Profession. Got to airport early to get boarding passes printed. No ticket agent available to check in. Kiosk would not let me check in, it said to see the ticket agent. Had agent paged several times, no one came, not even after the flight had left. 8 Passengers missed the flight. Corporate hung the phone call up on one passenger said it was not there fault. One passenger was told that it would be a $100.00 fee to change to the next flight, by the way this is Sunday and that flight is Tuesday. One little print 8.5 x 11 printed paper behind one of the isle signs says that the ticket agent leaves 45 minutes prior to departure time, to check everyone in on the flight. This was not visible to the public till you walk away from the counter. This is a cheap airline that doesn't care about the customer at all. The CS airport people and other airline agents say they see this all the time at Dallas DFW. The Airline could at least refund the price of the tickets. Review the tv cameras!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas Ft Worth to Cincinnati
Date FlownJuly 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Good for solo traveler"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I checked into my flight via the app with no issue and it had my boarding pass in the app so I could skip the ticket counter and kiosks at the airport. I also paid for a carry on bag in advance. Before leaving my house, the flight was delayed for 2 hours, although the aircraft that was going to be used for this flight was on time and en route in another flight, so that confused me. At the gate, we started the boarding process (I was zone 1 since I had a bag), and we were held on the jetway for a few min because they were not ready to let us into the plane yet. I found this odd we eventually got on. Seats were very uncomfortable and could not recline. Legroom was tight. Cabin staff was very friendly. The plane was further delayed for about 30 min due to a mechanical issue but that got fixed quickly. Eventually we got to Austin and then continued to Denver about two hours late. If you do the research online (bag fees, what’s included etc.) On their website BEFORE you book and head to the airport, you will know what you are in for. Most flyers do not plan ahead of time. Most people flying this airline are first time or occasional flyers expecting a first class experience. You still won’t experience this on main line carriers either. Being said, you get what you pay for, but frontier was upfront on their policies on their website. It got be from point A to B without any major issues. Good for solo traveler like myself. Also another tip, you have to pay for food and drinks from the beverage cart. It’s not too expensive but just bring your own food onboard and fill up a water bottle at a water fountain in the airport. Just do some simple planning ahead and suck up the no frills experience. Literary all of these complaints on this website are because you have to bring a bag and pay for seats. Go fly a mainline carrier then, they’re not much better.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Denver via Austin
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"I was not impressed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Indianapolis to Orlando. This was my first experience with Frontier and I have to say that I was not impressed. My flight going to Indianapolis was fine, no hitches. Nothing spectacular happened, the kiosk to self-check in was unavailable and there were no snacks/drinks, and you have to pay for carry-ons. Sure, it's a cheap ticket. My problem is how they dealt with my returning flight to Orlando. In that it didn't happen. They ended up sending an email probably near an hour before the flight was set to board and we were all checked in. They apologize but flight's been cancelled. Okay, sometimes that happens (though not in such a discrete manner...with rumors about relocating our flight because of stranded individuals for Las Vegas that they cancelled the day before OR that everyone was alerted over the announcements from an employee who prefaced by saying "Don't no one come up to yell at me but...") and they'll accommodate for our inconvenience. Lo and behold, they will only reimburse max of $400 per ticket bought from another airline. Cheapest flights that day? $423. For flights that would take longer due to not being direct like the cancelled flight, and wouldn't go out until later that day. We have to pay for new tickets on the spot. Well fine, let's deal with the reimbursement online form. Oh, it doesn't work, it errors out twice for me on Chrome. Let's call customer service: No options for questions and concerns. Okay...let's ask the employee on site: "We gotta deal with getting this plane out first" I didn't even ask yet, just came up but alright. The lady nearby that he was talking to turned to me. She was nice enough, gave me a number (same one) and said to do the Feedback option. Weird but okay. After a good bit of waiting on hold, I get someone who doesn't understand me clearly maybe because of the noise in the airport? Sure. Repeat myself and get put on hold a couple times, once because he thought I was cancelling my own flight and looking to rebook on Frontier. "Can you wait two days? That's the next one we have." "I'm sorry, no, we already got our new Delta tickets, I just want to get reimbursed and see if we can have the entire tickets reimbursed not just the 400 max." After awhile of re-clarifying, he realizes what I'm asking and confirms. "I will get my tickets completely reimbursed? The entire 423 each?" "Yes, ma'am, yes" "And I'll get the 200 vouchers as well?" "Yes" "Good, thank you very much" He also let me know that I should try another browser instead of chrome to not error out. Cool. So I re-do my reimbursement application while also adding onto the pictures of papers I send that I spoke to an agent who told me that I will get reimbursed the full amount along with the vouchers. Get a confirmation email that it's gone through. Near two weeks later: checks for 400 each, no vouchers in sight. Boyfriend tries to deal with them (he's more of a principled hothead), goes up superiors, .but gets nowhere with all refusing to reimburse the tickets we had to purchase just to get home because of their cancelled flight. It's not like they refunded us the cancelled flight either because of us choosing the option for reimbursement(it was either/or). Finally, he calls them back, requests an American employee (I know, he's bad), and they will try to resend the vouchers. Guess that's the best we'll get, be further in the hole from this single round-trip through Frontier that we thought would be kind to our wallets.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIndianapolis to Orlando
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"stranded in Denver airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolutely the worst airline I have ever experienced. I booked a flight from Reno to Providence with a layover in Denver. The flight from Reno was an estimated 3 hour delay, but ended up being 6 hours including the 3 hour spent on the run way. They estimated I would miss my connection and scheduled me for a different one later in the night. We arrived to Denver at 2 am and I didn't make the connection. 20 people were left stranded in Denver airport with no compensation for hotels!!! There response was simply that corporate said no. You can't do this to people!! Leave them stranded in a city at 2 am with no where to go. Most of us slept in the airport and my flight isn't until 12 am tonight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteReno to Providence
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"inability to communicate properly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Buffalo to Orlando. In all my travels I have never experienced a disaster of an airline. Starting at the gate in the airport. The amount of unorganized staff was something to be desired. The flight was to depart at 255pm, I arrived at the airport at 1200 to find that the flight was already on the board as delayed. And from what I’m being told, it’s a regular occurrence with this airline. The staff have the inability to communicate properly. That’s from the staff at the airport to the crew on the aircraft. After a delay of over 2 and a half hours, we finally get on our way. And at no point did the staff advise the reason for the delay, or other any of the passengers anything. Earlier in the week, the same flight was delayed over 5 hours and it wasn’t until 2 and a half hours did they advise the passengers would have to disembark due to mechanical issues that the mechanic didn’t have the proper tools to fix. After another 2 hours delay, they finally brought another plane in. Yes, the flights were cheap but if you have somewhere to be, or just plain don’t want to waste your precious time, do not. I repeat, do not fly Frontier
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBuffalo to Orlando
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly with them again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The first and the last time I will ever fly with them. My fiancé and I waited more than 45 min to check my bag. We arrived 2.5 hours before hand and have TSA pre check. I was still panicking prior to my departure. The airline boarded the flight 30-45 min late.. ok no big deal. We sat on the runway for 2 hours due to weather issues in the current area. Meanwhile, we’re looking out of the window, watching American Airlines and Southwest take off. Everyone was confused. The pilot comes over the intercom stating that our flight has been cancelled. The time that I sat on the runway due to delays is the same amount of time we would’ve spent in the air. We were redirected to the ticket counter for refunds. There were no other flights that frontier offered, that were headed to PHL that evening. American Airlines had a few options that were reasonably priced, as an alternative. I’m researching while waiting in line, with 200+ frustrated passengers. There was 1 desk attendant helping all of us. I waited in line for 4 hours for my refund, only for my fiancé to say “enough with this waiting, let’s bite the bullet and stay at a hotel”. I ended up not getting my refund. I guess American Airlines took advantage of the opportunity and marked the PHL flights up twice as much. Shame on me for not buying the tickets immediately, once I heard the flight had been cancelled. I ended up paying $1500 for the both of us because it was crucial we got home within the next 24hrs. What a joke. I called their 1-800 number . They instructed we had to waqit in line in order to get a full refund. Our flight tickets totaled to $425 + $1,500 American Airlines flight home + $120 hotel room, uber to and from hotel, food and stress. A very costly flight home. I was more than disappointed with frontier. I will never fly with them again. Please fly with caution and a credit card when choosing Frontier.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Philadelphia
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I missed this flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Diego to Tulsa. Worst experience in all my years of travel. To start, I couldn't get the online app to work on my phone for mobile checkin. Next - get to the airport and this airline charges me $45 for a carry on bag. Just one normal bag that every other airline allows me to carry on for free. Next, get on the plane and seats don't recline, not even a little bit. Then - I get to the airport to for my return flight. I arrived in plenty of time to make the flight, probably 40-45 minutes before the scheduled take off time. Because I fly all the time, I was very confident that since the flight was 7.10am and there was no long security line, that I would have time. I arrived to the airport to find out that nobody was at the checkin desk - the checkin kiosk would NOT allow me to check in. I was not the only person standing there wondering why nobody was there to check people in to the flight. Ultimately, I missed this flight - and by the way people, they only have 1 direct flight a day to many destinations. I had to call my company to book another flight for me and luckily I didn't have to pay for it.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Diego to Tulsa
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Frontier again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We flew from Washington DC to San Francisco via Denver. The first leg of the trip was fine but things really went awry on our evening connecting flight to SF: as we were getting ready to take off, a delay was announced due to a computer malfunction. After sitting on the plane for another hour or so, our flight was cancelled - at 11pm! The next Denver to SF flight on Frontier would not be for another 2 days. We had to to retrieve our bags from another terminal, arrange & pay for a flight on another carrier and slept overnight on the floor of the Denver airport as Frontier was unable to assist with any hotel accommodations. We travel 1-3 times a year but we will never fly Frontier again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington DC to San Francisco via Denver
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"little to no customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Denver to San Francisco. Frontier has little to no customer service. On both my departing and returning flights the people loading the plain were extremely rude. Not only were both flights delayed each way but when we asked what the problem was the frontier representatives told us to mind or own business. I couldn't believe the way these people treat their customers. They should be ashamed of themselves.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenver to San Francisco
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the seats were terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airline ever! Packed a carry on for my trip to avoid fees, ended up having to pay double the amount any other airlines would have charged. Carry on cost $52, the same to check a bag. Flight was slightly delayed in Cancun to Denver, which was fine. But the seats were terrible, they don’t recline, no complimentary beverages or snacks and spent 45 min on the tarmac waiting for a terminal to open up. Upon landing, I received an e-mail saying our connecting flight was delayed an hour and a half, well that time came and went. Our flight was then further delayed, totalling 2.5 hour delay, only because the airlines didn’t have the name of the flight attendants on a sheet of paper, therefore they were not allowed aboard. We now are taking a red eye back home and had to be up for work early, with no sleep and a terrible experience. I will forever stay true to Alaska Airlines! They get it right and so do many others, there is no reason they can’t figure It out. Get a clue. I’ve now researched Frontier Airlines and see that I’m just another millionth customer with the same experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Portland, Oregon
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no