China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1573 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"it's a pleasant flight"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to New York JFK. Guangzhou Terminal 2 is one of the best airports I've seen. Boeing 777-300 provides good seat comfort. Cabin crew was very friendly, helpful and professional. Three meals were served during this flight and they taste good. I love the Chinese style breakfast served before landing the most. Overall, it's a pleasant flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to New York
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"staff were particularly friendly"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | London to Melbourne via Guangzhou. My flight with China Southern exceeded all my expectations. The seats were comfortable and roomy and there was great on flight entertainment. The cabin staff were particularly friendly. All 4 flights we took with them were on time and we got our bags back each end. Could not fault!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Melbourne via Guangzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"helpful and friendly"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Shenzhen to Beijing. Staff at the check in counter was very helpful and friendly. An employee accompanied much together to the Gate and then to boarding. All in all, friendly, helpful and courteous staff at China Southern Airlines.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShenzhen to Beijing
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Overall a good airline"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Tianjin via Guangzhou. The meals on these particular routes were Chinese in style; my travel companion, who rarely eats airplane food, called the meals delicious and I found the meals quite suited to a Chinese palate. The passengers on both the departure and return flight were very demanding. Despite this, the stewardesses were quick and patient in their services, providing blankets, headphones, and pillows during boarding. China Southern and Xiamen boarded their flights in an orderly fashion and organized their queues in such a way as to prevent passengers from later zones from sneaking into the front. Passengers who did so were told to line up in their queue. On my return leg from Tianjin to Guangzhou, airport staff noticed a random, irrelevant series of digits where my travel document number should have been. This was likely the fault of my travel agent whom I booked the ticket with. Regardless, the check-in staff was not able to check me in, and sent me to a China Southern kiosk to resolve the issue. In the end, the kiosk employee was able to change my ID number in the system to match my travel document so I could be checked in. One event taking away from my high opinion of China Southern was this employee's stubbornness and hesitance to change the travel document number for a low-risk individual who obviously had a valid travel document. She initially told us that it was not possible for her to do so (which was not a truthful statement), and insisted I contact my travel agent, which resulted in my friend and myself having to turn on roaming to call the travel agent back in Canada and was a huge inconvenience. After having no luck, she apparently realized that I had successfully checked into my Guangzhou to Toronto return leg and was convinced that I was legitimate, and then changed my number in the system. In hindsight, she took conservative measures, which are reasonable but in my opinion overkill for a low-risk passenger. She realized that I had little time left, and quickly finished the change and directed me to the supervisor line, which was a saving grace to the ordeal and restored some of my respect for the airline. Ultimately, this had no impact on my flight, but it was a stressful and arguably unnecessarily complicated process. Inflight entertainment has a good selection of both Chinese, international, and Hollywood movies, TV shows, music and games. This was my first time taking a shuttle bus from the gate to the plane (at Guangzhou for the departure leg). Although China Southern communicated gate changes and delays promptly and clearly, the airline did not communicate that we would be riding a shuttle bus. As a result of this, I leisurely took my time and ended up standing for the 10-minute bus ride. Partially my fault, admittedly. Conclusion: Overall, a good airline that exceeds options we have in North America.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Tianjin via Guangzhou
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"There was enough leg room"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | My flight from Shenzhen to Singapore was good overall. Ground service staff was friendly and upgraded me to premium economy. There was enough leg room at my seat. As it was a night flight, one dissatisfaction I encountered was the constant noise made by the toddler behind my seat and the constant kicking of the seats which kept me up all throughout the night. Overall, friendly staff but wish the flight would be more pleasant and comfortable.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteShenzhen to Singapore
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"friendly and efficient"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Our family took China Southern from Changsha to New York via Guangzhou. Terminal 2 at Guangzhou is more clean and bright than the old Terminal 1. When we got onboard the cabin attendant showed our seats location and we had three seats together. The food and drinks is just like before, no further improvements. But the midnight snack is steamed bun stuffed with barbecued roast pork, my son are obsessed by that and my husband also. The seats and cabin furniture looks cheap and out of fashion nowadays. The cabin and toilet is fresh and clean during the flight, the cabin temperature is appropriate for economy class. Cabin Attendant were friendly and efficient. We would consider this airline in the future.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChangsha to New York via Guangzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"arrived on schedule"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Shenzhen to Bangkok. Great service from the ground staff and cabin attendants. Took off and arrived on schedule. Movies entertainment was good and beverages too. I always take this flight back home.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShenzhen to Bangkok
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"responses was good"

(China)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Shenzhen. The plane was diverted to Changsha due to the bad weather in Shenzhen. Because there were quite a few diverted flights that day, the seats were few at the waiting hall. My flight was canceled soon after. The airline offered us a hotel to rest and wait for the next day’s flight. I got up very early, and boarded the 6:10 a.m. plane back to Shenzhen. Basically their service and responses to the diversion was good. A experience hard to forget!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeiJing to ShenZhen
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Overall great service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to New York. Hassle free check in, and staff more than happy to assist you. I sat in Premium economy, and the attendants were professional, friendly, and responsive to needs. The food, it is airline food but slightly better quality. When I went to retrieve my luggage, premium economy luggage was one of the first to be delivered. Overall great service, the planes are new and immaculate, and very comfortable for a 15 hour flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteGuangzhou to New York
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"good value for money"

(China)

Trip Verified | Zhengzhou to Brisbane via Guangzhou. Wonderful journey. The service is in place and the equipment on the plane is very new. The Wi-Fi is good, making the journey less boring. Very good value for money and recommended, will buy China Southern Airlines tickets next time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZhengzhou to Brisbane via Guangzhou
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review