China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1337 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"The leg room was enough"

(China)

Trip Verified | Shanghai Hongqiao to Guangzhou. I sat in seat 49J which was the same seat when I went to Shanghai. The leg room was enough, so I felt very comfortable. The boarding was on time and the plane took off on time. The staff were kindly. They said Happy Chinese New Year to every passenger. The meal was good, I like it so much.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai Hongqiao to Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Excellent service"

(United States)

Flew Los Angeles to Haikou via Guangzhou. Excellent service. Staff spoke very good English, at least one had impeccable language skills. Plenty of food and drink. Seats are as comfortable as you'll find anywhere outside of business class. We will definitely fly China Southern again on our next trip to China. Did not use my phone do I don't know if they have WiFi.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Haikou via Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"friendly and with a kindly smile"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Shanghai. The plane was A321, I sat in seat 49J which was beside the emergency exit. The leg room was very huge. The boarding was on time and the plane took off on time. During the whole flight, the staff were friendly and with a kindly smile.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Shanghai Hongqiao
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Staff very nice and hospitable"

(China)

Trip Verified | Changsha to Auckland. I had flown from Changsha to Auckland quite often and China Southern Airlines has been always my first choice. The ground service is nice, Staff are very nice and hospitable. Facilities of the cabin are very well maintained and food is nice. Will choose China Southern Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChangsha to Auckland
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I like the service provided"

(India)

Trip Verified | GuangZhou to New Delhi. Because of the Chinese lunar New Year, there were a huge number of passengers in the terminals, though many volunteers kept order, but I still had to spend a lot of time on check in and custom. On the plane, the flight attendants were very patient and nice, stewardess came to me for my special food in time, they helped provide substantial food to some passengers as they didn’t know how to book 24 hours ahead through website, furthermore, they explained and taught them how to do that next time. The seat was a little bit hard, however there were up-to-date programs in the entertainment. In general, I like the service provided by this airline.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangZhou to New Delhi
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"service was impeccable"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to New York. The food was incredible, the seat was comfortable, and the service was impeccable. A few years ago this airline was small and the international flights were average at best. On the last couple years I’ve seen the airline become one of the world leaders in service and comfort. Thank you so much for your hospitality! Can’t wait to fly China Southern Airlines again in the near future.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteGuangzhou to New York
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"very happy with the service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Los Angeles and I upgraded my ticket from business class to first class onboard the plane. The flight attendants provided excellent service and it was a great experience. I am very happy with the service and I will recommend China Southern Airlines.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteGuangzhou to Los Angeles
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"grateful to the cabin crew"

(China)

Trip Verified | Beijing to New York via GuangZhou, on the A380 to Guangzhou. I was fulfilled by the comfortable seat and entertainment system, but was so surprised that we had to take shuttle bus for such a big plane. The transfer was quick and smooth in GuangZhou. It was night flight from Guangzhou to New York on a Boeing 777, flight attendants were friendly and providing good service to me and my child, they gave my child extra pillow and blanket for a good sleep. Moreover, they patrolled the cabin during the whole night in case any passengers need help or food and beverage. It was a pity that food was not so delicious for me. In general it was a nice trip, we were particularly grateful to the cabin crew and their help.
AircraftA380 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to New York via GuangZhou
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"their attentive staff"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | London to Guangzhou. I flew with China Southern Airlines on CZ304 on my trip back from London. Thanks to their attentive staff and quite updated content of their on board entertainment system, this long journey turned out to be a relaxing experience. I was impressed that they started serving meals quite early after the take-off, which could be a good arrangement for hungry passengers who managed to catch the night flight.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Guangzhou
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"entertainment fast and easy to use"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Changsha to Frankfurt, the Cabin was nice and clean. The crew were considerate and patient. What I like most about this flight is the entertainment system which was fast and easy to use. I'm sure if the food they provided are more tasty, they would be very competitive.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChangsha to Frankfurt
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review