Airline of the Year  

China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1105 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"pay attention to everyone"

(China)

Verified Review | Paris to Guangzhou. We found we forgot to order a baby bassinet before. I was wondering this is a 12 hours long flight which is not easy for us, especially my child in arm. When we got onboard I asked for the bassinet and cabin crew helped me to check did they have another customer ordered before. So lucky, they have one extra then we could get more easier. They offers two meals on this flight. During the flight, the cabin crew pay attention to everyone and could speak an eligible English. But the onboard tv is hard to use and small.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Guangzhou
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"don't like the entertainment"

(United States)

Verified Review | Wuhan to New York with a transfer in Guanzghou. This time from Guangzhou to New York the flight attendants were better than from New York to Guangzhou. They recommended the meal appropriate for me as well as the wine. Although I cannot use phone and wifi in flight, it was kinda satisfactory on the whole. However, I don't like the entertainment system with no attractive points.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteWuhan to New York via Guangzhou
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"impressed by the welcome from their staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This was my first time flying China Southern for an international trip, though I have been a frequent flyer for their domestic flights for quite a while. I boarded the flight on 24 May, I was impressed by the welcome from their staff who proved to be more attentive than their colleagues on domestic flights. Moreover, I enjoyed their onboard entertainment system and I managed to watch three new movies during my 10-hour flight. The trip could be more enjoyable if there were more food options available.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Guangzhou
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"a pleasant experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Guangzhou was a pleasant experience. The staffs are friendly, especially ne who was helpful and attentive throughout the flight, as my cousin is a diabetic passenger. She came back and forth several times checking on him and inquired if he needed additional drinks, meals and snacks.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Guangzhou
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"appreciate the good service"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Vancouver via Guangzhou. A330 with plenty space but a little bit old, and I was so upset that the independent on board entertainment system was not applied in this plane. It was also strange that I had to take shuttle bus even after go through the bridge when I arrived at Guangzhou airport. Fortunately they had clear transfer instructions as well as accommodation arrangement. The Boeing 787 was used from Guangzhou to Vancouver impressed me by its entertainment system. Delicious food was provided. I appreciate the good service provided by cabin crew and ground staff, but I will feel much more better if they can upgrade the hardware.
AircraftA330 / B787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Vancouver via Guangzhou
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"lavatories were clean"

(China)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Auckland. My seat was 42A which was beside the emergency exit. Cabin crew was friendly and helpful with a smile. The inflight entertainment contain the latest films. The lavatories were clean.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Auckland
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"a most pleasant flight"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Melbourne. I was arranged to wait in VIP lounge during the delays with updates of my flight details. After the boarding notice was out, a coach was sent to take us to the plane. I would say it was a most pleasant flight relative to my flights with other airlines. The flight attendants was polite and friendly. Despite it was a delayed and night flight, they welcomed me with smile and warm greeting. There was a variety of food and beverages to choose from the menu for business class. The food ranged from chinese to western styles so that everybody are able to choose according to their preferences. The presentation of food was tempting and the taste was good. For drinks, they provide many choices. The selections of inflight entertainment was fine. I was able to connect to WIFI, the best time killer among all. Lastly, the environment of cabin and washroom was clean. They cleaned the washroom very often, and for me cleanliness is always the most important criteria.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Melbourne
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"very friendly and professional"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | We flew Guangzhou to Auckland. The business class cabin on this flight was very full, however the crew were very friendly and professional. As we were travelling with a baby, they were very helpful and friendly. Without a doubt China Southern would always be my airline of choice for this route.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Auckland
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"uninspiring airline food"

(Germany)

Verified Review | China Southern could be an okay airline in economy. Flew Chengdu to Amsterdam via Guangzhou. Helpful flight attendants, uninspiring airline food, 2 rounds of drinks (although timed in a manner that leaves you eating the food dry), video on demand with a mediocre movie selection. However, the explosive growth of air travel in China in general and at CZ's home base in Canton in particular made the journey a miserable experience. In short, every flight was delayed, without anyone explaining anything, and 5 out of 6 bags of our party (and many more of fellow pax) were sent somewhere else and/or were delayed. To illustrate the misery, let's just recount the transfer at Canton: STA 10 pm. Delayed first leg from Chengdu (40 minutes). Just 0.45 mins left to cross two terminals, go through customs, security, passport control, and the mandatory path through duty free, plus finding the gate. CZ had other plans. Since this very plane was earmarked for technical service that night, they didn't bother to offload the passengers at the terminal but instead went for the hangar right away, at the far end of the airport, almost full circling the airport once. Waiting for the bus (15 min). Riding the bus from hangar to far end of terminal 1 (20 min). Crossing Terminal 1 (10 min). Passing the bridge to Terminal 2 (5 min). Crossing Terminal 2 (10 min). Passing Customs, security and passport control (30 min). Walking along closed Duty Free. (5 min) Finding gate. Gate is downstairs, where the regionals are supposed to be boarded. Finding 5 intercontinental boarding lines crisscrossed through 5 regional prop airliner sized gate space. Last persons to arrive. 5 more missing. Waiting, calling out, waiting. Boarding a minibus for the last four of us. Driving at 25 kms/h across the tarmac, past hangars (again) until almost reaching one of the runways, turning right, along full length of cargo area. Full Stop. Finding airplane waiting in the dark at the very far end of the airport, next to the runway threshold. Boarding airplane. Settling in assigned seats. Passenger announcement. "Flight will be delayed, because we are still waiting for the flight documents."
AircraftBoeing 737 and A330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChengdu to Amsterdam via Guangzhou
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"they ran out of beer and wine"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Hanoi via Guangzhou, a terrible experience. The flight attendants barely spoke English (when asked what does the omelet contain they said omelet and did not give more information like is it with meat or something). When dinner was served by the time they reached me and my friends they only had one choice of meal and it was beef which could not be changed. When we finally received something else (after calling the main flight attendee), the taste was awful. The quality of food was extremely poor. When it came to beverages after around 2 hours of an 11 hour flight they ran out of beer and wine (not to say that there was no other alcohol available). The only good thing was the organization of the change we had in Guangzhou, the staff helped us to go out of the airport, offered a hotel and directed to the appropriate gates in order to go out to the city. I hope this was my first and last experience with China Southern Airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBudapest to Hanoi via Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review