China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1155 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"service was efficient"

(China)

Verified Review | New York to Guangzhou was an amazing flight. My seat was 17G the usual choice of business class. The crew were helpful and service was efficient. We got plenty choices of liquor, desserts and nuts in between of two meals. The aircraft was Boeing 777 which was new. The on board cuisine was ok compared with other airlines but there was still space for improvement.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew York to Guangzhou
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the service is pretty well"

(China)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to Guangzhou, the service is pretty well and flight attendant is nice. I think the bread which came with the meal was a little crisp, I like the soft one. What's more there is no place to charge my ipad on the Economy Class. I think it is necessay because it was a long trip. I played my ipad on the plane but I always worried that my ipad would be out of power.
AircraftA380/B737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Guiyang via Guangzhou
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"width of seat was enough"

(South Korea)

Verified Review | Auckland to Seoul Incheon via Guangzhou. The service at the airport and on the aircraft was perfect. Food and facilities on the plane were excellent, and the width of seat was enough. As my transfer in Guangzhou was more than 8 hours, I was provided the free hotel service by China Southern. China Southern allow you to take two 23kg respectively, which is more than many airlines.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Seoul via Guangzhou
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"friendly and helpful"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Auckland. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is beyond our expectations. However, there was one thing that we think the airline could work on. The ground staff (Auckland airport) wouldn't allow us to check in with a combined weights of 42kg, which was way below the allowance of 50kg. We had two suitcases, with the larger one weighed 32Kg and the small one weighed 9kg. We (two of us) each was allowed to have 25kg. But we were not allowed to check in with the combined weight of less than 50kg. We had to re-pack on the spot and we didn't feel it was making any sense.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Auckland
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"positive presence of Dutch crew"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Amsterdam. The lounge at Guangzhou requires refit. Shower great. Bus boarding at Guangzhou. Boarding intercontinental flights with bus is sub-standard, although CZ provided a C-class bus. Departure delay of around 60 mins due to crowded runways. All in all mediocre departure experience. Seats are 2-2-2 in A330, however design is very good. I am rather long (1.91m) but could sleep comfortably in the flatbed seat. The flight leaves just after midnight so I could sleep almost 9 hours straight! Generally the crew was very good, kind and professional. Specifically positive was the presence of a Dutch crew member. With a pleasant personality she was reaching out to non-Chinese passengers and doing the announcements in English and Dutch. Catering was very good, with good choice of western and Chinese food and drinks. We arrived 45 mins late to be handled by bus again, a small bummer on a very positive experience.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Amsterdam
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

China Southern Airlines customer review

(Australia)

Verified Review | Paris to Sydney via Guangzhou, business class. The attendants were careful, and had good communication skills in English. Moreover, they intimately arranged French attendants in the first route and WIFI connection in the second route. A330 was used for both routes, especially the second one, I even could lie flat in business class, enjoyed the nice food and drinks recommended by the air attendants. It will be a much more wonderful trip if we could board through bridge in future.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteParis to Sydney via Guangzhou
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"The seat was comfortable"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Guangzhou. The crew were excellent and I would recommend China Southern. The seat was comfortable and the inflight entertainment was good. Touch screen with new movie and many games, the food taste good.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Guangzhou
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"organized well and clean"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Vancouver. Great service, food, organized well and clean. The suggestion that I have for them is the TV system probably needs to be updated - also, i don't like the design of the TV remote is actually on the handle of the seat, I've been accidentally pressed the button for a couple times when I placed my arm there.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Vancouver
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Plenty of leg space"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Auckland to Guangzhou. Check in was ok, it was provided by the Air New Zealand. Plenty of leg space but I am a small person anyway. Good service from the cabin crew. Some funny smells in the economy class cabin but thats what you paid for. Good breakfast but dinner was terrible.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Guangzhou
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I got plenty of leg room"

(China)

Verified Review | Kota Kinabalu to Guangzhou. I was flying Boeing 737 this time which is my favourite among those airplane because I got plenty of leg room even in economy class. Seat comfort is crucial for me. Didn't pay too much attention to the food they served though. However the cabin crew did leave me a note in case of needing anything. Good service. I hope that the price can be cheaper.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKota Kinabalu to Guangzhou
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review