Airline of the Year  

China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1079 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Keep up the good work"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | I was supposed to fly Kuala Lumpur to Paris via Guangzhou on 9 May 2017 The flight from Kuala Lumpur was delayed almost 3 hours and I was not able to catch the connecting flight to Paris. But the CSAir representative at Kuala Lumpur International Airport was very polite and help me to get other flight where I was placed on British Airways via London to Lisbon. Even I arrived Lisbon by 4 hours later than original schedule, I don't really mind. My flight back to Kuala Lumpur as per scheduled. Crews were very friendly and my special meals was provided as per my request. This was very good example of professional services given by the airline to their customer. Keep up the good work!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Paris via Guangzhou
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"saying no to all my questions"

(China)

Verified Review | I flew from Chengdu to Guangzhou on May 11, CZ3444. There was delay of four hours but only one broadcast. It was bad quality, not clear at all. I asked chief purser the reason for delaying. She said weather in Guangzhou was bad. I showed her my cellphone weather report was good in Guangzhou. She then said it was air control. I asked her how long we should wait. She said listen to broadcast. Then there was no broadcast. I asked her to write a certificate for delay and she said there was no such service. I said it was very cold, can you turn up the temperature? She said the plane was full of passengers, if she turned up the temperature it was too hot. During the talk I feel she was just saying no to all my questions, a poker face, very impatient. I hope her service can be improved.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChengdu to Guangzhou
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"attentive and professionally"

(China)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Changsha. It is not a full flight, my seat is 40H in a corner, so I could feel easy to take rest. The food is really good, I prefer their fresh fruit and cakes. The cabin crew could help you attentive and professionally. I hope they could develop more route between Europe and China for us.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Changsha
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Thanks for your lovely service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Seoul via Guangzhou. Pretty satisfied with their service and the cabin staff were friendly and lovely. Compared to the last trip, their selections for movies weren't updated much so hopefully it'll get better in the future but other than that, kind service. Although my flight from Guangzhou to Seoul just got delayed 50 minutes. Overall, my experience with China Southern Airlines was great. Thanks for your lovely service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Seoul via Guangzhou
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"pleasant flight experience"

(China)

Verified Review | Chengdu to Guangzhou. I didn’t expect the flight to be an A332 model, which means that spacious space and comfortable seat allows me to rest. I was the only first class passenger, using mileage. The flight attendants have more time to take care of me and provide better service. Thank you to the flight attendants for allowing me to have a very pleasant flight experience.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteChengdu to Guangzhou
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"the headsets didn't work"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Vancouver on 18th May. Generally I am quite satisfied with this journey, the crew was enthusiastic,the lady next to me didn't know how to go through customs and crew helped her. Another thing is the meal was not as good as Cathay Pacific and the headsets didn't work. I hope it will be improved when I take the flight next time.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Vancouver
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"aircraft was horrible"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | London to Denpasar via Guangzhou. I flew with Business class all the service was good but the worst thing was happened on my flight from Guangzhou to Denpasar Bali. The aircraft was horrible, the seat was poor which was not very comfortable, has no screen but I got a small Samsung tablet to watch the movie which was not really convenient. The toilet had no level which was no amenities at all, even no SOAP to wash my hand! and the bad poorest thing was that they did not have ice so no cold drink at all. I got a glass of warm white wine and beer, ridiculous! I have complained and the answer was they only have one word to apologise " sorry ", and they promised to give me extra service if I am flying again with them. would you believe it ?? after that bad experience? I really expected that they would offer me any gift like Miles or Voucher like what KLM So that was last time to fly with China Southern Airlines !
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Denpasar
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I was looked after so well "

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Guangzhou and I was looked after so well by the staff. They were so friendly and kind. I had never flown this airline before so was very impressed. The food was perfectly nice - I really enjoyed the breakfast of shrimp wonton soup, but there was a lot of variety to choose from. You were also able to eat when you wanted to so in the morning I had my breakfast later so I could sleep a little longer. The B787 Business Cabin was spacious and I really appreciated the sleeper seats. The entertainment system was great - loads of choice, although I didn't watch much as it was overnight. The flight was on time, although my second flight from Guangzhou to Bali was delayed a little - only by about 20 minutes and again the service was impeccable with such kind and pleasant staff. I would definitely fly with this airline in future.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Bali via Guangzhou
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"a phone call with no apology"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Checked in at Rome and consigned bags thru to Auckland. Just before arriving in Wuhan the cabin staff informed us we were to leave the plane in Wuhan, as we weren't booked any further. Came as a shock as we had our tickets through to Guangzhou and onto Auckland and there hadn't been anything mentioned when we checked in at Rome. We were taken thru immigration and yelled at because we didn't have a visa (not surprising as we didn't intend to enter China as only transit). We then had to collect our luggage, which we were rather surprised to see, as it was consigned thru to Auckland from Rome. Then had to run following a staff member who didn't speak English from building to building at the airport dragging our cases - no mean feat when you are seniors with heart problems. We then spent 11 hours in Wuhan before being put on a flight to Guangzhou with another airline. When I got home I contacted China Southern and after three weeks I got a phone call with no apology, blaming everyone but China Southern.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteRome to Auckland via Wuhan / Guangzhou
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Service was inferior"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Auckland to Amsterdam via Guangzhou. Great start to the trip. Auckland to Guangzhou the service and food were excellent. Spent 7.5 hours sitting in lounge in Guangzhou then boarded for Amsterdam. It was as though we had boarded a different airline. Service was inferior. We gave our dinner order and requested they woke us if we dozed off before it arrived. Must have dozed off as it never arrived, the only food we received was very rubbery inedible eggs and toast we couldn't cut with the knife. Very disappointing for first class. Little did we know the return trip Rome to Auckland via Wuhan and Guangzhou was going to be oo much more stressful!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteAuckland to Amsterdam via Guangzhou
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review