China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1188 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"international travel pleasant"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Beijing to Brisbane via Guangzhou. The international part of travel was always pleasant. The domestic travel usually experience delays due to air traffic control. The international flights have the newer version of the A330 with up-to-date entertainment units while the domestic flights have older version screens. The international inflight service was very impressive.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Brisbane via Guangzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"cannot recommend this airline"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Wuhan via Changsha / Guangzhou. Overall dissatisfactory experience on for the most part older aircraft with no touch screen and little legroom on the A330. Food on the long haul segment of the flight was relatively good, whilst English service was bad. Safety video is extremely old school. No English magazine on the long haul, then on the domestic flight they had one - bizarre! Changsha as a stopover was a disaster. Though checked luggage is forwarded, you have to leave the aircraft, go through immigration and landside security check, led by an employee who "tries" to lead the group. All this in a hurry to catch the same plane again. Back in the plane, one passenger seems to be missing. Stewardesses walk along the corridor 10 times (!) trying to count passengers with their manual counter (seems to be a China Southern thing - extremely annoying and unprofessional). NO info from crew or cockpit whatsoever (in English or Chinese) for 2 hours! After 2 hours water is served. Followed by take off shortly after. Also unnecessary long (roundabout) ways in Guangzhou Airport: while the plane lands at a domestic gate, a bus is provided for all travelers from Frankfurt, which brings you again to the international terminal, which is especially inconvenient when you have to catch a domestic onward flight. China Southern also disappoints by saving on drinks on domestic flights, meaning a bottle of water only! Sadly, I cannot recommend this airline and was expecting more from the many positive reviews lately.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Wuhan
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"will choose China Southern again"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Guangzhou was a great flight with China Southern Airlines. The cabin enviroment was clean and seat was comfortable. I seated in 51D which is near to the galley so I got a free wash bag, it was convenient for a long flight. I will choose China Southern Airline again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Guangzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"I really enjoyed it"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Amsterdam. The flight was really nice and I really enjoyed it. The crew was very polite and helped. They calmed two little kids perfectly who was crying before take off and landing. The flight was very comfortable. A very nice feeling and enjoyable.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Good flight experience"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Shenzhen to Sydney. Good overall service level for the price paid. Ground staff were pretty nice and overall experience with the airline was good. For the price, I am satisfied with the service. Leg space was ok, food average. Cabin attendants are very accommodating. Good flight experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShenzhen to Sydney
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"aircraft is comfortable"

(China)

Verified Review | Hefei to New York transfer in Guangzhou. This is the first time to take China Southern and the ticket is so cheap. New York to Guanzghou there was passenger in need of medical assistance, and the flight attendants broadcast, searching for the physician help and solved the issues. Both Chinese and western style meal except for the plate without fruit in dinner time. I was confused there was no fruit in plate. The aircraft is comfortable. I will support this airline again next time.
AircraftBoeing 737 / 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHeifei to New York via Guangzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew were very friendly"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Melbourne. Flight was very comfortable, crew were very friendly, helpful, understanding and offered service when we requested. Although there was a 20 minutes delay in take off due to air traffic control in Guangzhou the arrival was on time in Melbourne. They took care of our vegetarian choice very well. I would recommend this airline for anyone who wish to travel on a budget without compromising on quality service.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Melbourne
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"was a good cost performance"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Paris via Guangzhou. Though the first route was by A320, my seat was comfortable as I was on the first row of economy class, the food was delicious too. The flight was arrived on time, I didn't take a lot of time for transfer. A330 was used for the second route, but it seemed a little bit old, fortunately the careful air attendant found out my specialty, she arranged a seat close to the window to me, meanwhile gave me a inflight travel kit. The food was too salty to me, but the multiple drinks satisfied me a lot. In a word, it was a good cost performance to choose China Southern Airlines, I will be very happy to take it again in future.
AircraftA320 / A330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Paris via Guangzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I recommend China Southern"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Singapore to Beihai via Guangzhou. I chose China Southern through other reviews, and wasn't disappointed. Having experienced economy in Chinese airports, with flights direct into Beijing and Shanghai, I dreaded an international to domestic change at the huge Guangzhou airport. But having heard business class passengers were escorted swung it for me. So paid the extra for business class, and regretted nothing. The seat was comfortable, food was good and well presented. All the attendants spoke good English too. The entertainment could be better I'd admit, but this has been well documented, so I was well prepared with a gapped book and music via my iPod. The escort through the airport was much appreciated as I doubt I could have navigated myself around as quickly. Would I recommend China Southern? Most definitely, especially when travelling business class.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Beihai via Guangzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

" trying to improve their services"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Toronto, nd it was a pleasant flight with CSair. The airline used to be dreadful, food inedible, and no skin care or personal care products. The service was not good as well. But the airline has improved greatly. Not that this trip was great. The food was not that good, but at least it was edible. There were also complimentary skin care products. I could also see the effort of CSair trying to improve their services.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review