Vote Now  

China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 980 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"the meal should be improved"

(United States)

Verified Review | This is my first time to take China Southern Airlines from New York to Guangzhou. This time we tried China Southern for cheaper price and the same aircraft with Boeing 777-300. I felt the space of the seat is spacious. But the meal should be improved. We like the cabin crew service better than Cathay Pacific for their talk and smile. Anyway a good experience for this flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"it is worth the money"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Melbourne, such a long journey. The cabin staff is kind and helpful. Some latest movies can be enjoyed on the flight. I sat next to the emergency exit. Therefore the area is spacious. However, there was something wrong with my seat so I cannot adjust the seat while sleeping. And the breakfast is awful. I chose noodle, but noodle is too salty. Compared with the breakfast, dinner was much better. Overall, it is worth the money.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Melbourne
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"meal has a good improvement"

(United States)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to San Francisco on February 15th 2017 and an amazing onboard experience. Boeing 787 with new design of sunshades, we could get the information of our flying on the touch screen. The meal has a good improvement with the last time I traveled to Rome with this airline. At the same time the service onboard is really great. After the first meal my IFE crashed and I didn't find any free seats could change. So I asked for a crew and he gives me a tablet in return with this inconvenience. So I think if the technology department would fix this problem for the passengers would be better. Lacking in perfection, I took almost 30 minutes go through the line for safety check to the boarding Gate. After the safety check we have be sent to the aircraft by the Shuttle bus not the with a Boarding Bridge, I thought it should be a basic requirement for a overseas flight.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to San Francisco
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"awesome cabin staff"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Flew with China Southern economy class from Amsterdam to Sydney return. The first leg to Chengdu was with KLM even though it was part of my China Southern ticket which meant I had to collect by baggage and re book it in at Chengdu. Not a problem. My flight from Chengdu to Guangzhou was delayed for four hours. China Southern supplied a decent chinese meal and drinks for all passengers. The delay meant once I arrived in Guangzhou I had missed my onward flight to Sydney. China Southern then placed me in a hotel (of my choice) for 24 hours with full courtesy bus three meals and a fantastic five star hotel. An unexpected stay over but one that I enjoyed. 24 hours later I was on my way to Sydney. Return journey I flew Sydney to Shenzen and this was a nightmare in the airport. From Shenzen onto Beijing and then onwards to Amsterdam. The airline on all journeys was superb, the long haul two meals and plenty of drinks and snacks in between, the short internal legs again a decent chinese meal and plenty of drinks. In flight entertainment was great with a big choice of movies and a lesser choice of music. Awesome cabin staff on all flights and quite comfy seats on what seemed to be new aeroplanes. All in all China Southern would be my choice if I ever returned to Australia or Asia.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Amsterdam
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"good combination of east and west"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Sydney. Good cabin service, there are variety of meal courses offered, good combination of east and west, comfortable seat and good selection of inflight entertainment, can be improved by adding more privacy to the business cabin. Quite impressed with the Salvatore ferragamo amenity bag, slipper is a great addition, would be even better if inflight pajama can be offered.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"good care of flight attendants"

(United States)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to New York, we get good care of flight attendants. The ground staff made process fluently that we can go on board on time. The inflight service was far better than I imagine, professional cabin service and relaxing surrounding inflight. Almost 15 hour flight I slept almost times but the cabin crew provided meal for me after I wake up and served the hot water we asked.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to New York
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"on board a great experience"

(China)

Verified Review | The filght with China Southern from Guangzhou to Melbourne, Australia went very good. The crew was very friendly and it made my ten hours on board a great experience. The food and TV/ movies entertainment were great. I can suggest to reconsider the model of headphones provided on board as the one I had were not loud enough to listen to the movies. Thank you very much for the pleasant time.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Melbourne
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"should provide wifi service"

(China)

Verified Review | My Chinese New Year holiday just end and one again I took China Southern from Auckland to Guangzhou. I was long queueing for check in and boarding because too many people. The crew was nice to us. I enjoyed the Chinese style dinner and breakfast. The movies was just ok because not many choices. I hope it can be improve. Also China Southern should provide wifi service.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"cellphone should be allowed"

(China)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Amsterdam, nice seating, helpful crew, and the food service has been improved. The seat space of this A330 flight is a bit roomier than Boeing 787. Usually it's hard for me to fall asleep on the plane, but this time I did got some rest. Another thing is that flight mode of cellphone should be allowed and I think they should have wifi service.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Amsterdam
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"transfer service is quite convenient"

(France)

Verified Review | Nanchang to Paris via Guangzhou. The transfer service is quite convenient at Guangzhou, it's easy to find the counter to check-in. From Guangzhou to Paris, very nice service. I asked for one more pillow and one more blanket, no problem. I took this airline because the flight of China Eastern which I bought (through Air France, complicated) was canceled, and Air France helped me to change my ticket to this flight which I think is better. A better aircraft, better meal and better service. I will recommend China Southern if you'd like to travel in China.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNanchang to Paris via Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

CHINA SOUTHERN AIRLINES is a member of SkyTeam. China Southern Airlines operates more than 600 passenger and cargo aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. The airline's fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review