China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1238 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"impressed with their cabin staff"

(India)

Verified Review | Delhi to Auckland via Guangzhou. I was a bit skeptical of China Southern when I booked. But was very impressed with their cabin staff, pitch of seat and the fantastic service. On the Guangzhou to Delhi segment I was downgraded from Business to Economy but the way they handled it left me impressed, personally escorted to the VIP lounge, a supervisor came and apologised in the plane, gave me without me asking a slip to claim my differential. Very impressed.
AircraftBoeing 777 / 787 / 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDelhi to Auckland via Guangzhou
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"it was a nice experience"

(China)

Verified Review | Changsha to Sanya with my granddaughter. The flight was delayed after boarding, and I waited over 1 hour in the cabin. But the stewardess was very nice and friendly, she took good care of my granddaughter. However, if this flight can provided baby food for my little granddaughter will be better. All in all it was a nice experience with China Southern.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteChangsha to Sanya
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the seat was comfortable"

(China)

Verified Review | Yinchuan to Guangzhou When I boarded the plane, the crew gave a warm welcome and were very friendly. My seat was 38K which was beside the emergency exit, and the seat was comfortable. The meal was good and I like it. I would recommend China Southern Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYinchuan to Guangzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"makes me feel like home"

(China)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Los Angeles on Nov 5. They provided efficient check in and boarding. I was seated in 51A, which near the emergency exit. The cabin was clean and seat space was pretty generous. They explained how to use the emergency exit clearly. They offered two meals for this flight and the food was quite good. The entertainment system was user-friendly and the movies were various. I felt comfortable during the flight for their service and competence. I enjoy the warm service of China Southern Airline which makes me feel like home.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Los Angeles
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew were very friendly"

(China)

Verified Review | I travelled Guangzhou to Auckland after several days meeting in Guangzhou on 11 Nov very morning. The premium economy seat is more comfortable than economy. Thanks to the ground staff, they gave me first row, that made my 11 hrs trip easier. The crew were very friendly, the flight was very smooth.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Routeguangzhou to auckland
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"trip was very good in general"

(China)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Moscow via Wuhan, business class. Actually I preferred to choose direct flight than connecting one to avoid any inconvenience but the transfer process was very smooth this time. The attendants were nice and professional, there were multiple choices of food and drinks,the Chinese food was particularly good. The whole trip was very good in general.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Moscow via Wuhan
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Chinese Meal with good taste"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Shenzhen to Jakarta on November 2017 in A320. Checkin fast and professional, during the checkin he provide me an upgrade to Premium Economy. The departure arrived in Jakarta on time. The flight attendant provide a hot Chinese Meal with good taste and soft drinks and Wine. Service was excellent, all Flight Attendants very friendly. I had some of small talk with Crew in very good english. Surprise for me.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShenzhen to Jakarta
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"limited English wasn’t so fortunate"

(South Korea)

Verified Review | Beijing to Amsterdam return. It was a mixed experience, flying with China Southern. There were good and bad things and I’ll start with the bad: On the outgoing leg of my flight, I left my rather expensive noise cancelling headphones under my seat as I exited the plane. I was seated all the way in the back of the plane (in economy) and I was one of the last passengers to leave the aircraft. An hour after disembarking I realized my mistake and immediately contacted the staff in Amsterdam airport. They told me to file a report with the lost and found office, which I immediately did. A week later, nothing had turned up. I called the lost and found office to double check, but there was nothing. I called China Southern but nobody picked up so I emailed them instead, with no result. So how is it possible that a pair of $400 headphones can disappear like that? Since I have no proof, I cannot say that a certain group of people stole my headphones, but I do find it very very suspicious that an expensive item like that can simply vanish from the plane. The worst part is how China Southern handled the episode. I emailed them, describing my experience, only to receive a standard copy and paste response, saying that nobody would ever steal from a plane. All my following replies to the email were just ignored. No response at all. The return leg of the flight was better, but that was mostly because the staff in Amsterdam bumped me to premium economy, which is a lot nicer than economy. I can’t say if it’s worth the money, since I didn’t pay for the upgrade, but I will say that it was a very nice experience. The seats were bigger with more leg room, way more comfortable than economy and even the toilets were more spacious. The crew were mostly friendly and nice, but their limited English wasn’t so fortunate. I had a headache and asked slowly and clearly for an aspirin, which was understood as ice cream by two different flight attendants. I then told them I had pain in my head and pointed at my forehead, after which they brought me a small free toiletry bag. When I finally found someone who was able to understand me, I was told that they didn’t have any aspirins, because it was a serious drug. Somehow this isn’t a problem with other airlines, though. China Southern had free wifi available on the return leg of the flight, which is a great bonus, but in reality it was extremely slow and on top of that it was the Chinese version of the internet with no access to google, gmail, youtube, facebook, instagram or any of the sites that westerners use. So all in all, a mixed bag. The flight experience was pretty standard in economy and pretty great in premium economy. But my expensive headphones that simply vanished on the plane, and the complete lack of any kind of assistance from China Southern, left me bitter and I will look elsewhere next time I book a flight.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteAmsterdam to Beijing
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"cabin staff service was good"

(China)

Verified Review | Wenzhou to Phuket via Guangzhou. This was my first international flight, there were some provisions I didn't know, but the ground staff helped me with patience. It only took me 2 minutes to check in, they are very professional. The cabin staff service was good too, they kept smiling. But the food on the flight tasted bad, I ate a little noodle.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWenzhou to Phuket via Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"ticket with a great discount"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Adelaide. The crew is really nice, patient and easy-going. The flight was very smooth, food was great as well.I specially love the potato with chicken and the cakes. I bought the flight ticket with a great discount only $550 for a return trip. So this flight is well worth a try.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Adelaide
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review