Vote Now  

China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 990 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"well looked after"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Delhi to Christchurch via Guangzhou. Great service and well looked after. Good vegetarian meal. Was traveling with the child alone but was looked after nicely. Would recommend to travel with this airline. If English language could be understood and spoken by the staff, it would be one of the best airlines.
AircraftCZ0617
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Christchurch via Guanzhaou
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Premium economy get more legroom"

(China)

Verified Review | Ningbo to Melbourne via Guangzhou. After boarding the staff came to greet SkyTeam members, and informed us flight information. Cabin staff were polite and friendly to passengers. Premium economy class get more legroom and sleep well. I watched 3 movies during flight, the IFE includes many famous or newest movies or you can play computer games. I tried the wifi connection during this flight, but this takes a long time to wait conncetion, but worth it when your friends and family see a sky photo and wonder where you are. It is very interesting. Food is not as good as previous flights, my breakfast is chicken noodles and it lacked oil and flavour.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteNingbo to Melbourne via Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Their service so touched me"

(China)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Guangzhou. The flight uses the Boeing 777-300ER which means that I can rest on the plane very comfortably. On boarding the staff had prepared a welcome drink and also put out slippers. The crew asked what I wanted to eat and added my drink in time. Their service so touched me that I have never encountered before. Look forward to seeing them again in later flights.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteShanghai to Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst experience ever"

(United States)

Verified Review | Wenzhou to New York via Guangzhou. My review is based on airline's last minute cancellation and rebook experience. The agent was rude and unprofessional. I was in the airport trying to work with China Southern Airlines agent to rebook my ticket and understand why they refuse to rebook my flight. According to their policy, even though they can see you in their system and I have an eTicket on hand, and holding a passport to verify, they still won't rebook because my passport info is not pre-entered in their system. I don't understand the logic, so asked if there's another way to resolve the issue, since I booked through online and it's 5am USA time and I may not be able to contact the travel agent. The China Southern Airline agent started to scream at me saying 'I already told you this! This is our policy, it's not China Southern Airlines fault that we can't help you!' I asked him to calm down. After our initial conversation, he refused to speak to me again, but all I wanted is to work out a solution. Later on I was able to contact my online travel agent, had them manually enter my passport info. My travel agent was trying to re-book via online, but the airline didn't even disclose why the flight was cancelled so they couldn't help me. So I had to go back to the China Southern Airlines agent, he again said the name is not entered correctly and demand me to call my travel agent again. The fact is he didn't know how to read the name properly. In western culture, we put first name first, then last. In eastern culture, it's the opposite. He didn't apologize or anything. I asked to be booked at the earliest flight back to the States. He end up giving me 9+hrs layover. I later found out there was an earlier flight, which only has 3+hrs layover. I asked them to change the flight, but they refuse to do so, and there was no compensation for all the headaches caused. It could of been a much smoother process. I travel often, unfortunately this was the worst experience ever.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWenzhou to New York via Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"had a very good sleep"

(China)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Guangzhou, seat 11A, the discounted flight tickets for business class was reasonable. I arrived at T4 JFK, two hours before taking off time, check-in was very quick, there were not many people waiting in the line of First / Business Class. Security check also had the separate line for First / Business Class. I rested at the lounge and boarding was on time. The business class was not full, otherwise, I would feel pressure when it is crowded. Welcome drink of Champaign was served. Food and Drink menu was delivered, and cabin crew helped me to order to lobster and lamb. Push back and taking off ahead of schedule. Soon after taking off, tea was served, followed by the food and drink. During this flight (which does not usually happen), cabin crew introduced wine and cheese to business class passengers. Normally, in my past experience, cabin crew would only ask whether you like red wine or white wine, whether you like ice cream or cheese. In this flight almost 50% in the business class were foreigners, and seemed to enjoy the wine and cheese. Soon after the meal time, the cabin crew helped to close window shades and cabin lights turned down. I had a very good sleep and woke up around 4 hours before landing time. I did not take the snacks and watched a movie and the flight finally landed at Guangzhou after 16 hours flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew York to Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"providing a lovely trip for me"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Auckland. It was an pleasure to fly with China Southern Airlines. The cabin staff service was excellent, they very polite and friendly. The food and fruits were delicious with a variety of food provided on the menu. The Boeing 787 was clean and the TV had lots of films, music and games. Thank you for providing a lovely trip for me.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Auckland
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service and friendly attitude"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Shenzen to Sydney. We were connecting on a flight at Shenzen airport from the domestic to international areas. We were pleasantly greeted and escorted by China Southern staff to the relevant area and explained the airport protocol required to transfer ourselves and our luggage. Once there was a Mandarin announcement over the loudspeaker about our flight delays, this staff found us waiting at the boarding gate to explain the situation in English in person. We appreciated his customer service and friendly attitude to make our experience at Shenzen airport a pleasant one.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShenzen to Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"everything went smoothly"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Sydney. A very comfortable flight experience and everything went smoothly. Plane clean, food good and inflight entertainment with multiple choices. Staff were quick to help with anything, and were friendly and attentive. Business class seats are fully lie flat. Will be flying them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"best flight experience"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Melbourne with China Southern Airlines. It was the best flight experience for me until now. I was suffering with a lumbar problem and it was such a difficult journey for me to take a 9 hours flight. I expressed my concerns when I got on the flight to one of the female staff and she did try her best to help me during the whole flight. She tried to find a more comfortable seat for me so that I could take more rest and kept asking me whether I felt ok for my low back. I would recommend this flight to my friends.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Melbourne
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"love the noodle and the wine"

(United States)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to Guangzhou on the A380. I love the noodle and the wine onboard. Also the patience and service of the flight attendants is a reason why I choose China Southern. However, it' would be better if there is WiFi onboard. I have booked another ticket back to Los Angeles on March 8th, and hope I'll have another excellent trip.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

CHINA SOUTHERN AIRLINES is a member of SkyTeam. China Southern Airlines operates more than 600 passenger and cargo aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. The airline's fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review