China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1241 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"In general, it was a nice trip"

(China)

Trip Verified | Zhanjiang to Vancouver via Guangzhou, business class. The price of ticket was very fair, the transfer process was smooth and efficient. It was a pity we had to take shuttle bus for boarding in ZhanJiang. We took Boeing 787 from Guangzhou to Vancouver, it was clean and fresh, I could enjoy the rich programs of entertainment system. The attendants were very friendly and patient, though I didn’t get the steak during the first meal service, but they offered me Chinese hot pot rice instead,then taught me how to order food through internet in advance. They also provided fresh fruit and snacks in the mini bar. In general, it was a nice trip, thanks for the airline and their staff.
AircraftE190 / Boeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteZhanJiang to Vancouver via Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Thumbs up for the crew"

(China)

Trip Verified | Changsha to Frankfurt. The cabin attendant were very helpful and kind, took us to our seats so that we weren't blocking the aisle. Seats were soft enough but a little more support for the neck would be better. While the crew were serving dinner, they introduce the dinner in short before we made our choices. Entertainments were fun with updated and rich content. Thumbs up for the crew and food!
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChangsha to Frankfurt
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seat space was pretty generous"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Beijing to Melbourne via Shenzhen. I had a really tight transfer time less than 2 hours. But the luggage was fast and the transfer was smooth. They provided efficient check-in and boarding. The economy class cabin was clean and seat space was pretty generous. The cabin service was good, the crew friendly. Food and drinks made the trip enjoyable. Cabin and toilets were clean. Overall, China Southern Airlines is highly recommended and would fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Melbourne via Shenzhen
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"impressed with their cabin staff"

(India)

Verified Review | Delhi to Auckland via Guangzhou. I was a bit skeptical of China Southern when I booked. But was very impressed with their cabin staff, pitch of seat and the fantastic service. On the Guangzhou to Delhi segment I was downgraded from Business to Economy but the way they handled it left me impressed, personally escorted to the VIP lounge, a supervisor came and apologised in the plane, gave me without me asking a slip to claim my differential. Very impressed.
AircraftBoeing 777 / 787 / 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDelhi to Auckland via Guangzhou
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"it was a nice experience"

(China)

Verified Review | Changsha to Sanya with my granddaughter. The flight was delayed after boarding, and I waited over 1 hour in the cabin. But the stewardess was very nice and friendly, she took good care of my granddaughter. However, if this flight can provided baby food for my little granddaughter will be better. All in all it was a nice experience with China Southern.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteChangsha to Sanya
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the seat was comfortable"

(China)

Verified Review | Yinchuan to Guangzhou When I boarded the plane, the crew gave a warm welcome and were very friendly. My seat was 38K which was beside the emergency exit, and the seat was comfortable. The meal was good and I like it. I would recommend China Southern Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYinchuan to Guangzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"makes me feel like home"

(China)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Los Angeles on Nov 5. They provided efficient check in and boarding. I was seated in 51A, which near the emergency exit. The cabin was clean and seat space was pretty generous. They explained how to use the emergency exit clearly. They offered two meals for this flight and the food was quite good. The entertainment system was user-friendly and the movies were various. I felt comfortable during the flight for their service and competence. I enjoy the warm service of China Southern Airline which makes me feel like home.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Los Angeles
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew were very friendly"

(China)

Verified Review | I travelled Guangzhou to Auckland after several days meeting in Guangzhou on 11 Nov very morning. The premium economy seat is more comfortable than economy. Thanks to the ground staff, they gave me first row, that made my 11 hrs trip easier. The crew were very friendly, the flight was very smooth.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Routeguangzhou to auckland
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"trip was very good in general"

(China)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Moscow via Wuhan, business class. Actually I preferred to choose direct flight than connecting one to avoid any inconvenience but the transfer process was very smooth this time. The attendants were nice and professional, there were multiple choices of food and drinks,the Chinese food was particularly good. The whole trip was very good in general.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Moscow via Wuhan
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Chinese Meal with good taste"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Shenzhen to Jakarta on November 2017 in A320. Checkin fast and professional, during the checkin he provide me an upgrade to Premium Economy. The departure arrived in Jakarta on time. The flight attendant provide a hot Chinese Meal with good taste and soft drinks and Wine. Service was excellent, all Flight Attendants very friendly. I had some of small talk with Crew in very good english. Surprise for me.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShenzhen to Jakarta
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review