Avianca

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 227 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"so disappointing"

(United States)

Verified Review | Do not waste your money. Our honeymoon flight was cancelled and they won't do anything for us. We have spent $250 on a hotel and will have to book another in Miami and they won't give vouchers or do anything for us except have us wait in an extremely long line to be rebooked tomorrow. I will never support this airline again - so disappointing!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Bogota
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"spontaneously change flights"

(United States)

Verified Review | Boston to Cali via Bogota. Avianca is a terrible airline. Long, long lines to check-in, no or extremely clunky online check-in, extremely long waits for the call center when things inevitably hit the fan. To top it all off, they spontaneously change flights by a full 24 hours with little to no warning. That's what they did to me (changed a Saturday flight to a Friday flight on a Thursday) which forced me to spend another $350 on a separate flight with a real airline because Avianca was too incompetent to be able to get me on another flight. Avianca is a joke, save yourself the time, money and frustration by flying another airline even if it costs a little more upfront.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Cali via Bogota
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"delay again flight from Bogota"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Santiago to Cartagena via Bogota. Delay flight that depart from Santiago from 7.53 to 10.50, and delay again flight from Bogota. My holiday in Cartagena was destroyed when Avianca sent e-mail to tell me flight from Bogota to Cartagena was canceled and offered new flight to me. I tried reply e mail many times but they were not responding to me.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSantiago to Cartagena via Bogota
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Overall horrible experience"

(Mexico)

Verified Review | Mexico City to Bogota. My flight was supposed to depart Oct 5th at 1:28am and it has been delayed to 8:40pm because of a sick crew member but passengers were only notified after midnight on Oct 5th. Many people had connecting flights to other parts of Colombia and some to Madrid. The airline did not offer any type of compensation. I called the customer support lines and no one would help. Overall horrible experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to Bogota
Date FlownOctober 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"far from customer friendly"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Cusco to Lima. Our flight was cancelled with no reason (we think they did it on purpose to get the other flight more fully occupied). When in line they told is we would get transferred to an earlier flight which was delayed. However, they lied to us and we got transferred to a flight 4hours later. We never heard any apologies and service was far from customer friendly. Would definitely recommend another airline if possible!!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCusco to Lima
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"service was lacking big time"

(Colombia)

Verified Review | Barcelona to Bogota. Avianca is starting to look more and more like a low cost airline than a regular airline. We flew business class return ticket from Bogota to Barcelona and in both cases our business class boarding was done from the same door of the plane and we have to wait in line for over 45 minutes whick takes away from the business class flying experience. Also on our flight from Bogota the plane seemed to lack proper cleaning and service was lacking big time. Both my wife and I were very excited to fly the Boeing 787 but Avianca is really falling behind on the business class category due to its below par service and inadequate boarding process that could be easily be corrected should they choose to do so. In terms of flight entertainment goes there are not complaints, and food was good as far as airplane food can be expected to be. Moreover, the attitude of the flight attendants was unfriendly and unattentive. We will be looking at other airline options for future travel to international destinations.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBarcelona to Bogota
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"food was very dissatisfying"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Cuzco to Lima in Business Class. We purchased a business class ticket hoping more enjoyable experience, especially expecting that after the aircraft landed, we could deplane without waiting much longer as economy pax did. Upon landing in Lima Airport, we needed to rush to catch our connecting flight to Santiago. As we were seated at at row number 1 (the very front row), we were expecting to be able to deplane as soon as the door opened. The reality was completely the other way around. The aircraft parked at the international gate section, so they decided not to open the front door (with aviobridge) but the the rear-end door instead. This was very ridiculous because we became the last pax to exit the aircraft and needed to wait so much unnecessary amount of time! (please be reminded that we were seated at Business Class Row 1 which naturally should be the first pax to deplane!!). Other comments regarding inflight meal: They only serve beverage (in a plastic cup) and 1 granola bar which was very dissatisfying for a business class meal
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCusco to Lima
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"luggage nowhere to be found"

(United States)

Verified Review | Rioacha to Medellin via Bogotá. I suggest anyone flying domestically within Colombia to not fly with Avianca. We had a flight from Rioacha to Medellin with a connecting flight in Bogota, the flight from Rioacha was great, very on time and friendly security and staff, now when we arrived in Bogota everything changed drastically. Our flight was suppose to take off at 8:30pm it got delayed an hour and a half that's fine no big deal, around 10pm making the line to board the flight which was so disorganized and was wrapping around the whole corner, there was about 4 lines and no one knew which was for which there was people boarding for Barranquilla and Medellin finally we walk up to the attendant and to our surprise our flights were switched (never said anything over the intercom never called out our names over the intercom ) so not only did we wait almost two hours they made us run across the whole airport. On the plane fine, we arrive to Medellin while waiting for our luggage to our surprise it's nowhere to be found so now we have to speak with someone to find out where our luggage is at, and they have no way to tell us where it's at? So we decide to wait for the next flight thinking maybe our luggage was on that flight and nothing.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRioacha to Medellin via Bogotá
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"least compassionate and worst company"

(United States)

Verified Review | Avianca is the least compassionate and worst company I have come in contact with. My wife's father died. We called to get her plane ticket changed thinking it would be no big deal. Avianca refused to change it after being on the phone for over an hour. The people she and I spoke to were rude even when they knew her father had just died the day before. They said it was "not their problem." After a long and exhausting day of funeral arrangements, we were hung up on by the Avianca agent. We did not have the energy to call back that night since it was almost midnight. The next day my sister-in-law (her sister) called back to help. She was on the phone with Avianca for 2 plus hours. They again said not their problem. They didn't care that these two had just lost their father. Their callous attitude said it all. Finally we got somewhere after 2 hours and were told to send the death certificate. We sent the death certificate and got the flight changed, or so we thought. We got notice from Avianca that a death certificate wasn't enough since he died on a Wednesday and she wanted to fly back the following Wednesday. Now Avianca wants the notice from the funeral home for what day the funeral was and a notice for when he was going to be cremated. Finally after days of fighting with Avianca and endless painful paperwork sent, she was able to change her ticket. Of course she had to pay over $100. Not only did she have to pay that fee, her original flight was out of Cali, but she had to travel to Bogotá. Avianca refused to change her flight city, so after the most exhausting week of her life she now has to fly from Bogotá to Cali back to Bogotá to El Salvado to finally make it back to the US. Avianca refused to let her just go Bogotá to El Salvador. Why would they? They have proven how awful they truly are. We will never use them again. You ca not treat people like this. In a time of extreme circumstances, compassion is a must and Avianca has zero! After weeks of going back and fourth they basically said it's not their fault and they don't care. Way to show human decency and compassion.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCali to Dallas
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff did not care about us"

(France)

Verified Review | I bought a ticket from Trujillo to Cusco with a short connection at Lima sold by Avianca through Opodo. In spite of the first leg of the flight being on time and rushing on the connection to the second flight boarding gate, the boarding staff did not let me in the flight while the flight was flight was still boarding according to the signs. They switch to a flight boarding four hours later without trying to honor the connection commitment taken by Avianca. The boarding gate staff did not care about us and was highly impolite.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTrujillo to Cusco via Lima
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no