Etihad Airways

Seat Reviews


4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 85 reviews
3/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"There was enough leg room"

(France)

Trip Verified | Paris to Delhi flight was very smooth, we had A380 and then Boeing 787. There was enough leg room in the Economy Class (I'm 1.80m tall), I had a very comfortable flight. The food was enough and ok, but I was not asking much, it is not a restaurant. There was no delay on the outbound trip, and the connection at Abu Dhabi was easy. On the way back, the flight from Delhi was delayed with 3 hours, due to a technical problem. We were sure to miss our connection so we asked the Etihad crew and they said that Etihad would take care of us in Abu Dhabi, without knowing much. As soon as we entered the Abu Dabhi airport, an Etihad crew member was waiting for us with new boarding passes for the next flight to Paris, and a voucher for a hotel room. Chauffeur service and meals (which were excellent) were included. Again, everything went smooth. We were very happy about the way Etihad managed this delay.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA380
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
5/10

"a really poor design"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Abu Dhabi to Paris, the problem is the discomfort of their A380 Business Class Studio seat design, particularly for tall people over 5ft 10; ( I am 6 ft,about 180 cm). The base seat is quite thin and hard and far too small both in width and depth. If you are sitting in the upright (non-reclined position) the front edge of the seat cuts into the underside of your thigh restricts blood circulation and eventuality becomes quite painful. As other passengers have also commented about these seats I ended up having to use the blanket to pad the seat and wrap it around the forward seat edge to lessen its cutting into my thigh. In the fully reclined position the flat bed is not long enough for people of my height so I have to settle for it semi reclines with my feet resting on something placed on the floor. This was not just a problem on the A380, I had the same sort of seat and same discomfort on the smaller planes operated to Hong Kong. The recline mechanism is also annoying because you are unable to recline the seat back only. As soon as it goes beyond about two inches the seat base also starts moving forward and then then is insufficient space for your legs to stretch out. The "hardness adjustment" on the seat is also almost completely useless. Its a really poor design.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeA380
Seat Layout1x2x1
Date FlownAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"leg room was sufficient."

(Canada)

Not Verified | I am 5'10" and for me the leg room was sufficient. The color and design used for the seats looks just terrible as it ages. The infotainment screen locks are broken, so they rest at such angle, that it becomes black and you cannot see anything. There were no sick bags on any seats. The charging usb also didn't work on both flights
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"pleasantly surprised by the space"

(India)

Trip Verified | I paid for the economy space seat on my Boeing 777 flight from Dublin to Abu Dhabi. Etihad had a economy space section and I was pleasantly surprised by the space the seating offered (not so much by the food options), however it did seem value for money to me. If you are booking a long haul flight, seems to be a good option.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"cramped and uncomfortable"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | I did not like the seats on Etihad's Boeing 787. Even though the aircraft was relatively new, I felt cramped and uncomfortable while sitting on them. Even worse, there was a stain on my seat, it seams to be from red wine. I would've hoped that they would have tried to removed it, especially since I was flying business class!
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout1x2x1
Date FlownDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"found seat legroom to be tighter"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I found the seat legroom to be tighter than other airlines but the seat pitch was OK. In-flight entertainment worked fine this time but the cleanliness of the seat pop-out table was not good. When I went to reach out for the safety card I found empty sweet wrappers inside the seat pocket. The cleaners should have done a better job.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"legroom was not spacious"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I had a very uncomfortable journey on Etihad Airways A380. I found the seats to be really hard and the legroom was not spacious as that of other major airlines. The seat table was not cleaned well and was sticky.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA380
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"seats very uncomfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I paid the extra for the emergency exit. The whole experience from UK to Thailand and back was poor. The seats seem to be the narrowest I have encountered and very uncomfortable. When leaving the aircraft through the business class cabin I noted the same there. I had considered upgrading to business but I am very glad I didn't. The food was of poor quality and my partner had ordered a gluten free meal which never arrived on one of the legs, given away to another passenger. The meals that did arrive as ordered, one had an apple and apple slices on the same tray. Half cups of tea without refills and no alcohol offered from Abu Dhabi to Manchester. The entertainment did not cater for the UK market, nearly US programs and music selection poor. Voting with my feet not traveling Etihad again!
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"not acceptable at all"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Travelling as a couple I was disgusted to find when I checked in online they deliberately allocated seats at opposite sides of the aircraft on all 4 flights (2 outward and 2 return) but offer you the chance to pay to select 'your favourite seat' for £30 each. Given there was not a spare next to each one it would mean £60 per flight, £120 1 way and £240 total for the basic right of sitting next to your partner. Th original flights cost £1200 so it's an extra 10% so sit together, not acceptable at all. For clarity, it was 1 booking and checked it as 1. I can understand sometimes you get 1 aisle, then the next aisle seat but we had opposite sides of the plane (9 seats apart and 1 row in front, some several rows apart and non anywhere near each other) yet when I looked at paying to move I could see that a good 75% of the aircraft was selectable i.e free. It's also worth noting 2 of the flights were only 60% full on take off so this was clearly not an issue with a fully booked plane I've added some screenshots as proof of what is simply a crooked way to get more money from customers who have already paid a decent price for the flight in the first place. The black seats are the seats we were allocated, all the blue are the ones free. This was only half the aircraft, the other half had all seats free to select. On a side note, food was good but very small portions (cost savings?) and staff largely miserable. Service and food was not good compared to Qantas/Singapore/Emirates
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"will not fly with them again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Paid more to fly what I thought was a premium carrier, with better flight times/connections. 1st mistake. LHR-AUH-BNE & return. Checked in online & allocated seats at opposite end of aircraft for all 4 flights to my wife. Called Contact Centre & given the runaround from a very rude & abrupt operative who said it was my fault for not paying extra to guarantee a seat! All flights were punctual & on the face of it not too bad. However IFE on all flights came on half an hour after take off & was shutoff 45 mins before landing. This is ridiculous & I've never seen on any other airline. Seats were very uncomfortable & I was continually squirming around trying to get comfortable, Boeing 787 seats were much harder than the A380. Food was pretty poor all round & a breakfast was inedible. Drink service was non-existant. BNE-AUH was just short of 15hrs. We got a meal & drink an hour after take off - next time the crew were seen was 10hrs into the flight. Really? What sort of service is this? To add insult to injury one suitcase came round the carousel at LHR damaged with half the contents missing. Really disappointed & will not fly with them again.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA380 / Boeing 787
Seat Layout3x4x3 & 3x3x3
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1 to 10 of 85 Reviews