Santorini Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"Big thumbs up"

(Slovakia)

Not Verified | I would like to say a big thank you in a name of all pregnant ladies, because at my last visit at the airport the staff of the Santorini Airport took a big care of us, giving us priority at check-in and throughout the whole airport process. Big thumbs up! I never experienced such a good customer service even though yes, there are not too many facilities to sit down or wait, but this is a small airport. So keep going!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Airport is ridiculously small"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Santorini Airport is ridiculously small for the more than 2 million travellers that pass through it each year. However in spite of the size limitations they seem to do a good job of getting the passengers through. On arrival there were 2 passport officers working so the delay was not too long, baggage was already arriving on the single baggage carousel so no chance of missing your case. On departure they have a queuing system in place so you queue for your flight outside the terminal and only allowed in once there is space at the check-in counters. There were plenty of staff here to advise if you are not sure! Once you have checked in for your flight you then take any checked baggage to a separate line for security checking/X-Ray. One piece of advice is not to proceed through the security line with your hand baggage too early as there is very little space once through and only a small duty free shop and refreshment kiosk. We went and sat outside where there is a nice coffee shop and a good amount of seating. There are toilets which were clean the day we travelled through. An additional terminal is under construction and expected to open for the summer 2020 season.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Is this airport a joke?"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Is this airport a joke? How much of Santorini’s economy comes from tourism? And this is what you have to go through? It is utter chaos, from start to finish, no one seems to have any clue what is going on, it is absurdly crowded, and seems to have adopted its own bizarre method of checking people in. I travel a lot, including in the developing world, and this is perhaps the worst airport I have ever been too. An absolute joke.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most inconvenient airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Smallest most inconvenient airport I’ve ever been to. Lots of tourism and income for what? No waiting area, and one cafe shop. My child and I have nowhere to sit considering there are only like 5 seats.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"poorly maintained"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | This is one of the smallest and most outdated airports in Europe. For an island which relies on tourism and has a plethora of people come in and out daily I am shocked at how poorly it's been maintained and kept up. The staff is friendly and nice but that's about the only thing good here.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"airport assistance kind"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I arranged airport assistance for my 80 year old mum and they could not have been more kind. Much appreciated. The airport itself was busy but Santorini is so overcrowded with tourists that an overcrowded airport is inevitable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Total and utter chaos"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Worst airport I’ve ever been to. Total and utter chaos. Not one airport employee has any sense of urgency. Minimal seating past security. Dirty, stinky. Just an overall terrible experience. If I could give this place a negative 10 out of 10 I would.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"have never had an issue"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I have been to many island airports, and Santorini Airport rates among the best, in the things that really matter. I have flown in and out of JTR over a dozen times, and I have never had an issue with organization, service, luggage, bathroom, food or cleanliness. It can get a little crowded in peak season when large numbers of package tourists are going through, but any lack of decorum is generally caused by poorly behaved and inconsiderate tourists, and not a lack of organization on the airport's part. From arrival at the terminal to collecting luggage and departing terminal took 5 minutes, which I have always found to be the case. You won't find junk food restaurants, duty free gauntlets with pushy salespeople, or one hour walks to get to your gate as you do in the large high volume airports, and that's a blessing. It got a little overcrowded on one occasion when I was departing and a couple of flights had been delayed due to airline mechanical checks, but I have encountered this at Heathrow, LAX, Rome, Dubai, Singapore and most large international airports. At least in Santorini you can easily step out and enjoy the lovely island air while you're waiting, as opposed to being stuck in an exit lounge in some labyrinthine building. I will point out that small airports are part of the island travel experience, and travelers with unrealistic logistical expectations may consider if a 12 hour ferry boat ride from Piraeus would be more convenient for them.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"total lack of management"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Worst airport I've ever been at. Dirty, chaotic, total lack of management, unkind personnel, lines with no sense at all. It's the "best" way to ruin the beauty of an island and the kindness of a people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"we won't be going back to Santorini"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Suffice to say we won't be going back to Santorini. Totally spoilt our lovely time there. Herded like cattle. Cramped space and queues overlapping. A high security risk and I do not understand how the airport authorities allow thousands of travellers in such a small space. No signs to indicate where to go or what to do. A total disaster and shame on you Santorini for allowing such diabolical customer service. People sitting on stairwells whilst at the same time people were queueing right up the stairs - no way could you pass. Oh I could go on and on and on. One very unhappy customer! And to add to my anger only 1 ladies toilet in use - queues out the door - no toilet paper!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 78 Reviews