Oslo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 141 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Extremely unpleasant personnel"

(Austria)

Not Verified | Nice architecture. Nice smell. Extremely unpleasant personnel that tries to make passengers pay for overweight hand luggage even if it is within the regulations. Extraordinary unfriendly and insulting police that checks passports upon arrival at the jet bridge; waiting time half an hour in the cold jetbridge although I arrived from a Schengen country and most were EU or Norwegian citizens. Sometimes long queues at the security check, some staff is friendly though. No fast lane or lounge for Miles&More frequent travellers. Luggage takes ages to arrive
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a truly shocking airport"

(Norway)

Not Verified | Worst airport I’ve ever experienced in Europe. Airport is full of architectural niceties but at the expense of providing a good service to passengers. Several Issues: - Airport requires a lot of walking, at times the various routes to gate area (A) felt like walking in circles. Walkways could be more efficient and direct. - Passport control - the architect seems to think about 300 people travel a day at this airport. Queues are long and not clearly signposted. I was travelling with a family, and they didn’t even check my passport. This is a major safety issue that needs to stop. - Seating - again the architect doesn’t seem to realise that the majority of flights departing have seats for over 180 pax. Why then is there 28 seats at each gate? I could understand if they were small regional gates, not international departures. - Baggage Collection - 35 mins wait for bags on the belt. For a country that prides itself for its use of automation, this was an absolute joke. There is no reason for such a wait, and staff were completely unhelpful as to the issue. - Taxi Service - The automated taxi kiosk is not fit for purpose at an international airport. Travelling with 4 pax and 4 large bags due to the winter weather, and all three taxis (large one selected) that turned up could not take the luggage. Do they think people don’t travel with luggage, especially in winter when you have to carry more clothes? - Food and Beverages - Didn’t eat, not worth wasting an extortionate amount of money for terrible food. All in all, a truly shocking airport that has completely missed its fundamental purpose - to be an airport! This airport has completely tarnished my view of Norway. It’ll take a lot to convince me to return to this hell.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Very nice airport!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Very nice airport! The airport was very nice and Scandinavian. It felt extremely similar to KEF airport in Iceland. There were some cute Christmas lights and a lot of seating. Upon arrival, passengers are forced to pass through tax free, which provides cheap deals on alcohol. Going to and from the city is easy with the Flytoget train. Tickets aren't too cheap but it's easy to fall into a discount category, such as child, youth, or senior. Departing was also pretty easy. Security was still tolerable. Good amount of food choices, all very expensive but thats what you get when you combine Norway and airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1/10

"poor staff delegation"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Honestly the worst airport I have ever been to. No notice that there is a passport control section until you get to F gate. We had a flight out of Gate F26 that we missed due to poor staff delegation, short staffed at a very congested Passport Control, and rude and incompetent staff. Passport control line that may take up to 50+ minutes. This is after duty free and for no other gate. No prior notice. My EU national partner and myself (USA) made our way through to gate F26, stood in line at Border control. After twenty minutes of not moving I ask a member of staff wearing a yellow info shirt if I will make it through on time as my flight boards now and I'm worried I'll miss it. He shoves me off and tells me that everyone has to wait. It'll be at the airlines disclosure whether they wait for me and it'll be up to the airline to replace my ticket if I miss my flight. I have never been to an airport with such terrible misinformation and terrible customer service! It has always been that if a passenger might possibly miss their flight, they will be pulled to the front immediately. I send my EU passport holding partner ahead of me to go through the much faster EU line in hopes that he would be able to hold our flight for us. He arrived at the gate in less than 5 minutes. Another 15 minutes go by. I'm now worried so I once again ask your member of staff to look at my ticket and please let me skip ahead. He once again tells me no and tells me that I am heading to the same destination as all of these people in the line ahead of me, I was not. After another 15 minutes and me asking 3 more times I began to panic. Crying and begging one of your staff to please let me skip. She puts me behind someone else and ahead of only 2 people. By this point I have now missed my flight and the only response I am getting is that I should have given myself more additional time. I am sorry but I arrived at the airport at 10.40am for my 13.30 flight. I passed through security by 11am. I went to the gate exactly when it told me to go to gate. So what extra magical time does this airport think I should aquire for a passport control that is just sprung on to you and a line that is 50+ minutes? I missed my flight, my airline told me that it wasn't their fault it was the airport. The airport told me it wasn't their fault it was mine. And I for no fault of my own missed my flight, had to pay out of my pocket for a new one. Was offered no refund or compensation from either guilty parties. And had been traveling for 24 hours + to fix their mistake. I would highly recommend skipping any trip to Oslo if you don't have an EU passport as you will not make your flight and you will have to pay out of pocket for their mess ups. I've attached photos where you can clearly see the long wrapping passport control line and the lack of signs explaining the situation. Shameful!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"One of the nicest airports"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One of the nicest airports I have visited. Feels very Scandinavian, nice layout and huge open spaces. There was no queues at security or passport control
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"Would recommend this airport"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | You dont get lost as there is only one terminal which is not big at all. The queue was not even long in the check in and security and if youre traveling in Europe i believe you can use the automated kiosks which is so much better than line up in a queue. Directions to the gate is easy to understand. Not so good cleanliness. Not as much seats around as you would expect. You want to get Lucky and be at the gate before anyone else if you want a place to sit. The shopping and food is okay. It is enough shops to purchase a gift or food. Very expensive of course. The airport Staff is okay as well. I've experienced a variety of attitudes in my years using this airport. The WiFi is the best thing about this airport. You get excellent speed and easy to use, and super good range. Overall it is a good airport. But some things need to be improved. Like more seats. A bit more cleaner, and the Staff needs to be happy and greet their customer Would recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Shame on the airport and police"

(United States)

Trip Verified | What a mess with passports to get out of the country! Shame on the airport and police. Norway people were otherwise very happy to help visitors and go out of their way to accommodate. The experience was enough of a problem not to fly out of Oslo again. The two of us are 6 continent travelers with hundreds of thousands of miles and have never experienced this ridiculous length of time and repetitive passport checks. We arrived 4 hours prior to takeoff. The ticket counter had no lines. However, we were questioned by security as to luggage, how we got there, etc. before being allowed to check in. We didn't mind that. The airport states that it posts gates 2 hours prior to takeoff. The posting was less than 1 hr 45 minutes prior. We headed to the gate immediately after posting. We ran into a long passport control line. Then at the gate, which was almost immediately after passport control, there was another long line for passport control at the end of which we were questioned just like we were at the ticket counter check in. Bottom line, even though we arrived 4 hours prior, we were one of the last ones to board the plane.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"quite decent and clean"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Arrived 4:40 in the morning from PEK. We arrived at the left end of the non-schengen part of the airport, and in order to get to the passport control we had to walk through a narrow corridor less than 2 metres wide. There are signs indicating three different "lanes" through the corridor, one for Non-EU passports on the left side, and two for EU passports and e-gates respectively on the right side. Please note that you will need an EU passport and be over the age of 18 to use the e-gates. This can be a little confusing as the lanes aren't all that clear, but just follow the markings on the floor as they will lead you to the right queue at the passport control. Or just ignore them until the actual passport control area, and figure out which queue to get in there. At the passport control hall where the lanes got separated we noticed that the staff blocked the entrance to the EU lane, and rudely told people to get over to the lane for all passports. You had to present them your EU passport for them to let you get past. The immigration process itself was quite smooth. However the desks were staffed inproportionally. The ratio between those arriving on non EU passports and those having EU passports were around 10:1. The desks were staffed roughly 50-50. As a result of this, the queue for non EU passports was pretty much not moving at all. This was while the queue for EU passports cleared in less than 5 minutes. The terminal however, was quite decent and clean.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Will avoid in future"

(Norway)

Not Verified | Really dirty airport, filthy stains everywhere, no cleaners in sight. Rude staff who couldn't be bothered to look up from their texting to serve me properly. Snack bar closest to gate F12. Not impressed. Will avoid in future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"experienced my worst wait time in this airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I’ve experienced my worst wait time in this airport, customs and passport check took 2 hours wait. There were only 4 officers for hundreds of people. Other than this there were not a single place to charge you phone without an EU adapter which you had to buy. You couldn’t use any credit/debit card only Norwegian currency (inside the airport).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no