Mexico City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 94 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"staff did not seem to care at all about passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Our experience in Terminal 2 at Mexico City Airport this November was truly dreadful, and almost ruined the very wonderful memories we have of our month in Mexico, where we again found people to be so warm and helpful. But sad to say, Terminal 2 gave us a very different and unfavourable impression indeed. 1) Several people were brusque and most staff did not seem to care at all about passengers. We were sent back to the check-in desks because we had a small piece of folk art, which we had been intending to take in our hand luggage (to protect it from breakage) but were told, by security, that we could not because part of it had pointed ends, although they said it was not a restricted item, and in fact it was impossible to open the package at all until they provided us with a blade to do so (ironic!). There we were made to wait in a line by a man who quite rudely directed us to stand there, but then disappeared, leaving empty desks facing us and the 5 or so Mexicans in front of us, including one man who told the brusque man tjat his flight was due to be called in 30 minutes. We all waited there for about 20 minutes, while nobody came to the desk (supposed to be for flights that were going to leave soon!) Eventually we had to give up waiting there and go to yet another place in the airport before we could even ask anyone what to do. We were sent here and there and waited each time, while the time for our plane drew nearer and nearer. We were given conflicting advice by different officials. This included a suggestion to get our cardboard box wrapped in plastic - which cost us $290 Mexican. But we eventually found out that to check in our single item, weighing less than 1.5 kg would cost us $80 US - about 5 times more than the item cost to buy! In the end we were forced to take our now thoroughly wrapped item back to security, where we were forced to leave it behind, meaning we lost not only the item, which had been intended as a birthday present, but also the cost of wrapping it at the airport (a total of about £30 UK pounds). 2) Even general check-in at Terminal 2  is really slow compared to the very many other airports we have been to around the world. The system for checking immigration / exit papers is part of the reason this is such a slow process, and then they were checked again when we were called to the gate to depart (late, but without any apology or explanation). Some people were sent back, at the last minute, to the other end of the hall, to get departure papers sorted out.  I don't know whether or not they missed the plane, 6) The whole terminal is dull it must have been a very stressful experience either way. Obviously the airport should make a proper, efficient immigration desk, staffed by people who know what they are doing, which everyone passes through before they reach departure gates, rather than leaving this to check-in and departure staff. 3) There are not enough toilets. I had to go a long way to the nearest one, only to find that it was closed.And those that there are, are not of airport standard at all. 4) The signage in the airport is really inadequate. It's hard to spot signs directing you to each area / toilets / etc. 5) There are not enough seats at the departure gates for everyone to sit down. Airport authorities must know how many people a plane can hold, and there is certainly room for more seats, so why not provide them? 6) The whole terminal is dull, unwelcoming, and a bit depressing,
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"confusing, poorly managed airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolute Chaos. We had a round trip flight on both legs that went through Mexico City. Let me say this is the most confusing, poorly managed airport I have ever had the displeasure to go through. On both legs of our trip the terminals were too busy so we had to depart the plane down a portable stair in the rain onto a bus that took us to some terminal. once there, it was absolute confusion as to where to go next. We followed the group and ended up in immigration where they wanted immigration paperwork. all the slots that had the papers were empty. right at the last minute a security officer handed out the forms as everyone was waiting for them. scramble to get filled out with no pens. Once through immigration the signage was either very poor on nonexistent. Somehow thanks to our Spanish speaking daughter in law we managed to find our terminal through the multiple levels and depart. The return trip was almost as bad. Flight departure gate not posted until the last minute. we almost missed the flight because of it. My wife was (unknown at the time) to be selected for random search. When we reached the gate is was standing room only with a lot of ambient noise. We occasionally heard our garbled last name over the lousy intercom system. I asked my Daughter in law what they were saying and she said she couldn't understand because of the strong accent. when boarding the aircraft my wife was pulled out of line and patted down, purse searched, two Iphone cases had to be removed for inspection. She was the last to board our return flight. Luckily we had one person in our group that spoke fluent Spanish which help out some. I cant imagine navigating this airport without knowing Spanish.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an unforgettably horrible experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am not a person who usually takes the time to write a negative review, but after taking a connecting flight in Mexico City 2 weeks ago, I'm still puzzled as to what took place in the airport. I am a frequent international traveler and have experienced many airports and this was by far, the worst airport experience ever. I had flown from Lima, Peru and was connecting in MXC to continue on to the US. When getting off the plane, my friend and I noticed that a few people had immigration forms in their hand and that there were signs hanging saying that the forms needed to be filled out. Where were the forms? No one around us knew until we got to the very front of the line and noticed the forms placed inside very deep indents that were in a table at the front of the line. Would it be so hard to have a sign pointing to the table telling you the forms were there? This way you could calmly fill it out instead of rushing like a madwoman to complete it before being called to the counter. Then came the luggage scan. Okay, not bad. Ummm where do we go now? Why isn't there a sign for connecting flights? Well there are 2 signs, national and international departures. Well, since we're going to the US we must be international, but let's ask the official-looking woman who works here. Go up and make a right at "F". Okay! Great! Wait a minute, if we go right, then that's national. That doesn't make sense. Let's go international. Okay, we're in the international hall. Scan screens hmmm, our flight that should be leaving in about an hour isn't on screen so how do we know the gate? Let's try to find the airline counter. Magic, we somehow find the counter. While in line to get a boarding pass printed (because kiosk wasn't working), an announcement comes on that our flight is closed and no one can be checked in! Wait we just got here, how could that be? Decide, let's run to next check in point, nope you need a boarding pass to get through this security. Back to the line. Ask a young woman to help us and she looks at us blankly and just shows us card that states she's "just security". Alrighty then finally get a boarding pass from a woman at the counter. Sprinting back to go through security (again) and get bags checked (again). Don't see flight on screen, but it's on our boarding pass and it's at a far gate, run run run through terminal until we finally reach the assigned gate. Oh no they're boarding except that doesn't say New York, that's a different city. Let's check the screen, are we at the wrong gate. Stare intently at screen and discuss how confused we are. Finally, a woman asks if we are on NY flight. Yes we are. Oh, it's delayed! What? The screen says it's on time! Oh no they announced it's delayed. Do you know for how long? About 1.5 hours. Okay go grab a bite to eat. At least 30 minutes later, the flight is still "on time" on the screen, finally stated delayed almost 2 hours later. No announcement made to board flight, luckily saw other people starting to line up. I'm exhausted just writing this review, it truly was an unforgettably horrible experience. Avoid at alllll costs!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"smell in the airport was awful"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The transiting experience was quick and painless. Our bags were checked through to South America and there was no need to pickup/recheck. The smell in the airport was awful - triggering allergies. It seems that the airport pumps some sort of chemical scent which is super strong - for a person who is super sensitive to smells my head started pounding within about 15 minutes.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"it was a nightmare"

(United States)

Not Verified | I took a trip from LA to Bogota, Colombia making a connection in Mexico City. It was raining when we landed in Mexico City and it was a nightmare. We had to wait for a bus to take us back to the terminal, we waited a long time for the bus to arrived and once inside the airport there was water everywhere, the airport was literally flooded. Going thru immigration was a nightmare, long lines and just a few agents. I had to beg an officer to please let me go thru the Mexican Citizens Only line since they had no people waiting. The officer was rude but finally he did let me go thru. I think the airline gave me less than two hours wait time for my connection and some how i made it to my flight but i was sweaty, out of breath and wet and angry. why do you have to go thru immigration in Mexico when your final destination is a different country? I have traveled to Europe in many occasions, made several connections and it has always been easy and simple.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"would avoid this airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | It is almost 5 am I had an unbelievably crazy and disheartening experience as a transit passenger in Mexico City. As a first time MX visitor I just had the most wonderful experience in Zihua and was going back the US - I found Mexicans to be some of the most gracious and kind people The people I dealt with in the airport do not resemble anything like the people I met the past 2 weeks in Zihua. I don’t know where I landed. I did not know you had to have kept your immigration paper from your arrival. So I leisurely sat at the airport for 5 hours waiting to board. Officials called all US citizens to check our passports and ask some security questions and no one asked to see the said immigration document. As I stood up to board the plane one of the agents very meanly told me if I didn’t have that paper I had to go back to the immigration office and pay a penalty and get the form and I will likely be missing this flight (this flight was at 11:40 am and I have a conference the day after). While reeling from that shock not even knowing where immigration was his colleague directed me to run and get it and I might make it. I get there after navigating confusing airport signs only to be told by another really mean woman that they only take pesos! I implored with her to take credit card as I was late but she refused and directed me to an ATM, I ran there to bring her the 500pesos, fill out the form and ran back only to be told the plane has left! Sad and scary to say but I had a feeling the immigration lady appeared to be enjoying my distress. I went to the info desk and was told to go to the check-in desk and ask to be out in the next flight. I get there and I see another mean woman (what the heck was going on - all of a sudden people seem to have turned to be mean spirited and I felt like I was in a bad dream) anyway she tells me it was my fault that I missed the flight and she will not put me on the next flight. I have to purchase a new flight on my own! I am a freaking transit and had been in the airport 5 hrs and they closed my flight while making me run around the airport when they could have been helpful! Angry but more confused I go to Aeromexico counter to purchase and was told the next flight to JFK would cost me $1,200. I asked if there were other options could he look for other airlines. He told me he had no access to look, no lead and will close in 15 minutes - I left him. I made a new reservation on my iPhone (United for about $500. I walked out to go to a new terminal and hail one of the airport cabs lined up and they tell me $250pesos (terminal 1 where United is about 2 miles at most from where I was in the airport). As I was beginning to negotiate the taxi dispatcher simply flags me to come to the booth - are you kidding me! They try to rip you off in the full view of the airport admin? I paid $135 pesos and got dropped off at terminal 1. I laid on the floor of United until they opened and paid what was asked for luggage, got a boarding pass and can’t wait to get out of here. Despite the incredible amount of callousness that I sensed in some of the airport people I interacted with today, I refuse to believe these people represent the true character of Mexico. I would avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"This airport is pretty bad"

(Canada)

Not Verified | This airport is pretty bad, I have to say. I echo other reviewers' statements that it is ridiculous to have to go thru customs to enter Mexico when you are only on a layover and are just gonna leave again. That said, the lineups went pretty fast in spite of how long they were. Always bring your own black pen! Another strange thing is having to move your luggage from one conveyor to another if you are on a connecting flight. This hasn't happened to me every time I've flown thru here but often enough. Ask at the check-in desk as you begin your flight to see if this applies to you. (My last flight, both legs were AeroMexico and they told me my luggage would meet me at my final destination, which it did.) A lot of the airport seems to be under construction right now with weird sloping ramps and closed storefronts. Many of the electric signs only show the flights leaving that area. For example, near gate 75, only flights leaving from gates 75A, B, C, D are shown. Find a sign that shows flights from all gates. If you arrive too early for your flight, your gate may show only a letter, such as K or M. That refers to the Hall where your flight is leaving from. However, I could not find signage for the halls, only the gates, so I had to ask at information where to wait. At about an hour before my flight left, my gate number came up on the sign. (It was gate 71.) I mentioned this to a Facebook group and some people told stories of missing their flights because the signs never indicated their gate number. Don't be shy to ask at information! There are some Starbucks here and 7-11 stores and other stores but things are expensive. The Mexico City international airport is officially called Aeropuerto Internacional Benito Juárez.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the biggest disaster I've ever encountered"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport has got to be the biggest disaster I've ever encountered. There's thousands of workers, no one knows what is going on or where things are. Zero signage. You may just be passing through to another destination, but here they make you get your checked luggage and immigrate to Mexico even though you are only transferring to another flight. Why would that be necessary? Also, you have to fill out immigration forms, even if you're not staying, you need to do it in black pen only. They have no pens and no forms either. If you find one and fill it out, they will send you away if it's not black ink and tell you like you are stupid to go back and find a black pen. Three tries later and 45 minutes later I just stood in the middle of immigration and yelled 'does anyone who works here have a pen so I can fill this out?' The actual agent had a pen, had 3, but refused to let me use it. I felt like I was in a bad looping dream in an absurd world. After that, they emptied out my carry-on and told me I could only have 1 laptop. I was traveling with 2 for my business. I had to check my laptop, which of course later in the process is forbidden. Again. This place is an insane assylum. Once at the check-in, I was sent away with all of my bags to go sit in a dark hallway on the floor because they won't check you in until exactly 3 hours before. So you sit, you can't go eat or pee. Because you have all your checked bags and cannot leave them unattended. I fell asleep in the floor on my bags and the airport rent a cop would constantly wake me up because I can't sleep. It's not safe because I have to watch my bags they say. That was the worst 8 hours of my life. Once checked in I bought food. Mexico right? Good Mexican food? Everything cost a fortune. As I fill this out I resent having to even give 1 star to any category. They are not worthy of one star. Worst airport in the world. Everyone was rude. What a nightmare. never go through this hell port!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"unhelpful, rip-off, uncaring"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | I will say from the outset, I pray I never have to fly in and transit through this airport again. Poorly signposted baggage hall for Domestic Arrivals. Then my trolley gets taken away from me as I enter the arrivals hall. Having no Mexican cash on me, all the porters refused to let me use their trolleys. This is so far, the only airport I have travelled through where Domestic to International transit passengers are held to ransom over a trolley. As an off-signing seaman, I had two 18kg bags plus my carry-on bag to lug all the way to the International Departures hall. Words that come to mind are: unhelpful, rip-off, uncaring, never-again, racketeering, unfriendly. Every Information kiosk (3), where I asked for assistance, just shrugged, and would not even hear my complaint. So what do I take with me from this country, where I have spent more than 3 months? I will not recommend Mexico, and especially this airport to anyone. The ripoffs and “couldn’t care less” attitude of places where tourists get fleeced, have left me with a feeling like sand between my teeth.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"I had no problem with this airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | I've only been to this airport once so far, but am moving to Mexico and this will be my main flying hub for awhile starting in July, so I might update this later. I'm surprised at all the bad reviews for this airport. For me, nothing stood out to me, for good or bad at this airport. It was clean, somewhat busy, and the queues existed but nothing like LAX. I had breakfast at a coffee shop by the gate, it was delicious and less overpriced than in the US. The signs could be slightly more coherent, but overall I had no problem with this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 94 Reviews