Manila Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 331 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Chaotic organisation"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Worst airport I have ever been to. 30 minute line to get into terminal shuttle area, another 40 minutes waiting for terminal shuttle. Almost no departurture/arrival screens. Queues for taxi, overcharging by metered taxi. No refreshments in public areas. Chaotic organisation. Terrible airport. Big shame.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"99% of cafes accept cash only"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Terminal 2 at NAIA airport sucks completely. Exclusively used by Philippine Airlines, they facilitate for business class passengers during long layovers, with the Mabuhay Lounge. Despite the fact that economy class passengers are still paying customers, you're left on your own. To make matters worse, the wifi is barely existent, the staff are helpless and 99% of the cafes accept cash only. Out of luck if you require the use of a card (the nearest ATM is outside, through customs, which you are not permitted to do during a transit flight). Poor form. Despite being happy overall with the actual flight part of our journey, the complete dismissal of all clients who fall below business class is a disappointment and disgrace. Time to catch up with the rest of the world... 1/10, only because they used a sign to advise the floor was slippery.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"painful steel benches"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | I used Terminal 2 (aka the Centennial Terminal) about a month ago and the newest Terminal 3 last year. Neither of them are particularly impressive by any stretch of the imagination. With both terminals, you have to go through a baggage check as soon as you enter, aside from the usual scan after checking-in. It’s a real hassle, especially if your bags are heavy and there are impatient people behind you. After check-in at T2 in both the international and domestic wings, there are only a handful of eating places - most of them only offering snack items (or sandwiches at the most). The rest of the floor space is used up by painful steel benches. Also, if you’re flying to Australia or the US, you have to go through a third bag and passport check near your gate. Once that’s done, you’re kept in a cordoned-off area until departure time. If you need to use the bathroom or buy food after the third check, you have to go through the whole rigmarole all over again. Of course, you have to get rid of any bottles containing liquids before the third check. I understand it’s for security, but I easily get dehydrated in the tropics, so not being able to drink water even for an hour is really difficult - not to mention the overall stress of going through NAIA. Don't use Manila as a transit airport unless you really have to.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Most dysfunctional airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Most dysfunctional airport I've visited anywhere in the world. 1) To get inside the airport I was told I needed a paper copy of my ticket, had to cross the street, wait in line for an hour, pay 50P and return where a new staffer was now letting people in with web checkin codes only! 2) Then upon entering there is a bank of AirAsia (do not fly them) kiosks sitting just past the point where you need them! 3) Airport offers wifi, but to Filipinos only (you must have a working PH phone number to use the wifi) - this is a racket so the booths outside can sell you SIM access at 8x to 10x the going rate at any other SIM Booth in the country 4) For a customer friendly nation like PH, this was a horrid experience with hours of waiting. Worse than Africa or LAX. You better believe when I leave the country I will be here 4 hours+ in advance because it takes at least 2 hours to check in and check luggage. Miserable!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Very disappointed"

(Philippines)

Not Verified | Very disappointed with this airport. Every year millions of Filipinos pay the travel tax but for what? There hasn't been much improvement. It's already close to boarding time at gate 1 but they are still setting up and not letting passengers in the gate. Filipinos should deserve to get their travel tax back everytime airport performs poorly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"assault on my eardrums"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Overhead announcements are numerous, loud and repetitive. It is an assault on my eardrums. They need to improve the acoustics and make the announcements more soothing to the ears. Maybe they need to visit other international airports to take notes. Most of the Filipino passengers are rude and do not follow courtesy when falling in line. People tend to cut in front of you and everyone seems to be fine with it. It’s really annoying. Airports need to start placing instructions for people cutting lines especially when boarding planes and when getting off planes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"major fail in operations and processes"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | One of the worst airport I've been to. Basic facilities aside, major fail in operations and processes. Waiting time for inter-terminal shuttle more than an hour, when it's supposed to be 30 min, designed to make you miss your connecting flight. Flight bound for some countries have double x-ray screening. Most other airports would have streamlined this to do screening once. No idea why they don't do gadget checks at first screening point and having to do a second one at the gate. How ridiculous is that? Worst thing you can do for a traveller having beautiful memories of the country is to screw up departure experience at the last touch-point.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"facilities are below standard"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | It is disappointing that Manila as a capital city does not have an airport that we can be proud of. The facilities are below standard, the building is old, no travelator. I’ve travelled to few smaller airports the past two years and these non-capital cities have better airports. I hope that the government will demolish Manila’s T1 & T2, and replaced these with new structures and design.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"Too much inconvenience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Too much inconvenience for the travelers. There were not a lot of food vendors to choose from. Security procedure is confusing. Going thru the first security area was very uncoordinated. Once inside to wait for my flight everyone was again asked to line up for another security check which includes X-ray, pat down etc.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Terrible airport. Hardly any places to get food and then they didn’t even take card. I was catching a connecting flight so therefore did not have any of the local currency and was unable to get anything that wasn’t a jumbo candy gift. Also I was informed I’m not even allowed to take my own drinks into the “holding area” and onto the plane. I had a long flight ahead of me and find it incredulous that we cannot bring our own refreshments on. I will not be using this airport or this airline ever again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no