Manila Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 321 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"possibly the worst airpor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport is possibly the worst airport I have ever been in. The staff are rude and the Security is ridiculous! Before even entering the airport all your luggage is scanned including hold and hand baggage. You then have to check in which is an experience in itself. After that you go through Security which is what you would expect and you also have to take your shoes off. After Security you find your gate, the food facilities and shopping facilities are virtually non-existent compared to other airports . The seats are basic and uncomfortable. However, the main issue arises when you go to the gate where you have to go through another round of Security and this is where my real issue arises. In the departure area you are encouraged to buy drinks, bottles of water and duty free and also alcohol which may not be duty free but that information is not clear! You spend money on bottles of water, cans of sprite etc for the kids only to be told when you get to the gate that you have to bin it Furthermore, if you buy alcohol which you do not realise is not duty free such as Emperador you either have to bin it or take it back to the shop for a refund. Why would the shop sell it if you cannot take it on board? When a complaint was made you were greeted with stony silence and unfriendliness. They then ask for your passport to take down the information for their "records" which I am not comfortable with. After that debacle you then have to go through documentation control and lastly you have to hand over your boarding passes at the gate. That is effectively 4 lots of Security whereas in major airports like Heathrow, London you have 2. The whole system seems designed to scam unsuspecting travellers out of money and to stress them out as much as possible (especially if they have small children). There is no information anywhere in the airport regarding this issue. If I can avoid it I will never travel through Manila Airport again. I have travelled all over the world and can safely say that this airport is the worst airport and has left me with a poor lasting memory of Manila.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"By far the worst airport"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | By far the worst airport I've ever been to. Poorest customer service, extremely outdated, terrible restaurants, cash only food stores in international terminal but there is only 1 ATM inside and it was turned off. Duty free is ridiculously overpriced and clearly has duty added to price. Only positive is the bathrooms were clean! Will avoid this airport at any cost!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely terrible airport"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Absolutely terrible airport - cash only for food and no ATM! We had the most horrible experience, for an international terminal there is hardly anything there. All the food outlets are small with minimal variety not to mention all food outlets are cash only. We had a 4 hour stop over and were starving. No one at all wanted to or were willing to help. We weren’t allowed outside again as we had already gone through immigration. The duty free store is expensive in US dollars and more expensive than anywhere else. The Cebu (which is a small island) domestic terminal has more options than the Manila airport. This made the end of our trip stressful and disappointing I couldn’t wait to get out of the airport. Really disappointed! If you have a long stop over in Manila make sure you have cash and something to do.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"bright and looks spacious"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Manila International Airport Terminal 1 has been refurbished. Have been using this terminal during arrival and departures since 1994. It is more bright and looks spacious and the floor has been carpeted. Toilets are more clean, and A/Cs are good - cold inside the terminal. There are lounges on the upper floors - airside - which I use most of the time like Club Manila. I wish they could connect the 4 terminals by Metro Train,
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Terrible airport overall"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Terrible airport overall. I think I was in terminal 2, no signage to confirm. There are no display boards so information comes over announcements thick and fast at high volume so don't expect good sleep, not that there are many places to lay down other than the floor. If you miss the announcement of the flight however, you'll end up walking around the building inquiring at each gate. Transfer was a joke, have done it twice on our ways to and from New Zealand to the UK, you'll see what I mean when you find your way to the immigration check/transfer desk/security station. All located in a very small area with queues going everywhere. Also there are only bins for recycling, so what happens to non recyclables? I just put it in whatever bin is closest. Wifi is OK, plenty of free ones but limited times on each.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"everywhere is extremely noisy"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I flew from Manila to Bangkok via Philippine Airlines. Terminal 2 is extremely stressful. Boarding gate is horribly packed where seats densely arranged. I was seated near Gate 1 and announcement for Gate 9 was in full blast. Announcements are endless and can be heard in the entire boarding area. Unlike other airports in Southeast Asia, there is no quiet zone in Terminal 2 where one can rest, read a book or do work. Everywhere is extremely noisy.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely no organisation"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Review of terminal 2 which is international terminal. By far the worst airport I have visited. At immigration there was absolutely no organisation, with queues going in every direction overlapping one another so travellers didn’t know where to stand and people could easily push in. Had a 8 hour layover where we could stay in this tiny and stuffy lounge full of people but nowhere to sit with no food services in this part whatsoever. Once leaving the lounge to go to departures the food services were awful with only small kiosk type stalls selling rubbish food with rude staff. Terminal 2 is absolutely tiny with nothing to do at all but sit on uncomfortable metal chairs. No smoking area and no restaurant. Some of the kiosks do not even take credit card. Definitely would avoid this airport at all costs especially if travelling internationally.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no one is friendly"

(Australia)

Not Verified | A living hell, over crowded, the amount of people is just ridiculous, no one is friendly or is willing to help you, status boards make no sense, so confusing. It’s not up to date and staff is unable to help you anyway. Most of the domestic were delayed that day, for hours, half of the people were sitting down or laying down on the floor. I travelled with Cebu Pacific, despite the fair prices, they are really unorganised and don’t really care.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"an overcrowded airport"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | I haven't travelled from terminal one in a long time so this is the first time I'm seeing the renovation that was done a few years ago. Certainly parts of the airport like the check-in area and hallways to the gates look much better. Unfortunately this is merely a cosmetic "solution" masking the real problem of an overcrowded airport. Long lines at the check-in area as well as in immigration consumed over an hour of my time. There were more Filipinos travellers compared to foreigners but about an equal number of immigration counters for both. That meant that lines for Filipinos moved much slower. Perhaps they should adjust the assignment of counters. After clearing immigration I had some time to get a meal and could see there were a decent number of food choices. Unfortunately most of them were rather overpriced compared to what you could get in the city. The number of passengers using the airport far exceeds its designed capacity. Delays are commonplace but can vary depending on the time of day or night. My flight was delayed for over an hour. The boarding gate was crowded with not enough seats for all passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is lacking in facilities"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Ninoy Aquino International Airport Terminal 2 is too small to handle International and domestic flight, its like a domestic terminal and is used for international flights as well. There are a few food stalls and chairs to sit inside the pre departure area waiting for flights, some waiting passengers can be seen sitting on the floor. For me this airport is lacking in facilities such as washrooms/restrooms/comfort rooms. Air-conditioning systems are not enough to really cool down the temperature inside.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no