Malaga Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 116 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Come on Malaga you can do better!"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived on a Jet2 holiday got into arrivals and it was utter chaos, no staff, no lanes to stop people pushing in. Not a sign to say which way to queue. It was getting very close to violence in the area, none of the staff that did come eventually seemed to have a clue how to sort the mess out or did not seem the slightest bit interested in doing so. Travelled on a Friday but will never do so again, 1.5 hours to get to our taxi transfer. Come on Malaga you can do better! Departing to come back to England, great airport, staff great and jet2 staff even better.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Covid19 test centre is very unprofessional"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The Covid19 test centre at Malaga Airport is very unprofessional leaving many people to strain without the ability to get the test done and as a result losing their flight. Due to high demand they ask you to book in advance. Better do the test before travelling. Clinica Santa Elena in Torremolinos is just less than 10 minutes by taxi and the cost of the antigen test is €30, and 10 minutes to get the result. I was travelling on Bank Holiday and I arranged the taxi to wait for me in the clinic until I've got the result. Taxi cost was €30 as well. I hope this review helps everyone.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Well done Malaga Airport!"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I passed through Malaga on the 12th August, and the review below shows me that the staff at the airport are doing their job well, and indeed so was the captain of the flight the user was taking. Almost everybody wears their masks correctly in the airport, and it is the staff's duty to check those who do not, whether they state they are exempt or not. Well done Malaga Airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"asking me why I wasn't wearing a mask"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | On leaving the airport we were greeted by an official asking me why I wasn't wearing a mask. I explained I was exempt, she asked to see my paperwork! I showed her and she told me it was fine. Walked to the queue as we thought for checking in to be greeted in the queue by staff who said why aren't you wearing a mask, I explained again, she said you will need to get it stamped before we can let you through here at security. We went to the right queue and checked in where the lady saw my letter and was fine, we then went to the fast track area, where we were greeted by a young woman who said stand there, then called over another lady with a phone who had to see my letter to speak to someone about it she read it out in Spanish, meanwhile the staff ignored us. I was cleared to go forward to the security area. On arriving there was asked why I wasn't wearing a mask, explained again! I thought I would go into a shop to pass the time, was greeted with where is your mask, explained I was exempt, the manager was called and I was told I could not purchase the items and had to leave the shop because if the police saw me in there they would be fined. I went to board the plane, asked again for paperwork, I handed over the letter, she told me she had to speak to the captain.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a terrible experience every time"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | The local ground staff that is hired by many airlines are terrible. There is no public communication about changes or delays to flights, and when they do it is in the worst English possible. At boarding they are rude and impatient to passengers. All in all a terrible experience every time. A disgrace that staff are not better trained and unbelievable that the airlines that pay them do not act to improve.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"immigration I found stressful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | On arrival we had no problem collecting luggage and getting transport to our resort. On departure we found check in to be great and as usual and not a problem security was busy and rushed, it was at the immigration gates Area C which I found stressful with abrupt staff and unhelpful guards beyond the scanner area. I had trouble scanning my passport which made the two female guards lose patience and be rude and the 3 guards on the desks to laugh as the lines of people got bigger very bad customer service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"the whole process looks outdated"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | A quite large airport which in the winter period was moderately busy. It's not of the most beautiful design but does the job. Security queues were long despite a low volume of travelers, the whole process looks outdated. Shopping and food courts are all fine but can easily overcharge you for what you get. Seating is bad, most seats don't have any padding, just hard plastic. There's a cheap train connection to the city center for only 2,30 euro.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"There is a lot wrong with Malaga Airport"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | There is a lot wrong with Malaga Airport. 1) Wifi is sold off and does not work. 2) Air conditioning is poor, leaving it too hot everywhere in winter, unbearable in summer. 3) Layout and structure is just silly, with one terminal masquerading as three and interminable walks in long straight lines up and down the main thoroughfare. 4) No contact information or properly done website. 5) Only warm tap water available as drinking water. 6) No automated check-in or bag drop, leading to huge queues and delays which are 10 years behind standards. 7) And most damningly - There is nowhere to eat proper food, even allowing for paying extra. Overpriced sandwich bars abound, but the only hot food source after the gate served us an inedible mess of microwaved potato chunks doused in oil, prepared by the cashier, with no chef on duty, a standard which should not only be criticised but reorimndable - passengers paying full dinner prices are destined to travel with nausea if they are foolish enough to order hot food as we did. A great pity, in a city where eating well and reasonably is the norm. 1 point for friendly staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No one to complain to at the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | No order when queuing up to board the plane. Told ladies at gate that we had little children and my wife was pregnant but they did not care asking us to wait in the queue. We were last to board. We asked the 2 ladies for their names to complain but they refused to give us names or badge numbers taking the law into their hands. No one to complain to at the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"left feeling very stressed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Never known so much chaos and disorganisation at an airport as at Malaga Airport, and our 1st experience of this airport (departure). 1st at check in desks on arrival although 6 desks should have been open, on joining 1 queue, queue stood still for ages or moved very slowly. After a while 3 of the desks suddenly closed although there were still long queues including ours! Eventually after proceeding through check in went towards security control – more chaos and disorganisation, never known so many people crowded into a small space all trying to get to security control. A member of staff came and started gesturing to the crowd to follow him. During this confusion my husband and I became separated. We felt we were being herded like cattle. Eventually to a small entrance where our boarding passes were swiped. Then more confusion so no staff to assist or advise what to put in the trays for the x ray machine, and no signage. Eventually getting through security we raced through the Duty Free Shop to find a screen to find which gate our flight was departing from. Eventually saw a screen saying “East Midlands Last call C30 – 10.50 am” we had to ask a lady at a sales kiosk if she could help us as couldn’t see any signs for C30. She pointed which way and we ran towards C, then we had to join another long queue for the passport machines, only about 6 were working out of 20 and of these 2 people at the front of the queues were stuck at the machine until eventually a member of staff came and helped them through. Rushed through to see a waiting area with a screen at the front by the door “East Midlands Last Call”. We relaxed assuming there had been a delay due to all this chaos and hold ups so got in the queue. We both took it in turns to go to the toilet keeping an eye on the queue in case we needed to rush. I asked the woman in front of me if she was catching the same plane as me as there hadn’t been any sign informing us of a delay. She told me she was waiting for the 12.50 to Newcastle! I rushed to the desk by the door and asked the man and woman there if this was the queue for the East Midlands 10.50 am flight, to which they replied I was very late and said to me that I knew what time the flight was as if all this was my fault! I explained about the hold ups and chaos and the man nodded and said I might just make the flight if I hurried; the woman told me I would probably miss it now! We rushed along without being advised exactly which way to the plane and had to return as the door was locked, to which the man at the desk then pointed “down there” to which we followed and boarding the plane and fortunately the plane waited for us. It was 11.20 am by now, our plane left at 11.50 am. We were left feeling very stressed after a lovely holiday and it has put us off returning because of our treatment at Malaga Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no