Exeter Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 54 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"ruined the day for us"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport was fine and the staff were up until we had to go through security. I went to help my sister as I saw she had to open her case. The security staff made my sister go through all her toiletries even though they were all 100 mls or less and in a clear zip-top bag. The woman said she had too many and started throwing them out. I said to my sister it was strange as I had just been cleared through and had no problems. This woman then demanded I open my bag and promptly went through all my toiletries throwing out some because she said I had too many, even though I explained I'd just been security checked and passed through. She was really nasty and spiteful. My sister and I didn't have too much she was just being bloody minded. We tried to argue but she just got nastier. There was absolutely no need for her to be so rude. Exeter airport really needs to teach its staff how to react with the customer and be polite and helpful. She really ruined the day for us.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"I was not impressed"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The Flybe check-in staff was very pleasant and helpful but other than this I was not impressed. The cost of parking is shockingly expensive at nearly £30 per day (pre-booked) and the parking instructions are inaccurate. When I pushed the 'call help' button on exiting the car park I was spoken to in a curt manner. The security screening staff were rude. I was told by one staff member to walk through the scanner and by another to take off my shoes. Couldn't do both at once but was told off and then subjected to extra checks. No customer skills are evident in security!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"manners cost nothing"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having booked fast track security for my departure I was looking forward to a pleasant experience, unfortunately as a lone female traveller at 6 am I was disgusted by the way I was spoken to by the lady who was working on the hand luggage scanner. I can only describe her behaviour as belittling and rude and as it was not busy there was no need to act this way. This put a real downer on what was supposed to be the start of an exciting trip and I understand she had a job to do but manners cost nothing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Exeter Airport should be ashamed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A bad experience as a wheelchair user, arriving at Exeter Airport from Palma Majorca early on a Saturday afternoon with my wife and 7 year old grandson I received help from a female member of staff to get me from the aircraft down the narrow ramps onto the tarmac, and that is where any more assistance ended. Off we go to collect our suitcases and the entrance into the building couldn't be any further from the aircraft, luckily it wasn't raining, as we approached the entrance I noticed a ramp up to doorway with a male and a female member of staff with their high vis jackets stood at the top of the and neither one offered any assistance whatsoever to my wife, disgraceful. Through passport control and out to the carousel to collect three suitcases and not a helping hand in sight, it was real struggle to get to the car park and Exeter Airport should be ashamed. I would like to point out myself and my wife are both in our 60s and that Exeter Airport were made well aware in advance of the assistance that was needed, I was the only passenger on board the aircraft that needed assistance and there were a fair few people stood around in high visibilty vests doing nothing so surely someone could have further assistance.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Another grotty airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Another grotty airport. Small pieces of litter everywhere - downstairs cafe, upstairs cafe outdoor viewing area. But this level of trashiness is to be expected these days as every service is contracted out. So nobody gives a damn as it isn't their responsibility. As is sit here i can count 30+ pieces of rubbish from my seat including a half eaten sausage lying on the floor. Just disgusting.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"much better than some reviews would suggest"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I feel this airport is much better than some reviews would suggest. I agree with the comment about having to pay to drop off passengers, this started fairly recently and is not a very promising introduction to the rest of the facilities. It’s only a small airport despite having one of the longest runways in the country, so you should not expect facilities to be on a par with Heathrow or Gatwick. It’s generally clean. There is a small cafe in the departure lounge which seemed on a par with most other airport’s cafes, not thrilling and overpriced but perfectly edible offerings. Reasonable seating. I can’t really comment on customer service as I only spoke to one person on the check-in desk who seemed perfectly courteous if a little lacking in enthusiasm. But to be honest you don’t generally find airport staff have a lot of opportunity to display their people skills, the system is geared to getting everyone through as quickly as possible. We live very close and for us the advantages of the airport outweigh any minor disadvantages and it seems to offer an increasing range of destinations every year. Give it a chance, people!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Shocking customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrible, miserable security staff, no respect for travellers or their belongings. Shocking customer service. It costs nothing to be polite to service users!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"disgusted to be kept waiting so long"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It was going all to well, until I got a text to say the Thompson flight was delayed for 1.5 hours with an excuse about crew. I got to the airport, checked in. That was the best bit. But when we landed on the return flight it took over an hour to get through customs as they only had two passport control officers on duty. When I said you need more staff the reply was "you aren't wrong there, we are from Heathrow". Absolutely disgusted to be kept waiting so long. First time flying from Exeter and probably the last.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"crummy, badly run airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | What a crummy, badly run airport. Toilets more often than not filthy. 1 hour free wifi in 2019?! I know Exeter is the back of beyond, but the management here (if they have any?) need to get into the real world and look at properly run airports. Strongly recommend to avoid this failing airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"has the potential to be great"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Exeter airport has the potential to be great, but is let down badly by the customer service abilities of some staff. Upon departing the airport for a short weekend away whilst passing through security, staff demanded that we remove our toiletries already in clear plastic bags and place in their own ones. I had a travel bag specifically bought for this purpose which I have used in every UK and European airport without trouble since these rules came in, but this was not deemed appropriate. On arriving back at the airport passing through passport control, my partner and I received an interrogation about our trip which appeared very personal. I understand checks need to be in place but this appeared excessive to that which I have ever experienced travelling from too any other airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 54 Reviews