Denpasar Bali Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 229 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"problem is taxi touts"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | The airport is modern and nice, security is offical and orderly. The problem is taxi touts, there is a swarm of them the moment you try to exit the airport and they are aggressive and rude. They are an embarrassment to Indonesia and should be controlled. I personally witnessed 5 of them corner a young female solo traveller who looked ready to cry. They do not care and have no manners of any kind at all. Protect yourself and book a local airport pickup service to avoid them.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"lots of unorderly queues"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | On arrival there were lots of unorderly queues at immigration, we waited over an hour. After passing through immigration and exiting airport you are met with a sea of taxi drivers harassing you to get into their vehicles. Not the best welcome. I would highly recommend booking a private car prior to your arrival to this airport. Departure was the complete opposite, it took us 25 minutes to pass through x-day scanners, baggage drop off and immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
2/10

"unfair and rude treatment"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I’ve traveled the world and back yet never experienced this anywhere else. Bali Denpasar Airport is pretty much unorganized, crowded full of people at the immigration the queres are long take 1-2 hours to get through, and the lack of immigration staffs is aggravating. My suitcase, despite going through the security-check multiple times apparently wasn’t enough. It got searched through every little thing inside and I got treated like a criminal before they find anything. I am a girl in mid 20s traveling solo, if that’s what it is then I don’t want to visit Bali anymore. Every time I face the same unfair and rude treatment from airport staffs.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Do not blame the airport"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Extra Baggage inspection at departure lounge only applies to Australian airlines, who demand it. These airlines also require passengers at check in to show proof of onward flight from country of destination. Do not blame the airport or Indonesian Government. This is Australia exporting its over-regulated way of doing business.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"there are a lot of sudden gate changes"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | I re-visited this airport again. Arrived in December 2018 and all things went as it should. However when I returned back on January 2019 to leave, the situation of this airport gets even worse. Security checks okay and staff were friendly. However on the 2nd security check, the staff were not commendable. The gates were stuffed with 2 flights departing at almost the same time, and there are a lot of sudden gate changes but no announcement was made. Toilets were clean but the cleanliness of the terminal starts to de-rail. Wi-fi was slow. For me it's still a great airport but the situation went downhill compared to my previous visit.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"majority of desks devoid of staff"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Yet again nearly an hour of disorderly queuing (if you chose the wrong one you ended up waiting far, far longer) at immigration on arrival. Vast majority of desks devoid of staff. Group of them over in corner chatting but didn’t end up manning the desks even though many hundreds of tired travellers waiting to enter. I beckoned an official and explained/asked in my best Indonesian (yes, learning the language out of love for this place and it’s people) that we were very tired and why were so few officials working. Was given an immediate dressing down ‘This is Indonesia, get used to it, I have to wait for 2 hours in China’. Absolutely no welcome here, apparently we’re a sheer nuisance. He was truly harsh and spiteful. Then on departure last October nearly missed flight due to worst queues ever getting back through immigration. So many stressed at not knowing how much longer it would all take and no numbering system so people constantly cutting in. How does one relay this to the Indonesian government? In a nation so populous surely they can ensure every desk fully staffed (even then there are far too few counters for the millions that travel to Bali). And for the massive economy boost that tourism provides why does it have to be made so hard for tourists?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"serious work to do here"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | Worst immigration experience. Even worse than those countries commonly associated with negative immigration reputations. The number tells it all: 2 hours of interminable wait just to get my passport stamped. Add to this that this happened past midnight and the situation gets even worse. Allow me to explain in details: Understaffed: Insufficient number of immigration officers even when planes arrive in succession. Inefficient officer deployment: Little reshuffle happens even when one section of the crowd is mostly cleared while other sections are still miserable. Tough luck if you end up in the wrong line. No order at all: Virtually no one takes care of how the lines go through. No one to help you even when group tourists blatantly cuts through the line on a mass scale. There is a reason why you find your line not proceeding at all even after 30 minutes. Defend yourself. Dirty floor: When people have to miserably spend hours of their precious vacation time in the immigration hall, no wonder litters are all over the floor. Think your struggle is over when you pass through immigrations? Not at all. After baggage claim there will be another round of struggle at the customs. Once again, no order at all and the lines will be slow. Make sure that no one passes you and at the same time do not get hit by others' cart and/or luggage, and this round will be a "breeze" and will be over in only about 10 minutes. Finally, a few other observations: The international terminal is a relatively new building, and therefore signs and directions are generally well established. Wifi is also pretty nice: no need to provide your personal information, just connect to a hotspot, click on "log on" and you are connected. The departure area is relatively clean and well-maintained. The arrivals area, on the other hand, is significantly worse (hence 2 stars as an average). In general plenty of seating for passengers but still could be limited in high times. A few cafes and restaurants dot the airport, so not much problem finding your food. Duty free shops are there but limited number of brands and/or selections. No disappointment only if you are looking for the most common items. Bali airport (DPS) is the second busiest airport in Indonesia after Jakarta (CGK). Indonesia, you have some serious work to do here in Bali.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a really poor impression"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have travelled a few times to Bali and, generally, since the Visa on Arrival scheme was dispensed with for UK passport holders, had few problems. However, Sunday 9 December arriving on SQ948 from Singapore was a sad throwback to the bad old days and a really poor impression to give tourists of the "Island of the Gods." Plane landed on time at 20.50 but my two hold bags didn't appear on the baggage belt until 89 minutes later. There was no obvious explanation for such a delay and there was zero presence of anyone representing airline, airport authority or baggage handling company to ascertain what was going on. Among those who waited longer than me were disabled passengers and families with young children. I phoned the Singapore Airlines office at the airport during the wait but the number just rang out. Problems can occur at an airport but failure to communicate and take responsibility, as in this case, is a very poor show and does little to assure tourists that they are welcome on Bali (which when you get beyond DPS airport you are for sure!)
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"hire a porter"

(India)

Trip Verified | Departed at peak hour to Kuala Lumpur. My advice is hire a porter for 30-6000 rupiah. It will save you a steep walk up an incline and hassle at the entry door security check. Airport is well organised and movement through immigration and security was very smooth. The shops are nothing to write home about. There is a free smoking area at gate 5 business lounge but this is crowded. Has a good range of food and soft drinks but a terrible bar.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"a decent airport"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Went here for a short transit at the domestic airside. It was formerly an International terminal, now a new domestic terminal, and I can't stop smiling at how the terminal looks like. It combines international and local design and there are a few parks in the airport which is quite nice. Wi-Fi was speedy, no line at the security and everything was done under 5 minutes, transferring process was pretty easy. The gates were, in the other hand, quite difficult to navigate. There's only one small billboard, and a sticker at the glass near the gate. This I think should be improved. Nevertheless, this terminal reflects culture and modern architecture and is a decent airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes