Denpasar Bali Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 214 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"a long way to go"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Unfortunately, I echo the sentiments of many before me who think this airport has a long way to go in order to become a world-class tourist destination airport. Arrivals is a complete shambles with dozens of lines but no one really sure where to stand but with brief glimpses of maybe 4 or 5 staffed immigration desks. Looking around arrivals, it looks like one huge empty space and it's hot, the aircon is poor but the toilets are at least clean. I found departures much better, the security checks are strict and frequent but I don't mind that, makes me feel safer. The departure area and duty-free are stock standard and reminded me of my home airport, (Tullamarine) so it was OK. The food choices were good. The departure terminals are well laid out and there a place for smokers at T5 if that's your thing. Unfortunately a far better departure experience than arrival.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Third world airport and services"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Third world airport and services. All the money that is made from tourism and you need to endure the most ineffective immigration staff anywhere on earth. Luggage that took so long I thought it had come on another later flight. Chaos when you get through customs with random people and prices for taxis hassling. Not good enough. D- score or 1 out of 10. All it would take would be someone caring and valuing tourism.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"massive queues which move very slowly"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Immigration on arrival has got to be one of the very worst in the world, massive queues which move very slowly in a generally disorganized manner. If you're connecting to domestic flights allow a minimum 3 hour connection (minimum, minimum, minimum) - relatively high level of disorganization across the board in all facets of the operation - check-in slow, make sure you go early.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Airport signs and guides also good"

(Sri Lanka)

Trip Verified | Staff and Officers are helpful. Airport signs and guides also good. Only one minus - I have traveled for my holidays and we didn't face any issues on our arrival. While departing from Bali they didn't allow us to carry our selfie sticks with us. (We don't have any baggage so they charged IDR 250,000 for stick and IDR 80,000 for wrapping in the plastic).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Poor systems and poor tourist care"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | We have been stuck in line between baggage check and immigration check for well over 1 hour with little sign of the line moving. Nobody from the airport has had the customer care enough to inform us what is happening. The line is not moving and the airport seems to have stopped. We have missed the boarding closing time. Total chaos here and with nobody updating us as to why this is happening. Poor systems and poor tourist care!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Nonsensical security checks"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I find the Balinese people lovely but I’m not sure what happens when they arrive at their job at the airport but power crazy comes to mind. This airport only magnifies just how difficult traveling can be in a third world country. Nonsensical security checks. Like checking suitcases through a scanner before airport check in. The laughable thing is we had bags on top of bags so no way they could have been checked thoroughly, the guy who was supposed to be checking them wasn’t even looking at the screen. Same at passport control, two immigration girls having a chat whilst hundreds of people waiting. She didn’t check our photos. Then there’s the 4th bag check before you get on the plane .... no water allowed (purchased airside and unopened ) to be taken on the aircraft.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Arrogant and aggressive for no reason"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Terrible! Queue for an hour then met the rudest immigration staff ever! (And I travel worldwide for work). Bali is nice with nice people but the immigration staff have put me off ever going again! Arrogant and aggressive for no reason. I'll find another destination for my next trip
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"arrivals procedure can be confusing"

(Australia)

Not Verified | As a first time visitor the arrivals procedure can be confusing. On joining one of the long queues for the immigration check, a fellow Australian couple indicated there was a separate section for over 60's and families with children under 5. Processed far more quickly, only trouble was the long wait for the luggage to arrive.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Very poor immigration procedure"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very poor immigration procedure, queues miles long & waiting for over an hour and seems to be load of desks closed which is leading to a back log of people. Airport itself is nice & clean.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
7/10

"It was clean, safe"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The people complaining need to get a grip. It's an airport, not a day spa! You check in, go through security (a couple of times) and board your flight. It was clean, safe and no one was trying to scam you. What more do you want? I would recommend bringing food in with you and buying what you want before arriving at the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes