Denpasar Bali Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 202 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Definition of Hit and Miss"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Definition of Hit and Miss. I've landed here in the past and had no issues previously. However 2 weeks ago, when I landed, the line for getting through immigration control (as a foreigner) was 30 minutes long. My colleague who flew on a different flight, had a wait of 90 minutes. Mind you, this is at 9pm on a Friday evening! Not a public holiday or anything. So clearly, they need to rectify this issue. In addition, I find the arrivals area to be a bit, well gross. For people arriving into the country, it doesnt paint as nice a picture as it could. After you get your bags, the duty free area isn't that large and has touts there trying to get you into a taxi. There's no aircon or toilet, and its quite uncomfortable. In the arrivals area, everyone is condensed into a tiny walkway surrounded by people trying to sell you transport. However, I did find departing from Denpasar to be quite pleasant. Everything is well set out, clean and the brand new airport is significantly better than the old one that used to be. Checking In, Immigration and the Duty Free are all nice pleasant experiences. The food court is well stocked and the airline lounges are easy to find. The waiting areas are also spacious and allow for charging phones, relaxing etc. More palatable food options closer to the gates could improve the rating, rather than just kiosks selling overpriced cigarettes and foreign chocolate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"the most incompetent airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | By far the most incompetent airport I’ve attended. Endless queues in and out, nonsensical rules prohibiting fluid intake while sitting at gates, duty free more expensive than street purchases, corrupt staff selling privileges. Been here twice, love Bali but the airport, both inbound and outbound, sours the trip.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"immigration was staffed 50% or less"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Let me start by saying that Bali is a great place to visit and the people there are really nice except for the immigration who are simply rude. We arrived around noon and the immigration was staffed 50% or less. For each serpentine line there was 1 immigration officer in a booth instead of 2. They were promoting Fast track which they charge $25 per passenger. They figured the slower they process the passengers, more will use the fast track. A fellow passenger made a humble request to stamp on a used page to which the immigration officer rudely said no request, I have authority and stamped on a blank page. He was loud enough for the immigration officer in the other booth to ask what happened. Apart from the immigration the rest of Indonesians are nice people.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Incompetence at its Asian best"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Incompetence at its Asian best. Make Thailand look like they are efficient. Empty desks hours of queues. Staff think they are important. You stamp paper guys. That’s it. Slowing people down is not a sign of importance it is a sign of incompetence in the modern world. Get out of the 80’s or play some Rick Astley whilst we wait in queues that are not necessary in the 21st century. Woeful.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"slowest business check-in"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | A typical airport layout. Luggage x-rayed when entering the terminal. After that check-in which must been the slowest business check-in ever. Took 30 min to check in 8 pax with 2 counters! Then security which has been updated with bodyscans. Flight information is unsatisfactory. My flight had a 45 min delayed boarding and no information about this. Not on the boards or at the gate. Staff all chatting with each other and not informing the passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"treated like cattle"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The initial checking in and security check is a nightmare, treated like cattle, having young children increased the problem. My daughter bought snacks at a shop and the lady attendant had a coughing fit over her. Finally got to gate 6b, there is very limited seating. Most people had to sit on the floor, no allowance for elderly. Could not understand the PA announcements. Gate was changed to 6a. Security check at the gate was unprofessional and rude. I had a bottle of deet confiscated, I had it separate in the correct bag with other approved liquids. When I questioned why I was finally and rudely told it was toxic and Australia had denied it entry. Actually I had bought it in Australia and taken it through Adelaide customs. It is recommended for preventing mosquito bites against dengue etc. The nightmare continues when loading onto the plane. Taken by bus, standing outside, climbing stairs, good it wasn't raining. This is my second time with Jetstar and Bali. The nightmare of the airport and flying with Jetstar remains.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"problem is taxi touts"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | The airport is modern and nice, security is offical and orderly. The problem is taxi touts, there is a swarm of them the moment you try to exit the airport and they are aggressive and rude. They are an embarrassment to Indonesia and should be controlled. I personally witnessed 5 of them corner a young female solo traveller who looked ready to cry. They do not care and have no manners of any kind at all. Protect yourself and book a local airport pickup service to avoid them.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"lots of unorderly queues"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | On arrival there were lots of unorderly queues at immigration, we waited over an hour. After passing through immigration and exiting airport you are met with a sea of taxi drivers harassing you to get into their vehicles. Not the best welcome. I would highly recommend booking a private car prior to your arrival to this airport. Departure was the complete opposite, it took us 25 minutes to pass through x-day scanners, baggage drop off and immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
2/10

"unfair and rude treatment"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I’ve traveled the world and back yet never experienced this anywhere else. Bali Denpasar Airport is pretty much unorganized, crowded full of people at the immigration the queres are long take 1-2 hours to get through, and the lack of immigration staffs is aggravating. My suitcase, despite going through the security-check multiple times apparently wasn’t enough. It got searched through every little thing inside and I got treated like a criminal before they find anything. I am a girl in mid 20s traveling solo, if that’s what it is then I don’t want to visit Bali anymore. Every time I face the same unfair and rude treatment from airport staffs.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Do not blame the airport"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Extra Baggage inspection at departure lounge only applies to Australian airlines, who demand it. These airlines also require passengers at check in to show proof of onward flight from country of destination. Do not blame the airport or Indonesian Government. This is Australia exporting its over-regulated way of doing business.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes