Belfast Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 100 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Really long security queues"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Really long security queues today 8th October, even though lots of flights were leaving and the queues were very long, only 4 of the 6 security lanes were in use. I waited over half an hour shuffling along in the queue, and when I asked why all weren't in use, the man asked what flight I was on, basically to check to see if it was 2 hours before take off. He was almost gleeful when he could see it was less than 2 hrs before. I told him I fly in and out of UK airports all the time and the queues were worst here, and why they didn't have the full security lanes on- he replied 'the staff are on their tea break. So, the customers can go hang as the staff are sipping their tea! Get more staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Security lines are a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Security lines are a disgrace. I fly very frequently - couple of times a week - and no other airport in the UK or Ireland is nearly as bad. Almost an hour to clear security! I missed my business flight as did 16 other passengers on the same flight. Why do airlines tolerate it? Their reputations and the experiences of their staff are being damaged. And dirty bathrooms.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this airport is a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Belfast International complains about airlines walking away from this airport, but passengers are leaving as well because of the management or lack of at said airport. From departure to arrival this airport is a joke, the wait times at security on leaving are terrible but much worse on arrival from overseas. The passport control is horrible, no other airport in the UK or Europe is as bad as BFS.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff are unhelpful and unfriendly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I travel a lot through my work and this means going through airports that are located in the UK, Europe, Middle East, Scandinavia, and the USA and I'm ashamed to say that Belfast International Airport is the worst airports to travel through. Equipment is antiquated, queues are long, staff are unhelpful and unfriendly and don’t seem to have any courtesy or common sense. The security Manager was totally unhelpful and didn’t want to know. Horrible place to travel through.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"experience is terrible"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Security queues are terrible, minimum 40-45 minutes, they only have 5 security bays and they are frequently unstaffed. More money needs to be spent on this airport, passenger experience is terrible, 1-star if possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
1/10

"everything was filthy"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Rude security staff and one of the most dirtiest airport I've ever been in. My family sat in the bar because there where no seats. We where beside the play area and everything was filthy. The floors around the tables looked like they had never been cleaned, the dirt on the skirting was unbelievable. This would be unacceptable in Asia or USA, this airport charges for everything, the money they have made since introducing drop of charges is astronomical, you can clearly see its not going back to the service and general maintenance. The bathrooms some of which have recently been modernized are a disgrace already after only one year or so, the others are still the old stinking urine smelling ones. I never seen one cleaner when I was there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolute shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flight was delayed from Malaga, so I thought we would be quick getting through passport control and on my way home. Sadly, the queue for passport control was approx 200 yards long and with only 3 of the 4 desks in operation, it took 1 hour to get through. Worse than that when we got through there, our bag still hadn't made it to the luggage belt. Absolute shambles, will never fly from or to there again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security employees are absolutely horrible"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | I have travelled via this airport many times. I am a keen traveler and have been through many many airports. Belfast International Airport has the worst security in an airport I have ever experienced. Also, the security employees are absolutely horrible and incredibly rude people who go out of their way to create an issue during your travels. Belfast International would need to start a serious investigation on how well this security cope with high numbers of people and completely change the attitudes of their employees. I will never travel through airport again - Belfast City airport will be my main airport from now on.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is a shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I departed through this airport to catch a flight to Krakow on 2nd August 2018. The queues through security were horrendous and clearly they did not have enough staff to cope with the numbers of travelling passengers. I arrived more than 2 hours before my flight and it probably took me just over 1 hour of endless queuing to make it through security. People were panicking because of concerns their flight was going to leave without them. The staff seemed pleasant enough but when someone smiles and is jocular with you after all this hassle, it's really hard to to imagine that they're not taking the mickey! On our return from Krakow on 5th August, at least 2 flights arrived into immigration at the same time, with only 4 Border Control officers on duty, again endless queuing. Eventually making it to the baggage hall, the carousel displayed that it would be handling the Krakow baggage. Baggage started to appear, endlessly going around and around, with no one claiming it. Some cases got jammed in the exit to airside and as the carousel advanced more and more cases jammed up and some fell off into an area out of bounds to the public. Some brave souls clambered over the carousel to try and free up the log jam, at great risk to themselves, as there was no one from the airport staff to be seen! Members of the public shouted through the exit to airside when they perceived movement and eventually 2 bewildered looking men appeared. They didn't sort the log jam in my time there but my fellow traveller located our bags, 1 on the carousel for Palma flights, the other stacked with some others that had been passe through an open door to airside. Bottom line is this airport is a shambles, it's accepting more and more airlines to operate out of it but is incapable of handling the volumes of passengers it produces. They seem to have spent shedloads on shops, bars and restaurants to take your money but very little on getting people in or out of the airport. They also have the cheek to encourage you to pay an additional £4 for priority security to avoid the cattlemarket they are creating. Be sensable in future, use Dublin or Belfast City, a much more enjoyable experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"miserable money grabbers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | These miserable money grabbers charge people to drop off and collect flyers. I think this is disgraceful and clearly shows that they will do anything to get more money out of us. I only use this airport if I absolutely have to and there is no other choice. I'd drive to Dublin before I even consider using Belfast. The restaurants are poor quality and way over priced. Thanks Dublin. You are the best.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 100 Reviews