Belfast Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 158 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"what a mess"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is a third world airport, what a mess. They say it had a check in security upgrade, what a joke. Someone still has to push trays on a trolley so you can place your belongings into, should take a look at other airports to see how it’s done. What a dirty place to depart from, needs a complete revamp starting from the outside in. Why don’t they use the car parking charging money to pay for some of this and the high profits made by the outlets within the airport. The Northern Ireland government (yes I do know they have been paid for three years for doing nothing) should hang their heads in shame as with airport management.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Horrendous prices"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My main problem is the cost of meals and beverages, two pints £11.45. Burger with chips £16.49. Small bottle coke from a machine £2.50. Horrendous prices. Best to go for the meal deals £3.99 sandwich, drink and crisps.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Radical staff action needed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As a frequent user of the airport I’ve been pleased with the improvements in security arrangements in recent months. But now they’re back. While the physical layout is better, the absence of staff and their apparently poor level of training / experience is leading to long delays. For a 10.30 flight the number of passengers is low so long waits and very slow processing through just one security line in addition to the priority line is inexcusable. What on earth is wrong here that does not seem to affect any other UK airport? Radical staff action needed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"too few staff dealing with customers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Apparently BIA request that only 2 Security lanes are open today (4 December). Security chaotic with too few staff dealing with customers. Fast track Lane being used for overflow. No one answerable to customers. Customer service non existent.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"aggressive immigration"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Airport in general seemed like it could do with a lick of paint. Security was slow even though it wasn't busy. On the way back, myself and my wife were stopped by a quite aggressive immigration officer, who took our passports without explanation and delayed for 2 hours before letting us through. Even though we had been traveling around Europe with no problems. Seems Dublin had no problem either, just him. Going by other review's on here, it wasn't just us who've noticed an unpleasantness about the place. Which is a pity as this is the last impression visitors have before departure and I've always found people in NI to be helpful and friendly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Dirty and expensive"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Dirty and expensive. Close it before it walks off on its own. On arrival back we were the only people returning at that time but we were at the very end stand? Lots of older people with a very long walk. A 25 minute wait until our bags were put on the belt? And the toilets in the arrivals were blocked, I will gladly pay the extra to leave from belfast city or even Dublin. Never again, where is health and hygiene?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security is the worst I’ve ever come across"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Just to reinforce the previous comments on the board, the security experience at this airport is really unpleasant. I travel by air throughout the U.K. every week and this airport security is the worst I’ve ever come across. The process is slow and the staff rude.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"has the worst security"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Belfast International airport has the worst security. I have the misfortune to use the airport every week and it just does not get any better, this is despite the major refit that has recently taken place. Far too many lanes closed with staff just hanging around. Staff working at snails pace compared to LGW Standard passengers let into the priory lane. Rubbish.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport filthy"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Toilets need a major overhaul. Smoking area absolutely disgusting. General areas of airport filthy except for restaurant shops and bar ie areas you lease out if they keep their areas clean why can’t you?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security is so intimidating"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | The security at Belfast international airport is so intimidating due to the manner of the staff. When I arrived I was asked to put all liquids into bag which I did. I put them into tray and had another tray with my iPad, mobile phone and belt. I was then told to remove my plimsolls and was given a smaller blue tray by one of the security team and this was put on different conveyor belt. I had items on 4 trays. I moved through the Body security scanner and then got a body search by female member of staff. Moved to end of line on other side waiting for the trays to come through scanner and be on my way. I waited and waited and waited. I would have to say that the whole process was extremely rushed and very manic and very very intimidating. I could see some of the trays sitting after going through scanner but was unable to lift them. Security then came and took swabs from my makeup bag and put the swab through for drugs check which of course came through clear. I was then sent back to body security for hand check and was asked for passport. This appeared to be for a random check triggered by something that happened in their processes. There was a few others that were standing beside us that seemed to be going through the same process. When I eventually got the go ahead I gathered up my belongings and almost forgot my iPad which had been set aside on one of the trays. It would have been so easily to have forgot something due to the chaos and the amount of trays being put on the conveyor which were not in sequence of travellers going through. When I got to my hotel the selfie stick which I had packed before leaving was no longer there. I had forgotten to take it out before going through security but security must have taken it out unbeknown to me and hadn’t informed me therefore I hadn’t taken it before leaving. I feel so annoyed and will do my utmost to avoid this airport when booking my next holiday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no