Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 255 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst airport ever"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | The worst airport ever, sent straight to gate by staff, we were really early for our flight but not allowed to go to the shops or nice restaurants. We were not offered a choice. Staff just ushered us to passport control straight from security. As no other airport operates like this we didn’t question it. Not happy. Very few information signs too.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Signage is poor"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Terminal 1 is a modern, bright and clean terminal. Terminal 2 in the check in area is horrible. Besides being old, it was dirty. Signage is poor and there was no one that could provide us with information on where we needed to go. The bus driver that transferred us between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 couldn't not even provide simple information like which area in the 3 terminal building 2 A, B or C that you had to go for a specific airline. They had information booths in both terminal buildings and in terminal 1 the information clerk provided us with incorrect information and in terminal 2 we got the correct information and reported to the desk which supposedly was connected with Air Transat. The sign on the window of the office stated that they were not an information centre and then the girls behind the counter were completely unhelpful. I have been in a lot of airports across the world and this was the worst.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"the airport is quite easy to navigate"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Such a spacious airport, very clean. Plenty of shops and places to eat (and not so expensive). Also, the airport is quite easy to navigate (despite this tendency at Spanish airports to have letter combinations that can be confusing). I wish you good luck if you want to charge your phone or laptop, though. It is the only lowdown.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Filthy restrooms"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Filthy restrooms. Far too few toilets that are disgusting. There are often lines to go to the womens toilet. Third world airport. Avoid it if you can or go to the yoilet at home or in the aeroplane
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"still has a number of issues"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arriving into Barcelona from Madrid on Iberia, we landed at Gate A1, which has a special baggage claim attached to it just for passengers from Madrid. However, there's apparently a rule that your bags only get sent there if you started your journey in Madrid; since I connected through Madrid I was told to walk 10 minutes to the main baggage claim. The bags also took a long time to come out, and it seemed like they were unloading one bag per 30 seconds. None of this was helpful given that I had flown through the night and was extremely jetlagged and sleep deprived. Once through Customs the arrivals area is OK, and it's very easy to get the Aerobus into the city, but I'd recommend waiting for a bus with seats; standing on a bus on the freeway is no fun. I flew out on Vueling a few days later. Taking the Metro to the airport was nice, while it was much slower than the Aerobus, it was also much less crowded and is covered by your Metro Pass if you have one that's good for a specific amount of time, such as a daily pass (though the T-10 pass doesn't work). The check-in staff were mostly absent and rude when found, but that may be Vueling's fault instead of the airport's. Security had reasonable lines, but there are turnstiles that block the entrance to security, and the boarding passes from some airlines apparently don't open the turnstiles (this seemed to affect passengers on Lufthansa and Swiss the most). There were plenty of places to eat and drink once past security; they were expensive, but not unusually so for an airport. The airport does have an outdoor patio past security; unfortunately, the patio is overrun with smokers and there's no hope of getting fresh air over the stench of cigarette smoke. Overall, Barcelona is a decent airport, but it still has a number of issues which need to be ironed out.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Staff are absolutely awful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Will we start with the positives? Decent variety of shopping and eating options in T2 and the airport is clean. The bad? Staff are absolutely awful, especially at security. Rude and abrupt. I arrived earlier than the standard couple of hours due to the ongoing security personnel strikes and was gobsmacked at the staff on hand at this part of the airport. The entire crowd was repeatedly told to ‘hurry up’ to get in the security queues. Then, when my boarding pass wouldn’t go through the initial check because I was early, I had a member of staff laugh in my face, tell me go back to check in and told me it wasn’t his problem. He then proceeded to talk to his colleagues about me, thinking I was daft enough to not get the tone being used even if I didn’t speak the language! God awful and embarrassing for the city.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Stupid and awkward airport design"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | Stupid and awkward airport design. If you follow the flow and security’s instruction, theres no way you can enter the shopping areas. Really stupid design, people just ended up entering the gate area and watching the shops from the above and couldn't find a way down. And there are only small shops up there with chocolate and brands where you can find from most countries. Awkward and the worst experience I have ever had. As previous reviews have mentioned, should have done something about it. If you have hours before departure and planning to do some last minute souvenirs shopping, but ended up at the gate area, it would be utterly awful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a laughing stock of all European airports"

(Canada)

Not Verified | This place is a literal joke and a laughing stock of all European airports. There’s no signs, no help desk and no one has a clue what’s going on. I can’t stress enough how hard you should try to avoid this airport at all costs. Flying budget airlines can be stressful enough and flying them out of this airport is setting yourself up for a bad time. Good luck out there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"use any other airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | My flight was delayed for 6 hours and I was pretty angry with that already. American Airlines treats their customers pretty poorly in such situations. Only a complimentary voucher for 20€ was given to spend at any food location. Unfortunate surprise awaits you right after security gates. My gate was E70 something, on the second floor you have only Burger King, Cafe pans and some other cafe across Duty free. You will look down with tears, as a first floor is loaded with different nice places to eat and shop. Everyone works slowly, only a few staff members understand English. To me it’s impossible that they hire people to work in International Airport without any knowledge at all. There are no sitting area available to rest, all benches and chars has a singular occupation divider. Lack of check-in services, no express electronic terminals, at some point its like cave man century. Plan your trip very well, and use any other airport but never Barcelona!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Eat before you get to the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Beware if traveling on easyJet to the UK. the departure lounge (gate M) is exclusive to easyJet flights and has nothing there other than a small duty free shop (does anyone actually buy from here anymore?!) and a cafe offering an insipid hot dog and crisps for eur12.75 chips are an extra eur5 some burger deals for an extortionate price and no other food options to buy from. We were looking forward to having Burger King as advertised now in the airport. NO that’s your lot. Eat before you get to the airport unless you are prepared to re-mortgage. The bag check staff are rude .. no easy signs to make sure you are taking out electronic equipment etc so you have to go round at least twice. Surly staff. Apart from one man on the passport control desk I was amazed but maybe it’s because we were leaving! EasyJet you are not looking after your passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no