Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 244 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"whole experience was embarrassing and inappropriate"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very disappointed by the behavior of the security. They were very rude and in their incivility they subjected my family to 3 so called random searches within 30 minutes. It becomes a statistical fallacy when one individual family on vacation is subjected to 3 searches in a half hour period. That is a bogus excuse for randomness. Worse still the insistence of a lady officer to do a pat down when I insisted that it would be a violation is detestable and repugnant. I requested that a male officer be brought to do the pat down and this lady refused and went ahead. The whole experience was embarrassing and inappropriate. I deserve an apology from this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"how this airport functions is a surprise"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I must reiterate all that is said before, how this airport functions is a surprise. My arrival at the location was fairly easy but having flown through before I am still astounded that in a country where the outside temperature was about 30C haven't bothered with real air conditioning! Be prepared for a hot and uncomfortable visit if you have to wait for anything! On departure back home we had be forewarned that the Security staff were limited and striking so take extra time. I arrived 4 hours early and survived security, which I would describe as a whole lot of people shouting at each other! Then to Passport control with the officer barely even acknowledging my existence. Having passed safely through I was feeling great that now we could get a coffee and have a browse at the shops, how wrong I was. I was flying from Gate D on the top floor and was greeted with a Glass wall looking down onto the massive shopping area which apparently I couldn't visit. There is nothing more frustrating than thinking, "Surely there is a way down? Maybe I'm going mad?" No you cannot go to the shops if you depart from gate D or E! Having spent a good 30 minutes walking up and down with the family and checking for signs it was obvious that zero consideration was given and you are effectively trapped. I have never been to any other airport with such a ridiculous situation exists. My family require Gluten free food and absolutely zero effort has been made at Gate D or E so we had have over priced crisps for dinner! If you wish to attend this promised land of food and shops then do not enter security gates after initial check in if flying from gate D or E. Look for the tiny, tiny sign saying "las tiendas del aeropuerto". Good luck!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"denied access to priority security"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I am traveling from Barcelona, while pregnant (25 weeks) and was denied the access to the priority security line which allows families. On my flight from Alicante to Barcelona such access was allowed and i was surprised that in Barcelona that has a lot of pride to be the top Spanish tourist destination such access was denied. Second, the agent pointed on the baby (a few month old) that was passing and highlighted families with babies only.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Not recommended at all"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Bad, bad airport, no air conditioning in the middle of the day in August. Late boarding, no signs to find car return, bad experience. Not recommended at all.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is a national disgrace"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Departed from gate D. Couldn’t access shops or food area. Only one small cafe with over 50 ppl waiting. I opted for something from the vending machine instead. What sort of short sighted idiocy prevents international travellers from spending money at the airport? Don’t you like money Barcelona? Staff are rude. You need to remind your security and customs service that their job isn’t to treat people like animals or worse. My experience diminished my opinion of Barcelona and the intellect of the airport staff and architects. This airport is a national disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst experience in any airport"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | As mentioned by previous reviewers, this airport has a weird situation in that duty free is between security and passport control not like other airports.Like previous posters I was directed to passport control by a female attendant and was trapped up on floor D and E, not realising I couldn't get down to the shops below, there are no signs about this, and I had 4 hours until my flight.I went to one of the police men at passport control to ask how I could get down and he said it was impossible.I explained that the lady sent me this way and I had four hours to my flight.He asked what time was my flight to which I replied 25 past 7.At this point he started to give out to me and shout in Spanish and then said slow down.I repeated 7.25 slowly and then he lost the plot and started screaming and shouting at me in Spanish, banging his chest and then said respect the police. At this point I was on the brink of crying, he kept on shouting at me in Spanish, I replied I don'y understand Spanish, more tirade from him and then he said I don't speak english, I said but you work in the airport, more tirade so I had to walk away from him. Worst experience of my life in any airport and no need for it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Extremely uncomfortable"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Extremely uncomfortable to wait in, especially when they do not provide air conditioning for the whole airport. Only certain retail stores have it, but if you are waiting for hours in departures it can get very frustrating.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"There is no smoking area"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | There is no smoking area for passengers in the terminal of Barcelona El Prat Airport. This is a very important point in many smokers review. So building a room will be a good and easy solution for this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"You will be on hold forever"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Look after your items - If you lose something at the airport, consider it gone forever. The lost and found office has not answered the phone once after three weeks of continuous attempts to contact. You will be on hold forever, so save your time, money and energy.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"never fly through here again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The worst setup between multiple gates I have seen. If you have Gate D or E, you get secluded from the dining and shopping area. Do not enter this area unless you have only a little time before boarding. This section only has 1 overpriced cafe and Burger King. That said, duty free refunds and the staff also need to learn how to manage customers better. Worst airport, will never fly through here again
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no