Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 270 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"This airport is a living nightmare"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is a living nightmare. Took 3h to get out of there. 2h of queue at the custom with elderly people and children forced to wait in the queue. Signage is poor. Took 1h to be able to get a taxi because of the queue.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Avoid this airport if you can"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We waited for nearly two hours to check in with British Airways as they only had one person on the desk. As we made our way to our gate we had to stand in another huge queue to reach the passport control. It was a complete shambles as they let the EU passport holders pass without question and held back the Brits and Americans. People started to become upset and frustrated because we had been made to wait for so long that it was inevitable that flights would be missed. At one point a large group of people lifted the barrier and ran up the stairs in desperation to passport control, the staff panicked and didn't know what to do. When we reached passport control only three machines worked at our side and people struggled to use them, the staff did not help in any way. People were shouting for help and no one came, we had to help one another to use the machines. At one point a man became so frustrated that he kicked the barrier open and still no one came to help. A member of staff sat in the booth watching all the chaos unfold and refused to help anyone. I can honestly say that this was the worst experience I have ever had in an airport and I have visited a few. A terrible and frightening end to a lovely holiday. Avoid this airport if you can.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"More queuing at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Really frustrating over an hour to check in at the Vueling desk. Then 20 mins queuing at duty free. More queuing at passport control & again at the gate, what a shambles, no communication, no announcements or apology. We left the ship over 6 hours ago & are just on the bus ride to the plane. There is only one bus, everyone is moaning, tired & unhappy.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"Unbelievably dirty airport"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Unbelievably dirty airport. All the seats are dirty. There are a lot of dust, dirt and even food leftovers between the seats. I don’t think those were ever cleaner in the past 6 months!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Expect delays everywhere"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Expect delays everywhere even the shops. At every point of your journey you will face delays. Shortages of staff or simply just people who do not care. Queues are not respected and there are long conversations that seem to just add to the confusion. Great city but they really need to get a reality check. Not a good experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control was severely under staffed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Complete chaos at Barcelona Airport this morning . Although check was understandably long due to the various COVID checks, passport control was severely under staffed and completely overwhelmed by the number of people queuing. Only four duty officers were on station to check passports for many hundreds of passengers. Many passenger started to jump the queue as their flight times neared. There was no one from the airport managing the queue or trying to identify those passengers nearing flight times. It was only when passengers rushed the immigration booths did the airport act and stationed more officials. My own flight was delayed as passengers with checked baggage filtered through the departure gate. Social distancing was impossible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Everything functions smoothly"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | From both times I visited Barcelona I found El Prat to be a pleasent airport. Everything functions smoothly, the ample spaces create a welcoming atmosphere and the airport bus A1 is right on the front of the exit.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"there was no soap available from any of the soap dispensers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I was shocked when visiting the Ladies in the Airport Terminal last Friday, 6th March 2020 around 17.00 hours and having gone through Passport Control, that there was no soap available from any of the soap dispensers, especially at such a health critical time due to the coronavirus. We have been told by our Health Providers how essential it is to wash our hands with soap and water, so not having soap at the airport departure terminal makes one call into question how seriously the outbreak of this virus is being taken.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"never offered any compensation"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We had arrived at El Prat and passed through security, waiting for Vueling flight Barcelona to Lisbon. Departure 12.05pm. After 10.00am the flight schedule board (main board on the right), shows the flight with a message saying ‘more information in 15 minutes’. 12.05pm the message has never changed, so we go to investigate, to find out why the flight has been delayed. Vueling staff inform us it has left! We find out that we now need to go out of the departures part of the airport, through security, to start again. Vueling confirms there is no refund on the tickets. The information desk is not very helpful, but eventually we find someone who tells us where we can get tickets for a later flight to Lisbon, with TAP. 13.00pm We go back through security and back to the same terminal to wait for the flight. We note that the same message regarding the Vueling flight is still on the board. So we take some photographs. We than go to the Aena Information Desk close by to report this, and the representative confirms that she already knows it is not working! Why has no one switched it off or put up a warning sign? They apologise and we complete the Claim / Complaint form. 15.30pm We finally leave El Prat, the most stressful 4 or 5 hours we have ever had. They have never acknowledged this was their fault, never apologised and never offered any compensation. Just arrogant and aggressive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Hostile and deeply unpleasant environment"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrible, unnecessary and distressing experience. Once you go through passport control you have no access to any of the decent shops. And if you’re a smoker, you can’t access the smoking area either. Nobody tells you this of course! Had it not been for the help of a genuinely kind and compassionate passenger who spoke Spanish I probably would be in Spanish jail right now for daring to ask the police and security for help. Hostile and deeply unpleasant environment. Such a shame it spoiled a very lovely trip to the city itself. I work at Heathrow and if any of my colleagues treated customers the way I’ve been treated today I would be appalled. Awful, awful airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no