Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 265 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"passport control was severely under staffed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Complete chaos at Barcelona Airport this morning . Although check was understandably long due to the various COVID checks, passport control was severely under staffed and completely overwhelmed by the number of people queuing. Only four duty officers were on station to check passports for many hundreds of passengers. Many passenger started to jump the queue as their flight times neared. There was no one from the airport managing the queue or trying to identify those passengers nearing flight times. It was only when passengers rushed the immigration booths did the airport act and stationed more officials. My own flight was delayed as passengers with checked baggage filtered through the departure gate. Social distancing was impossible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Everything functions smoothly"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | From both times I visited Barcelona I found El Prat to be a pleasent airport. Everything functions smoothly, the ample spaces create a welcoming atmosphere and the airport bus A1 is right on the front of the exit.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"there was no soap available from any of the soap dispensers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I was shocked when visiting the Ladies in the Airport Terminal last Friday, 6th March 2020 around 17.00 hours and having gone through Passport Control, that there was no soap available from any of the soap dispensers, especially at such a health critical time due to the coronavirus. We have been told by our Health Providers how essential it is to wash our hands with soap and water, so not having soap at the airport departure terminal makes one call into question how seriously the outbreak of this virus is being taken.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"never offered any compensation"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We had arrived at El Prat and passed through security, waiting for Vueling flight Barcelona to Lisbon. Departure 12.05pm. After 10.00am the flight schedule board (main board on the right), shows the flight with a message saying ‘more information in 15 minutes’. 12.05pm the message has never changed, so we go to investigate, to find out why the flight has been delayed. Vueling staff inform us it has left! We find out that we now need to go out of the departures part of the airport, through security, to start again. Vueling confirms there is no refund on the tickets. The information desk is not very helpful, but eventually we find someone who tells us where we can get tickets for a later flight to Lisbon, with TAP. 13.00pm We go back through security and back to the same terminal to wait for the flight. We note that the same message regarding the Vueling flight is still on the board. So we take some photographs. We than go to the Aena Information Desk close by to report this, and the representative confirms that she already knows it is not working! Why has no one switched it off or put up a warning sign? They apologise and we complete the Claim / Complaint form. 15.30pm We finally leave El Prat, the most stressful 4 or 5 hours we have ever had. They have never acknowledged this was their fault, never apologised and never offered any compensation. Just arrogant and aggressive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Hostile and deeply unpleasant environment"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrible, unnecessary and distressing experience. Once you go through passport control you have no access to any of the decent shops. And if you’re a smoker, you can’t access the smoking area either. Nobody tells you this of course! Had it not been for the help of a genuinely kind and compassionate passenger who spoke Spanish I probably would be in Spanish jail right now for daring to ask the police and security for help. Hostile and deeply unpleasant environment. Such a shame it spoiled a very lovely trip to the city itself. I work at Heathrow and if any of my colleagues treated customers the way I’ve been treated today I would be appalled. Awful, awful airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"don’t you want money from the tourists?"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | Check in and luggage drop was smooth as there were not many people. The staff who attended to us were good. We intended to do some last minute shopping at the airport only to realise that we can’t because we couldn’t access the shopping area from our departure (gate D). We could only see the shops! There was no notice to inform the passengers that shopping areas are only available at gate A, B and C. Barcelona airport, don’t you want money from the tourists? Gate D only has burger kings, tax free shops which are the same everywhere, and 2 food outlets. Dissappointed with the airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"very disappointed"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | I’m very disappointed in the way this airport is managed. Always delays (I fly 2 times per month from there) unfriendly staff and dirty unmaintained toilets
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"staff were courteous and efficient"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | The setup for non-Schengen departures can easily separate you from all but a single cafe and duty-free store with limited hours. Once through security follow the signs for A,B,C gates to go down the escalators and enjoy the full variety of restaurants. Look ahead to see how long the passport queue is to allow enough time to come back up the escalators and pass through immigration. Both security and immigration queues for both our early-morning arrival and late evening departure were almost non-existent. I had to alert one of the security staff to our presence when we got the queue as there was no-one ahead of us. All the staff we encountered were courteous and efficient. I don't expect security or immigration officials to be particularly friendly and none of them were.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Great city. Garbage airport"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Terrible signage, unhelpful staff, filthy bathrooms. We arrived early for our flight and went through passport control as normal at any airport. Unfortunately, once you have gone through passport control for gates D & E you are now unable to access any of the quality food and shopping options. There is no signage to indicate what you are in for and no opportunity to go back. Congratulations, you are now stuck in the dingy, third rate upper tiers with its low-end food options and execrable toilets. Prepare yourself for staff to smirk in your face as you ask them if there is any way in which they might assist you. Great city. Garbage airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport was poorly signed"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The airport was poorly signed. No indication given that once you are through passports control you are ushered straight to a smaller area for departure gates with no access to shops or range of eating places. It would have been helpful to know that as we arrived at the airport very early to ensure we got there due to protests occurring during our visit to Barcelona. Very disappointing airport experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no