Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 217 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"stuck in a holding area"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having read the scathing reviews for this airport I can completely understand why people are so unhappy. In terminal 1 for passengers boarding through gates D and E there is a complete lack of signage, meaning you never get to visit duty free and are stuck in a holding area with minimal facilities. It makes no sense whatsoever to prevent passengers from moving around the airport, you’re preventing us all from spending money in your duty free. I’ve never encountered this in any other airport, and I hope Barcelona take note and readjust the airport accordingly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"T2 largely unchanged since the 80's"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | We have travelled Barcelona Airport regularly, every two months for the past 4 years. It seems as though the administration has focused on the new Terminal 1 and mostly forgot maintaining the (now) Terminal 2. This appears largely unchanged since the 80's an old building with minimum infrastructure darks spaces, over-dimensioned empty (ghost) car parks, large construction sites but without the impression of advancement. Lounges are almost as uncomfortable as the space near the gates. Temperature control is not taken care-of and uncomfortable in the summer months. Interestingly no time on the information panels, so you are left with the good old asking people for time. (That would be easy to mend). Airport staff is clearly not trained in customer service culture. What is the strategy? Is there any? If yes, why is it not communicated and executed? Nice project ahead!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Hugely frustrating as a regular traveller"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have been travelling through Barcelona airport for 10-15 years. Two main issues remain unresolved in this time. 1) in order to utilise fasttrack security lanes travelling with British Airways you still have to go to check in desk and queue up for a hard copy ticket despite having an e-boarding pass! 8 years after first raising issue no change! Hugely frustrating as a regular traveller. 2) Again travelling one world or BA only one lounge choice in basically the home on IAG/Iberia/Vueling/BA, it is shockingly bad! Think of Cathay Pacific or Qatar Lounges as great One World lounge examples, then imagine a fast food chain in a university town at 1am on a Sunday morning and you get the idea! Come on solve these issues. Get your own dedicated lounge IAG! Come on Willie Walsh / Alex Cruz hold the airport operator to the fire!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"2 people handling hundreds"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst passport control I’ve ever experienced. 2 people handling hundreds. Full hour to get through while bags sitting on belt. Global Entry is meaningless here. Why not tie global entry to EU passport control.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"minefield to navigate"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport experience of my life. Avoid flying from here. The staff are few and far between and the ones that are there are unhelpful at best. This airport is a minefield to navigate and nobody will help you. We got ushered through passport control by an elusive staff member to then discover that we had missed all the shops/restaurants. We were told that we could not go back through, and that they were not for international flights. We were made to feel like worthless foreigners to be honest. What a joke. Do they not want to make money off people? How does it make business sense? It certainly isn't done with customer service in mind - they do not care about that!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"isn’t as good as it should be"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I would agree with many previous reviewers that your experience here isn’t as good as it should be. We were due out of gate D and the size and number of places to sit or eat or just wait was poor. They should let you go down into the large central shopping area or the outside seating area but you can’t! I’m sure a solution could be found as we hoped to spend at the shops but couldn’t get to them Get someone in to look at making this a better customer experience. We love Barcelona but the airport wait isn’t good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"hottest, sweatiest airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the hottest, sweatiest airport I've ever been in. If you have to fly in a suit show up in shorts and change in the bathroom. They have these big humidifiers throughout the terminals but the space is so large you can't keep up with the cooling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"a very disappointing experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Although the facilities were nice and clean, mine and my family’s main issue was with the staff. We had a really rude encounter with a middle-aged employee that kept cutting off my sister when she was asking her questions and trying to gain clarifications about our flight. She asked the employee where we could find the Air Canada queue, and she just responded with a a shrug and a dismissive, “I don’t know, you’ll have to just walk through the airport.” Then, at check-in, at least 5-6 different employees there proceeded to leave their places at the queue where a number of people were waiting, including our family. We had to wait a whole half-hour before they came back, and even then the staff proceeded to talk and sit leisurely instead of doing their jobs. Also, a few of them, when asked questions about certain airport policies, weren’t capable of answering directly and had to call higher management for help. It was a very disappointing experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"rude and unhelpful"

(United States)

Not Verified | After a 6 hour layover we got to know many aspects of Barcelona airport including information centre, Excess Baggage company, restaurants, bathrooms, check-in, passport control etc. Catalonians pride themselves on being rude and giving bad service, the airport did not disappoint. The restaurant food, pre-security check was terrible, every member of staff we encountered were rude and unhelpful, the Excess Bagage Company was probably the worst experience, and all-in-all, I was not surprised that BNC airport has an average 3/10 in their reviews.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"bizarrely segregated the airport gates"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | They have bizarrely segregated the airport gates to the fury of passengers (including us). On going through security, if you choose one queue (with no signage to explain) rather than another, you end up in a tiny ‘holding pen’ with one duty free shop and a single, completely overcrowded cafe. To complete the ignomy, you are left to enjoy your 4 hour wait, staring down onto the inaccessible floor below with its dozens of eateries, shops and seating options. Ridiculous although a nice way to meet new people as everyone was equally furious and confused.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no