VivaColombia

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 37 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"better to fly with Avianca"

(France)

Not Verified | Santa Marta to Bogota. Really do not fly with this airline, as a regular flyer I can tell you they are so bad and rude from ground staff to cabin, and as others have said charge for everything as extras even tried to charge for my partners hand bag. I end up paying extra to sit with my partner as the computer put us in different seats and told if we changed on the plane we would be charged. As it was, once on the plane everyone moved around to different seats without paying, if you work out the extras its better to fly with Avianca.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSanta Marta to Bogota
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"some staff are looking for a bonus"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Medellin to Cartegena. We paid for 20kg check in and sports equipment up to 32kgs. First he proceeded to try and charge us for 5 kg extra on check bag which was 19.8kg. Then when we refused to pay him he then went on to try and charge extra kilos on my surfboard which was 18kg and you are allowed 32. When we proved him wrong again he the proceeded to say my carry on bag was too big and it fitted in the template perfect and 2 kgs under the weight limit. I was forced to pay 71000 pesos as our flights was leaving which I’m sure he put in his pocket. There were local Colombian people putting their bags in the template and the luggage was spilling over the top and he would let them straight through. We have come all the way over from Australia spending our hard earned money in this beautiful country but for some reason people want to take advantage of this. We took the same luggage from Bogotá to Medellin with viva and it was fine so clearly some staff are looking for a bonus. Biggest grubs I've ever dealt with.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Cartegena
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"charge you more for everything"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Santa Marta to Bogota. VivaColombia try to charge you more money for everything that is possible. For example, if don't print your ticket they will charge you for it. If you don't have to fly with them, stay away!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSanta Marta to Bogota
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed with this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Santa Marta to Medellin. Print your boarding pass before taking this airline, they charge you $10 (33,000) to print it, which we found it ridiculous. Make sure to buy bags ahead of time. I’m disappointed with this airline. The ladies at the desk looked angry and they were not helpful at all. No se olviden de imprimir su tarjeta de abordaje, porque si no les van a cobrar $10 Dolares que son 33,000 colombianos. Esta aerolinea te quiere cobrar por todo, hasta del aire que respiras. No recomiendo esta aerolinea.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSanta Marta to Medellin
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never use this company again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Medellín to Lima via Bogota. This company needs to be put out of business. This company's business model is completely based on theft and extortion. I arrived with a bag that fit the description of the limits on my ticket (purchased from Kiwi). Since I could not print out my tickets, the night before I reserved them online (for what was supposed to be less of a charge). Not only did they make me pay twice to print out my tickets, once online and once in person at the MDE airport, they even acknowledged the fact that I even booked this service the day before, but that I would still have to pay an additional fine. And, that they would only print out one ticket and that I would have to pay again to get on my connecting flight in Bogota But it gets much worse than this. Even though I made sure that my big fit the size and weight limits put on my ticket, the dimension and weight requirements were different at the door. They did not express empathy or understanding of this fact, and simply made me pay the fine of $75 USD (more than the ticket price) just to bring a normal backpack designed to fit as a carry-on on board. Since I had no choice but to comply, I paid the $75, was given a receipt, and was assured that my connecting flight would accept the receipt as payment for my luggage. However, once I went in line to get my ticket for my connecting flight at the next airport, they informed me that I would not only have to pay the printing fee again, but that I would also have to pay a heftier $125 fine to bring my carry-on backpack to Lima. This price is absolutely unheard of. I have flown on AirAsia, RyanAir, and the fees that VivaColombia charged me were nothing short of robbery. In other words, the company lied to me, told me that I would only have to pay one fee, forced to pay double fines for printing tickets, and refused to accept the size and weight requirements listed on the ticket I purchased. This company is an absolute embarrassment to the people of Colombia, the airline industry, and is a model of what a terrible company looks like who values money more than the customer. . Personally, until this change is noticeable, I will never use this company again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMedellín to Lima via Bogota
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I've never been so miserable"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Do yourselves a favor and don't fly with them. VivaColombia try their hardest to charge passengers for everything. On my way from Bogota to Medellin, they charged me $12 CAD to print my boarding pass. On the way back from Medellin to Bogota, they refused to allow me to carry on the same luggage I flew into Medellin with, and insisted on charging me $40 CAD to bring my luggage on board. They were more than happy to have me miss my flight, until I had paid their ransom. The legroom on this flight was absolutely non existent (see photo). This has been the worst airline I have ever flown with (and I've flown Ryanair). If you're looking to save money by flying with this airline, I would suggest that you book somewhere else, because at the end of the day, you'll still end up paying the same amount. I will never fly with this airline again. I'm currently sitting on the flight, and I've never been so miserable.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Bogota
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"treated like cattle"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | San Andres to Cartagena. Budget airline at the very worse end of spectrum. Passengers are treated like cattle and nuisance. Especially if you don’t speak Spanish. Beware the tricks of this airline 1. Charge you 66,0000 COP/ per person unless you have paper boarding pass 2. Charge you 10,000 COP /Kg after 15 Kg hold luggage 3. Charge you 200,000 COP for hand luggage anything larger than smallest hand luggage. Seems to be at the whim of gate staff. Medium Rucksacks (always OK with other airlines) was charge to take as hand luggage as above 4. Rude staff. Avoid if you can. Traveled with Avianca, Latam, Easyfly and Chalk and cheese differences between these airline and VivaColombia. Your flight probably will work out cheaper with other airlines.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Andres to Cartagena
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This is the worst airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Medellin to Lima via Bogota. This is the worst airline I have ever booked with! We arrived at the check in counter 2 hours prior to departure in Medellin and were informed that there was a flight delay from Medellin therefore we would likely miss our connection from Bogota to Lima (also with Viva Colombia). The attendant gave us 2 options: a refund, or to take the same flight the next day. Taking the flight the next day was not an option as we had another connection from Lima. We decided to book an Avianca flight to get to Bogota on our own, in time for our connection. We asked the attendant to check us in to the second lag of our flight and he said he was unable to do so. Online check in was not working. We arrived at the Bogota check in counter 55 minutes prior to departure and were told it was too late to check in. Viva Colombia’s terrible customer service ended up costing me an additional $1000 in flights. Pay a little extra and fly with a different airline, you will end up saving money in the end.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Lima via Bogota
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Would never recommend"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Medellin to Bogotá. Long story short, they make you pay for carry on luggage, the same luggage that I have traveled all over south east Asia and South America, never having to pay to put it in the overhead bin. $24 bucks for carry on, just $6 less than I actually paid for the flight. Super deceptive and poor policy in my mind. Would never recommend to anyone!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Bogotá
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"tripod can't travel in cabin"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Medellin to Cartagena. I bought the ticket online with an extra luggage. When I arrived at the check in they told me that my tripod can't travel in the cabin with me. So I had to pay extra for the tripod. Besides that since I didn't print the ticket they charge me more than 70.000 pesos. In total they got extra 111.000 pesos.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Cartagena
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 37 Reviews