Virgin Australia

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 632 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"no communication from staff"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Queenstown. This is the first time I have flown Virgin and I will not be doing it again! For the amount I paid in tickets I should have at least been offered a meal for an international flight. After being delayed at the airport with absolutely no communication from staff, the passengers getting their information online from the airport itself, we couldn’t leave to get food or go to the toilet as the delay only jumped 20 mins at a time therefore missing the flight was too high a risk. Then to get on the plane and not be offered a sorry or anything but a plastic cup with water. Cheers for your terrible service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Queenstown
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"like winning the lottery"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Perth. Fantastic ground service. Friendly, efficient with a smile. Getting on Virgin's Airbus for domestic flights is like winning the lottery. Seats are really comfortable and recline to a flat bed. Great in flight service, professional and with a smile. Even the words they use "your dinner menu if you wish to join us tonight". Very luxurious. Noise cancelling headsets. Touchscreen entertainment screens. Overnight pack. After a wonderful dinner, I fell asleep on the flatbed and the stewardess dimmed my lights for me. When VA flies the Airbus, the outstanding comfort and food is elevated by world class service.
AircraftAirbus 330-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBrisbane to Perth
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst international flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to Brisbane. Worst international flight I ever experienced. Firstly, Virgin advertised itself as a full service airline, while in fact it is a budget airline with basic services. The Boeing 737 is small and uncomfortable for international flight - Virgin tries to save cost by not using Aerobridge in Bali. It was hot and unpleasant experience - Extremely illogical baggage rule. No piece can exceed 23kg despite having combined luggage allowance between 4 of us of 92kg. As our 2 suitcases weigh 25kg each, we have to bring another suitcase to meet this requirement. I understand the usual airlines rule of baggage not exceeding 32kg for OH&S reason. But why 23kg? Pretty much BYO entertainment system. Meal and drinks included, but only 1 drink. So if you want another glass of coke, you need to pay. Despite accepting kids meal request, there are no kids meal on board. They dont even have blanket for an overnight flight. Seat paddings are very thin and uncomfortable for long flight For the icing on the cake, our 8am connecting flight from Brisbane to Sydney was cancelled and put into 12pm flight. We are now stuck in Brisbane. Thought Virgin would be more accommodating to at least give us access to the Lounge for our kids to rest or at least a meal for the delay. I will never travel with Virgin ever again. Do yourself a favour, fly with Garuda which has been excellent (travelled more than 5 times from Sydney to Bali) or Jetstar and save yourself some money. Virgin is a budget airline that pretend to be a full service airline
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Brisbane
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"consistent at delaying flights."

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Melbourne. Lousy airline. The only thing they are consistent at is delaying flights. I would say over 90% of my flights do not leave on time. Suffering a 4 hour delay today on a 90 minute flight to Melbourne. Was advised about the first 2 hour delay but only found out about the second delay once I was at the boarding gate. Have missed what I was travelling down for and half a day of work. No compensation or offer to use the lounge etc. Really useless. Domestic flights like this should run smoothly. Never experienced this when I used to travel regionally on air New Zealand. Also have been given a seat in the last row of the plane for my troubles.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I am super disappointed"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Perth to Sydney. I rarely leave reviews and let a lot slide, but considering how much it costs to fly domestically with Virgin Australia I am super disappointed. Perth to Sydney is a long flight and to not have in flight entertainment is a huge let down. It's fine if it's a short flight but this isn't. On the way here from Sydney I was sat in a seat with a faulty usb charging port and the flight crew weren't interested in hearing about it. The tray table was filthy. I think this will be the last time I fly this airline. It's rapidly going down hill. I remember when Virgin Australia was on par with Qantas, now it's not even close.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Sydney
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"No service with a smile here"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Check-in ground staff - excellent service with a smile. Lounge - small selection of savoury and sweet breakfast options. Boarding - terrible. Unfriendly staff who did not manage passenger queues well. Non-priority passengers filled the priority lanes. When it came to boarding, priority passengers had to squeeze through the crowd. Staff simply shouted for non-priority staff to remove themselves. No service with a smile here. On board, headsets not provided upon arrival but made available upon request. Entertainment system not working initially - no content could be displayed except menu. Crew had to reset Wifi. Average selection of movies when entertainment system started working. Tablet was a bit faulty as screen turns off with the slightest movement. At meal time, crew had to ask passengers if they were willing to change their main as they had only 4 portions of the salad (whilst 8 wanted salad). Starter of soup was delicious but no selection of breads (contrary to menu). Just given a white roll. Everyone else in business class got their drink except me - had to request again. I also heard another passenger ask for cutlery because he was given just a cheese platter but no cutlery. Main dish of salad is average. Dessert was not offered and I asked if dessert had been served. Staff said no. I asked for the cheese platter. They did not even bother to open the packet of crackers when serving. Multiple economy passengers came into the business class area to use the toilets, using business cabin as thoroughfare - nobody said anything. Seats not comfortable. Despite max recline, my back was aching after a couple of hours. Shape of seat seems to result in a "slouching" posture. The airfare for VA business is more than 5x that of economy and we don't get very comfortable seats. Virgin Australia Voyeur says "with business class, enjoy priority check-in, stylish lounge facilities and superior service". However, on this flight, VA has provided sloppy, inferior service to business - we dont get served the full course of lunch and have to constantly make requests for items that are usually provided as a bare minimum.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 (Winglets)
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePerth to Brisbane
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a strict policy not to help"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Cairns. Worst customer service experienced for any service. Left a watch in seat pocket of plane, unfortunately didn't realise until plane had left for next destination (Sydney). Spoke to ground staff at Cairns airport and not found when plane cleaned, not surprising for thin item at bottom of seat pocket. Was advised that plane was on route to Sydney due in 30 mins, they gave a number to call and said they should be able to check pocket when plane landed. Realistically as virgin staff they could easily have rung the gate but I accepted what seemed like logical advice. The number was for Sydney airport with recorded message that could leave message but no return call would be made. From there was just a nightmare trying to contact anyone that could help with this simplest request. Virgin deliberatley don't have any number to call, when called general enquiry line flatly refused to give any number to call or connect to apropriate virgin staff at airport. After a number of calls all ending with being put on hold for long periods and then just connected to the same answering machine at Sydney airport never to any Virgin staff at airport. On one of a number of calls finally got put through to a phone that was answered but still a non-virgin number at the airport-. They commented that continually frustrated by Virgin Australia just sending calls to airport when items are on plane and that I had to explain to Virgin there is nothing non-virgin ground staff could do for an item on a plane. It is likely the watch was not found in cleaning plane again in Sydney and went on to who knows how many different destinations. A simple call to the gate or message to crew to check a seat pocket of a known seat about to land would have been the simplest thing to do but they have a strict policy not to help. So if you are in seat 4A of a Virgin flight check the seat pocket you may find a Garmin Fenix 3 HR.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Cairns
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"experience was superb"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Perth to connect to South African Airways. I'm rarely on Virgin Australia but the whole experience was superb. FA's were great and it was a very light load so had the whole row to myself. A new aircraft, the IFE was great and time slipped by very quickly. One peculiar issue and I have noted this on Jetstar as well. The seats are leather so inevitably if in recline you start to slide forward a bit. F Highly satisfying overall.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Perth
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"crew made the flight worthwhile"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Flew Sydney to Melbourne with Virgin Australia. A pleasant flight. Check in was quite swift. The plane left on time and the staff were very helpful, friendly and well organised. For a full service airline the free food was very limited. Just dry biscuits and hummus dip. Qantas is much better, particularly in the evening. But the crew made the flight worthwhile.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"staff were very friendly and efficient"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I enjoyed the flight from Melbourne to Sydney with Virgin Australia. Check in time was reasonable. The plane left on time and the staff were very friendly and efficient. I appreciated the free drinks. Food was very limited for dinner time. Just cheese and biscuits. Not nearly as good as Qantas on a similar flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes