Virgin Australia

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1000 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

“I enjoyed my flight”

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I enjoyed my flight. Easy check in and bag drop and on time departure. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only drinks available for free were water, coffee and tea which is ok given it was a short flight. Baggage collection was fast too.
AircraftBoeing 737 800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"good chance of securing an entire row"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Superb economy class service with very friendly and responsive cabin attendants. Flight departed and arrived on time. Seating was comfortable without being great. A big plus was the device holder and USB (type B) charging port. I purchased the full-flight wi-fi pass for AUD19.95, and it probably worked 90% of the time, and appeared to interfere with the IFE reception at times (a member of the cabin crew advised me that this often was the case on this particular aircraft). However sometimes Wi-Fi coverage can be degraded by the location of the aircraft. When it does work, it's good. Catering is what we've come to expect on VA: all user-pays, and OK in terms of choice and quality. Please note that VA have no lounge in Haneda or Cairns. That can be managed in Haneda as there is plenty to keep you occupied, but it is a problem in Cairns International, which is little more than an oversized bus shelter. This flight, and its return flight (VA78) are rarely at full capacity. Choose your seats carefully, and you have a good chance of securing an entire row to yourself!
AircraftBoeing 737 Max-8
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Tokyo Haneda via Cairns
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"very comfortable seat"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Check in was easy and the flight left on time. A very comfortable seat. Food, service and wine served was excellent. Some extra snacks were offered which was nice. Quick collection of baggage as well. All in all a wonderful flight
AircraftBoeing 737 800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteGold Coast to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I enjoyed the flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I enjoyed the flight. Easy check in, friendly staff and on time departure. A very tasty meal as well. Perhaps desert could be a bit more substantial. Lovely wine served too.
AircraftBoeing 737 800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Gold Coast
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"not impressed with the service in Perth"

(Australia)

Not Verified |   I flew to Darwin at 18 March and needed some assistance departing. A nice lady behjnd the business class desk immedjately got a wheelchair for me and took me through customs, that was excellent service and so was the whole flight.when we arrived they ordered a lift for me, I did not have to use the stairs, there was another lady that also wanted to cone down in the lift. Her daughter wited for her down the stairs. Virgin ordered from Perth a wheelchair for me in Darwin. To my surprise the daughter picked the wheelchair and put her mother in 'my' chair and I had to walk the Iong istne with my walking stick. Not so nice . But going back home 30 March virgin had a wheelchair for me again and also in Perth which was fantastic. A young girl from the ground staff in Perthrolled the whelchair through maybe 1/3 of the trip to thd luckage and left me there, she took off and I was really very angry, sat there. Everything was closed,nmmand I was there all alone in a wheelchair, I got out and walked all the long way with my walking stick and handbag and travelbag. That was the bad service at Perth Airport! Virgin was good but I'm not impressed with the service in Perth. It was extremely rude.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Darwin
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"unhappy with the way we were treated"

(United States)

Not Verified | We were subjected to a delay that interrupted our onward travel. Due to the delay of the flight out of Hobart, we missed our onward flight from Fiji Airways to Nadi, FJ934. We were also very unhappy with the way we were treated, and we were not kept notified of what was happening. There were no status notifications announced that we were able to hear, any announcements were spoken so rapidly and unclearly that we couldn't understand a word said. We only saw people finally boarding, so went to the gate and jumped on board after over an hour delay, with no information. There was one flight attendant who was very helpful (I wish I knew her name), but others were brusque and rude. We talked to the helpful attendant in flight, and asked if they would make an announcement to request that people remain seated to allow those with close connections to deplane first, but apparently the captain refused the request, as it was never made. There was no communication from the cockpit, and that bothered me, as I like to hear what the weather and landing is expected, it helps reassure me, as a nervous flier, that the Captain has things well in hand. Also, it seemed a rough and scary landing, even though the weather was clear and not very windy, as far as I know. All in all, a very bad experience, and the gate for our Fiji flight was closed by they time we made it there. As a result, we had to spend the night in Melbourne and had hotel, dinner and breakfast expenses. We asked for some compensation for our rude treatment and delay resulting in increased expenses, but this was again, rudely denied.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHobart to Melbourne
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Overall a good flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Check in was easy with friendly and efficient staff. The departure was a little delayed, but this was no big issue. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The seat was quite comfortable and baggage collection fairly prompt. Overall a good flight.
AircraftBoeing 737 800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"it was a good flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Unfortunately my flight was cancelled, which was a bit annoying. at least I was informed the night before and was able to choose a flight at about the same time. Check in was a bit haphazard. It was hard to find the right queue. Otherwise it was a good flight ; good cre , on time departure and quick pick up of baggage.
AircraftBoeing 737 800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"staff were friendly"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | A very enjoyable flight. Easy check in, the flight left on time and staff were friendly and well organised. The flight left right on time. My only minor issue was that baggage collection was a bit slow.
AircraftBoeing 737 800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a great travel experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I arrived early and was given the option of leaving on a flight 1 hour earlier. Easy check in, friendly and helpful staff and the plane departed on time. Only water, coffee and tea is available for free which is no issue on such a short flight. Thanks for a great travel experience.
AircraftBoeing 737 800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes