Spring Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 59 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the counter was closed"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Sapporo. I took the first train in the city possible, yet the online check-in always gave a "your information doesn't match" mistake and when I arrived, the counter was closed. Don't even deal with them, ever.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Sapporo
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"told that it was cancelled"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | On January 23, 2020,our flight back to Tokyo Narita from Hiroshima at 20h10, we were told that it was cancelled and we have to go online to change the flight and call the service line for help. Nobody from Spring Airlines was there, it was JAL people who gave us the info. In your terms and conditions it’s written that you have to take care of your passenger. At least assist them, even so much as a "go this way" would have been something. We had to take a hotel for the night, that was unexpected fees for us. We went online to rebook our flight for the 24th, unable to do it. After a few hours, we were able to start the process, but at the last step we always got an error message saying that because the flight was less than 36 hours ahead we couldn’t have any meal accommodations, from there the whole thing just cancelled itself. We were unable to rebook the flight for the 24th. In the morning of the 24th, we tried again and the only options available was to book for the 25th. We tried to call the service line after 9am, we only got an automated message in Japanese, no message in English. Since it was a day trip for us, we didn’t have any clean clothes. We couldn't pay for another hotel night since we are already paying for a hotel in Tokyo. We had to take the Shinkansen to be able to go back to Tokyo, that was another unexpected fee. Today February 05, 2020, thus far Spring Airlines Japan has done everything to avoid us. Their service line still won't take our call. At Narita airport the Spring front desk person can't help us and just says to keep sending emails to their customer info, to which we've had no replies since January 24, 2020 when we started doing it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHiroshima to Narita
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"dinged us with the extra fees"

(United States)

Trip Verified | When we got to the airport, the Spring Airlines staff told us that we had to pay extra and forced us to check our small bags. When we told them that our bags were standard Check-In size for any other airline, they said, "Our max bag size is smaller than other airlines" and then they dinged us with the extra fees. We had to pay around 75 USD and another 50 USD on the way back. What a scam. You think you're saving money, and then you find out that you should have just paid a little more and flown with a legit outfit that shows movies and doesn't charge for water. The check-in line also took forever (maybe because they are making so many people pay extra). We got to the airport 2 hours before take-off and still almost missed our flight. Maybe this is why the check-in staff were so unfriendly. Small consolation to the rock-hard, non-reclining seat was that the staff on the aircraft were actually nice and professional.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Shanghai
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ticket only covers airfare"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Shanghai. The ticket only covers airfare, no carry on or bags, an excess baggage fee is charged according to the distance and the weight of the excess baggage. Prepare to pay $150 USD per bag.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Shanghai
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No carry on was allowed"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Shanghai. Terrible. No carry on baggage was allowed and they charged for it, this was not mentioned before and I had travelled all around Asia in some low cost airlines with no problem with my bags. I totally regret buying this flight, as the cost “saved” resulted on being more expensive at the end. People in front desks with bad attitude, everything confusing. Terrible experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Shanghai
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"fellow passengers were horrible"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Ningbo to Bangkok. The plane and the crew were fine. Only minor gripe was that they disabled all seat reclining functions in an all-economy layout, which ironically became a good thing given the composition of the passengers. The fellow passengers were horrible, they were making so much noise throughout the flight from start to finish. Several heated arguments and scuffles broke out over trivial disagreements like jumping seats, overhead cabin space and a lack of consideration for fellow passengers. The ticket cost a measly US$65 with taxes, and it was my only option out of Ningbo, therefore I wasn't left with much of a choice. I would have gladly paid for an upgrade or a change of airline though.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNingbo to Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"I was very impressed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Shanghai Pudong to Kansai. I was very impressed. Flight was very smooth, was on time (for duration of flight) there was a delay taking off but it was because there was an emergency landing at Pudong just as we were getting ready to taxi. Staff onboard were very good and attentive. Food was decent and managed to get two free beers. It was a short flight of around 2 hours but it flew by, excuse the pun. My only gripe was that it was very expensive for what it was. I think we paid over $455 for two seats, which is incredibly expensive to my mind! I can fly from Manchester to Vilnius and back for $60 as an example with European budget airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai Pudong to Kansai
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"I have no complaints"

(United States)

Trip Verified | 6hr direct flight from Shanghai to Singapore. Seat was really as bad as people say-- recommend you bring some sort of cushion if your flight is over 1hr. "Vegetarian" meal contained some sort of shellfish, but I ate around it and it was hot and flavourful. Meal came with extra goodies at a very reasonable price. All beverages including beer are served at room temperature. Not too much advertising on this flight. Cabin crew and captain spoke reasonably good English. Other than the seat, the warm drinks, and the surprise shellfish, I have no complaints. Gets you from A to B.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Singapore
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"a low budget airline"

(Macau)

Not Verified | Hong Kong to Shanghai. This is clearly a low budget airline. The seats are rock solid and do not recline. The staff are friendly enough. Not much space between seats. Only 15KG of baggage including carry on.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Shanghai
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Late on both trips"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Tokyo Narita to Hiroshima. Disappointing. Late on both trips without much information (or any in one case) information until many minutes after the delay. I was suckered into having an emergency seat as I was about to process my ticket on the automatic machine. That meant I had to go to the main check in area and check my small bag in as it was slightly overweight. I was told to wait until all others had boarded before boarding and then told oops we should have boarded you first. So yeah - not good. I’ll stick to Haneda with another airline or Shinkansen in future!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Hiroshima
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 59 Reviews