SAS Scandinavian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 644 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"top of my no fly list"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to Paris. Airport monitors indicated "gates 70-78" I arrived in gate area 45min before hand. FlightAware indicated gate 72 departure. I missed the flight departure (airline door was closed at gate 71). Ground staff told me to call to rebook - dysfunctional. Phone agent quoted a price of $500, but I should talk to checkin supervisor. Exited to departures, and after waiting for them to open, I was told to call and rebook by supervisor. When I did,, I was a quoted the same price, but the phone agent couldn't find gate departure number that it left from - verified dysfunctional. I am a known traveller with over a million miles. Either SAS hasn't empowered their staff (probable), or the staff didn't care. They could have put me on a flight that left 3 hours later. SAS is now on the top of my no fly list, and will remain there.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Paris
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"no entertainment at all"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | I chose to fly with SAS on my last vacation trip to Lebanon due to the direct flying option from Stockholm to Beirut. That with the comfortable seats was about the only good things with this company. I mean flying for 4-5 hours with no entertainment at all is very boring. The ticket price was not the cheapest at a range of 400 euros you just expect more than a tiny cheese sandwich, a cup of of coffee and a grey-bluish back of seat to stare at for the entire flight. The seats was comfy with plenty of space for legs. The staff was friendly. Water cost 3.5 euros, if you want a meal onboard you could pay extra to get it. In my opinion 400-500 euros for economy-flex is way too much for the route. The plane we took back to swede had the possibility to connect with wifi. But it didn't work. I tried for at least 15 times to buy the wifi code but it didnt allow me to do it. Over all rating 6 out of 10.
AircraftA320 neo
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Beirut
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"it was a pleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I flew from London Stansted to Beijing with a connecting flight at Copenhagen. Everything went really smoothly and I didn't encounter any major problems or issues throughout the round trip. I managed to get bulkhead seats on the longer part of the flight from Copenhagen to Beijing. The extra legroom and not having a reclined seat in my face made the flight much more comfortable. I was surprised by how good the resolution and responsiveness of the inflight entertainment system and there was enough choice of movies and other media to occupy a 9 hour flight. Food on the flight was average though, one meal which passengers were served that was definitely below average was cold fried rice and chicken. I'm guessing they may have had issues heating up the meal before serving. The staff and cabin crew were friendly and overall it was a pleasant experience and I would consider choosing SAS in the future.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Stansted to Beijing via Copenhagen
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"worst service I have ever seen"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Stavanger to Amsterdam via Copenhagen. On 6th September I was at Stavanger Airport for a flight to Amsterdam via Copenhagen. Unfortunately there was a delay and SAS kept pushing the departure time further back. After we finally boarded SK1877 the second engine of the aeroplane was not serviceble and we had to return to the gate. This gave a huge problem with the amount of passengers being stuck at Stavanger. The biggest problem for me was that I was unable to catch my connecting flight from Copenhagen to Amsterdam. My complaint about the whole situation is that SAS forced all the passengers to stay on Stavanger airport to go with flight SK1877 to Copenhagen (a flight that departed eventually at 00:50) I didnt want to go to Copenhagen in the first place, because I needed to go to Amsterdam and I rather stayed in Stavanger to get booked on a direct flight later that day. (several direct flights leaving stavanger to amsterdam). There was no way of contacting the SAS customer service by phone (tried several times) and no SAS deck at the airport in reach. Now I was forced to go Copenhagen where I was further away from home and in a bigger mess because of the strikes at Copenhagen, well known to SAS. At arrival they gave us no information and no rebooking on next flights. A hotel voucher was offered for a hotel that is 40 minutes away from the airport (in a different city) and a phone number for the SAS customer service to call after 07:00 a.m. I had to book a flight with another airline just to get out of Copenhagen, with my suitcase lost in the pile of other bagage at Copenhagen airport. I'm travelling a lot and have encountered many delays and cancelled flights, but this is the worst service I have ever seen with any airline. Even after the difficult online process of getting refunds for my flights, the official answer of SAS is that their process time is 4 weeks. I feel mistreated. This a problem that should be addressed.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStavanger to Amsterdam via Copenhagen
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"made me pay twice"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Berlin to Newark via Stockholm. SAS after selling me my ticket spontaneously changes my entire flight plan back so that my overnight layover was in another country leading to having to cancel prearranged accommodation. When I went to check in on my flight back, because they spontaneously changed my flight plans, they ended up losing my tickets entirely. After an hour they finally found my tickets, but they decided to lose the fact that I had paid for the first piece of checked-in luggage. They lost this fact and made me pay twice in all to check in my one suitcase and were extremely unhelpful at the counter. Avoid this airline as they will lose everything in the abyss they call their network and make you pay again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Newark via Stockholm
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Satisfied overall"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Flew from Alesund via Oslo to Brussels. Swift check-in and security, friendly staff, both on ground and in air. Quick stopover in Oslo, but slightly uncomfortable since the gate wasn't open yet and there were no chairs we were standing or sitting on the floor (for a short time) and unpleasantly warm temperature at the gate. Satisfying legroom and seat comfort. Luggage arrived unharmed in Brussels, despite being unlocked and easy to open. (Most) Beverages and food aren't free, I didn't buy anything, so I can't judge on that. Satisfied overall. No IFE, but understandable because of the short trip.
AircraftBoeing 737-700/800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlesund to Brussels via Oslo
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"crew weren't particularly friendly or helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We paid for Business Class seats but Business Class appears not to exist with SAS. 3 seats in a row and all 3 seats are occupied, me with a window, seat my husband with an aisle seat and a passenger between us, Row 3. This happened on outbound and inbound flights. The crew weren't particularly friendly or helpful. The aircraft themselves looked tired and were pretty basic. Not much leg room either. Damaged bags one of which had to be replaced at the airport (by SAS) as the damage was so extensive. Tip: fly with your favourite other airline to Oslo and avoid SAS if at all possible.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Alesund via Oslo
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"my flight no longer existed"

(United States)

Not Verified | We bought our tickets several months before the trip. I called a week before to find out that they changed the schedule and my flight no longer existed. I was not notified about that change! I opted to get a refund. It took them 30 days to process it and now I have a $3,000 credit on my credit card. A refund should be a refund. Never using SAS Scandinavian again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Warsaw
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to Chicago. Terrible customer service. Flew home on SAS after flying out on United- not an airline known for quality service but flew circles around SAS. Not only did SAS refuse to honor my Star Alliance gold status (SAS is a star alliance member), but they changed our seat at the last minute citing that the seat we booked is just a “wish” and until we actually board, it can be changed at any time. Needless to say, the new seat was not an upgrade and my wife and I wound up sitting in middle seats for 9.5 hours. Never flying SAS again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Chicago
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will not fly again with SAS"

(United States)

Not Verified | The tickets were averagely priced, but I thought I will try SAS airlines, I have flown before always Lufthansa, but I wanted to try different airlines for a change. I originally flew from Vienna, with connecting flight from Copenhagen to Chicago via SAS. I checked in online before boarding, and everything looked ok, but when I got to Copenhagen and wanted to check on my flight as I had an almost 7-hour layover, I had to check in again. I went to the SAS customer service desk to get boarding passes and to ask for their lounge as I paid for it. They told me, the luggage was ticketed wrong, but they will fix it and put it on the right flight. Took the numbers of my tickets, seen photos of my luggage (thank God I took them before leaving) and she reassured me, they will be on the flight with me. Came to Chicago and only 2 out of my 3 bags arrived (it was me and 2 kids, so one bag for each). I went to the SAS luggage claim which was Wednesday, and they told me I should get it most likely by Friday. Well, Friday came, I received a notification that the flight with my luggage landed, but that was the last of it. I called Saturday, but nobody was there. I called the 800 number, but they were less than helpful, and the guy even hung up on me, when I tried to find a different number on how to contact them. I mean, they have flights on Saturday as well, so if the customer service does not operate in the airport on Saturday, where the people claim their luggage if lost? So, I rather stick with Lufthansa, but for sure I will not fly again with SAS. Recommendation: if you have a connecting flight, make sure you go to customer service with your luggage even if you already checked in online, do not go to the Self-help Kiosks and make sure your tags have the final destination on it. It should save you a lot of headaches.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Chicago
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no