QantasLink

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 115 reviews
7/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"two cancelled flights on the long weekend"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Had two cancelled flights on the long weekend, which not only majorly disrupted our holiday plans, but also my work. Missed out on a full days work because our flight was completely cancelled on the way home with no helpful alternatives. On the way to Sydney, our flight was cancelled, also with no suitable alternative, so we lost money on our reservation and also in fuel, because we had to drive four hours to another airport in order to be able to catch an earlier flight!? Absolutely ridiculous and it's incredibly negligent of QANTAS link. Completely disrupting our lives and not considering our time valuable at all. For what is supposed to be an Australian airline they do not look after their Australian people!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Date FlownJune 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"I am still waiting for my baggage to arrive"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | One short sector from Melbourne to Devonport, Qantaslink managed to lose my suitcase. Went to contact Qantaslink, told there were 2 other flights from Melbourne to Devonport. Later found out the last flight cancelled, but there was still one flight a few hours later than the one I took. Still no baggage arrived. Under the Warsaw Convention, Qantaslink has to compensate me for the inconvenience, but there is no clear instructions on its website. How many hours have to pass before I am qualified for a claim, how much is the cost for replacing my personal effect. All this information are missing. At present, nearly 24 hours after arriving, I am still waiting for my baggage to arrive.
AircraftDeHavilland 300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Devonport
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Last time that I book with Qantas"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Appalling customer service. Booked a RT flight from Adelaide AUS to Nelson NZ to see family for the first time since COVID. Just received an email with a flight change from Qantas for our return flight but they've completely forgotten that we are departing from Nelson NZ - Auckland arriving at 2pm, and booked our departing flight out of Auckland at 6am the same morning. How on earth do we get on a flight that departs Auckland 8 hours before we even arrive from Nelson? Now on hold for 2 hours, no assistance provided. Last time that I book with Qantas.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Nelson via Modbury North
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Monumentally bad service from Qantas"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Monumentally bad service from Qantas - flight was over five hours late departing. No information given to passengers and, due to multiple flight cancellations to other destinations, the few customer service staff were unable to cope with demand from passengers. What I witnessed and how I saw some customers treated was appalling. What an ungracious airline and an experience I would never want to repeat.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Launceston
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Cabin crew were efficient and friendly"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | QantasLink branded flight operated by Alliance Airways. The plane, an Embraer E190 had Alliance markings, but the cabin crew wore Qantas uniforms. First time on an E190, but I'd noticed on the Qantas website specs the seat pitch was more generous than their B737. Between that and the design of the seat, it was a very comfortable cabin indeed. Good space, relatively quiet, smooth flight particularly the landing. The only downside was being a leased plane and not a Qantas own aircraft, there was no Qantas entertainment or inflight WiFi. This scuttled my plan to do some sightseeing planning while in the air to Adelaide. But I was content to play some stored tunes and relax in the comfy seat. Cabin crew were efficient and friendly.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCanberra to Adelaide
Date FlownMarch 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"refused any compensation or refund"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Made a booking with Qantas Frequent Flyer points on 27 February 2021 for a domestic flight departing 9 April 2021. At the time, the website stated that I had enough points and accepted the booking. The following day I receive an a "no reply" email from Qantas asking to call them about the booking. It was impossible to get through on the phone. The Qantas website continues to show that my booking is confirmed. On the day of the flight, I receive a voicemail asking me to call Qantas. I tried to call back and was still on hold hours later when I arrived at the airport. The customer service rep at the airport advises that I do not have a reservation because I did not have enough Qantas points at the time of booking 2 months ago. I was required to pay over $700 to make an on-the-spot reservation. I've been through the complaints process with Qantas and they have refused any compensation or refund. Abysmal customer service. They need to update their website interface so it can process bookings and reflect their status accurately.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMildura to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"will fly QantasLink and this route again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I have flown this service before. It is a quick flight between the 2 major regional cities in the north approx 45 min flying time cutting down around a 3 to 4 hour drive. There is no classes available and whilst you could select your seat it was on a first come first served basis. The plane was full only a few empty seats so no opportunities to move seats. It is mostly workers commuting between the cities or to connecting charter flights for mining We were slightly late on take off due to the catering being late. The catering company also failed to deliver the alcohol so they made the decision to leave without it. We did however land on time. I can't blame the airline for this but I was looking forward to having a glass of wine. They provided an inflight snack 'manna from heaven' which was a small box of 3 x bite sized snacks very tasty & your choice of soft drink. Considering the flight time was so short the cabin staff did well to serve the whole cabin & do a rubbish collection and then we were ready for descent The cabin crew were courteous and efficient but nothing jumped out to me as a WOW The cabin and seats themselves are very tight and not a lot of room. I would imagine it would very uncomfortable for a tall or large person ( i am only 5 ft ) especially of the flight was longer then 1 hour. The cabin was clean. There is no entertainment provided or wifi aboard but again for such a short hop it isn't needed. I will fly QantasLink and this route again.
AircraftDash8-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCairns to Townsville
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Lesson Learnt I'll never fly Qantas again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | So what was due to be a 3 hour direct flight turned into a 9 and a half hour day with major delays due to incompetence. Boarded flight out of Canberra for a 9.05 departure only to be informed by the Captain at 20 past there was going to be a delay of a further 10 minutes as they were unable to locate the paperwork for the flight from the previous overnight engineers shift. After this we were then informed shortly later we would be disembarking as the paperwork was not marrying up and the engineers had not completed the routine maintenance that was required overnight. We then boarded a new plane after 1 hr 45 minutes waiting in Canberra for what should have been a direct flight into Cairns as per the previous initial flight. Shortly after take off approximately 25 minutes into the flight the Capitan came over the cabin speakers to inform us that there was a minor technical fault associated with the plane. The flight control tower at Cairns had requested a turn around back to Canberra base, the pilots chose to ignore this and requested a diversion to Brisbane. We were due to land at Cairns at 12.10 however at 11.45am we landed at Brisbane airport at the same time we should have been in Cairns. We were then told we would be required to speak to ground crew for further details although our updated booking tickets all showed a new flight of 12pm that we would cross over too. Each person onboard the aircraft had received the same emails and text messages notifying us of this. Yet off we went to the customer service. We then were informed that we would have to collect our baggage, the flight that was scheduled for us to move onto had been cancelled and we were to re-check in. We were checked into the 3pm out of Brisbane arriving at 5.25pm over 9 hours which should have been a 3 hour flight. Others onboard were rescheduled for a 10pm departure arriving at Cairns at 12.20am in the morning and further more others where told they would not be arriving until around 11am the following day and would have to overnight in Brisbane. Meanwhile many also missed connecting flights to Darwin and also smaller Townships up north on the Queensland coast. To add insult to injury we were offered a $15 meal voucher for our inconveniences. Upon arrival at Cairns we waited for 45 minutes for our luggage to make it from the undercarriage to the conveyer belt. How is Qantas the Spirit of Australia and the so called National Airline it claims to be priding itself in customer services and safety. If I wanted a layover in Brisbane or Sydney and a 9 hour day transiting I would have booked this. I vowed never to fly Qantas many years ago after another awful trip where we missed our connection, Cairns to Sydney, Sydney to Canberra and where told the plane would be held for all connecting passengers, due to incompetence from Qantas ground staff at the Cairns end. We were forced into hotel accommodation that evening. Did we receive an apology from Qantas or any other form of compensation. No. Lesson Learnt I'll never fly Qantas again. I think I'll stick with Virgin like I have in the past with the personal service, the effective communication, on-time running and the professionalism from the cabin and ground crew. Hence I've always been an avid Virgin Fan and frequent flyer. I only took up the offer of the new Cairns - Canberra direct as it was supposedly a direct flight as new to the airline to entice further tourists and also to help businesses travellers.
AircraftBoeing 717-209
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCanberra to Cairns
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"flight was a near-perfect experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Our flight time was changed by Qantas at short notice to one that didn't suit us. After hanging on the phone for literally hours I got through to a very friendly operator who willingly transferred us to another flight without charge. Going through Melbourne airport in the early morning in the coronavirus era was a breeze. The QF lounge was not very busy, and while the range of food and drink on offer was less than normal it was acceptable and the service was good. Boarding was efficient and friendly, and an enormous spread was served for breakfast. The seats were very comfortable and the flight operated on time. Despite the change of flight time, this flight was a near-perfect experience.
AircraftBoeing 717
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Hobart
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"had a great experience"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Canberra to Brisbane. Cabin crew were very nice. They acknowledged my birthday and made the flight very pleasant. Karly, Marious & Ingrid were very professional and nice. I had a great experience flying with QantasLink.
AircraftBoeing 717
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCanberra to Brisbane
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes