Malindo Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 324 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Poor in every possible aspect"

(Australia)

Not Verified | April flight from Brisbane to Denpasar cancelled by airline in March. Full refund requested upon notice of cancellation, however got absolutely nowhere after several emails. Currently I have been palmed off to the 'AU Team' who have failed to respond to several emails for nearly 2 weeks now. Not holding my breath for a refund but will never do business with the airline again. Poor in every possible aspect.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Denpasar
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"good value for money"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Malacca to Penang. Nice little airline from Malaysia. The short flight on this ATR 72-600 wasn´t bad. No wifi or any entertainment. Very nice food served there. Overall good value for money!
AircraftATR 72-600
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalacca to Penang
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Disgusting experience"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Disgusting experience - do not book a flight with this airline. Prior to the Covid-19 being declared a pandemic, Malindo decided they were no longer going to fly this route so cancelled the flight. I requested a refund and was told we needed to wait 30 days for this to clear. After numerous phone calls, emails and a wait of approx. 50 days we were issued with a credit note - to be used within 6 months. They cancelled, not us - therefore we are entitled to a full refund. Their 'customer care line' (the joke is in the title as there is zero care!) hung up when I called chasing my refund. I was told for 5 weeks I would be receiving a refund to my credit card but they then issued a credit note to be used during a pandemic! Do yourself a huge favour and book elsewhere.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Colombo via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"refund as a travel voucher"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I was meant to fly to Bali on April 22, 2020 but, of course due to Covid-19, the flight was cancelled by Malindo Air. I emailed them immediately to get a refund and since then my customer service experience has been a nightmare. First they took over a week to respond, only to send a generic email redirecting me to a form I needed to fill out requesting the refund. At no point leading up to this (or written anywhere on the form) did they inform me that the refund would be given in the form of a travel voucher. So, I filled the form out and waited for my refund that would never come. 22 days passed without hearing anything. During this time I emailed them twice to no reply. Finally, after my 3rd email (in which I requested a personal response specific to my situation and request), I received another generic response telling me that my request had been processed and I will be receiving my refund as a travel voucher. I replied saying that this is unacceptable and again asked for a cash refund in accordance with their policy. Once more, after a week of waiting, I received yet another generic email back explaining that their policy actually states that refunds are given in the form of vouchers and that under no circumstances would cash refunds be given. Furthermore, I was advised that I would only have 6 months to use the voucher from date of issue. After looking into this further, I found that Malindo changed their refund policy on March 17 of this year. This is after they must have realized that travel would be shutting down, they would have to start cancelling flights on their end and refunding money to their customers, this is downright despicable. I urge anyone considering using this airline because their flights look cheaper: don't. It's not worth the headache and frustration if for some reason you're unable to travel or your flight gets cancelled by the airline itself.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Bali
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Poor service, poorer customer service"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | If I could give any airline a 0/10, this would be it. I'm a very frequent traveller and my only advice for this would be don't even bother with this airline, regardless of the price. Poor service, poorer customer service and truly an example of how a company acts in bad faith. I submitted a request for refund in accordance with the terms and conditions stated on their website after my flights were cancelled and tried to call their customer service hotline to no success. One month later I am informed that they are issuing me my refund in the form of a voucher in accordance with their refund policy which was changed recently without notifying customers. Had to wait another 2 weeks to get any response from them on my further questions and the staff were completely unhelpful. Be warned, this is truly a scam airlines and their terms are so badly drafted you're forced to go into details to build your argument (also I note that they sneakily fail to include the effective date of their terms on the website so you can't tell when they update - thank heavens for screenshots and pdfs). Not worth any price if you asked me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Nepal via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownApril 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"airline is not worthy of business"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Penang to Bangkok via Kuala Lumpur. Malindo Air changes the timings of the first flight (I accept changes happen) which makes the connection in Kuala Lumpur impossible. After many tries to contact Malindo Air I finally get as far as having the ticket changed and leaving from Penang instead as there were no other options. I am still puzzled by the fact that a booking system can rebook me on a flight that arrives 30 minutes later than my connection departs? And that I have have to point this out to the airline. On 2 occasions? A month later they also change the flight times (once again I accept changes happen) and I am back yet again sending numerous mails and messages via messenger. Since there are no there alternatives or options they offer to refund my ticket I even get a confirmation saying they will refund this ticket. 2 months later I get an email saying that due to the corona virus I be reimbursed in vouchers valid for 6 months. The cancellations had nothing to do with corona - all flights were flown and before any alterations to the industry/tourism etc in Malaysia as well as Thailand. Vouchers to be used in Asia within 6 months. I live in Denmark and the world is closed. Seriously? Sadly they are no longer responding to my mails. It is impossible to speak to anyone in charge yet alone finding the name of someone who can manage anything but sending a standard mail. And this is Business class ? This airline is not worthy of business I am afraid.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RoutePenang to Bangkok via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"sending me a travel voucher"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I had my flight Taipei to Kuala Lumpur booked on 15 March 2020. Unfortunately, it was canceled because of operational requirement. I was informed on 2 March 2020. Quickly, I submitted a refund request to them on 6 March 2020. On 10 April 2020, they compensated my by sending me a travel voucher, where I would need to claim it at their sales counter in Taiwan within six months! I checked their website, then only I found out that they have changed their refund policy, effective from 17 March 2020. More importantly, my flight was canceled not because of COVID-19 outbreak but due to their requirement. Think twice if you wanted to get their service, I hope you wouldn't experience the frustration I have with this pathetic airline.
AircraftOD889
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The most uncomfortable seat and reduced leg room"

(United States)

Not Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Perth. Low cost/no frills - that's OK. However: 1) Malindo performed their own carry on security check prior to boarding - did not allow any personal water for the 6 hour flight. Consequently, water would need to be purchased on board at an inflated price. 2) The most uncomfortable seat and reduced leg room of any flight taken anywhere. In retrospect, would have chosen to pay more for a more comfortable flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Perth
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"most uncomfortable seats"

(United States)

Not Verified | Denpasar to Perth via Kuala Lumpur. Previous 6-hour flight from Kuala Lumpur to Perth: most uncomfortable seats ever - narrow seats with minimal leg room! No charge for carry-ons. Water confiscated by Malindo security [3rd security check-in airport]. Consequently, water would need to be purchased onboard at an inflated price. A four-hour flight from Denpasar to Kuala Lumpur: charged us $179.00 for two checked bags [for total weight]. The seats, however, were more comfortable than on the 6-hour flight from Kuala Lumpur to Perth!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Perth via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"inappropriate and totally unfair"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Langkawi. Today we tried to cancel flights for this weekend to Langkawi due to the latest Movement Restriction Order in Malaysia. We live at Genting Highlands and the Government is telling everyone to remain at home to help stop the spread of Covid-19. Malindo Air only offered to give back approximately 80rm on tickets which were purchased for approximately 1200rm. Given the crisis the world is facing at present I believe this is inappropriate and totally unfair that Malindo Air are not supporting the government’s orders on the current restrictions.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Langkawi
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no