Malindo Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 237 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"cannot recommend it"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Bali to Kuala Lumpur. The worst customer service and worst Airline I have seen. I had a flight from Bali to Kuala Lumpur and when I received my luggage my shoes were missing from my luggage. I immediately went to the customer service but they were really careless and only told me I need fill in a report and write an email. After several emails and 4 weeks passing they finally replied and told me nothing was missing and will not do anything about it. This is really a joke and the worst customer service ever. I will never fly again and cannot recommend it to anyone. Its not worth it!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBali to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"crazy amounts to check baggage"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Kuala Lumpur. Worst airline I have ever bought a flight through all in all I call it extortion not being able to check baggage possible on line then asking crazy amounts of money to check baggage. I sorry to the lady at the desk not your fault but honestly what a joke need to get your systems right treat people fair.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"received baggage with missing stuff"

(India)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to Delhi via Kuala Lumpur. Outward journey was fine, but the return trip was a nightmare. At Bali, In the check-in process concern person didn’t give us through check-in from Bali to Delhi, they told us to collect baggage at Kuala Lumpur, We also had 2 bags of 7Kg with us as cabin luggage, The crew took our cabin luggage as there was no room in the overhead cabin and I was told to collect it at the door when I disembark. But when I asked for the bag on my way out, they said to collect it at the baggage reclaim which was past immigration in KL. we had a connecting flight in two hours. Flight was supposed to arrive from Bali to KL at 15.50 but was delayed by 30 minutes and arrived at 16.20, our next flight from KL to Delhi was at 18.00. At Kuala Lumpur International Airport there is Malindo customer care service staff was very rude, they were not ready to help us as by luck our KUL – DEL flight was also delayed by 30 min still they told us that as we don’t have enough time to collect baggage from belt, they assure us they will send our baggage safely from next via flight to Delhi only we have to do baggage lost report at Delhi. At Delhi, we did report and fill all the forms. we received all our baggage with missing stuff. It's a shame that such a distinguished airline company provides poor quality of customer service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Delhi via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"received minimal communication"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Yangon to Colombo. We were due to fly with them to Sri Lanka when sadly the bombings happened. We received an automated email offering a change of flight or refund so we opted to changed and then heard nothing. Due to Malindo Air not caring about the safety of their customers we were forced to fly to SriLanka. We tried called every number we could find hundred of times, we visited two different desks in airports, we send hundreds of emails and contacted them via social media and we received nothing. We were forced to take the flight and were met in Sri Lanka by the British embassy telling us we had to take the next flight out. At no point did Malindo Air care about our safety or offer any help. It’s been over a month, we’ve received minimal communication and no compensation. They not only ruined our holiday, cost us hundreds of pounds on calls and alternative flights but they put our lives at risk.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteYangon to Colombo
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline ever"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Penang to Subang. Worst airline ever. I will never fly with Malindo Air again due to its bad customer service. Was having check in issue with the check in counter and the person in charge refer me to Malindo Air customer service at another counter and then customer service refer me back to the check in counter again. Could not even issue a proper document for me.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePenang to Subang
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"failed to provide a professional service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I booked a Malindo flight from Kuala Lumpur to Langkawi for November 2019 from the Expedia website. During the booking process, the Expedia website states, to contact the airline for check baggage allowance and to purchase. After several emails over four weeks, Malindo finally emailed to advise my ticket does not allow check baggage, not that it does not include any check baggage. I emailed Expedia to complain and to cancel my ticket, when Malindo finally called me this morning at 05.30hrs to offer to sell me 30 kg check baggage for my flight at rm318! Therefore, adding what I paid for my check baggage to my flight ticket of rm90 approx, totaling rm400 approx, I could have got a MAS flight at less price! Both Expedia and Malindo have failed to provide a professional service and given the airline industry a really bad impression of false sales practice. I will never fly Malindo nor use Expedia again, ever.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Langkawi
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Shamelessly ripping people off"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Phuket. I wish I wasn't in a hurry while buying the ticket and checked Skytrax for reviews. While buying the ticket I checked the class of the ticket, I couldn't locate the allowance for the said class. Expedia sells the ticket as economy, but what it really means in Malindo terms is super-saver. Reviews say it all. The airline lacks proper webpage to display ticket class and excess baggage fees. I wasn't offered to buy excess while buying the ticket, or checking in online as other low-cost airlines do. So I was under the impression that I had the economy class ticket. The person at the check-in counter asks personal questions they have no business with. 1kg excess baggage is 45 ringgit. I will never choose this airline again, and I advise all foreign travelers to do the same. It may look cheap, but in reality, it is more expensive to fly this low-cost airline due to their predatory misinformation techniques. If it is incompetence, I feel sorry for them, but I suspect it is malice after seeing all the other negative reviews here. It cost me 3 times more for a small 11kg bag than it cost for my ticket. Shamelessly ripping people off. Seats are optimized for extra rows, accordingly to smaller stature of average Indonesian or Malaysian.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Phuket
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"cabin service is ok"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Johor Bahru to Kuala Lumpur. My flight experience a heavy turbulence due to raining along my way to Kuala Lumpur. Overall, cabin crew were very friendly and greeted warmly when we enter and leave the aircraft and very helpful guiding me to my seat. As the aircraft had very light load on that day, I can enjoy Row 28-30 myself. IFE System had nothing to enjoy and only have limited choice of TV programme and dated movies. I received a broken IFE System on my seats but luckily I still can use IFE System of my neighbouring seats. Ground Services is terrible in Johor Airport! Even I was required to get my boarding pass via counter check in, not self check in machine! 2-3 aircraft were leaving from Gate 1 and chaos in Gate 1. My flight was delayed nearly 1 hour. In a nutshell, ground service is terrible in Johor Airport and cabin service is ok.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohor Bahru to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I couldn't fault Malindo"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to Adelaide, I've never been more pleasantly surprised. I checked in online, and was concerned because my name on their online account was my "LastNameMiddleNameFirstName Mr", not sure why, most likely as I booked through an online travel agent. Expecting to be turned away at the airport for my name not matching my passport, I got my first pleasant surprise. There was no line! 2.5 hours ahead of departure and no line! The staff were friendly and my check-in luggage was 1kg over what I'd purchased, but I wasn't charged extra. The plane was new, overhead there was plenty of room for carry on luggage. The seats were comfortable and had adequate room. The staff were polite and left a meal for me when I fell asleep. The in-flight entertainment was solid for choices. The plane wasn't full so I could stretch out across the row. The toilets was clean. I couldn't fault Malindo. I will be recommending this airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Adelaide
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"a lot of we are sorry"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Bandung to Kuala Lumpur. Flight was scheduled at 14:10 to Kuala Lumpur where we had a connection to Brussels via Abu Dhabi with Etihad Airlines. We got an email that the flight was delayed until 15:25. That was still ok since our next flight was at 19:45 local time. Displays at the gate confirmed. The take off time was eventually 16:15! We landed at 18:25. A Malindo staff guy was waiting at the arrival gate to explain that we could try to catch the flight and if we missed it, we could come back at their counter to find a solution and they will do everything to help us out. We ran to the gate and were stopped at security check: door closed since 2 minutes. We went back to their transfer desk and waited about 45 minutes before some staff lady appeared (we asked another company at the transfer desk to call her on the phone). She eventually sent us to their desk in the main terminal. In the meantime we called our own travel agency (business trip) which found a solution with Emirates to come back to Dusseldorf. At the Malindo desk we said we didn’t need help but wanted to get our baggage back. This story took another hour. This staff tells gives you a lot of we are sorry but very poor response. Their English was also quite limited and you need to repeat many times. Total we lost 10 hours and will have to claim. This is quite ok when you travel for business and have a extraction team behind you. But what if you’re a tourist with no credit card or agency to buy other tickets? When you check on their web site, you can ask for refund if the delay exceeds 3 hours.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBandung to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no