Iberia Express

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 41 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"did not receive a refund"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I booked a flight to Madrid from Dusseldorf for 09.07.2019. The flight was cancelled last minute after midnight and we were just informed via email about an alternative flight which includes a stopover London and which required 3 times more time to reach. And even we didn't approve this change they don't refund the ticket's cost or any other action. We did not get on the alternative flight we did not opt for. After attempting to reach customer services via telephone they wanted us to open a ticket because they cannot see the incident in their system. And after opening a ticket and waiting for 5 more days we did not receive a refund but a joke: Dear Customer, we apologize for the inconvenience caused by the incident on your flight I23137 dated 9/07/2019. In order to carry out our daily operation, we depend on external factors that are beyond our scope of control and before which we have no possibility of action. Our main objective is to offer a better service to our customers every day and reduce the impact of these factors on their experience. Unfortunately, and despite our efforts, in this case, we were not been able to prevent our customers from being affected. We thank you for your understanding and reiterate our apologies for not having fulfilled your expectations. We hope your next flights are satisfactory. Thank you for continuing trust in Iberia. Kind regards, Iberia Express Customer Services
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDusseldorf to Madrid
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"unpleasant and unfriendly staff"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Madrid to Santa Cruz de La Palma with Iberia Express. Too small space for legs if you are over 180 cm, quite unpleasant and unfriendly staff (like most Iberia staff) with very limited knowledge of English.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Santa Cruz de La Palma
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Horrible customer support"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Porto via Madrid. My experience with Iberia is quite upsetting, it pretty much started even before I got into the plane. I ordered my ticket a while before the flight was supposed to happen and 2 days before takeoff I went over to the website to select my seats and do my online check-in, however, when I tried to do so I was met with a fee for each seat. Due to the fact that I went from the Netherlands to Portugal via Spain, I had to pay for 4 seats, each seat was at least €8 and at most €14, which came down to an additional €32 at the very least just to be able to sit. This was the first time ever I ordered tickets with Iberia as normally I fly via other companies and I was never asked to pay for my seats before unless they provided me with extra space for my legs or other luxury benefits. I called Iberia and was met with an extremely rude customer service person who barely spoke any English. I told him that I couldn't pay for the seats as the only payment method they offered was via credit card, which I don't have; He said: "If you don't want to pay you can just go and pay at the airport" to which I replied: Well, I am currently in the payment screen for a reason, it's just impossible to pay like this. His response remained the same, giving me a feeling like I was being cheap. Once I finally boarded the first plane everything was alright, of course, food and drinks were overpriced by a lot but I was actually quite thirsty and bought myself a coke, then some turbulence happened, the plane started to shake and a moment later I found myself, my seat and the ground below me covered in coke, the flight attendants looked at me with a rather unamused face and threw me some wipes to clean myself and my seat while speaking to me in Spanish, when I said I don't speak nor understand Spanish she shrugged and walked off. Horrible customer support, flight attendants don't care and aren't helpful, due to not being able to choose my own seats I had some horrible experiences with other customers on the plane which I didn't describe.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Porto via Madrid
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Overall bad service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Madrid to Florence. Do not fly this airline, it is not worth the risk of ruining your trip. We were flying from Amsterdam with a final destination of Florence. We checked two bags. First leg of the flight was Amsterdam to Madrid, which was fine. Second flight from Madrid to Florence: no AC on the airplane, it was uncomfortable and warm the entire 2.5 hour flight. To make matters worse, half an hour before landing we were told due to some conditions we would need to land at the Pisa airport, not Florence. Please keep in mind Pisa is an hour and a half from Florence. We get to Pisa, our bags are not here. We have to call Iberia (because they do not have a counter at the Pisa airport) who tell us our luggage will not arrive in Florence until tomorrow. We are only in Florence for one day, on top of that the person tells me I can’t even open up a claim with him over the phone, I have to go to an Iberia counter. He was not apologetic at all. And why would they have a system where you can’t open a lost baggage claim over the phone? Not efficient. The airline did provide a bus for passengers to go from the Pisa airport to Florence airport, but we had to wait an entire hour for it. Overall bad service and seriously not worth your risk of ruining your trip. Don’t fly this airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Florence
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"smallest space between seats"

(France)

Not Verified | Paris to Madrid. This airline has the smallest space between seats, I can't even open a notebook to work during the flight. I avoid this airline just because of that - their competitors (low-budgets) have more space. So if you fly for business and you hope to work during the flight, then choose any other airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Madrid
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"give me this stupid connection"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Gran Canaria to Zürich via Madrid. They give me this stupid connection and when my plane landed they did not wait for me. Only 5 mins late, but of course it was not my fault. My other connection had delay like always. Have to wait 4 hours for the next plane.On my way back i also had more than 3 hours delay. I paid 500CHF and its a horrible company and you have to pay everything in the plane. Not even a glass of water they offer you for free. Never again will i fly with Iberia.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGran Canaria to Zürich via Madrid
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"missed my connection in Paris"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My flight was originally on Delta from Salt Lake City to Madrid for both business and pleasure. Due to Delta leaving 3.5 hours late I missed my connection in Paris and as all the Delta Partner flights were booked going down to Madrid that evening they put me on an Iberia flight. This gave me a 4 hour layover or so in Paris so you would think my luggage would have arrived. It didn't. I figured it would show up a day or so later because how do you lose luggage for longer than that and I made the mistake of only making only one pair of underclothes and two shirts in my backpack. As the days progressed with no luggage I was told by Iberia to hold onto my receipts for reimbursement as I had to by clothes I could wear for my conference, makeup and some clothes for the vacation portion of my trip. I didn't go wild. Finally, on the 9th day of no luggage they contacted me to say it was found and now in Madrid. That didn't help as I was in Barcelona. I instructed them to send it to my home in Utah to which they told me they would send me the shipping information. They never did. Three days later there was a knock at my door at 4:50 a.m. that freaked me out because I wasn't expecting anyone. It ended up being my luggage. Luckily, it was all there. Unfortunately, the story doesn't end there. When the Iberia representative told me to hang onto my receipts he gave me an email address to send all my documentation. I did so knowing that reimbursement could take up to 30 days. After 3 weeks of radio silence from Iberia I contacted them to check the status and they said they never received my paperwork! They gave me a new email address and I resubmitted again. This time I saw emails from them saying they were processing and I could expect a check in approximately 30 days. Fast forward to this week. At day 36 I called them and was told that they couldn't help me. That I would need to lodge a complaint through their website. I immediately did and received an email that said it could take up to 21 days to respond. When I got home that day there was a check in the mail for less than half of the amount submitted. I've since contacted them without response. The customer service of this airline is unbelievably horrible! As Iberia was the airline I last flew with when the luggage went missing, according to airline regulations they are responsible for whatever happens to it.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Madrid
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"missed our connecting flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | On 14 May 2018, my wife and I were booked on Iberia Express flight No 12 3877 from Santiago de Compostela to Madrid. The flight was scheduled to leave Santiago de Compostela at 9.15 am but due to a fault with the de-icing mechanism on the port engine of the aircraft, the flight was delayed and eventually took off from Santiago at 11.26 am, landing at Madrid at 12.20 pm. As a result of the delayed flight, we missed our connecting flight, from Madrid to Bucharest which departed at 12.15 pm. The Iberia staff at Madrid airport were most unhelpful in solving our problem and were rude and dismissive. A large number of passengers on the flight lost connections. The attitude and service was appalling. To add insult to injury, our baggage and 21 other passengers’ baggage did not arrive in Madrid with our flight. We put in a baggage claim and our two bags eventually arrived late afternoon at Terminal 4 which I had to go searching for and which I found going around and around on a carousel all on their own and which could have been taken by any other passenger. The Iberia baggage claim staff had promised that they would keep the bags for us in their office once they arrived from Santiago, but this was not done. This is shocking service. In the meantime, we had to travel back and forth from Terminal 4 to Terminal 1 on two occasions in search of our baggage. As a result of the delayed Santiago - Madrid flight, we had to purchase two new airline tickets with another airline because we were a “no show” for the Tarom flight to Bucharest. I phoned Iberia Express in Madrid from Romania on many occasions and at great expense in order to investigate lodging a claim for compensation under the EU Regulations. I was told to lodge a claim online which I tried on numerous occasions but each time I tried to submit the claim, the message I received we that the Santiago flight number does not correspond to any Iberia or Iberia Express flight number. I phoned Madrid again and one of the customer service people said that she could not understand why the website is rejecting my application because the flight number I put into the system was correct. She then told me to send my claim by email to which I did but received a reply that the email address is for “internal use only”. I once again phoned Iberia in Madrid and the customer service person promised to investigate the problem and get back to me but I have never received a call back from her or anyone else. I have tried on 23 occasions to submit my claim online with the same result, the online system keeps telling me that the flight number does not correspond to and Iberia or Iberia Express flight number. In desperation, I wrote a letter to the CEO of Iberia and sent the letter by email and mailed it to him on 28 June 2018. I have not had the courtesy of a response from him our his staff.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSantiago De Compostela to Madrid
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Totally appalling experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I flew Business Class to Las Palmas from Cardiff. Flights excellent and on-time, I couldn't fault their performance. What overshadowed the whole trip was the way in which I was treated in Madrid Airport by a gate clerk. I entered the wrong line for priority boarding and eventually was able to join the correct line. For some reason this angered the woman at the gate who decided to explode with anger at me for no reason about why I was in the wrong queue etc. I was so shocked by her behaviour. When I told her off for speaking to me in such an aggressive way and I took back my passport with a curt "thank you" she ran down the jetty (leaving her desk and other passengers) to verbally abuse me more. I have never experienced anything quite like it in 15 years of flying Iberia. I put in a complaint about her behviour but heard nothing back. Totally appalling experience and never again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteCardiff to Gran Canaria via Madrid
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"easy departure and punctuality"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Stuttgart to Madrid. Cabin crew friendlier than customers. Wifi to see movies on the cellphone, easy departure and punctuality. Finger use in airports, never had to use a bus to get to the plane. It does not seem a low-cost airline at all and I try to use it whenever I can. The only "but" is that the cabin crew are too permissive with customers leaving their backpacks in the trolley-cabins. If you get late to the plane you might not have space because of this.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStuttgart to Madrid
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 41 Reviews