Discover Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 30 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"highly recommended"

(Namibia)

Trip Verified | A slightly different review, not a horror story like most. I flew from Windhoek to Frankfurt in Premium Economy as the price differential with Economy was minimal and I was carrying 2 suitcases, which were included in the price, and therefore I saved money as I did not have to pay the astronomical fee for a second one. Check in was a breeze. Priority check in meant did not have to stand in the short line. The lady handed me the boarding pass for my connecting flight from Frankfurt as well. Boarding was well organized, the staff made sure that the "gate lice" boarded with their group and not earlier. As the boarding is done by stairs indications were given regarding which stairs to use (front or back) depending on seat row number. Seat very nice, same for the blanket pillow and amenity kit. The headphones are not that good (not to say crappy) and I could not use mine with the two prongs, that was a minus, but hey! Staff was very friendly and helpful, making sure we got fed and watered in an efficient manner. Food quality was good and the sparkling wine made the trip shorter. A great trip, highly recommended.
AircraftA333
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteWindhoek to Frankfurt
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"Disappointed with the business class"

(Austria)

Not Verified | Disappointed with the business class, was really looking forward to it as it was my first time. The outward was ok but the return was not what I was expecting. Seating very narrow. It was more or less a better economy seating arrangement with more leg room. Anyhow one should have expectations. Disappointment for a long haul flight
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Date FlownJune 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Definitely too expensive"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nothing comfortable, inedible food, old airplane. Definitely too expensive for what it was. Will never fly with this disaster again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Frankfurt
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“Avoid ruining your travel experience”

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked a flight through Lufthansa for my brother and sister to travel with me to Santorini. I tried to check in online, but it wasn't working, so I had to go to the airport counter. At the airport, I went to the Discover Airlines self-check-in machine, as my flight was operated by them, and it gave me an error. The staff at Discover Airlines directed me to the Lufthansa counter. The Lufthansa attendant attempted to check us in but also failed and sent me back to Discover Airlines. At the Discover Airlines counter, the assistant tried to generate my siblings' boarding passes but faced issues. After involving a supervisor and a 20-minute wait, another supervisor managed to resolve the problem. They then hurriedly told us to run as we were late, despite the delays being their fault. We suspect the system crash was due to purchasing my siblings' tickets with my credit card, which should have been an easy issue to resolve. After a lot of stress, we barely made it to the plane on time for takeoff. Now, I'm sitting on a super hot plane waiting for departure, and we've been told we have to wait another 20 minutes in the sun because around 50 bags are missing. I can't believe my poor siblings have to fly back to Frankfurt with this airline. I wish I could rate it a 0. If you have ANY other option, choose it. Avoid ruining your travel experience with this airline's incompetence.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Santorini
Date FlownJune 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“unacceptable customer service”

(United States)

Trip Verified | On 5/3/24 my husband and I took a direct flight with Discover airlines (a subsidiary of Lufthansa) from Las Vegas to Frankfurt Germany. We arrived only to find out that the entire cargo of luggage for all the passengers was left off the plane, none of the passengers received their luggage. Who does this?? Then we have to literally provide coordinates to the airline missing luggage department because we had Airtags in our luggage so they could locate our luggage in the Las Vegas terminal where discover airlines left it. Discover airlines took a full week before we got our luggage. We submitted a claim and it’s been over a month with several calls to follow up and no response, this is unacceptable customer service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Frankfurt
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“spend more with a reputable Airline”

(Croatia)

Not Verified | I flew from Split to Frankfurt via business class. The business class in just like economy, there is no difference, exactly the same type of economy seat! On the flight back, I missed the boarding as the gates got changed around and by the time I found the gate it was closed. Then they lost my bag, which was bad enough. I still don't have it back, and the customer service that you have to deal with in trying to find it, of begin compensation is like nothing you will have ever experienced before! Wrong numbers, emails that no-one answers, forms to fill out that no one replies to. They thought they found my bag and sent me some other poor persons bag to Split airport! A friend of mine's Aunt travelled with her friend on Discover a few Months ago and both of their bag's were lost too. They still haven't found them or received any compensation. Please heed this message, and spend a bit more on a ticket with a reputable Airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt to Split
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly this airline again"

(United States)

Not Verified |   I was traveling with my spouse and two teenagers. We paid for extra legroom. We found out when we checked in at the airport that we lost our extra legroom seats (my spouse next to me and our kids behind us.). They stuck us in a row of 4 with no extra legroom. Their reason: the plane had changed. The lady at the desk couldn’t give us a refund nor would she give us an earlier boarding so we could make sure to have overhead bin space that we were originally planning on having. My spouse called the number on the card the lady gave us to ask for a refund because there is no customer service available at the Orlando airport. When he asked why he was not notified of the change, he was told he should have noticed the change when he checked us in… which we did at the airport. So, neat. They said we “should” have our refund in 7-10 days. We will never fly this airline again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Frankfurt
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"said that I did not have a visa"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | My daughter and I were supposed to fly to Istanbul. But I was not allowed to do this, because Discover Airlines said that I did not have a visa to visit this country with my Kazakh passport. Since our stay was supposed to be 45 days. They said that I could only stay in Turkey for 30 days without a visa with my Kazakh passport and discover airlines didn't let me board my flight When we called the hotline, they told us that these rules are dictated by the Turkish Embassy. Today we called the Turkish embassy and they told us that the visa-free period for citizens of Kazakhstan to stay in Turkey is 90 days. We waited on the Lufthansa hotline to reschedule our tickets for 2 hours.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Istanbul via Frankfurt
Date FlownMay 2024
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"very disappointed with the quality"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Having just completed our trip to Egypt where we flew Premium Economy on the leg between Calgary and Frankfurt we wanted to share a number of observations. Our flights were originally booked through Air Canada. Several months after the bookings we were informed Air Canada had turned the route over to Lufthansa, who then pushed the flights onto Discover Airlines. We were very disappointed with the quality of the flight experience given we had paid top dollar for Premium Economy seats on Air Canada flights. On both the Calgary Frankfurt flight and Frankfurt Calgary flight the size of the seat and the leg room was less than available on other carriers’ premium economy seat offerings. The Premium Economy section was nothing more than a flimsy screen that separated this section from the Economy section of the aircraft. There was no meaningful separation between Premium Economy and Economy on the flight. Discover staff in Calgary organized the boarding of our flight in an efficient manner, However, the gate experience in Frankfurt was abysmal. A call was put out asking families with small children and family members who needed special support to board to come forward to board. Once this group was onboard there was not attempt to organize the balance of the boarding by groups. Without leadership from the gate staff, the balance of passengers simply pushed forward to where boarding passes were checked. Once on board the crew did their best to provide a reasonable level of service. We were very surprised when we informed if someone wanted a drink that included liquor, one had to buy the liquor. The quality of the meals did not meet the standard provided by other carriers either. The meals were quite spicy, the second meal on the return flight to Calgary was not appropriate given it was early morning for the passengers. The movie offerings were dated. There were a few new movies but for the most part the selection included movies that had been produced years ago. It is very questionable what the value of Premium Economy is on a Discover Airline flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteCalgary to Frankfurt
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"a big disappointment"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | On both flight they missed to deliver our baby trolley at the airplane/gate even if its tagged. Dull personnel on board. We asked if its possible to eat later on the flight and they said yes, but then it was a problem to deliver food. Ticket were bought as Lufthansa so was a big disappointment to have this third class airline handling us. Will not use their services again.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Palmas to Munich
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 30 Reviews