Cape Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 27 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"blocked me from emailing them"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I actually have not flown Cape Air yet as my ticket is for 2 weeks from now. I emailed Cape Air asking for refund due to corona virus. Sadly, I live in US and nobody can travel, all people are cancelling trips .. so it's not possible for me to get to San Juan and then take the Cape Air flight even I wanted to. Other airlines, hotels, are refunding ok. Cape Air said I could reuse the ticket in coming months, then I said, like most, I will not be able to afford to travel for this kind of expensive trip for years as we resave. Then I get an email message that Cape AIr literally 'blocked me' from emailing them. Despite the fact that almost nobody will be able to fly Cape Air for several weeks so plans will be empty, despite the fact that Cape Air will likely cancel most flights soon anyway, Cape Air is 'choosing' to keep all the money from hundreds of flights over coming weeks paid by people getting sick, losing jobs, and in crisis. Pay more if you have to for another airline!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Juan to Tortola
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Cape Air is not dependable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Boston to Rutland. This airline should change its name to something more descriptive such as “50/50 Air”, I travel for business and have done my best to work around the fact that Cape Air is not dependable. Unfortunately, as a business traveler, a tax payer, and a person who wants to promote the greater Rutland area of Vermont as a great place to live and work, Cape Air is NOT an asset. They are consistently late, often unable to fly due to seemingly mild weather issues, and often challenged by weight limits ( meaning passengers with paid tickets get bumped because another passengers luggage was too heavy ). The federal government subsidizes Cape Air almost $200 per passenger for Rutland, plus whatever Cape Air charges per ticket. Tonight I got bumped due to Cape Air accepting other passengers with too much luggage, so Cape Air, with YOUR TAX DOLLARS, had a driver deliver me from Boston to Rutland (3.5 hours) in an attempt to make up for their poor planning and tiny planes. At a minimum, the airline should set a weight limit for passengers and luggage, and for those that travel heavy, force them to buy a second ticket to cover the extra baggage weight. Long story short, Rutland needs a new airline, with larger planes capable of handling more passengers and cargo. Local, state and federal authorities need to do more homework and see that many folks traveling from Rutland drive to Burlington, Albany, and Hartford to catch flights. Many of these potential customers would fly out of Rutland if there was a more dependable airline proving service.
AircraftCessna
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Rutland
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"customer care was sub par"

(United States)

Not Verified | St. Croix to San Juan. The flight was fine - customer care before and after was sub par. At checkin I was refused checking my bags through to my final destination. My printed itinerary showed entire route attendant didn't care. Called United my connecting airline who acknowledged everything was in place and correct they called Cape Air. Response they still didn't care would not make the change. We had to get our bags in San Juan go back to United check them through go through TSA again and run to get on the plane. I am not a fan of Cape Air they had the power to fix it at check in and refused multiple times. Lazy, Uncaring and not my problem, was the attitude. never again.
Aircraftcessna
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSt. Croix to San Juan
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the flight was canceled"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My wife and I had a flight scheduled for past Friday, May 24, 2019 @ 12:50PM from White Plains NY Airport to Lebanon NH Airport. Upon arriving at the airport we were informed that the flight was canceled out New Hampshire to White Plains due to weather. When I arrived home, I called the Lebanon Airport and they informed that had no weather related issues. The only canceled flight was that of CapeAir Flight 9K1083. I also found out that there was another CapeAir flight later that day and the next day from White Plains to Lebanon – and was offered neither option. I have repeatedly tried calling the company support number of 1-508-771-6944, with the call either terminating or being informed about protracted wait times.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWhite Plains to Lebanon
Date FlownMay 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"this was a nightmare"

(United States)

Verified Review | Cape Air canceled both of our flights between Saranac Lake, NY and Boston. And both of these Cape Air flights were booked to connect to international flights into and out of Boston Logan. They at least let us know about the cancellation of the outbound flight from Saranac Lake to Boston and moved up to a much earlier flight (which left us with an 8 hour layover at BOS). But on the way home to Saranac Lake, they canceled our flight from BOS at the last minute while we were waiting at the gate. Their solution to cancelling our Saranac Lake flight was to rebook us into Plattsburgh (a 1+ hr drive away from Saranac Lake) and book a driver to take us from Plattsburgh Airport to Saranac Lake airport (where we had all left our cars). Sounds good but we got into the Plattsburgh Airport and there was NO driver. It was late, the rental car desks were closed. We were on the phone with Cape Air reps for over an hour - none of whom offered any solution. Finally, but sheer luck, a taxi driver pulled up to the airport and found us there. We had to hire him to drive us to Saranac Lake airport and pay the cost. Cape Air says to fill out multiple forms, attach receipts, etc... and they will reimburse us the taxi fare. Honestly, this was a nightmare. No one apologized.
AircraftCessna
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Saranac Lake
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a huge disappointment"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | We booked these Cape Air flights to get to Bimini island, Bahamas. We were very excited to be landing on and leaving from The water. Weather on our first flight was to bad, too much wind so we had a delay And were Forced to land on ground. The "seaplane" service from Bimini left from the airport again instead of on the water, even though it was a Beautiful sunny day And the competition had not problem starting from the water. We Saw 2 planes coming in And leaving from the water without any problems an hour before we left. This was a huge disappointment. We heard that they hardly ever land or leave from the water!! Please be aware of this when thinking of booking a seaplane flight. Landing in FLL was far from main buildings, but a shuttle was waiting for us to take us to the terminal. The service desk and pilots are very friendly and helpful, but we won't book a seaplane flight at Cape Air again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFLL to BIM
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff could not have cared less"

(United States)

I sat waiting while they had to locate the pilot, we left an hour late. Once I scheduled the first flight back to Nantucket because I was coming in on a red eye, they didn't run that flight and gave no reason, I had to wait another 2 hours. Recently when they changed over their computer system somehow my reservation 'froze' and they could not let me on the plane. I waited while two schedule flights left and had to buy another ticket just to get to Boston, to miss the event I was trying to attend. I could not believe that this company would set up their employees for such failure with this new computer system. No one was trained to operate the computer and it was a complete disaster. And this last time I was delayed due to fog in NY and even though I made it on time they had sent that plane early. Sent early despite knowledge of the east coast weather and despite the fact they didn't offer another flight for 3 hours. You may be asking yourself, "Why would this lady keep flying Cape Air?" Well the answer is there is not any competition for this airline and they will treat you as such. Because what can we do as a customer when there is no other option? What do they have to offer an an apology or reconciliation for their poor service - nothing! The staff could not have cared less about my reservation or predicament. I have never been treated so poorly by a company over and over. The Cape Air website speaks of great customer service and quality but that is obviously just a cloak for their poor customer service practices and obvious lack of concern for any of their patrons. Take the bus, Rent a car, anything but don't bother to fly with them. It only leads to frustration and no one accountable for their failings.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBOS to AK
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never recommend Cape Air"

(United States)

I fly 20 -30 times per year with a lot of that international. Much of that to very remote locations and large cities. I have never been treated worse and would never recommend Cape Air. First if your flight originates on Cape Air you can not precheck online or use any real airline apps. Major pain for frequent flyers. Of course this means you won't know your gate, gate changes, flight status updates. You must go through security twice. When you fly into Logan you need a long layover time because you have to change terminals and go through security. The stated times on their site is "Wheels up" the flights will take off early. Today I freely admit I arrived late to Augusta airport (size of my living room). The plane is boarding and appears only 1 person on the entire plane. They refuse to check me (remember no such thing as precheck on this flight and your connection). The plane is still open. It is 15 minutes before the scheduled departure and the plane leaves. I have one bag no check in, and there is no one boarding it would have taken 2 minutes and the plane still could have left 10 minutes. Insult to injury they refuse to help with connecting flights. They can but will not. The person told me if they have an issue they will help, but if it is your issue you are on your own. So why bother? Portland is an hour away and is a real airport. Don't kid yourself you will not save time or aggravation using Cape Air.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAUG to BOS
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

Cape Air customer review

(United Kingdom)

LEB-BOS on Cessna 402. Only 4x passengers on the flight. All staff at Lebanon Regional Airport were polite. Weather for the flight was awful, cloud and rain, so no chance of any view on the way. Very smooth trip despite the weather. Arrived on time.
AircraftCessna 402
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLEB-BOS
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Cape Air customer review

(United States)

12/22/2014 flight 1579 and 1/2/2015 flight 1574. My first impression - there's definitely plenty of room for improvement in the areas of customer service. On a positive note the actual flights themselves were great however there were several issues that left me frustrated and stressed out - not a good way to start and end vacation lack of efficiency lack of sensitivity care and compassion for customer sensitive issues (such as held back luggage) inconsistent information unclear information (resulting in a surprise $280 in luggage fees). Lack of attentiveness to customer inconsistent protocol (you need signs posted in the airport and don't cover up gate doors with plants) so that customers can find you.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort N/A
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
no
1 to 10 of 27 Reviews