Bangkok Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 335 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Staff went above and beyond"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chiang Rai to Mandalay via Bangkok. Staff went above and beyond for us! We had two flights on Bangkok Airways, transferring at Bangkok and arriving in Myanmar. However, in January we need to fly two different low-cost companies from Myanmar to Cambodia, again via a short transfer in Bangkok. The Bangkok Airways check-in staff caught a big problem with the future use of my Thai visa and went above and beyond in order to resolve it with the Immigration. I have to thank the Immigration officers at CEI airport as well, for their willingness to help, but the Bangkok Airways staff was so helpful I could never imagine getting such assistance from them, as indeed they did not have to. As for the flights themselves, easy, timely, clean, and short, and we even got meals on both short flights! A bit thank you!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChiang Rai to Mandalay via Bangkok
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Lovely short flight"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Lovely short flight from Ko Samui to Bangkok. Flight with well presented and nice food and no hassle at all. There are two lounges at USM, choose the Blue Ribon Lounge at gate 2, much bigger and better than the one at gate 1.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKo Samui to Bangkok
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Nothing to complain about"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Ko Samui. Biz class with a 2-2 classic recliner seats configuration. Brought by special mini bus to the airplane, boarding first. Flight departed on time and arrived a little early. Very attentive and not rushed service, very good and well presented food (better than Thai domestic Biz class food). Baggage delivery absolutely first, even before the baggages of passengers from an earlier landed aircraft. Nothing to complain about.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Ko Samui
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"aircraft was old and dirty"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Trat. The aircraft was old and dirty. The cabin crew were great. The check in in Trat was slow and they did not speak functional English. Must note that our second flight with Bangkok Airways was on a brand new aircraft.
AircraftATR
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTrat to Bangkok
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"every flight has been excellent"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Krabi to Bangkok. This now is about my 10th flight with Bangkok airways. I have to say every flight so far has been excellent. The flight attendants have always been very friendly and professional. We always get a meal which is good quality even on the shorter flights. The flights have all left on time or within 5 minutes. My bags have always arrived with me. Every time we are in the region this is my go to airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKrabi to Bangkok
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"FAs were professional, pleasant"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Yangon to Bangkok. Outbound flight was uneventful, boarding a bit organized via announced zones though a few managed to jump the queue. Inbound was better (although the boarding gate was noisy due to the squeaking sound coming from the escalator above Gate D5, I wish they could fix that very soon). In-flight service was OK although because of the air turbulence, outbound service for hot beverage was cancelled while inbound had to be rushed and was amazed how the FAs managed to balance pouring hot beverages between rows without spilling on customers. Were served hot meals even for a short flight. Plane was maintained well, although it would help if even TV programs are available as IFE. FAs were professional, pleasant and spoke good English. Will fly Bangkok Airways again. Lastly, their lounge access given to Economy passengers was indeed pleasantly welcomed. The area got crowded at some point but food and beverages were refilled quickly and some passengers who left their used utensils on the limited tables were swiftly cleared by the staff.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYangon to Bangkok
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"lack of convenient flights"

(Cambodia)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Phnom Penh. Availability of lounge is good. Most areas inside the plane not clean. We took off from the terminal instead of the usual ferrying out to the tarmac by bus. I use them because lack of convenient flights but would change if viable options. This boutique airline looking old and shabby compared to newer planes.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Phnom Penh
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"charged for luggage over 20kg"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They should tell you ahead of time for delayed Luggage. and you get charged for check in luggage over 20kg. If you are taking the last afternoon flight from Chiang Mai to Koh Samui, your checked-in luggage may not arrive on time since the layover at Bangkok (you will stop at BKK) is only one hour and 15 minutes. You may waste an extra 40 minutes waiting in line after you've discovered that your luggage is not on the carousel. It would be nice if they told you in advance to expect this and to fill out the form via computer of where your hotel is located at for the luggage delivery. You can just go straight to your hotel and get your luggage delivered in the morning. Bangkok Airways had poor communications skills. They charge you an extra 1000-1500 Thai Baht (depending on which airport you fly out of) for anything over the permitted 20kg amount. I flew from BKK to Chiang Mai (paid an over-limit fee); Chiang Mai to USM (paid an over-limit fee); then USM to BKK (paid an over-limit fee). The flight attendants on the first two flights did not tell me to sign up on their website in order to request special meals (I asked them if they had vegetarian options). On the last flight, a flight attendant told me to visit their website in the future.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Koh Samui
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"absolutely worth the money"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Koh Samui. Great flight that was absolutely worth the money. The check in airport was very fast and was very friendly. The plane was relatively small, but the seat had enough space for such a short flight. In flight there was a free meal which you could choose before on the website. In addition a bottle of water. Free hot drinks such as coffee or tea were also offered on the flight. The flight was very punctual and the crew very nice. I can recommend this airline in any case. Toller Flug der sein Geld absolut Wert war. Das Einchecken man Flughafen ging sehr schnell und war sehr freundlich. Das Flugzeug war zwar relativ klein, aber am Sitzplatz hatte man genug Platz für so einen kurzen Flug. Im Flug gab es ein kostenloses Essen was man sich vorher auf der Website aussuchen konnte. Dazu eine Flasche Wasser. Auf dem Flug wurden ebenfalls kostenlose Heißgetränke wie Kaffe oder Tee angeboten. Der Flug war sehr pünktlich und die Crew sehr nett. Ich kann diese Fluggesellschaft aufjedenfall weiterempfehlen.
AircraftATR 72-600
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Koh Samui
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"didn't propose any help or flexibility"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | I fly a lot for my work and had the worst check-in experience in my life. Extra luggage cost was as much as the ticket! There was no option to book additional luggage on the portal I used, and the airline website was not working for my booking before. I am a professional cameraman, and always fly with a lot of equipment. Every other airline understands this and is flexible with carry-on because most of my equipment is forbidden in checked-in luggage. The flight was almost empty and still they didn't propose any help or flexibility. If I have the chance, I will always avoid flying Bangkok Airways. Aircrafts are tiny, old and with propellers, leg space for seat is inhumane.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Chiang Mai
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no