Bangkok Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 346 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"definitely a boutique airline"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Bangkok Airways is charging very steep prices for a route they have a monopoly on and takes only about an hour and 15 minutes to complete in an older ATR 72-500 in which you definitely can notice the age. Airport is quite a distance from Mandalay and you are required to enter through security prior to check-in. Check-in was slow, but were welcomed by a friendly agent who invited us to use their lounge. Bangkok Airways is definitely a boutique airline that offers complimentary drinks/snacks at certain airports for their economy passengers too. Lounge was ok with a limited snack offer (hot food and alcohol you would be charged for). Boarding was slightly late and went by stairs to ground. Welcomed by two lovely cabin crew and took only 15 minutes to get airborne. Complimentary meal provided with drinks (cold unfortunately as there is no galley in an ATR). Landing was hard but on time and we were quickly through customs.
AircraftAT75
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMandalay to Chiang Mai
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"did get us on the later flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | For this flight I was connecting from a flight from London and when originally booked there was an over 3 hour transit time, however Bangkok Airways then cancelled this flight and we were booked on an earlier flight with only a 70 minute connection time. Our flight from London arrived late due to the Pakistan airspace restrictions and although we were met by a lady from Bangkok Airways and rushed across the airport we did not make the connection as the lady was not able to use any pressure to expedite the delay at transit immigration at security. However Bangkok Airways did get us on the later flight and the 4 hours in their lounge at BKK was ok! Once on board the A320 was quite tired and the seat cushions past their best. The flight arrived on time and they managed to serve a hot drink and a pastry in the 1 hour duration. In spite of the missed connection our luggage arrived on the flight so this was good!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chiang Mai
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"offer a good service for a good price"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Check in at Koh Samui Airport was very quick. Flight boarded on time. At Koh Samui airport you are bused from the terminal in small open buses and as we were seated in row 18 boarded by rear steps of plane. Seat legroom was OK for this short flight. Plenty of space available for my wheelie case in the overhead locker. Flight departed on time. We were served a breakfast of yogurt, fruit and a chicken sandwich, the sandwich was very dry so only had one bite! Cup of tea actually tasted of tea, which is not often the case on flights. We arrived in Bangkok on time. Bangkok Airways may not do everything right but offer a good service for a good price.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKo Samui to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Cabin crew were very pleasant"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Chiang Mai to Koh Samui in Economy Class. Check in was quite quick at Chiang Mai and we used the Bangkok Airways lounge, which although basic is free for all passengers. Flight boarded on time and Bangkok Airways managed the boarding process quite efficiently and did not allow passengers to jump their allotted boarding group. The A319 was in good condition and was probably one of their newer planes. A hot meal service was provided on this flight and included seafood with noodles and whilst the noodles were a bit soggy the meal was very tasty. Cabin crew were very pleasant. Flight landed on time and not too long wait for baggage. Overall a very good flight.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Koh Samui
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"baggage took more than 1 hour"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Chiang Mai to Bangkok. The boarding in Chiang Mai was a chaotic mess, and upon arrival in BKK there was no bus ready and we waited 20 minutes in the plane. Then the baggage took more than 1 hour to reach the carousel. All told, the waiting was longer than the flight. No one from came to the carousel to let us know and there was no announcement, but their office is near the domestic baggage carousels and the staff in there were utterly clueless and disinterested.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"waited 1 hour for the bags"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Chiang Mai to Bangkok. Bangkok ground operations were a disaster. We waited 20 minutes on the plane for a bus to take us to the terminal. Then we waited 1 hour for the bags. Staff were friendly and useless.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"a massive disappointment"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Phu Quoc to Bangkok. For some ridiculous reason, Bangkok Airways sent a reminder around 25 hours prior to departure reminding me to check in online. That would have saved so much time - only the airline does not permit online check in for this flight! Deciding to arrive early at the airport was a major mistake! Three check-in desks, yet the act of checking in was the slowest I can recall in decades of travelling. No doubt this was a result of many passengers with connecting code-share flights at BKK, but there were also ticket problems with some. To wait 30 minutes to get to a desk when there were only 40 passengers in the various queues before me was infuriating when a simple bag drop would have taken only minutes - had internet check in been an option. At this airport passport control also takes forever. Then Bangkok Airways uses a bus gate. Boarding was a slow joke with many passengers forced to bake in the midday heat with no cover and no access to sun protection cream. The two flight attendants seemed thoroughly bored throughout the flight. The gourmet ‘meal’ was a starchy stodgy spinach cream puff and a ‘hard’ coconut cream. I left most on the tray. Then at BKK another bus gate with a driver who seemed to take us all round the airport before doubling back. Had this been a budget carrier, I could have accepted its failures. For an airline with such a major reputation, this was a massive disappointment.
AircraftATR72-600
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhu Quoc to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Great service thank you"

(Thailand)

Not Verified | Left my luggage at Bangkok Airport and it was taken to lost property. Bangkok Airways retrieved it for me and sent it on the next available flight. Great service thank you.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Sukhothai
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"old planes, low legspace"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Phuket. Bangkok Airways bills itself as "Asia's Boutique Airline" which is a bit of a joke given their old planes, low legspace, lackluster food service, and no in flight entertainment. Just about the only thing that is boutique is the price. Flights are extremely expensive but Bangkok Airways runs a monopoly on many internal routes in Thailand, which let's them get away with it. The first leg was infested with mosquitos and the plane was rather old, but service was ok. Flight was delayed by 45 minutes which led to a tight connection, but staff were available to es ort us through immigration and to the next flight. The second flight was also an old but serviceable plane. Unfortunately, the airline managed to lose our bags as well as those of half the plane, which led to a massive two hour queue to claim missing baggage. How on earth an airline can leave behind the bags of 50+ passengers on the same flight is beyond me. What a joke.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteYangon to Phuket via Bangkok
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"good value for the money"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Mandalay to Suvarnabhumi with Bangkok Airways. Easy check in, very friendly staff at Mandalay airport and boarding gate. The aircraft was clean and the crew were really nice and polite. Excellent customer service, food was really tasty and good value for the money.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMandalay to Suvarnabhumi
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes