Air Namibia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 77 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"excellent from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We travelled on Air Namibia after our travel company arranged substitute flights to Victoria Falls due to our Virgin Atlantic plane being delayed from London resulting in us missing our connection. Virgin were very unhelpful offering a new flight 2 days later! The trip with Air Namibia was excellent from start to finish. The crew were very friendly on board, the food was nice. When we landed at Windhoek the ground staff were very helpful ensuring our bags continued the journey and we were kept informed.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Victoria Falls via Windhoek
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst airline I have ever flown"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airline I have ever flown with and their customer service is even worse. Less than 24 hours before I was due to fly I received an email from them informing me that these time of my flight would be changing and would now be 3 hours later. This would mean that I would miss my connecting flight, which they were well away of. I spent the rest of the day trying to sort it out, even going to the Air Namibia offices in Windhoek but everyone I spoke to promised to call me back and never did. Eventually, less than 12 hours before my flight I got a reply to tell me they couldn't do anything. I had to spend a night in Johannesburg, booking into a hotel, at my own expense and arrived at my destination a day late. I have since written to Air Namibia on a number of occasions, and not received one reply. This company is appalling, apparently I have since heard that they have a reputation for this sort of thing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWindhoek to Livingstone
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"incredibly inefficient"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Windhoek. I am in total shock and horror. The communication channels for Air Namibia are incredibly inefficient. I have tried to call 8 numbers to try re-route a ticket, and there has been no connectivity or no answer from Cape Town offices, Johannesburg offices and even Namibia's offices (including head office). This is unbelievably unacceptable? I was on hold at the call centre for 30 mins, ad the website's refund policies do not load. An empty box appears, making it very difficult for us to invest in a ticket change without certainty. I have never flown with Air Namibia before, but I have had countless flights in my life, and changed tickets and routes many times - and it has never proven to be so long, tedious and inefficient. Please could you work on making sure your communication channels are more efficient to ensure a seamless customer experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Windhoek
Date FlownJuly 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"a very pleasant flight experience"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Windhoek. Overall it was a very pleasant flight experience. The staff at the check-in counter were very helpful to change us to our desired seats because we had to check-in at the webpage of another airline (codeshare). The seats were comfortable with an average seat-pitch. On board were three options of meal: Chicken, Beef and Fish. We had forgotten to order a vegetarian meal. But the staff prepared us a vegetarian mean from the sides of the other meals. In generall al staff of Air Namibia, with whom we were in contact were very friendly and helpful.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Windhoek
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"crew were friendly and helpful"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Windhoek to Frankfurt with Air Namibia. The ground staff were helpful to assign us the desired seats. The plane was quite new and provided a modern entertainment system (unfortunately with a smaller selection of movies compared to other airlines). The seats were comfortable with a usual seat pitch. The crew were friendly and helpful. During the flight were three choices of food offered (Chicken, Beef and Fish).
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWindhoek to Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Never fly with Air Namibia"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Windhoek. Never fly with Air Namibia, flew back to Frankfurt via Windhoek on 17.02.2019 after a four-week holiday in Cape Town. The problem actually started when checking in in Cape Town. We have never experienced such unfriendly and unwilling groundworkers who refuse work. The highlight of the outrage was, however, that for my golf baggage that the approved dimensions exceeded by as much as 6cm, a transport fee of 2 322, - Rand (about € 150, -) was charged. The checking-in employee put on his tape measure until he really came to the 6 cm. Of course we did not agree and tried by all means to avoid this arbitrary charge. Unfortunately, we have come to the wrong address with the two colleagues. Neither Ziupad nor Sean (Supervisor) were in any way willing to compromise. They shone through ignorance and unimaginable stubbornness, combined with a rudeness that is second to none. Even my objection that the luggage on the way in Franfkfurt in any way appreciated and simply waved, the situation did not improve. After much discussion in the course of which I wanted to speak to the supervisor, they even did not shy away from letting the police come to the counter. We paid a total of € 4423.16 for the flight. And then this very nice holiday was completely messed up by this action. That was just the beginning of a flight full of mishaps. On the connecting flight to Frankfurt, I can only confirm what the travelers from France (N Ranelle) from 29.10.2018 had experienced before me. Very unfriendly crew. The two business class toilets were blocked for hours by the crew. Entertainment System failed in more than half of Business Class. No magazines. Seats only mediocre. Drink service during the night not available. The top, however, was the Business Lounge in Windhoek. Ripped sofas, makeshift louvered ceilings. Dirty carpeting, plastic cutlery and dishes. I have attached pictures. Unfortunately, I also have to say that the airline does not manage to keep any aircraft or building in order. Everything is used until it falls apart. In the future, we will fly to South Africa only Arab or Asian airlines, even if we will be traveling longer. For a stay of more than four weeks, this is not so significant and is more than offset by the friendly and perfect service, the modern airplanes and business lounges with smaller money. Leider auch bei uns: Nie mehr mit Air Namibia fliegen, wir sind am 17.02.2019 nach einem vier-wöchigen Urlaub in Kapstadt zurück nach Frankfurt über Windhoek geflogen. Das Problem ging eigentlich schon beim Einchecken in Kapstadt los. So ein unfreundliches und unwilliges, arbeitsverweigerndes Bodenpersonal haben wir noch nicht erlebt. Der Höhepunkt der Unverschämtheiten war aber der, dass mir für mein Golfgepäck, dass die zugelassenen Maße um sage und schreibe 6cm übertraf, eine Beförderungsgebühr von 2.322,-- Rand (ca. € 150,--) in Rechnung gestellt wurde. Der eincheckende Mitarbeiter legte sein Maßband so oft an, bis er wirklich auf die 6 cm kam. Natürlich waren wir damit nicht einverstanden und versuchten mit allen Mitteln, diese willkürliche Gebühr zu vermeiden. Doch leider sind wir bei den beiden Kollegen an die falsche Adresse geraten. Weder Ziupad noch Sean (Supervisor) zeigten sich in irgendeiner Weise kompromißbereit. Sie glänzten durch Ignoranz und unvorstellbarer Sturheit, verbunden mit einer Unfreundlichkeit, die ihresgleichen sucht. Auch mein Einwand, dass das Gepäck auf dem Hinflug in Franfkfurt in keiner Weise gewürdigt und einfach durchgewinkt wurde, verbesserte die Situation nicht. Nach heftiger Diskussion in deren Verlauf ich dne Vorgesetzten sprechen wollte, scheuten sie sich sogar nicht, die Polizei zum Schalter kommen zu lassen. Wir haben für den Flug insgesamt € 4423,16 bezahlt. Und dann wurde uns dieser sehr schöne Urlaub durch diese Aktion komplett versaut. Das war nur der Anfang eines Fluges voller Pannen. Bei dem Anschlußflug nach Frankfurt kann ich nur bestätigen, was die Reisenden aus Frankreich (N Ranelle) vom 29.10.2018 vor mir erlebt hatten. Sehr unfreundliche Crew. Die beiden Business Class Toilietten wurden stundenlang von der Crew blockiert. Entertainment System bei mehr als der Hälfte der Business Class ausgefallen. Keine Zeitschriften. Sitze auch nur mittelmäßig. Getränkeservice während der Nacht nicht vorhanden. Die Spitze war allerdings die Business Lounge in Windhoek. Zerfetzte Sofas, notdürftig mit Decken kaschiert. Dreckiger Teppichboden, Plastik-Besteck und Geschirr. Ich habe Bilder beigefügt. Leider muß ich auch hier feststellen, dass es die Airline nicht schafft, weder Flugzeuge noch Gebäude in Stand zuhalten. Es wird alles so lange benutzt, bis es auseinander fällt. Wir werden in Zukunft nach Südafrika nur noch arabischen oder asiatischen Airlines fliegen, auch wenn wir dadurch länger unterwegs sein werden. Bei einem Aufenthalt von mehr als vier Wochen fällt dies aber nicht so ins Gewicht und wird durch den freundlichen und perfekten Service, die modernen Flugzeuge und Business Lounges bei kleinerem Geld mehr als wett gemacht.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteCape Town to Windhoek
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never fly again with Air Namibia"

(France)

Trip Verified | We were traveling from Frankfurt to Windhoek in the business class. A night flight. Several screens were not working in the business class. Others could not been switched off. 4 air hostesses, 3 woman (the oldest one was friendly I have to say) and 1 man. Unbelievable behavior of the crew (never seen in any other company) in some way imperious, telling clients to do things, without any courtesy and politeness. No friendly responses to questions either. My daughter politely asked for a second bread roll and there were a prompt and harsh answer without any smile: "no you have to wait that I have given one to everybody!" It was embarrassing. I had the impression that she was angry about her work and everybody in business class. Not willing to do her job and not willing to make people feel comfortable. The man was also very unpolite, he stood in front of passengers with a plastic bag open (to collect blankets), just waiting that you put your blanket by yourself in this collecting bag which is not a problem, but no word, no "please could you" no "thank you" or something polite. It was highly unprofessional. They were all ungracious except the older lady. We arrived at around 7h00 at Windhoek. At around 12h00 we realized that we have had forgotten our computer in the overhead compartment. Aircraft was still in the airport. I called lost and found and a very bored lady said, the cleaner have given nothing to me and I cannot do anything. Later at the airport, ground staff also told me how can you proof that you have forgotten the computer there! Cleaner from the aircraft said that he had found nothing and that maybe the crew took the computer because they do first check to collect forgotten items. At the day of arrival, Air Namibia ground staff was not willing to do any effort or investigation to get the item back. The day after customer care contact told me maybe passengers took it. Just to make things clear: In the business class, the overhead compartment is quite personal. Two seats have their own large overhead compartement. We were sitting completely in front of the aircraft. While leaving the aircraft, no passenger were passing after us and even the computer could not have been seen by other passengers. The overhead compartments are placed very high in the Air Namibia aircraft, computer was not in a bag. Our overhead compartment looked empty, thats why we forgot the computer. We will never fly again with Air Namibia.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt to Windhoek
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"entertainment not working"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Windhoek. Unfriendly crew and more than 50% of the entertainment systems not working. Air Namibia knows about the problem because there are reviews from moths ago describing the same problem. Obviously they do nothing against it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Windhoek
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"certainly a step above SAA"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Windhoek to Jahannesburg. Excellent service, food excellent, great crew, comfortable seats and certainly a step above SAA. I travel 10 times a year to Namibia, and unfortunately I’m driven by frequent flyer programme loyalty, but as the said carrier continues to shrink its network, it’s going to be air Namibia for my future trips
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteWindhoek to Jahannesburg
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"customer service is non-existent"

(Namibia)

Trip Verified | Paris to Windhoek via Frankfurt. We have flown Air Namibia a few times. Their inflight service and on-time arrivals were quite good. The way they handled connecting flights for us however was incompetent and the general customer service which was needed as a result, was incredibly poor. We booked our 13 year old son to Paris on Air Namibia. While the connection via Frankfurt (connection flight on Lufthansa) was o.k. on the way back Air Namibia booked him on an Air France flight from Paris to Frankfurt, with onward connection to Windhoek on Air Namibia. In Paris he was denied boarding on the grounds that Air France – unlike Lufthansa - has a minimum age requirement for alone travelling juniors of 14 years. (Lufthansa's minimum age is 12). Air France check-in staff said that he should have never been booked that way by Air Namibia as the age of the traveler is obviously known when the booking is made. When he was denied boarding we rushed to the Windhoek Airport asking Air Namibia staff for help and to re-book our son on LH connecting flight for the next day. We were surprised that while admitting their mistake they charged us for the re-booking (LH instead of AF) and said we should contact Customer Service for a refund. Apart from a holding reply after 2 days we have not heard back from them in more than 3 months. Reminders were ignored. Not only a very incompetent booking system but also a customer service which is non-existent. Sad for an airline which otherwise tries hard to compete. We might fly them again for any easy non-stop flights, but certainly not for any trip that requires a connecting flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Windhoek via Frankfurt
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 77 Reviews