Air Namibia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 82 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"make abuse of the Coronavirus"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Johannesburg to Windhoek. They make abuse of the Coronavirus. Because we cannot go to Namibia at the moment we have to change the dates of our holiday. Air Namibia will charge the normal fee (45 usd per person!) to change the dates! Really unbelievable! KLM already did it for free!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Windhoek
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly with this airline again"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Windhoek. We never got on the airplane. Air Namibia sold us the ticket after the gates were closed for boarding. We missed the flight and I've been trying to get our money back since August 2019. They admitted the were wrong, which I've got in writing. They then payed just over half the amount due, now saying we need to pay penalties. If the mistake was with the airline, as admitted, why are the passengers paying for it? It's R2000.00 in penalties. I will never fly with this airline again, as this is not our first bad experience with them. My parents have property in Namibia, so we fly there often. I will rather pay more and avoid this airline at all cost.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Windhoek
Date FlownAugust 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won’t recommend it to anyone"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Windhoek to Johannesburg. When checking in at 15H23 for our scheduled flight at 17H30, the assistant at the counter informed me that the flight is delayed. Couldn’t give a departure time, just that the flight from JHB hasn’t left JHB yet, due to a technical problem. And so our waiting of 5 hours 30 minutes started. And the staff wasn’t very informative or helpful. Lounge area disappointing! Plugs don’t work. Totally not up to standard. Our business class experience: seats 2d & 2c The leg/foot rests didn’t work. The food offered was revolting. The flight detail on the onscreen monitor was a joke. I took a photo to show people that we actually flew back in time! “current time 22:05, Estimated Arrival time 20:53” We’ll never make use of this airline again and won’t recommend it to anyone.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteWindhoek to Johannesburg
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"happy with the overall experience"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Windhoek to Frankfurt. After having read reviews I was prepared for bad service and problems during the flight, but luckily everything was fine and I am quite happy with the overall experience. The aircraft is spacious and clean, seats are comfortable and have a pillow and a blanket for each passenger. The crew was 50% very friendly and 50% not so ("good cop, bad cop"). The food was quite good; however, it might have been better, maybe a dessert could be added. Big selection of drinks but only one type of juice (orange). On the long overnight flight, dinner and breakfast have been offered. During the flight, the crew also offered water. The entertainment system is still not working; it seems to be a persistent problem that the airline is not willing to solve.
AircraftA330-243
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWindhoek to Frankfurt
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not business class standard"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | It was the first time I flew Air Namibia in June 19 in Business Class: thinking it was/would be a good and short flight from Cape Town via Windhoek to Frankfurt in business, but what I then experienced, was definitely not cool. Ok, the total cost/fare I paid was less than other comparable airlines at that point in time: but the fact that first of all my connection flight, from Cape Town to Windhoek, which was originally scheduled to only need about 1 hour for transit, was actually then cancelled. Hence I was advised - just a few days before departure then - to use a flight from Cape Town to Windhoek much earlier, leading to a like a 4 hour stopover on Windhoek. Not what I wanted, and also why I did not take another airline into consideration - then I could already have chosen Ethiopian or Turkish etc with a similar stopover time. Anyhow: so: the lounge in Windhoek is not a business lounge-like anywhere else in the world. It is so bad: no proper food, not adequate seats, no service - nothing, not even adequate toilets. Ok, the beer is ok - if that is what you need to survive. Now back to the plane: The service is more than just reasonable - nothing special - but for sure not business class standard. The seats are worn out - but I must admit flat seat at least. But that is basically all I can say positively. All the rest is not business class-related and feeling old. Food, just ok, hardly any selection of drinks and the worst thing: I do not know what really happened to my luggage: it arrived - ok - but in such bad condition. I hardly have ever seen before. So I must assume and believe that happened during the long transfer/transit in Windhoek as described above (as I travel a lot from and to Cape Town) but this trip definitely did wear out my luggage.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteCape Town to Frankfurt via Windhoek
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"excellent from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We travelled on Air Namibia after our travel company arranged substitute flights to Victoria Falls due to our Virgin Atlantic plane being delayed from London resulting in us missing our connection. Virgin were very unhelpful offering a new flight 2 days later! The trip with Air Namibia was excellent from start to finish. The crew were very friendly on board, the food was nice. When we landed at Windhoek the ground staff were very helpful ensuring our bags continued the journey and we were kept informed.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Victoria Falls via Windhoek
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst airline I have ever flown"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airline I have ever flown with and their customer service is even worse. Less than 24 hours before I was due to fly I received an email from them informing me that these time of my flight would be changing and would now be 3 hours later. This would mean that I would miss my connecting flight, which they were well away of. I spent the rest of the day trying to sort it out, even going to the Air Namibia offices in Windhoek but everyone I spoke to promised to call me back and never did. Eventually, less than 12 hours before my flight I got a reply to tell me they couldn't do anything. I had to spend a night in Johannesburg, booking into a hotel, at my own expense and arrived at my destination a day late. I have since written to Air Namibia on a number of occasions, and not received one reply. This company is appalling, apparently I have since heard that they have a reputation for this sort of thing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWindhoek to Livingstone
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"incredibly inefficient"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Windhoek. I am in total shock and horror. The communication channels for Air Namibia are incredibly inefficient. I have tried to call 8 numbers to try re-route a ticket, and there has been no connectivity or no answer from Cape Town offices, Johannesburg offices and even Namibia's offices (including head office). This is unbelievably unacceptable? I was on hold at the call centre for 30 mins, ad the website's refund policies do not load. An empty box appears, making it very difficult for us to invest in a ticket change without certainty. I have never flown with Air Namibia before, but I have had countless flights in my life, and changed tickets and routes many times - and it has never proven to be so long, tedious and inefficient. Please could you work on making sure your communication channels are more efficient to ensure a seamless customer experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Windhoek
Date FlownJuly 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"a very pleasant flight experience"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Windhoek. Overall it was a very pleasant flight experience. The staff at the check-in counter were very helpful to change us to our desired seats because we had to check-in at the webpage of another airline (codeshare). The seats were comfortable with an average seat-pitch. On board were three options of meal: Chicken, Beef and Fish. We had forgotten to order a vegetarian meal. But the staff prepared us a vegetarian mean from the sides of the other meals. In generall al staff of Air Namibia, with whom we were in contact were very friendly and helpful.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Windhoek
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"crew were friendly and helpful"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Windhoek to Frankfurt with Air Namibia. The ground staff were helpful to assign us the desired seats. The plane was quite new and provided a modern entertainment system (unfortunately with a smaller selection of movies compared to other airlines). The seats were comfortable with a usual seat pitch. The crew were friendly and helpful. During the flight were three choices of food offered (Chicken, Beef and Fish).
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWindhoek to Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 82 Reviews