Air China

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 749 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"loop hole to screw me over"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I requested a refund to my flight because of COVID-19 which was supposed to be a full refund. However what I learned after calling is in order to get refunded for the flight I can not file for a refund online, it had to be a phone call in order to get a refund. Is this confusing? That's because it is, I did an online 'request to refund' and received no refund. So Air China canceled my flight and took my money! How does that make sense at all? I tried calling them several times and their answer was always different, they canceled the flight and I am out of my money for a flight they never flew all because some side loop hole to screw me over. Seems this is common place for this company and I am personally avoid them for all my future flights, while they are cheap you get what you pay for obviously and the last thing I need when I am trying to take a vacation is dealing with this nightmare of a company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Beijing
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"the worst unhelpful airline"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I flew to Thailand but with the Corona virus they cancelled the flight from Bangkok to London and wouldn't help to bring people back or give a refund so that we can take alternative flights. They were the worst unhelpful airline. Once they get your money they don't care about the customers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bangkok via Beijing
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"plane brought back memories"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Vancouver to Guangzhou via Beijing. On my Boeing 744 trip, the plane brought back memories. Normally, I like a updated and brightly lit cabin, but the Boeing 744 really brought something special. Their food is questionable and their inflight was entertainment system can have more selections. They also have good value of money as my round trip costed just over $500CAD. Overall, they have great crew and value but can improve on the food and IFE.
AircraftB777-300ER/747-400/787-9/A330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Guangzhou via Beijing
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Refund policy is ridiculous"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Vancouver via Beijing booked for mid-April. The worst airline I have ever seen. Air China doesnt care their customers and just want to get money from their customers. Refund policy is ridiculous and try to cheat customers. When you call customer service, the only thing they said is there is nothing I can do. Will 100% not to choose this airline ever again
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Vancouver via Beijing
Date FlownApril 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"an unpleasant experience"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Tianjin to Johannesburg via Shenzhen. Had an unpleasant experience flying with Air China. No service to speak of, the ground staff are content just speaking at you and not listening to what you have to say or are asking. I had to wait for a long time to check in, because my bag was overweight even though I said immediately that I would pay the fee. I ordered the vegan option: I was given a bun smothered in mayonnaise three cucumber slices, some lettuce and an orange wedge. This I did not eat of course. I informed the cabin crew who were polite but unfortunately were unable to help. Could you please enlist the services of a nutritionist and have them review and train your food and beverage department on what constitutes a complete and healthful vegan meal. Do not mislead customers by saying you cater to all dietary requirements when you do not.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTianjin to Johannesburg via Shenzhen
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Utterly shocking service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My infant daughter and I flew from Cape Town to Xi'an via Johannesburg and Shenzhen. Firstly I was told our baggage would go all the way to Xi'an (which it did not), but that is the fault of the rude check-in counter rep in Cape Town. My daughter and I arrived in Johannesburg and had to check in our luggage onto our connecting Air China flight to Shenzhen. In Shenzhen I was told to check my luggage in again for the last leg of our journey to Xi'an. However my one suit case and my daughters stroller never arrived, and I later learned that it never left Johannesburg airport. I arrived home having none of my daughters clothes, all her clothes at home were too small for her and to add insult to injury we are now in a 14 day quarantine. We arrived on Tuesday afternoon and were told that on Saturday it would arrive. It is now Saturday evening and still no word on its expected arrival. Utterly shocking service. On a more positive note, cabin crew were friendly and helpful.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburgh to Shenzhen
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"response to COVID-19 is criminal"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Kansa via Beijing booked for March 2020. I've had great experiences flying Air China. Attendants are friendly and food is decent. However their response to the COVID-19 outbreak is criminal. They lied repeatedly about issuing a refund. I had to file a credit card dispute to get my money back.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Kansa via Beijing
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"planes are quite old and dirty"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Stockholm via Beijing. Really old and rugged airplanes and very little leg room. But the worst part is that the cabin crew makes constant in-flight announcement. Each time there is a little bump of turbulence there is an announcement in Chinese and English. It is impossible to make use of IFE system and I recommend a good pair of noise cancelling headphones. Cabin crew speaks poor English but are nice and let me change seats to the emergency seats without having to pay extra. (I am 192 cm tall so very worth while.) Lounge staff in Beijing were OK but one woman went out of her way to change our seats in the lounge making sure that we got better seats and even bumped us up to emergency row also on the second leg of our trip. Very appreciated. I have never had any issues flying with Air China but I know that Chinese ground services customer service can be very inadequate and unhelpful so happy I have not had to deal with that. Overall planes are quite old and dirty and food is poor but value for money is great and it got us to our destination back and forth without any mishaps.
AircraftBoeing 777 / A330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Stockholm via Beijing
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"friendly and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Kathmandu via Chengdu. I enjoyed my flight. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good. I think the reason most people give bad reviews is because staff doesn't understand English and sometimes is difficult to communicate with them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Kathmandu via Chengdu
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not a professional airline"

(Dominican Republic)

Trip Verified | New York to Beijing. Air China cannot be trusted as a 1st World Airline. I purchased a refundable airline ticket and had issues with my connection to the Air China flight. My entire family was going to the Far East for my daughter's graduation. Our connecting aircraft was cancelled due to a maintenance issue and we missed our flights. When I tried to re-book the next day, I could not reach anyone in their US office. They were closed. Seriously! I had to call their China number to try and get service. I was told that I had to re-purchase the tickets. My ticket was refundable and so I simply cancelled it given I could not re-schedule my family's flights. I am still waiting on that refund. I have sent approximately 15 e-mails to Air China. I did receive one response that advised me that I had to go to their website and formally cancel my flight which I did on the phone with their service agents. I tried that several times but their site didn't work. My advice to anyone traveling to China, do not use Air China. They are not a professional airline and their service is the absolute worst that I have experienced in 30 years of travel. Fly any other airline but do not subject yourself to this company.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNew York to Beijing
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no