Vote Airport  

Paris CDG Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 605 reviews
3/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"lousy customer service"

(Czech Republic)

Avoid transiting through this airport. I've travelled the world extensively for 25+ years and this was the first and absolute only time I'll ever transit through CDG. You have to go through security when you get off the plane from the US - what on earth purpose does that serve when you went through security to get on the plane? Then I spent 30 minutes on a bus getting to my departure terminal - 30 minutes, are you kidding. So with those delays the gate was closed. The next flight was 4 hours later, of course my bags didn't turn up, nor were they put on the next flight. I had to wait until the same flight the next day for my bags - lousy customer service, they had no intention whatsoever trying to get my bags to me any earlier.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
10/10

"plenty of seating at the gate"

(United States)

I arrived at CDG early in the morning after flying overnight from JFK. I had to transfer to a flight to Berlin, which meant leaving the international terminal and going to the "domestic" European area. Leaving terminal 2E Hall M was very straightforward, as we only could take one path after deplaning. The security checkpoint to enter terminal 2F moved quickly, as did the French border patrol. There was plenty of seating at the gate, which was for an A320. I never felt lost in the airport, because everything is very clearly labelled in both French and English. Despite the complexity of the airport, it is easy to navigate if the traveler pays attention to the signs. My only complaint was the terminal wifi would randomly disconnect. This was a problem, because I did not have any cell service in Europe, so I was relying on wifi to contact my family to let them know I had arrived safely.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"snotty security staff in transit"

(United Kingdom)

Had the pleasure of encountering snotty security staff in transit. Said staff member kept saying hello every time I opened my mouth, but made no other attempt to communicate until I tried to walk through security. At this point he then called for boarding pass in an unnecessarily loud voice - and made no other attempt to communicate once more. When I attempted to move off he then called computer and condescendingly tutted loudly when I indicated yes. Did not appreciate being embarrassed in a long line of fellow travellers - thank you security at CDG airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"improvements have been made"

(France)

Although terminal 2A is not the newest and therefore not as classy as 2E, lots of improvements have been made by a recent refurbishment. Check-in and screening were a breathe, and, upon arrival, immigration was easy and fast, as well as baggage delivery. Unlimited free wifi everywhere. A very pleasant experience at CDG, far from all the clichés that you can read or hear.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"terminals are not clean"

(France)

I live in Paris, so I have to deal with Charles de Gaulle Airport everytime I fly. To get to the review, I am one of the many people who are not satisfied with this airport. The waiting lines are just so long, the staff can be either very nice or very rude, so that really depends on your luck. The terminals are not clean, and not good looking. So if you are taking a flight from here, I recomend you do not arrive any later than 2 hours before your flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"CDG needs an overhaul"

(United States)

Will cancel a planned trip to Paris in the spring after the experience I had this week at CDG. At least 100 people standing or sitting on floor at gate area due to two major flights leaving from the same gate, each delayed by hours. Therefore, gates doubled up with angry passengers. Flight canceled due to mechanical failure. We actually took off and returned to the airport an hour later. No gate attendants to help us locate luggage or rebook once we returned to the gate although we waited on the Tarmac an hour so "agents could be alerted." Back through customs, baggage claim, and all the way out to initial ticketing area before assistance or info was presented. Luggage took more than an hour to show up. More than 200 persons in line with 4 agents to assist. Departure boards not updated. Boarding passes hand written because departure time changed from 1.30 to 5 to 7 in a matter of an afternoon. Agents standing around drinking coffee and talking on cell phones, ignoring confused passengers. Agent yelled at me to remove my bag from her conveyor after her machine stopped working. It took her 40 minutes to issue me a rebooked boarding pass. When I requested to speak to a supervisor to help with rebooking I was told he "went to a cafe." Tried to rebook on another carrier but agent refused to transfer my bags. French labor laws prevented airline crew from working overtime to help us get another plane in or the broken part repaired. Our plane should have taken off on Monday at 12.40pm was rescheduled for 7pm Tuesday, as if that was an acceptable course. Wifi is spotty, you need to keep logging in to get updates on your flight and figure out your options (since staff will not help). People actually weeping at the gate in frustration Tuesday night as rescheduled, repaired plane did not show at the gate until 7.10pm with no agent present. CDG needs an overhaul. Supremely lazy, rude and poorly trained personnel throughout. I will travel elsewhere to avoid CDG.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"sprawling shambles of an airport"

(Portugal)

What a sprawling shambles of an airport. Because I cannot walk quickly the Air France customer service agent suggested I book 'special assistance' for the 50 minute connection between flights arriving 2F and departing 2G. Our arrival was 5 minutes early but then had to wait 20 minutes for a Gate. I was asked to wait until disembarkation was finished and then the trouble started - firstly it took another 20 minutes for the wheelchair to arrive in spite of first the Purser and then the Captain continually chasing it. When it did eventually arrive the Captain assured us that the onward flight knew I was coming and was being held. However the woman pushing my chair got lost and 30 minutes after its scheduled departure we had the sight of our flight taking off. She then took me to customer services who kindly offered me a flight arriving at 20.00 - 3 hours after our cruise liner departed. Reluctantly we were then booked via Munich to Genoa arriving 45 minutes before the liner departure only to be advised on the final leg to Genoa that our luggage was not on board meaning a miserable first 3 days on board with only the clothes we were travelling in. For the return (1 hour 30 minutes connection) I declined 'special assistance' but with a half mile walk to the inter-terminal bus with no moving pathways followed by another long walk in 2F I was exhausted by the time we reached the Gate. Surely a major hub could afford electric trolleys like LHR and LGW rather than old-fashioned wheelchairs pushed with difficulty on carpeted floors by clueless operatives.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"appallingly bad experience"

(Ireland)

We had an appallingly bad experience at CDG two days ago. We had just travelled on a 9 hour flight from Havana (Cuba) to Paris so obviously were feeling exhausted. We understand that it is peak holiday time (Xmas) but surely a developed country can provide a better service? The queues were horrendously long especially at 2F where we had to transfer from our Havana flight to a Stockholm flight. There was only one person at Passport control and three people aimlessly and chaotically I might add, guiding the crowds (70 to 80) with about 5 empty passport control desks unattended. Some people were frantic, aware they were going to miss flights with several insisting on skipping the queues and the limited staff unperturbed. In fact the staff were decidedly rude and most were unable or unwilling to speak any English. After about 90 minutes of this pandemonium we found a cafe where sandwiches (basic) were 9euros and upwards with nowhere to sit. The toilets were situated away from the eating area and one would be reluctant to venture downstairs to these facilities for fear of being lost. Surely in this day and age, a better service should be available to the weary passenger? Our previous experience some three years earlier was not much better where we had to transfer there from Dublin to an Australia flight and where unless we had physically run through the airport we would never have made the connection. We will avoid this airport in the future where possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Terminal 1 uniquely designed"

(United States)

I recently traveled from CDG after spending a few days in Paris. The public transportation to the airport is really great. I grabbed an express RER B from the center of Paris and without making any stops I arrived at the airport in less than 30 minutes. Terminal one is really uniquely designed as if it were some sort of futuristic beehive where you move up levels as you go towards your gate. The only problem I came across was finding the right entrance for my Hall because the signs all pointed in different directions. There were no crowds and I queued for less than a minute both at customs and security control. The WIFI at the terminal was amazing and I was even able to stream videos on youtube while waiting to board.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"only opened 1 counter"

(Singapore)

Worst airport I have experienced. The airport could not handle the amount of passengers in their airport knowing that a lot of people travel to Paris. Firstly, during the passport check counter, the queue easily had over 50 passengers in it and they only opened 1 counter? It took more than an hour for me to reach the counter. Upon reaching the passport customs counter, the staff were working ever so slowly despite the long queue. Upon proceeding to the boarding gate, there's a security check counter. Again, there's only 2 lines to serve the whole 10 boarding gates. Tell me about efficiency. I'm lucky I arrived 3.5 hours earlier. Can't imagine missing my flight due to the efficiency of the airport staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no