Top 100 Airlines  

Volaris

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 70 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"very pleased with the airline"

(Mexico)

Verified Review | Flight Mexico to Denver. After reading the many negative reviews for Volaris I was concerned when I figured out it was the only airline that would fly direct to Denver. I had to fly my son (6 years old) by himself for the first time so he could study abroad. So I could feel more secure about the transaction, I traveled to the airport in Mexico City to purchase the ticket. With the unaccompanied minor fee it was a total of 9000 pesos aprox. They recommended to arrive 3 hours early on the day of departure. When we arrived at 7 am to check in and the ladies were very nice. They gave us the forms to fill out for customs and immigration and the release and deliverance for my son. We then proceeded to check the baggage where we handed them the forms plus the tourist FMM form we recieved when we entered the country along with the passport. They put everything in a bag like thing with a lanyard that they wear on the flight. They told us to return at 9 am sharp. I was beyond scared for him because I thought he was going be the only minor on the flight. When we returned there were about 14 other children that were also flying solo. It made me feel so relieved. They called out the names of each child for check in, then proceeded to security where we said our goodbyes and one by one recieved their lanyard to wear. They proceeded through security where we waited for their flight to leave. My son called me and said he was sitting down playing with his game and the plane was ready to leave. I tracked the plane until it arrived in Denver where my aunt was waiting for him. After the plane arrived he took about an hour in customs where the attendants from Volaris released him to my aunt after her signature. Once I called my son and asked him how the flight was and how he was treated, he said it was good and that they gave him chips and water and didn't even ask him for his 10 dollars (which I had given to him just in case). I am very pleased with the airline and hope to encounter the same experience when I fly with them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEX to DEN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"dissatisfied and disappointed"

(Mexico)

I will not use this airline again! My wife with my 2 little girls (6 & 2) were coming from Tapachula to Tijuana, scheduled to arrive in Mexico City, at 12:55pm. Volaris decides to change the flight from Mexico City to Tijuana from 3:47pm to 8:00am! That makes no sense at all. So now my wife and daughters were stuck in the airport hoping to get a flight any time during the day back to Tijuana. The agent on the phone said there was nothing he could do - he had the tenacity to tell me I should've called 24hrs prior to get a better option. There's no justifying reason for Volaris to have made that change in times, it makes no sense for them to give her a schedule she cannot keep up with. Very dissatisfied and disappointed.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTAP to TIJ
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"breach of privacy and security"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Cancun to Mexico City. On Aug 9 I bought online, after much difficulty, 2 flights from Volaris, and received my confirmation code. But at the airport on Aug 11 it did not exist - they said it was a problem with my Visa, that it did not authenticate. So I was forced to buy a more expensive flight on the spot with my Mastercard. I had to threaten to scream at the airport, because they just kept telling me to go away from the check-in desk! It was a horrible experience, I had to be very stubborn (because I was desperate) and finally they agreed to give me a discount certificate for the price difference. They said the problem was with my Visa, that if it doesn't authenticate in 3 hours after purchase on Aug 9, the reservation code is not good and you don't get the email confirmation or a cancellation email. But actually, my Visa was charged, on Aug 10, and 3 times! On Aug 11, at the airport, there was no record of this or my original reservation code. I'm still waiting for Volaris to return my money, more than CAN$1000. More problems: I never got an email about the first or second (successful) flights, but now I get emails that are for other customers, every day! It is a breach of privacy and security. It is also spam. I have sent Volaris many messages about this, on Facebook and by email, to 3 different addresses.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCUN to MEX
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"pay or throw it to the trash"

(United States)

Guadalajara to Tijuana. Terrible. I have a toddler flying with a car seat at 11pm, they told me I could not check It in for free at the bottom of the airplane when it clearly states on their website this is done without any additional feeds. I flew 4 times from Tijuana/Guadalajara/ Cancun back and forth within these two weeks, nobody said anything until our last flight coming back to Tijuana from Guadalajara. They were trying to charge us 1000 pesos in order for me to be able to add in on the bottom of the plane all because it had cup holders so they considered it too be non infant! Ridiculous! Extremely disappointed. They said pay or throw it to the trash. 3 rating for the service inside the airplane.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGDL to TIJ
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"experiences were very positive"

(United States)

My experiences were very positive. I traveled from Tijuana to La Paz and back in May 2016 and in April-May 2015. The planes were on time and the people were friendly. The seats were more spacious and more comfortable than the economy passenger seats in the US based airlines. One checked bag is figured into the ticket pricing. The above seat stowage of carry on bags was ample for good sized bags. Food could be purchased, which was not a problem for me. I was thoroughly pleased and will definitely travel with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTIJ to LAP
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"definitely not recommended"

(United States)

Verified Review | Guadalajara to Los Angeles with Volaris. As I was arriving to the airport to return to Los Angeles I got a call from the airline saying my flight had been cancelled. I had driven 2 hours to get to the airport. They never once told me why my flight had been cancelled. They told me I had to speak with an agent at the Volaris desk. Once I got to the agent I was told the next available flight they would provide would be the following day in the afternoon. This to me was not possible so I had to buy another ticket to a different airport. If they are going to cancel a flight they should inform the passengers in a timely manner. Definitely not recommended.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGDL to LAX
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"total lack of respect"

(United States)

Verified Review | Volaris traveler beware! You need to read the fine print in the Volaris legal section first. For an international travel you need to arrive at the Volaris counter 180 minutes before departure. On April 27th 2016 I arrived 60 minutes before departure at Chicago Midway to fly to Morelia, Mexico, and no one was present (see photo). I was not able to figure out how to print out my boarding pass from an email sent from Volaris. Therefore I had no means to get through TSA to the boarding gate, and had only a back pack as a carry on, so no baggage to check in, (I think). After reading numerous other Volaris customer complaints this might not be correct, as nearly any carry on is charged for. Bottom line is the flight left without me. Talking to Volaris employees on the phone they could care less (too bad, so sad), and I'm out the cost of this nontrip, time, and cost to park near Midway Airport for 6 days. Going to the Volaris website to make a complaint is a waste of time, as this airline does not have any means to so. Emailing two different email addresses that appear to be public relations contacts results in one email address that bounces, and the other will not reply. Bottom line, flying with Volaris read all the fine print and be prepared to pay extra for anything connected with the flying experience. I've flown internationally with other airlines to Europe, Asia, and Africa and never encountered the "180 minute prior to departure rule", or the unwillingness to communicate about an issue, or total lack of respect for the customer.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMDW to MLM
Date FlownApril 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the service was terrible"

(United States)

Verified Review | I had the worst experience coming home with Volaris recently from Cancun, Mexico to Newark, NJ. I arrived back Friday April 8 and from boarding to landing the service was terrible. I paid extra for front row seats on the plane and I wasn't accommodated for anything. The crew were rude and not polite. They didn't want to help at all. I will never fly with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteCUN to EWR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we did not have seats"

(United States)

Mexico City to Mazatlan with Volaris. Stood in line for over an hour before they helped us. Then when we finally were helped, we gave them our flight information and they left the check in area. The clerk came back about 15 minutes later to tell us that they overbooked our flight and that we did not have seats. They told us that we never had seats on the plane, even though we had booked the flight and chosen seats months in advance.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEX to MZT
Date FlownMarch 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"has to be the worst airline"

(United States)

Oakland to Guadalajara. This has to be the worst airline I have traveled with. The service is atrocious, not to mention the pricing tactics and overpriced "add-ons" they force you to pay for. I must admit their apparent low prices are very tempting and are what draw you in, however at the end of the day you end up paying way more and a few dollars isn't worth the stress they cause. I've flown on this airline on several routes out of many airports and the service is appalling. The crew have no regard for their paying customers and have no problem insulting you, pushing you around and coercing you into paying them more money. More than once, I gave in at the time I reserved and paid extra to bring a carry-on : only to be told I hadn't paid for it when I arrived at the airport with a printout showing I paid for it. They employees are unethical and have no problem coercing more money out of you or making up "extra fees" at the time of check-in. The flight attendants have no qualms about being rude to the passengers and condescending when you ask them a question even though they are usually the ones who can't comprehend what you are trying to explain to them. Imagine my surprise when I go to print a boarding pass for a flight tonight, and now their flight again magically doesn't include the carry-on? I'm sure when we arrive at the airport they will do their usual routine and try to coerce another $60 for two bags. Don't waste your time with this joke of a company.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOAK to GDL
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 70 Reviews