Volaris

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 112 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"This is ridiculous!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We had booked a round trip flight from Los Angeles to Guatemala City. Volaris cancelled twice without sending us adequate notice. First cancellation we received a vague email with 'call for an update', we rebooked for the next night. Just a few hours before we were going to again drive to the airport (3 hours from us), we just happened to call because a flight confirmation was sent to us that said we were booked at a hotel in Brazil, which we were definitely not! Volaris said our flight was cancelled, this time due to 'weather', we rebooked it again for the next night (now shortening our vacation by 3 days). Right after, we looked up the 'weather' in Guatemala - there was a volcano eruption that killed over 60 people near where we were going to stay! Not wanting to breath poisonous gas, be covered in ash, and go to a place in crisis, we called Volaris to cancel and were told there was no way to change the date or the destination without a $972 change fee! This is ridiculous! We waited on hold for over 30 minutes and we were transferred to at least 6 different departments with everybody saying the same thing-- no real options, so we ended up just eating the money we spent on the 2 flights. Very frustrating!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Guatemala City
Date FlownJune 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I would fly them again"

(United States)

Not Verified | My sister and I flew from Oaxaca to Los Angeles and had a great experience. The flight was on time, the crew was very friendly, and the seats (premium) were comfortable and roomy! I would fly them again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOaxaca to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Avoid at all costs, scammers"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Mexico City to Cancun. Avoid at all costs, we were triple charged at the airport for the flight, they said our payment was not processed even though we showed them the funds had been transferred. They said we had to pay them cash now at the counter to get our boarding passes printed. We had no option as our trip was organised for the next day. Avoid at all costs, scammers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to Cancun
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"staff very rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Puerto Vallarta to Chicago via Mexico City. I flew back this morning from Nuevo Vallarta MX connecting flight to Mexico City at 1:55am, they changed the gate 3 times in Mexico City, Volaris was disorganized, boarding staff very rude and refused to help us, the boarding employees took our filled immigration form at Puerto Vallarta when we check in and we have nothing to show to boarding employees in Mexico City we need to paid extra $63 to filled another immigration form and go thru again from security checked, thanks it was delayed for an hour we need to run back and forth, we hardly made it, there’s have more customers same problem what we had.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePuerto Vallarta to Chicago via Mexico City
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"awful customer service"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Mexico City to New York. I wanted to get home to Ireland from Mexico City, and I chose this airline because it seemed cheap. I bought carry-on that was under 10kg and I bought a litre spirit of Kahlua to give to my airbnb host's when I got to New York in the duty free and Volaris charged me an extra 25 dollars for the thing I got in duty free.I did not know that was allowed, and it might not be. I wanted to get home to Ireland and had to pay it because they would not let me on the plane without paying it. Awful customer service. Then I tried to get my money back and every single customer agent speaks Spanish when I called in English. On my return to Mexico City from Ireland, I had to fly with them again. They charged me 25 dollars when I bought the ticket because I was not Mexican even though the extra charge was for non-residents which I am so I should not have paid it. When I went to call them they said that I should not contact them I should contact the tax people instead even though it was their fault. Absolutely awful customer service. When I flew with Norwegian and Wow Air on these journeys they had no problem with anything. Horrible customer service from Volaris and I did not enjoy my flights with them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to New York
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this airline if at all possible"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My Volaris flight from Huatulco to Guadalajara was cancelled with 24 hours notice. This was in itself very annoying because I had to book a new flight with Aeromexico which cost $500 (2 PAX) as it was last minute. No reason or explanation was given but I suspect the airline had undersold the flight so consolidated two flights. To really add insult to injury the problem I have then had was getting a simple refund of the ticket. The airline never responds to email and I have had to call customer service each time. With each phone call they have requested a different thing. So first I had to provide my bank details, then they wanted a copy of my ID, then a bank statement proving my bank was my bank and the latest is signed letter from my bank authorising they refund me! I have visited over 100 countries and travelled on counless airlines. My advice would be avoid this airline if at all possible. It has the worst customer service I have ever experienced. In my case, they have taken my money, failed to provide any service at all and a year later I am still struggling to get my money back and that's just the ticket price. Forget about the substantial out of pocket expenses caused by the cancellation which I won't get back. Pay a little more and fly with a proper airline is my advice!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteHuatulco to Guadalajara
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline I have traveled"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Oakland to Morelia. Worst airline I have ever traveled with. Sells you something that they cannot deliver and charge you extra for ridiculous things never charged by other airlines. For instance, I was charged extra for a carry-on of a weight of 12 kilos 2 kilos more than "allowed", had never heard of that with other airlines. My bag was small just had my computer, camera and makeup as carry-on. not even close to exceeding the size allowed as a carry-on. I was charged $50.00 for 2 kilos. I also paid extra when checking-in for extra leg space. When I got to my seat 4F, the space was no where to be found. There is no inflight entertainment. The aircraft was old and with bad smell.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOakland to Morelia
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"couldn't bring it as a carry-on"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toluca to San Jose Del Cabo. Everything seemed fine until I got to customs. My aunt had given me a small gift made of stone and pine to bring to my parents. Long story short, they told me I couldn't bring it as a carry-on and would need to check it in, for the equivalent of $100 USD. A word of advice: Don't fly Volaris. If you have no other choice, make absolute sure that you're not bringing anything that could be misconstrued as 'unsafe'.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToluca to San Jose Del Cabo
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service is awful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Guadalajara. Their customer service is awful! They overcharge you, it may seem like you are saving when you are purchasing your tickets, but you are not, they will charge you everything and empty your wallet. The lines to check in are also insane. I’d much rather pay $100 more to fly on another airline, that is how bad it is.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Guadalajara
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"I had a super experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Guatemala City to Managua via San Jose. We gave it a try on November 27th from San Jose CR to Gutemala City. Great flight! Super friendly staff, recent aircraft and even arrived before schedule time. No problem whatsoever with our luggage. We then decide to try them on a last minute flight: Guatemala city to San jose and San Jose to Managua Nicaragua. 2 flights same day. Great experience again! Both flights were on time, crew was great and no problem with our luggage : they arrived at the same time super fast! I had a super experience with Volaris 3 times in a month. I keep In mind the price.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuatemala City to Managua via San Jose
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes