Royal Jordanian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 228 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"show so little care for customers"

(Jordan)

Trip Verified | Amman to Cairo. We were flying to Egypt on a family holiday and were informed on our arrival at the airport that our flight had been cancelled and we would now be flying five and a half hours later (meaning that we would now be at the airport for seven and a half hours). It was known that the flight was cancelled before we left home and we were never notified despite our booking being made online. We asked the airline to either arrange for us to be transported home (our transport to the airport was 40 JOD (about 60 USD)) or for use of the Business Class lounge. We thought that these were simple and reasonable requests that Royal Jordanian could easily grant. We were not asking them to compensate us for the afternoon and evening plans we would now miss in Cairo. We just wanted to wait out the long delay at home or in the Business Lounge. The customer service staff were hopeless and cowardly. No one seemed to have any authority. No one would outright refuse our requests but they kept asking us to wait 5 minutes while they got someone else to help us and then ran away, never to return. After waiting an hour and a half, we finally we found Tamara who did try and help us but said that her top manager (whom she had to call at home) had refused to even allow us into the lounge for our 7 hour wait. What a shameful response and how embarrassing for the national airline to show so little care for their customers. We were told that our delay wasn't long enough to qualify for a hotel room because it was only 5 hours and 40 mins instead of the required 6 hours. For the record the delay was in fact six hours because the flight we were rescheduled onto was also delayed, as was our return flight from Cairo a week later. We live in Amman and fly often for business and pleasure. If we can avoid using Royal Jordanian we will.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmman to Cairo
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disorganised and disrespectful"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | Doha to Cairo via Amman. They cancelled my second flight and forced me to wait 8 hours at the airport. I will never fly with them again. Very disorganised and disrespectful. They knew the flight got cancelled when I was still in Doha and didn't tell me or give me the choice to do what I want. Horrible management.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDoha to Cairo via Amman
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"One of the worst airline experiences"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | Amman to Bangkok. Terrible check-in experience. My flight departs at 2:15 but the counter doesn’t allow me to check-in until 12:00 because I didn’t choose seats in advance. The counter requires me wait 1+ hour with my check-in luggage in airport lobby. To me they are punishing people not choosing seats in advance. One of the worst airline experiences I had.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmman to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"bad customer service"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Vienna to Amman. Comfortable seats, but bad customer service. I send this complaint both to the customer service of Royal Jordanian Airlines as well as through a facebook message on their facebook account half a year ago. I received an e-mail that I could expect a response within 10 working days, but haven't had a reaction to my complaint even after sending 8 messages in the last 6 months. Truly dissapointed in this airline of which I expected good service. On the 2nd of June I was supposed to have a direct flight from Amsterdam to Amman. I choose this flight, because it was a direct flight and was willing to pay €200,- more for a direct flight compared to the flight going through Kiev. Exactly a week before I got a message from the travel agent I booked through saying: "For your information, Royal Jordanian has changed the departure date to the 3rd of June. Unfortunately, schedule changes occur quite frequently in air travel, and when they do, we offer you the airline’s most favorable alternative. We ask you to reply to this email and let us know if you would like to accept the new itinerary. If we have not heard from you before the 31st of May, we can no longer assist you with the change. In this case, we advise you to check-in in due time for the airline staff to assist you with the change, as your current ticket is no longer valid for travel due to the change." After calling the airline and telling about this, I was able to change and keep the flight on the 2nd and fly through Vienna instead, to still arrive on the same day (the 3rd of June my tour was starting). They told me to write a complaint and so here it is, two weeks after I have returned from the beautiful country Jordan. I would like to see compensation of your airline for the change of flight. I understand that it saves you a lot of money, but this goes at the expense of the quality of your customers travels. If I would have known beforehand that I would've had a transfer, I would've booked through Ukraine International Airlines. It is highly inappropriate to cancel a flight with just one week notice and without any form of compensation. This doesn't suit the reputation your airline has. Because of the situation as described above, my confidence in Royal Jordanian has been profoundly shaken.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Amman
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Very unpleasant experience"

(Jordan)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Amman. Very unpleasant experience during check-in, I had to open twice my handbags to remove 3 extra kgs which I could simply pay for - instead they were requesting to check in the handback for 130 Euros. The bag was then 7.9 kg and still staff made me open the bag again to remove 1kg more, this is insane and so unpleasant experience. They did as such to so many other passengers which was really unpleasant to all The worst part is that at the boarding point, they weighted again my handbag (only mine!) and were looking at the bags I bought from the duty free zone, stating that the bags are extra weight! I am in shock , I have never ever experienced this in any other airlines. Very rude staff, such unpleasant experience!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Amman
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"changes translate to low cost service"

(Jordan)

Trip Verified | Rome to Amman. Flight took off on-time and landed early. The ground staff at FCO airport are helpful and friendly. Onboard, seats are comfortable however, the interiors are really starting to show their age and so is the inflight entertainment system. Royal Jordanian Airlines should really do some renovations across their fleet, competitors offer a far superior hard product. On to the greatest disappointment, the inflight meal offering, which consisted of a sandwich. This is outrageous and totally unacceptable. The flight is a duration of 3 hours+, and a sandwich is not enough for such a flight duration and does not at all represent the hospitality Jordan and Jordanians are proud of, not to mention that it is far less than what competitors offer. Flight attendants were okay, but a couple were rather unprofessional. To wrap up, the airline really screwed things with their new changes, and definitely lost loyal customers including me and my friends, as these changes translate to low cost service at a premium price.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRome to Amman
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I would not recommend"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Vienna via Amman. I would not recommend to use this airline. The flight was delayed for 5 hours and not the first time it happens to me with this airline. Nobody can't give a proper answer why and weather the delayed time is fixed, moreover I needed to go further in Graz and I lost my ticket to there. The company doesn't want to cover it and didn't even apologized or tried to help me somehow so I spent double amount of money for that. Plus the stuff in the Amman's airport is absolutely unfriendly. It's a really bad experience, please don't reply on the "Royalty" of the company.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteDubai to Vienna via Amman
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"I do not recommend using RJ"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Chicago via Amman. There was only 1:50min stay-over in Amman. I was issued Boarding passes all the way through to Chicago. However to my surprise, me and everyone else for that matter, had to go to the transfer desk first to re validate next flight at Amman airport. The staff over there did not even bother to tell us which que to go for transfers and I was in the wrong que for half and hour before finding out from other passengers that it was the wrong que. Amman airport staff did not know English and can only use gestures. After going through transfer desk, I had to be in a long que again for security check to go upstairs in the departure lounge. Again, there was a long que at the gate and we have to go through another security check to get inside the departure lounge. They did not have any X-Ray machines. So they have to open my carry on luggage and ram through every cloth and accessory. While doing so, they were just talking to each other in Arabic and laughing. It was like the passengers did not matter for them at all. Airline staff was rude. Air hostesses could hardly understand English. We were served one good and tasty meal after take-off and one cold sandwich snack before landing on a 13.5-hr flight. I do not recommend using RJ unless there is not other option available.
AircraftA320 / Boeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Chicago via Amman
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"very unprofessional customer service"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Flight from Amman to Beirut was postponed from 18:40 to 23:45 without any prior notification even not at the check-in gate by the staff as apparently he didn't receive the information either. We receive poor and very unprofessional customer service with no support to accommodate. After insisting for a reasonable solution the duty manager came; the only solution offered was a flight change without charges on the next day and access to the business lounge. We were left very unhappy and with no convenient solution. We paid for a round trip Beirut-Amman 275 USD and received worst service that any cheap airline would have applied! Royal Jordanian changes it's flight schedule on a regular basis in the route Beirut-Amman. This was the worst delay but not the first one.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmman to Beirut
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"good service on board"

(Israel)

Verified Review | Berlin to Tel Aviv via Amman, flights were punctual, with good service on board and an option to choose a seat with no extra charge. Personal entertainment system can be better in terms of quality of the equipment. Lunch/dinner is cold sandwiches and hummus, good choice of drinks. Upgrade to business from Berlin is upon payment of ridiculous 798Euro for a leg - can't believe that is actually somebody will pay this price.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Tel Aviv via Amman
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes