Air China

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 597 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Won't fly Air China again"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Manila. Worse after flight service ever. This is our last leg of our flight coming from Canada to Philippines for our family vacation The airplane looks fine but nothing compared to our original flight, we supposed to fly thru All Nippon Airline (ANA) but for some delays in Canada it was re booked to Air China. Upon arriving at Manila only 2 out of 10 luggage arrived, a ground staff spoke to us and after verifying our claim stub he told us that the remaining luggage's were still at Beijing. We ask them how this happened but they told us that they don't know, the only thing they noticed is that missing luggage is normal to Air China. Its true because when we claim our luggage after 2 days, there's other people claiming their luggage. So for every Air China flight there will be unlucky persons that will not have their luggage with them upon arrival. After inspecting our luggage's we found out that 2 of our hard case spinner luggage is broken. The luggage is almost brand new, this is the only second time we use it. And it will not break unless its not properly handled. No apologies from, they said its normal for a case to break. Again this is normal to them. We made a claim report and the best they can offer is about 15% of the price. Won't fly with Air China again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Manila
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"bad quality white bread"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Beijing. What Air China are serving to eat is very bad. Two small slices cucumber in a bad quality white bubble bread. Nothing more - is that funny ? Shame on you.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Beijing
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"seats were fairly comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Vienna. Check-in went smoothly, I asked for a window seat and the only one available is on the last row. There wasn’t a toilet at the back of the A330, which made the journey a lot more pleasant. The seats were fairly comfortable, and the legroom was average. The aircraft was clean, although the IFE was very old. The quality isn’t great, but it was usable. The screen wasn’t a touch screen, so I had to use the remote, which was quite confusing at first. On the home page, it said “press any key to continue” but in fact you can only press the “enter” key at the back of the remote and I only figured out how to scroll down, not up. At least the flight was a night flight so I didn’t have to use it too much. There was only one meal served, which was breakfast but it was fine as the flight took off at 3AM so we went to sleep immediately. The crew was friendly and frequently went up and down the cabin serving us with drinks. The flight overall was alright, I would fly Air China again if the price is right, although not on their A330.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Vienna
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst experience ever"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Shanghai. Worst experience ever had with an airline. Totally irresponsible and rude to customers! My hands are shaking so much now with anger. I purchased a ticket this morning from Air China counter for a flight going from Beijing to Shanghai this afternoon. From Shanghai onwards, I’m to catch an international flight booked with another Airline. I’ve booked my Air China ticket ensuring there is around 3 hours transit time in Shanghai. Having been to Shanghai Airport many times before, I know that 3 hours is more than sufficient time for transit even with one hour delay from previous flight. Firstly the attendant who sold me the ticket reassured me there will be no delay with the flight today. The flight was meant to depart 14:30pm, at 14:00pm there was an announcement saying the flight is delayed due to air traffic control and Air China staff refused to advise passengers the new flight time. At 17:00pm here I am sitting at the airport, flight is delayed almost 3 hours and flight still hasn’t departed. I contacted Air China, I asked them if there’s anyway they can compensate me because now I have definitely missed my next flight, as well as my hotel for the next night in Tokyo, the 3 day trip I booked from Tokyo. The answer is no, it’s your own fault, also reason provided now is that Air China won’t make compensation for weather related delays (how funny now they change the reason of delay from airport traffic to weather while it’s a clear sunny windless here in Beijing, they lied outright because they know they are not liable for weather related delays. Regardless of the fact many other similar flights by other airlines have departed on time today. So now I’m $2,000 out of pocket, tired, frustrated and angry and I need book another flight to Tokyo later which will add more to my expenses. I cannot believe the fact when they apologise for one minute delays in public transport in Japan while Air China lies to avoid responsibility of a delay from their own doing (who knows what the truth is). I’m absolutely done with this company and will never travel with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Shanghai
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline ever"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Bombay via Beijing. Worst airline ever. The flight from LAX to Beijing on July 11th 2018 at 2:30 PM was cancelled and I was ordered to wait 24 hours for next flight and sent to a motel in LA. Later in the evening a customer service representative from Air China called me to say that they cannot book me for next day instead I have to wait for three more days due to complications with my connecting flight from Beijing to Bombay. She refused to cancel my ticket asking me to talk to my ticket agent. She also refused to confirm the flight cancellation (from LA to Beijing on 7/11/2018) and the website was showing the flight to be regular and not cancelled (although, all 300 passengers were accommodated in motels, etc.). My travel agent tried to contact several times but no air-china customer was taking the call even after 40 minutes wait on the phone. My electronic complaint to air china was responded with a web address/phone-number to talk to where no one picks up phone. I spent another $1000.00 to purchase a ticket through Delta airlines to go to Bombay. I am travelling internationally for over 35 years now and have traveled in many airlines. Based on the customer service, stone-walling any questions and for pure lying on their website and information centers, no one can beat air-china for the worst airline award. It is now four weeks I am trying to connect to someone there who would at least apologize but hey they don't consider anyone humans. My advise, better spend extra $100+ and book in one of the reliable airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Bombay via Beijing
Date FlownJuly 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"special price for this trip"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to Manila via Beijing. From Stockholm to Beijing with air China, the plane went almost on time. The inflight service was excellent, very friendly staff, good choice of food, and time for a pretty long sleep in between. The seat was made into a long enough bed. I really enjoyed this part of the trip. After a long wait in Beijing (the lounge was ok, but I miss chairs that you can lay down in), the flight to Manila went almost on time, it was a Boeing 737, with 2+2 seating, this flight was nice, but you just want to be finished with the long trip, so I do not remember much of this 4 hours flight. Air China had a nice special price for this trip, without the price I would have taken another option, with a much shorter transit stop.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteStockholm to Manila via Beijing
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"don't choose Air China"

(Estonia)

Not Verified | Stockholm to Manila via Beijing. Worst customer service ever! Would not recommend this airline and will I never fly with Air China again! - lost our baggage and nobody cared to search for it - six months later we have not recieved the compensation (although it has been promised to sent to us months ago) Every little move and step with them takes months. Nobody did not care to call back and check if baggage was recieved or not. I have never seen this bad customer service.. this is definitely a next level for a bad customer service!! If you want to save your time and nerve cells just don't choose Air China!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Manila via Beijing
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"they lost our bags"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York to Delhi via Beijing. We flew business call on Air China, and they lost our bags for almost 1 week (which reported immediately) and did not help us find them. They lost track of them entirely, multiple bags. Furthermore, upon eventual return of the bags there was significant damage to the bags (again, which we reported), but the airline did not follow-up. We emailed and called customer service and they continued to give us the run around without any answers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew York to Delhi via Beijing
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"was the worst experience"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Montreal to Hong Kong via Beijing. Our flight from Montreal on May 19th departed at 4:00pm, 10 minutes earlier than the departure time of 4:10pm. We had a connecting flight in Beijing on May 20th at 6:30pm on flight and was supposed to be landing at 5:00pm however the plane only landed at 5:50 pm in Beijing. Due to this delay we missed our connecting flight to due the poor customer service from Air China at Beijing airport. When we arrived at the Beijing airport we were able to see that the were doing a last call however nothing was done to communicate to hold the plane for us and for other passengers that were supposed to be on that flight as well. This was the first time that we had flown with Air China and was the worst experience. We stayed in Beijing airport trying to figure out what to do until 9pm where we were told that we are getting a hotel to stay for the night with a meal included and will be catching a flight the next morning at 8am. We had taken a bus that brought us to a hotel which was the worst hotel ever in my life. Is this how you treat customers? We went into the restaurant hoping for a good meal after all of this terrible customer service and making us miss our flight. We were presented with a buffet that was the most disgusting food ever and with nothing to drink. Once we got into our room it smelled rotten and the bed was like sleeping on a piece of wood. The next day we went back to the airport to catch our flight and arrived in Hong Kong only to find out that one of our luggages is missing and that it was still in Beijing and the other luggage was damaged with one of the wheels broken which I had to purchase another luggage($150). We ended up getting the missing luggage delivered to us 12 hours later and found out that the luggage was damaged as well with the handle on the side ripped off. This is ridiculous and the customer service that Air China provides is way below standard and is a joke. On our way back from Japan on June 7th at Haneda airport, when checking in, we had asked for an upgrade to Premium economy for the flight CA879 from Beijing to Montreal and they agent had told us that the do not do upgrades and we would need to do it in Beijing when we catch our connecting flight. Once we got to gates in Beijing they told us that they do not do upgrades either. Customers looking to upgrade their seats and give Air China more money are turned down. That being said, overall this is the worst experience I have ever witnessed from an airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMontreal to Hong Kong via Beijing
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Beijing to San Francisco. Worst customer service ever. We were told that there were business class seats available for upgrade purchase but they kept on telling us that we had to wait for people to come to our gate. When someone finally came to the gate. She was very unpleasant and didn’t even acknowledge us and just gave us this dirty look as if we were bothering her. Never again will we fly with this airline again. Everyone does not know how to help people that do not speak their language and they have a whole lot of attitudes. They shouldn’t work in a customer service based job if they don’t know how to deal with customers. If I was able to rate it a 0 out of 10 I would have
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to San Francisco
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no