Top 100 Airports  

Air China

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 375 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"seats were decently padded"

(United States)

Harbin - Beijing, 7/25/2016 with Air China. Nothing much to say. After we took off, they served a salmon sandwich and a drink. Beijing - Newark, 7/26/2016. The seats were decently padded and had a decent amount of legroom with 32 inches of pitch. There is a footrest and adjustable headrest. The IFE was slow and laggy, but over the span of three weeks, they have added many movies, making the flight less boring. The first meal was decent. The seafood with rice was flavorful, while the bun was warm and soft. The cheesecake was green tea flavored, and was decent. For the second meal, I had the beef with rice. Also flavorful, but no dessert. The bun was colder, and as hard as a rock. Overall, I would recommend this airline, but only with very cheap fares.
AircraftBoeing 777W
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHRB to EWR via PEK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"that my suitcase hasn't arrived"

(Japan)

Verified Review | My Air China flight was from Barcelona to Tokyo via Beijing. The travel took 19 hours in total and just like any other traveller, I was exhausted and just waiting for my luggage so I can go home and rest. I arrived at Haneda airport waiting there for an hour but I couldnt find my suitcase. After few minutes , an airport staff confirmed that my suitcase hasn't arrived and will need to be tracked. Worst part is, you will sign a paper which authorizes them to check you luggage without you being physical there; which I dont like because I want my things inspected infront of me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBCN to HND via PEK
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"either mediocre or pitiful"

(United States)

Seoul Gimpo to Los Angeles via Beijing and I have only a deep sigh of annoyance when recounting my first experience with Air China. My entire experience from start to finish was either mediocre or pitiful. Check in at Gimpo felt like a lifetime as stranded passengers from the day before were asked to line up in the business class line to be re-ticketed, causing the economy line to move faster. Once in Beijing, airport security was a disaster with the transit security line taking over an hour to complete. With my frustration level steadily rising, it only become worse when gate agents neglected to communicate that our flight was delayed due to weather and having discovered the news an hour later after enquiring. On board, cabin service was a hit or miss with attendants being a roulette of either lukewarm or friendly. Requested meals were often mixed up or forgotten as I was given the wrong meal. Finally, in adding to my string of mishaps, my priority tagged bag was put out last in the baggage carousel. The business class experience I had hoped for was barely existent on Air China.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGMP to LAX via PEK
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Business Class lounge a waste of time"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manila to London Heathrow via Beijing with Air China. Started smoothly with check-in at Manila, however, the lounge Air China share in Terminal 1 is so poor and feels dusty. Lacking food options, only a couple of stale sandwiches and plain rice. The flight from Manila to Beijing on B737-800 was comfy enough - never tried the food as catching up on sleep. The changeover at Beijing was shocking - the queues and disorder unreal, no organisation, no Business class lanes and took over 1 hour 30 mins within the same Terminal. Then the hike to the Business Class lounge and what a waste of time that was. No cold drinks, poor Chinese food, very bland and my local budget take away does better and again, the smell of dust like the carpets haven't been cleaned since the Terminal opened. Final call for the last flight was 1 hour before the flight was due to depart, we were put on shuttle bus crammed like the local metros and waited over 30 mins before moving off to the plane and then of course delayed as per the Beijing usual. The seat on the B777-300 is a flat bed rougly 6'4"" and slghlty narrow but comfortable, the AVOD is a waste of time unless you're Chinese. Food was shocking, all cold drinks served at room temperature - do they not have ice in China?
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMNL to LHR via PEK
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"FA's were unsmiling/unfriendly"

(United Kingdom)

Having paid $265 in excess baggage (I was relocating permanently from South Korea to UK) Air China, left all baggage behind in Beijing. Along with several others from my flight we made our complaint at Heathrow lost baggage desk. I was told my baggage would be delivered within 24 hours. It did arrive, but 48 hours later. On the flight, food was average at best, beer was lukewarm, inflight entertainment was poor with controls set into the armrest meaning movies would accidentally be fast forwarded/stopped etc - very annoying. FA's were unsmiling/unfriendly but professional. Flight was too cold, with thin, ineffective blankets provided. Transferring in Beijing was most unpleasant spending most of my transfer time lined up in non air conditioned arrival hall, ready to be manhandled by over zealous military style Chinese security officers. All in all not a great flight experience (I realize not all of this was down to Air China).
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteICN to LHR via PEK
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"FAs were cold but professional"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Ulaanbaatar to Beijing (CA 956 and CA 955) with Air China. These 2.5 hour long flights were relatively uneventful albeit with minor turbulence. The aircraft appeared to be relatively well maintained. FAs were cold but professional. A meal was served only on CA 956 because it was during dinner service, while only refreshments were offered on the return flight. The only meal offerings were Asian inspired but tasted ok. Overall, a standard trip which got me from A to B safely but nothing I would write home about. I found it strange how Air China doesn't allow passengers to use mobile phones (even on flight mode) during the flight, mentioning that anyone who breaks the rule faces 'serious penalties'.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteULN to PEK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"would not advise to take Air China"

(France)

Paris CDG to Nagoya via Shanghai. I would not advise to take Air China - Was disappointed at the many changes of flight Schedule. At Nagoya for my way back to Paris, they could only check in till Shanghai, which means I had to do everything again at Shanghai. IFE was rather for Chinese people - the food looked like simple fresh frozen food, and did not reflect the good Chinese cuisine. I appreciated the hardwork of Flight Attendants on board.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to NGO via PVG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"such poor quality of service"

(Singapore)

Was leaving Beijing to Singapore on Air China with my family. We check in 3 hours before our departure at gate E26. Less than 45 minutes before departure, the gate changed to E51. It happens sometimes and as usual, the announcement is not clear. To go from E26 to E51 is a long way as we are not familiar with airport terminal 3, I understand later there is a short cut to go to E51. But you only have less than 45 minutes before departure to make your way to E51, We just follow the signboards instructions. We were rushing from one end to another. But what really annoyed me is that there is not a single customer service officer/staff at the gate E51. A customer service officer appeared about 10 minutes before the original departure (1535 hrs). This is the first time, I have encountered such poor quality of service from a national carrier. The flight was delayed about under 2 hours before departure. Their ground operation's customer service quality is appalling.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePEK to SIN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"crew speak very poor English"

(United Kingdom)

Beijing to London with Air China. Cabin crew speak very poor English and ignore passenger requests. The captain kept on turning on the seat belt sign for any minimal turbulence. Food was poor quality. However, would still recommend flying with this company due to low prices and good quality aircraft.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePEK to LHR
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"you get what you pay for"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Nanchang via Beijing. During the first leg, the seat space in economy was mostly ok, but could have been better. Seating is 3-4-3. The Inseat-entertainment was modern but crashed once. Stupid thing is, that in order to call the cabin crew, you need a working IFE as there is no additional external button any more. Then the beer supply ran out already during the first meal serving. I was offered a chinese red wine instead which i declined due to bad experience from previous flights. There is only chinese wines "Great Wall" being served in economy anyway. Don't go for it. Food was not the best. IFE choice was mostly chinese movies with chinese subtitles; hardly any new international movies. Cabin crew was doing a good job, boarding in FRA was fast and efficient. Domestic flight PEK-KHN showed no IFE and no meals; only some strange buns and limited drink choice. Flight start got delayed in PEK for 45 mins without explanation. That is normal and happens many times on domestic flights inside China. Basically you get what you pay for.
AircraftBoeing 747-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFRA to KHN via PEK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no