top100_2016  

Air China

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 368 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"such poor quality of service"

(Singapore)

Was leaving Beijing to Singapore on Air China with my family. We check in 3 hours before our departure at gate E26. Less than 45 minutes before departure, the gate changed to E51. It happens sometimes and as usual, the announcement is not clear. To go from E26 to E51 is a long way as we are not familiar with airport terminal 3, I understand later there is a short cut to go to E51. But you only have less than 45 minutes before departure to make your way to E51, We just follow the signboards instructions. We were rushing from one end to another. But what really annoyed me is that there is not a single customer service officer/staff at the gate E51. A customer service officer appeared about 10 minutes before the original departure (1535 hrs). This is the first time, I have encountered such poor quality of service from a national carrier. The flight was delayed about under 2 hours before departure. Their ground operation's customer service quality is appalling.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePEK to SIN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"crew speak very poor English"

(United Kingdom)

Beijing to London with Air China. Cabin crew speak very poor English and ignore passenger requests. The captain kept on turning on the seat belt sign for any minimal turbulence. Food was poor quality. However, would still recommend flying with this company due to low prices and good quality aircraft.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePEK to LHR
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"you get what you pay for"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Nanchang via Beijing. During the first leg, the seat space in economy was mostly ok, but could have been better. Seating is 3-4-3. The Inseat-entertainment was modern but crashed once. Stupid thing is, that in order to call the cabin crew, you need a working IFE as there is no additional external button any more. Then the beer supply ran out already during the first meal serving. I was offered a chinese red wine instead which i declined due to bad experience from previous flights. There is only chinese wines "Great Wall" being served in economy anyway. Don't go for it. Food was not the best. IFE choice was mostly chinese movies with chinese subtitles; hardly any new international movies. Cabin crew was doing a good job, boarding in FRA was fast and efficient. Domestic flight PEK-KHN showed no IFE and no meals; only some strange buns and limited drink choice. Flight start got delayed in PEK for 45 mins without explanation. That is normal and happens many times on domestic flights inside China. Basically you get what you pay for.
AircraftBoeing 747-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFRA to KHN via PEK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"first and last time with Air China"

(Australia)

Sydney to Stockholm via Beijing with Air China. It began with the flight from Sydney to Beijing being 2 hours late. That made me, and many other people on the same flight to miss our transfer in Beijing. I was to catch a flight from Beijing onwards to Zurich and then from there to Stockholm. But as the flight delayed, the whole route got destroyed. I was stuck in Beijing airport where not a single person spoke English. Had to wait 7 hours until I got help and got booked on another plane headed straight to Stockholm without any transit. And guess what, the plane was delayed 1 hour. This was the first and most certainly the last time I'm flying with Air China, horrible airline and will avoid it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to ARN via PEK
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not worth the grief"

(New Zealand)

Booked flights on Air China website to fly Montreal to Havana and really should have trusted my gut instinct. Plus these reviews. Was ticketed to fly to Havana on 26 July and back to Montreal on 1 August as Air China only nonstop option. Air China sent me a schedule change in early June having me now arriving Havana at 2030h on 29 July and returning at 1000h the next day! 13.5 hours in Havana to savor a mojito and some architecture? Called local reservations centre who advised no other available flights as Air China have reduced flights from 3 to 1 a week. Ok, understood. Further advised only option was to request refund online and rebook with alternative carrier. Done and flights purchased on Copa now at double price! Follow up emails to Air China (3 so far) asking about refund ETA have gone unanswered. Rubbish experience, lesson learned. Not worth the grief. You are warned.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYUL to HAV
Date FlownJune 2016
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"staff service was very good"

(United States)

Beijing to Houston with Air China. Seat comfort was bearable but felt flimsy and the seat cushions were thin. Food was poor. Staff service was very good overall - they were friendly and eager to help. IFE selection wasn't that good, touch screen didn't work and I had to use the little remote on the side of the armrest the whole flight. Entertainment box cover was poorly duct taped back on onto entertainment box. My bags made it through everything not damaged.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePEK to IAH
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst experience ever"

(Canada)

Vancouver to Beijing. I've been traveling around the world for the last 20 years and pretty much tried all major airlines. Air China is hands down worst experience ever from every point of view. Besides the unappetizing food the flight attendant woke me up as the plane prepared to land, with a tap on the shoulder and with "hey wake up". My advice even if you pay couple of hundred dollars more chose any other airline and avoid transit in China where to change $20 in yuan for a coffee, the service charge is $10 for your transaction.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteYVR to PEK
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"staff can barely speak English"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Beijing to Singapore with Air China. Overall not-so-pleasant experience - flight was delayed for an hour without clear announcement. Staff can barely speak English even on international flight and the cabin was dirty. Flight was cheap though.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePEK to SIN
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Air China customer review

(United Kingdom)

Phuket to London via Beijing with Air China. We have never been with an airline that seems to have no control of its customers. When trying to check in you are taken back to the 1960's everything takes 3 times longer than any other airline. When queuing with 5 people in front of you, it’s not - its 5 people holding 5 passports each! Then they proceed to check each person in calling them over from the other side of the airport. At this point you will have 90 minutes before checking in. Give the normal 3 hours to check in but don't expect to see duty free as it will take you 3 hours of waiting. Lastly Queuing is more like a cat fight. Don't move, don’t talk, don’t let them Push in (one nearly breaking my foot with the hard push into me). This is my third flight with Air China within 3 weeks from different airports, and the check-in process is the same across the full network.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKT to LHR via PEK
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"realistic with our expectations"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My girlfriend and I flew with Air China from London Heathrow to Bangkok via Bejing, and everything was fine. The staff were friendly and helpful, food was as good as can be on an economy flight, and the beer (a chinese beer) excellent. The entertainment was good, but could be better. We had only paid GBP330 for these flights, so we were realistic with our expectations. Air China were no better or worse than other airlines, purely on price they would come higher than some premium airlines. Air China is a Chinese airline, therefore the majority is going to be catered towards the Chinese. I recommend this airline for comfort, safety and all round enjoyment. But more importantly to try the Yan jing beer.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to BKK via PEK
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes