Air China

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 670 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Air China customer review

Review by (United States) 1st August 2015

My rating is 0/10. We visited relatives in China from late June to early July. We made the reservation through a travel agent at US, we chose this airline for its shorter travel time and slightly lower price. Our transfer time in Beijing was 1h 40min. When we book the ticket, the airline told our agent it is not any issue. This is a lie. On the way to China, flight attendants told us that we need to get our baggage in Beijing and then return them for the transfer (this is fine, and we do this when we get to US). When we arrived, the help desk woman near the baggage claim said the same thing. However, we waited and waited, but our luggage never came out. We asked the attendant who supervises the baggage claim, she said they will be directly sent to the final destination. Of course, we missed our connection flight. When we went to change our flight, the Air China staff said we do not need to pick up our baggage and tried to blame this on us. Later, I found out they should have paid our lodging since this was their fault. Of course, they forgot to mention this. On the way back to US, our flight from Hefei was delayed for 24 hours. Basically, Beijing Airport did not allow any flights to get in that day. So after notifying us the flight had no departure time, no one from Air China showed up to assist or answer any questions. We were kept waiting and waiting. After sitting in the airport for 8 hours, finally two low-rank Air China staff showed up and could not solve anything. When the passengers got upset and asked to see the supervisor, one of the staff said the manager does not work on weekends, instead she got four security guards! We and two fellow passengers had international flights at Beijing, and were stuck. We called the airline help desk, they said they are not responsible for anything and cannot make any changes since we bought our tickets from an agent. If we need to change, we need to go to Beijing. Essentially, if you are not at Beijing, you are screwed in any emergency situations. Once we got to Beijing 24 hours later, the staff at the counter were rude, unsympathetic, and unorganized. There were so many passengers who missed flights, and Air China had only 2 staff members to deal with the passengers. If you do not insist on them providing a solution, they just brush you aside. We had to stand before them for 2 hours before it can be finally resolved. Overall, if you could, do not take Air China, the service for emergencies such as delay, particular in any other cities, is non-existing. There are so many inconsistencies between flight crew and ground staff. Beijing Airport cannot handle the amount of traffic and jam any emergency may cause. If you have to go to Beijing, make sure this is your final stop and take the fast rail to your final destination if you can.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLAX to Hefei via Beijing
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Air China customer review

Review by (Denmark) 31st July 2015

First class Beijing to Sydney. They started boarding economy class passengers before first and business! It was only when staff noticed me standing in the first class queue that they figured that I should probably go in now. The first class cabin is nice and I liked my seat. However, service onboard was horrible. The flight attendant barely spoke English, and when she asked what I wanted for dinner, I didn't understand half the choices. There was no printed menu, so I had to make a choice based on what little words I were able to grab from the flight attendant. The food was okay. There were maybe 5 dishes that were mostly good, except for the main dish which was some type of meat that didn't taste good. I didn't get a wine list at any point. The entertainment system was ok, but not that many choices in terms of US films and shows. And the ones available had Chinese subtitles that you couldn't turn off. And before each title started there were long commercials. After the flight attendant turned my seat into a comfy bed, I didn't see her for the next 8 hours or so. She didn't set foot in the cabin. So no way to order more drinks or snacks. And there was no bar or lounge area. I saw the flight attendant again maybe an hour before landing when it was time for breakfast. Food was good and comprehensive. Generally I would not recommend Air China if you plan to shell out for a first class ticket!
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteBeijing to Sydney
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Air China customer review

Review by (Australia) 30th July 2015

When we arrived at Beijing airport at 10:30 pm to check in for our flight to Paris we were told that the flight was delayed to 5:50 in the morning due to thunderstorm. I couldn't believe that as we had previously flown in much worse weather. It wasn't even raining but I won't argue with the decision Air China made as safety is a priority. We were already so tired and we weren't happy as our return flight to Korea with Air China had already been rescheduled inconveniently. It was very hard to access to the wifi at the airport so It was very difficult to change our pick up arrangements to accommodate the late arrival in Paris. I asked the Air China Duty manager at the check in desk to let us stay at the hourly hotel in the airport for a couple of hours as we were tired and a shower was needed considering the humid Beijing weather. I am very unhappy with how we were dealt with. One of the duty managers told us he understood how annoying the situation was for us. Furthermore, He said he would do anything he could for us so I requested the hourly hotel and he made a phone call. After he was on the phone for a short time he said, unfortunately, there were no rooms available . As much as we were frustrated and annoyed, I thought he couldn't really do anything more for us at that time. I asked him if he could put us on the waiting list for a room at least, so if any rooms became available we could get one. He said that wasn't a problem and he said our names were on the list. Although we were tired and frustrated we had no idea he was lying to us so we were quite polite and cooperative, I wish I grabbed his name at that time as we later discovered almost everything he told us was a lie. After we went through customs and security we headed to the hourly hotel as I wanted to double-check our names were actually on the waiting list. They informed us that there was no list as they had plenty of rooms available for us if we were willing to pay. We explained to the hotel attendant what we had been told and his response was that Air China said they were not willing to pay for it. With the help of the hotel attendant we tried to call the Air China Duty Manager but of course he wouldn't answer the phone. I also called the customer service desk of Air china and finally got through to somebody after several attempts and considerable time on hold. The lady told me that she couldn't help because I chose English therefore the line went through to LA Air China so that she couldn't help us. I don't know where to begin to complain about this situation. The way we were dealt with is totally unacceptable. First of all, how the manager lied to our faces like that I still can not believe he thinks he can do that to customers. I have never seen anyone so unprofessional and dishonest when representing a big company. If customer service is only for Chinese speaking people and English speakers only get a dummy speaker and they can't actually help anyone with the problems, they might as well be up front about it. Then they could have saved my time and money for making all the international calls like an idiot at 2am in the morning. I emailed the customer service. All I got was the number that I originally called in the first place! Ridiculous!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteIncheon to Paris via Beijing
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

Air China customer review

Review by (Singapore) 28th July 2015

SYD-PEK-TPE-PVG. A long queue formed 3.5 hours in advance (half an hour before check-in opens). This is a long flight, so arrive early to get a decent seat. The long haul offered two meals. Dinner was edible but breakfast was better. Drinks are free flow and crew are happy to serve water. IFE is channel-based (you don't get to choose the show on demand, rather what is being shown), and it may not interest those who don't know Chinese well. Did not hear the Captain speak for this long stretch, and crew's English announcements can be hard to hear. Flights to and from TPE: Breakfast appeared to be simpler. Captain did give announcement for this stretch. Wifi IFE is available for flights to and from TPE, but Air China specifically bars mobile phones from accessing this system. If you don't have a laptop, you are probably out of luck. Premium economy seats are empty, and are basically the same economy seats on SYD-PEK (channel-based IFE). ATC delayed 1.5 hours both directions. Overall a decent value for money, if you have China on your visit list and don't really mind about the IFE. Be aware of ATC delays if you only plan to transit.
AircraftA333, A332
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSYD to TPE via PEK
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Air China customer review

Review by (United States) 26th July 2015

Do yourself a favor, pay a bit extra and fly any other airline if possible. Alternatives on this route will be EVA air, for example. Worst customer service, delayed flights that will screw up your entire trip, terrible rules in Beijing airport. For example, once the first leg was delayed and screwed up our plan to get out of the airport and spend a day in Beijing, we tried to get on the earlier flight to San Francisco to avoid spending 6 hours on the airport. The staff at the gate refused to even talk to us. They said we need to get out through immigration and customs, go to the Air China ticket office and talk to them to get on a standby. Seriously? Did you try going through security in China? They take out every battery and examine it manually. Also, if they didn't have any seats, we'd have to go through security and check in process for our original flight again. Once you finally make it to your flight, there is no use of mobile devices, even when in the airplane mode. My 6 years old daughter wasn't allowed to watch movies or play games on her inactive old iPhone (basically an iPod). Flight attendants do not smile, they are rude, answer no to any request. There is no alcoholic beverages on intercontinental flights (if you care). Try asking for extra Coke mid flight and see the reaction. Food is terrible. Never again I will consider Air China for my business.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBangkok to SFO via Beijing
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Air China customer review

Review by (Kuwait) 25th July 2015

Check in was smooth and no big queues. Boarding smooth, flight took off and landed on time. Seats and aircraft clean and neat. Quiet a new aircraft. TV screens for each seat with a some choice of English and Chinese/Japanese Lagrangian movies. All seats with blankets and head sets. Food predominantly Chinese and Japanese (understandably), Soft drinks beer and Alcohol served before meal. Toilets were clean. The onboard duty free was decent and well conducted. Typically, Chinese returning passengers, carry a lot of hand baggage. Great flight for the price compared to ANA/JAL. We were so apprehensive before booking online (reading many negative reviews). I strongly recommend Air China for this sector.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteTokyo Narita to Beijing
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Air China customer review

Review by (United States) 24th July 2015

The worst customer service I have ever received. My flight is delayed 5 hours which causes me to miss both of my connections, and when I asked what my new options were at Phuket Airport they refused to provide me with any information, and just shoved the Beijing boarding pass in my hand. When I tried to explain I didn't have to take that specific route, just somehow I needed to get back home to Orlando. In Beijing, I explained my flight was delayed, they completely ignored me, spoke among each other, and handed me a ticket with a middle seat when I specifically requested an isle seat. I asked where my flight was from JFK, several times, and they just yelled "booked! Booked! Check JFK"! I get to jfk, didn't know what airline I was flying home from or at what time, and I found they intentionally gave me the worst seat on that flight (fortunately Delta is courteous enough to let you choose your seat, so I was able to fix this). Air China was the worst flight experience of my life.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RoutePhuket to JFK via Beijing
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Air China customer review

Review by (Singapore) 13th July 2015

Usually I fly Etihad for Geneva - Chengdu route, therefore I can't help but comparing the 2 airlines. Both are national carrier of their respective countries, however, the difference is obvious. I just want to mention some main points: 1) The crews are not really warm nor patient, which happens to almost all Air China flights I have taken. I am not sure whether it's because majority of the passengers are Chinese. I am not going comment on the behavior of the passengers themselves, as a service provider, the least you have to do is smile and be courteous. On the other hand, I can't say all Etihad crews are excellent, but I have encountered some who are really sincere and hospitable. 2) The entertainment system is really outdated, the control is not sensible any more and the movies are really lame. On the contrary, Etihad has a great selection of movies and easy to use system. Besides, it has considerably provided each passenger a small pouch with an eye mask, a toothbrush with toothpaste, a pair of ear plugs plus a pair of socks. I suggest Air China to have more trainings on the attitude of their cabin crews and how to provide exceptional customer service.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteGeneva to Chengdu via Beijing
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Air China customer review

Review by (United States) 7th July 2015

We used this airline from Melbourne to Beijing CA166, and Beijing to Houston on CA 955. The first airplane was filthy and worn out. The second was better but the flight attendants didn't speak English and it was hard to get a smile out of them. Even customers flying in business class mentioned that the menu was bad. Overall, the menu and beverage options are very limited and the service is very poor. Our children, my husband and I went over 12 hours without a meal - all the meals offered at Air China have a spicy taste. We were expecting a fair menu for all cultures and especially a fair menu for our children. Our toddler couldn't even get a second order of apple juice because it was all gone! During our first flight with Air China from Australia to Beijing, I asked to have a replacement of food from steak to chicken, thinking it was less spicy, and I received a chicken meal prepared with extra cardamom. I asked the flight attendant about it and he said that all customers that returned their first meal get the 2nd meal with an extra spice taste! This is an absolutely ridiculous statement, and obviously the menus are customized to Chinese customers only. Very poor service, very poor menus and beverage options and very poor experience!
AircraftA330 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMelbourne to Houston via Beijing
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Air China customer review

Review by (Australia) 7th July 2015

Flew Melbourne to Shanghai return 2 weeks ago. Cancelled one leg of the flight as I had made other arrangements and was told that I had to repurchase tickets when I arrived for my return flight. Of course this was only after spending 5 hours at the airport calling the US and Beijing office from Shanghai. Their staff in Shanghai and Beijing had no way to change tickets, nor did they take any interest into what should have been their responsibility. So after writing an email 2 weeks ago to discuss these issues, still no response. Finally ended up calling their hotline which was directed to their US office - surprise, surprise there's nothing they are willing to do to help.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMelbourne to Shanghai via Bejing
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no