Best Cabin Crew  

Air China

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 322 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"really bad experience"

(United States)

New York JFK to Mumbai via Beijing, and I don't recommend Air China to anyone. I had a really bad experience. I had a transfer stop at Beijing, China, and I landed there an hour late, I had to catch a connecting flight and I wanted to get there fast, so I ask the people that worked at the airport for assistance and all they said was "I don't know" and they don't understand English. I asked about 8-10 people and same response. I ended up missing my flight. My luggage was on the connecting flight and the next flight was 2 days after, so they flew me to Singapore to go to our destination. We ended up taking Jet Airways to our destination. The worst thing was the customer service at Beijing airport.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to BOM via PEK
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"requests for help ignored"

(United Kingdom)

Bangkok to Heathrow via Beijing. Air China is the worst airline ever. After a medical emergency caused a delay, half the flight missed connecting flights and requests for help were ignored by cabin crew. Staff at terminal allowed chaos to ensue by allowing a scene reminiscent of a trading market to develop among those lucky enough to find the Air China desk - then sending people off in a blind panic with only the vaguest indication of where to find the gate and no assistance through security. All this meant it took so long to be processed and were in a near panic
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to LHR via PEK
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"surely fly Air China again"

(United States)

Newark to Singapore via Beijing with Air China. The planes were fairly new, clean and everything worked. The cabin staff spoke English and were there to serve us. They were extremely helpful and friendly. The food was plentiful and very good. The movies, in both English and Chinese, were current not outdated as some have noted. My only comment is the business class lay-flat seats on the A330 was more comfortable than the seats on the Boeing 777ER. The screens were larger also. We took advantage of the 72-hour transit visa in Beijing and had a wonderful time. Planning to return again in the future. The re-boarding in Beijing for our flight to Singapore was very easy because they have a check-in area for first and business class passengers. We took advantage of the Business Class lounge which had plentiful food and drinks. The return trip from Singapore via Beijing to Newark was even better. Check-in at the Singapore airport is in the first/business class lounge. Transit in Beijing was quick and allowed us to enjoy the Business class lounge again. We were hoping to get the same cabin crew for our trip to Newark but the new crew was just as hospitable and friendly and spoke English. We will surely fly Air China again, and the cost is much less than other airlines flying the same route.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER / A330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteEWR to SIN via PEK
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"would never fly again"

(United States)

Houston to Bangkok via Beijing with Air China. The price was right so we booked them, but would never fly again. They clearly cater to an Asian passenger. No staff speak English. Only two of the movie choices were in English and I could find only 1-2 Western music choices. Food was rice and more rice, and no western choices available for us. Asian beer and wine only, but ran out of both on the flight out and the flight back about a third into the flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIAH to BKK via PEK
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"I would fly them again"

(Hungary)

Budapest to Sydney via Beijing with Air China. I was satisfied with punctuality, staff, cleanliness etc. From Beijing to Sydney (12 hour flight), the aircraft seats were very small, no legroom at all. Another shortcoming was the remote control on the Budapest - Beijing flight, it was hard to handle, the buttons were hardly working. Maybe I was lucky but I have seen the staff clean the toilets. The inflight entertainment was good enough. More films on our way back would have been nice. The food was OK. All in all, I would fly them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBUD to SYD via PEK
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Was very pleasantly surprised after reading some negative reviews about Air China. All four flights (London to Auckland via Beijing return) were very comfortable and I actually slept better than I have on any other flight. Food was just as good as any other airline. The movie choice was a little bit limited but there were enough films to keep us both entertained for all four flights. Flights were on time and Beijing airport is a very nice airport to pass some time in. Extremely good value for money and would not hesitate to fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to AKL via PEK
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"aircraft were very old"

(Denmark)

Travelled SGN-PEK-CNX on 28th January 2016. Check-in staff very firm, almost rude, trying to avoid to print out the 2nd boarding card which I had to provide quite a lot additional information to get in hand. It took me almost 15 minutes to check in in Saigon. Both flights on time and even departed and arrived earlier than scheduled. The flights were on Boeing 737-700’s with only 8 seats in business of which 6 were taken on both legs. Aircraft were very old (eg. with ashtrays all over the place) but well maintained. Seats old recliners, but limited legspace on first row and limited recline on 2nd row due to the wall separation to economy class. Space in business class on a B737 is bit cramped if more than 4 people. Onboard, the style and service differ from many other airlines, and Air China may be disappointing if expectations are similar to those of other full-service carriers. However, I like the exotic, rigid, Chinese touch and the Chinese cuisine and service provided. Evening meals were good was good and plenty but the breakfast was only with a choice of noodles or porridge. Both mediocre. Predeparture drinks offered incl champagne Cattier Brut Icone. I got the smallest champagne glass that I have ever encountered (top-diameter only 3 cm!). However, refills were offered more than twice. Wines were only Chinese or substandard European brands, beers onboard only Yanjing was provided. Soft drinks plenty. Tea and coffee only from teabags and instant coffee. Cheese offered on the last sector, not the first. Chocolate not available. Flight Entertainment provided no options for selection and constituted merely a joke. Only a shared, microscopic ceiling screen of 25 x 20 cm was available per 4 pax. Earphones provided but are tiny and cheap substandards for business class. No amenity kit provided. Toilets were clean and maintained with a few toiletries available. English onboard was spoken but was in general poor, however FA’s tried hard to please passengers. Transfer in Beijing implied several messy queuing but Air China lounge made up for that. Would recommend and try again if price is right.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSGN to CNX via BJS
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"pleasant for what you pay"

(United Kingdom)

Air China from London Heathrow to Hong Kong with a Beijing stopover for 3 days, and Air China are pleasant for what you pay. We couldn't check in online and they are very strict with the luggage weight - even if you are 0.1kg overweight they will not allow it. Flights on time, food was relatively good, they gave you 3 selections of main course and it was edible. Movies I do have to say was lacking a bit - Air China had about 5 new recent movies and everything else is a bit older or Chinese related movies. The airshow map was interesting as it tells you where you are and local cities around. But you cannot really complain if my plane ticket is £350! I could have flown with British Airways but the ticket was £550. The seat was surprisingly comfortable, they provided water in the flight twice. The onward flight to Hong Kong from Beijing was a smaller plane, seats were slightly uncomfortable, quite hard and no entertainment on the seat. It was a 3.5 hour journey and they provided a full meal and 2 round of drinks. Cabin crew can be seen as rude, and their English is really bad. They should improve their English a bit more as there is a language barrier. Even if your phone is on flight mode it is not allowed to be used, it has to be turned off. Overall experience positive, although not perfect it was worth flying for the price of the ticket.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to HKG via PEK
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"Food adequate. Staff polite"

(United Kingdom)

Recently flew from Sydney to London via Beijing with Air China. Plane half empty on first leg of journey, so enjoyed plenty of space around me. Food adequate. Staff polite, little English spoken but always helpful. Water offered frequently. Inflight entertainment not so good, headphones not working, but listened to music channel. Unfortunate that couldnt use my ipad to watch pre downloaded movies, read books. Second leg of journey was very hard. Was promised voucher for 12 hour stopover, but didnt happen, no staff about to help at midnight and it all became very stressful and unpleasant. Had to wait 12 hours in freezing cold Beijing airport, nowhere warm, no cafes open serving hot food. Had to lie on hard bench and try to sleep along with lots of other people. When airport began to open, was hard to find staff to speak to. Eventually found some pod like beds, very hard and tried to sleep, but too cold. I would fly with them again. It is ok, no frills, but adequate. Just take warm clothes and be polite to staff, if you say please and thank you, they will help you.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to LHR via PEK
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"below average airline"

(Switzerland)

Frankfurt to Auckland via Beijing with Air China. Below average airline with lots of small issues they could easily fix if they cared, but they seem to not even care. Entertainment system has a 9" 16:9 screen, but they have letterboxed all content in 4:3 format. The content is all 16:9 or cinematic so it displays using only about 1/4 of the screen area, so you end up watching what is effectively about a 4" screen. - Entertainment system is not gate to gate - Movie selection is very poor, only a couple of new releases, and a small number of old movies, most of which are Chinese. Crew and captain make constant announcements, even in the middle of the night. e.g. at 3am they announced they would be coming through selling duty free, then at 4am they announced that we might like to watch an exercise video. Lights are left on too late on night flights. Midnight takeoff and lights were left on till about 3am. The cabin TV screen was also left on the whole flight which was glaring bright and unnecessary, should have been turned off when the lights were turned off. Sest pitch seemed smaller than normal. Air China website does not allow seat selection except if you purchased from air china website, so you end up in a seat lottery. Food quality was terrible, and quantity very small. Same meals served on all 3 flights I took (Chicken or beef with rice on every flight) Wine was undrinkable including Chinese wine. Air China lounge in Beijing is very poor, dirty, and run down. (Shanghai lounge is excellent) If you transfer in Shanghai with Air China you have to clear immigration, collect your bags, clear customs, go to check in, clear immigration, clear customs and clear security, which takes 1-3 hours depending on the immigration/security queues. Why can't they check bags through for international transfers like every other country/airline? Staff constantly bump into passengers in the aisle seats and seem to not care about this. No water service in the night hours (but at least good water service, 1x per hour, during the day)
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFRA to AKL via PEK
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no