Airline of the Year  

Air China

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 474 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"a decent price tag"

(China)

Verified Review | Beijing to Singapore. With a decent price tag, the meal was tasty, the crews were friendly and professional on the flight, offered drink service after the meal service. Overall I would choose to fly with Air China again.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Singapore
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"would choose them again"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Beijing. Chose this airline as it was cheaper and the timing gave me half a day more in Shanghai before moving on to Beijing. The aircraft type stated during booking was a Boeing 787-9, however, they changed this a few days before the flight to an A330. Luckily I had a point to check my flight booking consistently, as the seat that I selected (33A) was a premium economy seat on the 787, but an economy class seat on the A330- managed to move to seat 32A, which was a premium economy seat. The seat itself was identical to the economy class seat, with the exception of a different colour and generous legroom - I could stretch my legs fully without even touching the seat back in front of me! Before take-off, the cabin crew served drinks to the passengers in premium economy - a welcome service, but perhaps the standard of a premium economy class cabin, given that this was my first time flying premium economy. The flight was delayed-the boarding time was supposed to be 5:25pm, but the aircraft did not even come in until about 5:35pm! In the end, we landed in Beijing 30 minutes late. The cabin crew were quite friendly, giving out drinks quickly and clearing them fast enough. A meal was served on board, but I found it to be rather small compared to other full service carriers. The IFE screen, though touchscreen, was a bit small and the selection was quite limited. However, what I really found weird was the ban on all electronic devices - being used to being able to use smaller PEDs (with communication features turned off, of course) on other airlines, this was a surprise to me. Overall I found this flight to be enjoyable and given the fare, would choose them again.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteShanghai to Beijing
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I am absolutely shocked"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Harbin. Our flight unfortunately misconnected at Shanghai Pudong and Qantas rebooked us on an Air China which is two days later. The itenary was confirmed by Qantas staff and was in writing. When we arrived to check in with Air China, the check in staff was printing our boarding when he suddenly then tore up the passes. He then claimed there was a minor technicality with the ticket (the re issued ticket had its validity date set at yesterday instead of today when we were supposed to fly). He refused to offer further assistance and told us to contact the airline ourselves, even though we had no local phone to use. Basically he said that was not his problem. When we tried to seek help from a neighbouring female check in agent, she got up and yelled at us at the top of her voice to "get lost". We are stuck in the airport with no way of getting our flight rescheduled. It is really shocking how Air China can simply dishonour a confirmed itenary by another airline just like this. This experience left my girlfriend absolutely in tears. I am absolutely shocked how Air China's check in staff can treat passengers in such a dehumanising and humiliating manner.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Harbin
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Seats were comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Hong Kong via Beijing. Plane was modern and clean. Staff spoke just enough English. Food not so good for European tastes, but enjoyed by Chinese who made up majority of passengers. Drinks served quickly and replenished during the flight. Seats were comfortable with clean blankets and pillows provided. Entertainment was limited but included some new Hollywood films. Phones not allowed to be used so bring laptop or tablet! Bearing in mind the price of the flights I can't see what people complain about. Bearing in mind the overall standard and price I would fly again.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLondon to Hong Kong via Beijing
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"poor customer service"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | New York to Manila via Beijing. Horrible airline flight is delayed in Beijing going to Manila for 3 hours and the airline crew didn't say anything why the flight has been delayed. The staff don't know how to speak English so it's really hard to communicate with them. Never fly with this airline again they have poor customer service.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Manila via Beijing
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"chicken noodle was delicious"

(China)

Verified Review | Singapore to Beijing. Very comfortable flight, and the chicken noodle was delicious. The cabin crew were passionate at their job, flight was delayed and they offered concern to passengers who would miss their connections.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Beijing
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"would fly Air China again"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Moscow via Beijing. I can say that although it wasn't the best flight experience, it was not the worst either. If lack of IFE or decent meals is not a big deal for you, then Air China is going to be just fine. The cabin crew were friendly and accomodating despite the language barrier. I would fly Air China again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Moscow via Beijing
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"affordable choice to the budget minded traveller"

(United States)

Verified Review | Air China Business class from San Francisco to Beijing on the upper deck of a fairly new 747-8. The flight was decent and food service was OK. From the reviews I read, people should be reminded that this is a Chinese airline and the entertainment system is tailored accordingly. Knowing this, I was prepared with movies on my iPad. Flight attendant service was adequate. Beverage selection and service can be improved - Johnny Walker "Red Lable" in Business? No issues with checked baggage. Air China provides and affordable choice to the budget minded traveler.
AircraftBoeing 747-8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSan Francisco to Beijing
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"how bad in-flight entertainment was"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Shenzhen via Beijing. The key to tolerating a long flight is a good entertainment system since you are stuck in the plane with nothing else to do. I was shocked and disappointed at how bad the in-flight entertainment was! It's a small screen that was extremely pixelated, not touch screen, with a wired hand controller that dates to pre-internet days where you have to tab-tab-tab-select and oops you missed your target so start all over again tab-tab. The choice of movies and shows were kind of okay but catered to the Chinese. They also provided English subtitles but as the resolution was so poor it's not possible to read them! The more recent movie choices in English had the qualify of having been pirated. The audio was just awful. I gave up on the entertainment system an hour in, and read ebooks off my tablet instead! In this day and age, such a bad quality entertainment system is just unforgivable. The Chinese food was not too bad. The seats were just ok for an average-sized person but when the person in front of my reclined back, the entertainment screen was practically in my face and I had to in turn recline all the way back so I would stop kissing the screen. They wouldn't let anyone use any phones, even in flight mode! I would only fly again if there was a huge difference between the cost of their ticket and that of a more reputable airline. There are no USB hubs, and don't get excited when you notice there are power supply outlets under your seats, as they don't work! Our luggage arrived on time with no damage.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Shenzhen via Beijing
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolutely shocking service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Bangkok to London via Beijing. Absolutely shocking service from Air China. while the inflight experience is not good, this is nothing in comparison to what I've experienced since leaving the aircraft. First of all my luggage was left behind in Beijing. No big deal - this happens with all airlines. What's terrible is how Air China resolved this, or rather didn't. After chasing them many, many times over email (with up to two weeks passing between replied from their customer service team), they finally agreed to pay me the due compensation of £46. Great, I thought, a resolution. But when the envelope finally arrives through the post, I find it contains not a cheque but a voucher for travel with Air China. As I have NO intention to ever fly Air China again, I find this next to worthless. Reading back through my emails I now find (of course) that Air China did make one very discreet reference to a 'TCV' (or Travel Compensation Voucher). I think it's disgusting that they use a jargon-y acronym to hide their true intentions. The whole experience reeks of complete disregard for the customers that keep their shoddy business afloat and I would recommend that you avoid this airline. (and I could write a whole different complaint about the 5 hours I spent sitting on a badly air-conditioned plane awaiting take-off on the way out).
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to London via Beijing
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no