Air China

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 543 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"cabin crew is not very kind"

(China)

Trip Verified | I chose Air China from Guangzhou to Chengdu is because Chengdu is a hub for Air China and provides low fare. The flight takes off on time but the cabin crew is not very kind and even won't smile during the fight. The aircraft is new, only 5 months and it's A321 , could carry more passengers than A320. The seat is comfortable.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Chengdu
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"they were very unfriendly"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Flew Air China from Tokyo to Frankfurt via Beijing. This was the worst airline I have travelled with. It's like the flight attendants have to be unfriendly to work with this airline. I was on four different flights and on every flight they were very unfriendly. For example on one flight I was sleeping and I didn't hear that the plane was going to land, so the flight attendant came and pushed the bottom of the backrest so hard that I nearly hit my head on the seat in front of me. Besides they never really talked to me when they brought food. So I hope I never have to fly with this airline again!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Frankfurt via Beijing
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"put us in most disgusting hotel"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Our flight from Beijing to New York was cancelled and we were stuck in Beijing for 2 days. Air China would only pay for 1 night and put us up in the most disgusting hotel (Jinhangxian International Business Hotel). There was black mold all in the bathroom and the entire room smelled of cigarette smoke. It was so bad we had to leave and go find another hotel and had to pay.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBangkok to New York via Beijing
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst experience I've had"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Moscow to Auckland via Beijing. It was probably the worst experience I've had so far with the airlines. Cabin crew was not friendly nor helpful and at times even rude. In 12 hours flight they served food twice with 6 hours break. In Beijing where my daughter and I had a transfer stop it took for us 2 hours just to move to the area where I could buy coffee. Endless checkpoints, queues, stamps, no one speaks English. Even at information desk a girl had such a strong accent and such a poor English we couldn't communicate. Another two hours I took for us to leave the airport (I had booked a hotel for our 20 hrs stay there). No clear instructions, no help. Staff is mostly rude and grumpy. To get back to the airport it took three hours. I was with a little child and that was the first company who wouldn't let passenger with the kid to go with no queue or use a separate desk. One counter served three flights! I have more stamps in my passport for simply transiting through Beijing than for all my travels in European countries. When I arrived at destination I found that luggage was unpacked, some items disappeared and others just broken.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMoscow to Auckland via Beijing
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I am satisfied"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tokyo Narita to New York via Beijing. The seats were convertible to a lie flat bed; the pillow was larger than normal and the duvet was the best I had (flew. Food wise, I felt it was reasonable. They had a good selection of drinks and alcohol. They can definitely improve on the wines like getting French or Italian ones however I am not exactly hard up with wines so its fine. Entertainment wise, I felt that it was dated and they definitely can improve a lot more on it. Cabin crew were very polite and cheerful, I was able to converse in Mandarin and thus have no issues. They know a little English but do not expect much. Ground Service: JFK has always been known for screw ups including delays, cancellations and baggage loss. I was expecting that since I was traveling during the winter. However, what Air China could have done better was to have better service recovery. The re-booking of flights were horrendous, I had to hold the line for an hour and was cut off a few times as well. The NRT counter for Air China did not seem to know the airline policies, they re-booked us on an economy flight and forced us to accept it. They said that if we do not accept it, we had to call Air China on our own. This was unacceptable! They were also unaware if the difference in fare would be refunded. I obviously rejected and thus had to re-book on my own. Lounge in Beijing was reasonable but not fantastic. They can certainly improve on the food selection. The shower rooms are aged as well. The staff were very polite so I would say that it is still a pretty decent place to freshen up before the next flight. Other than that, I am satisfied and will fly Air China business class again.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTokyo Narita to New York via Beijing
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Waste of money and time"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Mumbai via Beijing. Never recommend anybody uses Air China. Cheaper price for tickets, I didn’t receive my luggage when I reached Bombay. I had all my wedding stuff in my bag and wedding was after 2 days. My luggage arrived after 3 days. Waste of money and time. Lady was very rude at LAX counter, when I Checked in my luggage. They didn’t provide me special veg meal. They said you don’t have ordered. I showed them my tickets, after one hour they give me food. Cheaper tickets but not worth it!
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Mumbai via Beijing
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I was seduced by their low fares"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Let me start off by complimenting Air China for the good value for money service provided during my flights from Singapore to Beijing and Beijing to New York on 14th December. For the cheap fare I paid, the flying experience wasn't bad. However, the same cannot be said for my return flight from New York to Beijing on 7th January 2018 and Beijing to Singapore on 9th January 2018. My experiences were horrible. 1) I reached JFK Airport at 12.30 pm on 7th January to check in for my flight CA972, which was scheduled to depart at 3.50 pm. The check in process was messy and chaotic. There was no clear organized way and I was only able to check in a few minutes before the departure time. Quite a number of Passengers were still to be checked in after me and I believe that this was the reason the flight got delayed. 2) First, we were told that the flight got delayed for 2 hours. This was acceptable. We were also given 20 dollars worth of meal vouchers, which wasn't bad. Then, for no clear reason, our flight got delayed by almost 12 hours and we only took off at 4 am the next day. We were not given any further meal vouchers after the first one. The delay time was ridiculous. I would surely miss my connecting flight to Singapore. 3) The flight was actually pleasant and I reached Beijing at 8 am local time on the 9th January. The employees at the Air China Transfer Counter changed my ticket to Singapore on another flight 8 hours later. I was tired and asked if they would be offering any hotel. They did. However, instead of directing me to get a 1 day Visa in Beijing, they directed me to international transit. They told me that I would be able to find Air China employees there (inside the transit area) who would help me to with the hotel. All this time, I could hear them cursing in Chinese, muttering under their breath. I am not Chinese (South Asian), but understand the Chinese swear words from my stay in Singapore. When I confronted them about it, the became very rude and started avoiding me. Frustrated, I left for the transit area. Once I got in, I could not find any Air China personnel in the Transit area. I was stuck there tired with no hotel or food or lounge access. I could not go back out to confront those employees. The flight back to Singapore was pleasant. But they forgot to update my Kosher meal preference. I was too frustrated at that point to even respond. It had been 2 days on the road and I just wanted to come back home. So far this is my worst experience ever. I have nothing against the in-flight crews. They were very nice. But the Air China ground staff in Beijing were extremely rude and intentionally unhelpful. I was seduced by their low fares, but I will not be flying Air China ever again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Singapore via Beijing
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"crew service is acceptable"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Harbin via Beijing. I am comparing Air China with Singapore Airlines with whom I have traveled many times. There was some negative initial prejudice involved. The cabin crew service is acceptable in terms of proactiveness and attentiveness. I sat on the middle seat and find it difficult to move to the toilet without the person in the aisle seat getting up for me. The number of toilets could be more as the wait can be long. In my outbound trip with them, I did not realize that there can be subtitles to the movies.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Harbin via Beijing
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst flight of my life"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | New York to Hong Kong via Beijing. This was the worst flight of my life. First of all I spent three hours on the check in line, after that the flight was delayed for 14 hours, and obviously I missed my connecting flight and also they lost my luggage
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Hong Kong via Beijing
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline to fly business class"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Dehli to Beijing. Worst airline to fly business class and seats were not reclining, sat like economy class and staff could barely speak English so hard to get what they are talking about they couldn’t fix. The food was not like business class, wouldn’t let us use lounge. There was no one who you can complain about service they asked us to call third party who booked the flight which is stupid, they are not responsible for inflight service. I emailed them I got email back saying sorry about your experience.
AircraftAir china333
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDehli to Beijing
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no