Air Berlin

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 477 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"profit over customer"

(France)

Verified Review | Disaster! Booked end March to fly from Stockholm to Geneva via Dusseldorf with my wife and 3 children, taking around 4 hours and thought I had a bargain. 6 weeks before departure was informed of a small change - had to leave 4 hours earlier to fly Stockholm - Berlin - Dusseldorf - Geneva, ie total journey time of 8 hours with children of 4, 6 and 8 years old. Immediately contacted Air Berlin who confirmed I could cancel if wanted (but by then flight prices had doubled) or else I would receive some confirmation if I contacted them via their website. Did this immediately and still haven't heard. Tried contacting them at the airport en route, but impossible to find an Air Berlin employee at the airport, only representatives from other companies who were shocked and sorry but weren't "able to do anything". Clear case of profit over customer but if you don't take care of the customer, then somebody else will and next time we will definitely not be flying with Air Berlin.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Geneva via Dusseldorf
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no customer service line"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York to Rome via Dusseldorf. We understand travel issues but AirBerlin was most disturbing and we still have not gotten through to any representative over 30 days later. Air Berlin has no customer service line for current customers only a "ticket booking line". And the representatives there will quickly and rudely tell you they cannot help you at all. This company has made itself inaccessible to its customers. We could only get bits of information through their affliate airline Alitalia. Basically though Alitaila said that it was AirBerlin we needed to get to to find baggage that had been lost with no trace for 4+days but then their is no way to reach Air Berlin - just email- to date we have and continue to send 40+ emails with no more than the automated reply that the message was received in return. There were multiple other details and issues (being told kmisinformation and waiting at airports only to find out the baggage was in fact still lost). But the biggest issue is Air Berlin's failure to respond to any messages or any emails-we have looked and tried multiple emails with no response.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Rome via Dusseldorf
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"trip was the worst out of all"

(United States)

Verified Review | Boston to Munich via Dusseldorf. This trip was the worst out of all and I was very disappointed with Air Berlin. I was traveling with one other person and her bag was lost and not returned for another week after it was found. She tried to call the company multiple times and it was nearly impossible to get a hold of someone to talk to. The flight attendants on our flight were also downright rude. I am a very easy going person and not much bothers me but they way they spoke to us and handled any problems was highly unprofessional. Trying to board the plane alone was an absolute mess. I would not recommend this airline to anyone looking to fly to Europe.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Munich via Dusseldorf
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"seats are cramped to the limit"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Flying from VIE to Westerland, Sylt your options are limited as Air Berlin is the only airline with an acceptable layover. As a Star Alliance Gold member I would clearly prefer LH but the routing would require a overnight stay in MUC - so not a plausible alternative. Well, the routing is the only positive thing about AB - everything else is dreadful. The seats are cramped to the limit, the service is no-frill and literally non-existent, the staff lack friendliness and experience, etc. This was definitely my last attempt on AB. The next time I would rather take the train from Hamburg.
AircraftA320, Dash 400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Sylt via Dusseldorf
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I was really pleasantly surprised"

(Germany)

Verified Review | This was the first trip I tried Air Berlin's (then) new business class service for Europe. I was really pleasantly surprised. This is in my view a much better product than LH or the likes offer. I like that you can get any food or snacks you want from their trolley at no extra charge. This is much better than getting a pre-set tray with food you have no idea what it is. Air Berlin also had very nice hot towels. Their staff really like what they do. The only minus is that they are expensive.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCopenhagen to Berlin
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"an average budget carrier"

(United States)

Verified Review | This is an average budget carrier, and certainly not anything close to a full service airline. Flight to Milan was approximately 30 minutes late leaving Berlin, not even water was offered for free while inflight (would have preferred free water to the chocolate heart they offer upon existing the aircraft), and the luggage took painfully long to reach the belt on arrival. I would consider them again if the ticket is cheap and the duration of the flight is short.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Milan
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline ever"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Berlin to Copenhagen. Worst airline ever. They just lost me and my friend as customers! We booked (two fairly expansive tickets, 390€) 3 months ago and when we came to the check in we are told we are on stand by due to overbooking. We didn't get any information before hand. Not any texts or emails. We were randomly picked and we were not the last ones to check in, we were actually early. I don't know why they chose us because the man behind the desk didn't answer any of our questions and he was rude and just wanted to get rid of us. So now we're sittning here at Tegel Airport and we have to wait 5 hours until the next flight leaves. Great times.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Copenhagen
Date FlownJuly 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Quality was decent for a budget carrier"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Berlin to Copenhagen on an Airbus A320. Quality was decent for a budget carrier. Check-in staff did the job, but the counters of Air Berlin on TXL were understaffed. There were issues with getting the aircraft prepared on time. The aircraft was bare and just "the norm." Seats were alright for the short flight. There was no cabin service or beverages, but given that this was a short haul flight on a budget carrier it was understandable. Recommended only if you are really on a budget. I would take SAS if I was to do this again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Copenhagen
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"do not offer good quality"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Air Berlin is by far the worst airline I have ever flown on. They are always delayed, and for my flight from Berlin to Vienna they didn't even post it on the screens. I can't think of any positive over other airlines. They are not the cheapest and do not offer good quality. This airline fails on every aspect of being an airline. Will never fly with them again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBerlin to Vienna
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"try to use German Airlines but AB is a shame"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Flew Berlin to Munich. Delays and problems with handling luggage is not addressed here since this might be an issue of the airports. Nevertheless it is unbelievable what Air Berlin delivers to its customers. 1) The system delivers a seat which cannot be changed - if you are about 6'3" it's a real pleasure to have a middle seat. 2) Air Berlin might have economic problems but that does not mean they must give cheapen their "customer-relationship". I am German and so try to use German Airlines but AB is a shame.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Munich
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no