Vote Now  

Air Berlin

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 439 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"incompetent and disorganized airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | I traveled from New York to Warsaw in April 2017. Returning from New York was delayed two hours so I missed the connecting flight to Warsaw. Air Berlin put us on a flight to Amsterdam and on another flight from Amsterdam to Warsaw. On top of that my luggage was lost and I had to wait three hours for it to arrive. Air Berlin get on the ball. Never have I seen such incompetent and disorganized airline. Never again will I fly Air Berlin.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Warsaw via Berlin
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst experience with an airline"

(Romania)

Verified Review | Bucharest to Miami vis Sibiu, Munich. My worst experience with an airline so far. 3 weeks before departure, they changed dates and hours - technically I could choose to get my money back, but buying from another company with such short notice would have been much more expensive - what I paid for was Bucharest to Miami with one stop, what I got was the same with 3 stops - what I paid for was Miami to Bucharest with one stop, what I got was the same with 2 stops. I had to book a hotel room for one night in Berlin because the flights were not in the same day after the change they made (still waiting for a refund), and they failed to deliver the luggage in Miami. It arrived after 2 days - out of 4 Air Berlin flights, 3 were delayed by approx 1 hour each. AirBerlin call-center is bad. They say on the web-site is 24h, but that's not true. If you call them when they don't work, they don't say come back at operating hours. They just let you listen to bad music indefinitely on your own expense. and when they do answer, they even give incorrect answers (like saying Bucharest to Munich is a direct flight, which was certainly not.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBucharest to Miami
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Reserved seat was ignored"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Palma de Mallorca. Reserved seat was ignored, it looks not unusual. My family booked 4 seat together beforehand in website. But boading pass we got in airport forced us to seat far location each other. One lady kindly changed her seat for my son 8 years old to my next seat. She was forced to seat separately with her husband instead. My wife and daughter 11 years old are forced to seat one by one separately.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Palma de Mallorca
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"how useless Air Berlin are"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I recently flew from Bangkok to Warsaw with Etihad. No problems with the Etihad flight but they code share with Air Berlin for the Abu Dhabi to Berlin leg and again Air Berlin on the Berlin to Warsaw leg. The fun began when I was informed my Berlin to Warsaw flight was cancelled resulting in me hanging around for hours for the next flight - ok that's a pain but not the end of the world. What happened next just proved to me how useless Air Berlin are. Having arrived in Warsaw I then found out they had lost all of my 3 bags, the handling company in Warsaw could tell me nothing because they rely on Air Berlin for information and I was one of over 100 people who had the same problem . I tried to get information on what was going on but you can not - there is no telephone no to speak to someone just a website that tells you they are looking for the bags, which is just frustrating not helpful. After 4 days of wearing the same clothes all my bags were found but no offer of an apology or compensation for me having to spend 4 days with no clothes to change and no toiletries to freshen up.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbu Dhabi to Warsaw via Berlin
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a shameful lack of service"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Prague to Berlin. The worst customer service I have experienced in 30 years of global travel. I and thousand of other had their luggage lost at Tegel airport this easter weekend. No customer service. You are directed to WISAG who they have outsource the baggage handling to. All WISAG does is direct you to a iPad and make you file your own report. Huge line up, hours long, only one clerk. They never email you to tell you the status of your baggage, they never answer the phone numbers given, they never answer the emails sent. It's been 4 days zero response. Called the Air Berlin reservation number and they say call WISAG. WISAG is totally non responsive. So basically Air Berlin says we don't care not our problem it is your problem. Destroyed my easter weekend. Flying home without luggage. Only shopping day during the holiday was Saturday which I spent replacing cloths. Air Berlin has provided a shameful lack of service. I read they delayed there long haul flights because they have a new company handling their luggage. They have been on the job since March 26 and they are even more useless than the old company. T
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Berlin
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst service in business class"

(Dominican Republic)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Duesseldorf. The worst service in a business class cabin I've received. There was nothing that I could say positive about this flight 7481 of Air Berlin departing April 8 from JFK to Dusseldorf. Arrived at JFK with more than 3 hours in advance. There were people in the priority /business line waiting because the two staff that attended the site, were gone for a break , and no other attendance paid attention to us. Suddenly another travelers that arrived after us were allowed to go through, and when I complained, a very young man responded that they were attending first the Berlin passengers (was no way this gentleman could know, without asking, whether I was going also to Berlin?) When we arrived at the time of boarding (we were told at the counter that there was going to be a 25 minutes delay), we had to wait for an hour without anybody explaining what was going on. We later found out that they had to switch the aircraft, and make the catering. When we finally boarded, never were we were approached by our names, I had to wear my jacket, since nobody came to ask for it. Food (bad catering), but that was not all. My dinner selection was Rissotto with a pinot grigio; the staff brought me the rissotto with a red wine; when I told her that that was not my wine, and that I order the grigio, I think I spoke in esperanto, since she had no idea what I was talking about: I said white wine, and she said ok, and she never came back with the wine. Tire of waiting, I sipped a horrible red wine, and my wife took it and changed it for a chardonnay she was having. Dessert with the whole tray occupied with the other plates. The cabin was a mess, the flight staff spent the flight running, coming and going, and that is the reason why I did not have the chance to request for some better treatment. My only comfort was that this was a 6 hours flight. At the end, when we were to land the flight attendant asked me to put my jacket back since I couldn't have it in my hands. A business ticket with an economy class treatment.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew York JFK to Duesseldorf
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"check-in staff unfriendly and impatient"

(Israel)

Verified Review | Tel Aviv to Berlin with Air Berlin. So everything starts in the airport. We arrived at the airport 3 hours before the flight. The check-in staff were really unfriendly and impatient. Told us that the flight was full and we can't move for another seats (we sat near the toilet) but when we arrived at the airplane we saw a lot of free seats. After the takeoff, we were expecting for a little snack or a sandwich but we didn't get anything the whole flight. It's unbelievable because we paid 800$ per ticket. I don't know what's the problem with Air Berlin because it's not the first time I am flying with them. At the past they were an excellent airline. Not recommended.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTel Aviv to Berlin
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"will not choose again"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Went on a round trip Stockholm-Berlin for a long weekend. On the way, the Air Berlin flight was about 30 min late. When landing in Berlin, there were no buses that could take us to the terminal. We were stuck in the plane for about 30 min before any buses came. We are now on the way back to Stockholm, and the latest information says that the flight is 40 min delayed. Just hoping to get home soon. I will not choose Air Berlin again, no matter how cheap the tickets are.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Stockholm
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Great service and friendly crew"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Berlin. Great service and friendly crew. When I booked, I saw some people reporting bad reviews about them, I was sceptical. I must say I was beyond happy and grateful that I flew with them.
AircraftA330 DH4
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteNew York JFK to Berlin
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"cabin crew was unfriendly"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Abu Dhabi to Berlin. The cabin crew in our section was unfriendly. When asked for milk for my coffee she just waved it, never said a word, no smiles, no response in English. I had the person next to me translate. Nobody looked at passengers when we entered the plane, the crew talked to each other and we were just not greeted with a smile like all other companies I have flown with. I had to make this review, as it was not a good atmosphere, I felt really uncomfortable and it was quite a long flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbu Dhabi to Berlin
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no