Top 100 Airlines  

Air Berlin

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 354 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"would fly Air Berlin again"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | I flew Air Berlin from Vienna to Puerto Plata via Düsseldorf on 11th April, returning 23rd April 2016. The longer part of the flight was with A330-200, and not so much space for legs. The flight was on time, cabin crew okay. On the way to Puerto plata (9 hours) we got 2 hot meals and one snack, on the return flight (8hours overnight) we got a hot dinner and then breakfast and bottle of water. Drinks are served often. I was disappointed because we were not offered free headphones and got only cushion and blanket (no toothbrush, eye mask etc). Entertainment during the flight was okay (your own screen with movies, games etc), on the outbound flight the airshow didn´t work, which was unpleasant. All in all it was okay, but do not expect nothing special in economy class. I would fly with Air Berlin again.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVIE to POP via DUS
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"had nothing to complain about"

(United States)

I flew with Air Berlin for the first time on Tuesday March 29th from Munich to Berlin. It was my first time flying with Air Berlin and I had nothing to complain about. Flight price was good. Cabin service was nice. They even served you beer and chips on a 45 minute flight and gave us chocolate as you exit the plane.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMUC to TXL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"cabin crew were outstanding"

(United Kingdom)

Must say I was pleasantly surprised by Air Berlin. Boarding at Tegel is a little chaotic only because of no priority line (given the small airport/individual security at the gates). For some reason German efficiency never applies at security at any German airport, anywhere, but that's another matter. Boarding was easy and smooth and quickly given champagne. Didn't get to see the AB lounge at Tegel. For return used the American lounge at JFK-nothing special, but this is American/OneWorld in general. No arrivals facilities/showers though at Berlin. On both legs the cabin crew were outstanding: efficient service, but also fun/friendly people who clearly enjoyed their jobs, which is not what you typically get flying anymore. My only advice would be to try to be sure to get a window seat or the middle section if you have no one next to you; the aisle seats in their configuration (similar to Delta's) feel a bit exposed. The privacy in the seats I had was much better than lots of business class products I've flown recently. Overall I enjoyed Air Berlin better than BA, Delta or several other business classes I've flown transatlantic, but avoid Tegel for transit and avoid aisle seats.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTXL to JFK
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"the experience was great"

(United States)

Chicago to Berlin with Air Berlin, and the experience was great. Seat comfort and flight service good, price for business was outstanding. Video entertainment limited, but not of great importance to me. I'm 6'3" and lay flat seats were fine. I would avoid seats on the aisle as they have less privacy. Only issue was AirBerlin lounge was outside of the secure area at Berlin, so you could not linger to last moment because you still had immigration and security to pass thru.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteORD to TXL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"probably use them again"

(Canada)

Stockholm to Zurich via Berlin on Air Berlin. Check-in at Stockholm was poorly organized. After waiting in line for 20 minutes I was told I could have used the priority lane because I had checked on line. There was no signage to indicate that was an option. Boarding was reasonably organized. On board, both aircraft had clean and well-kept interior. The service was basic but included a snack on both legs. Flights left and arrived on time but the transfer in Berlin was not as smooth as it required a change of terminal and the time allotted was barely enough. FA's warm and polite on the first leg but not so on the second. Disembarkation via bus in Berlin and in Zurich was annoying as there were several vacant air-bridges. It was an verge experience but I would probably use them again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteARN to ZRH via TXL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Would fly Air Berlin again"

(United States)

New York to Berlin. Surprised and pleased with all aspects of flight, from check-in, in flight service and even a great landing, prompting us to let the pilot know. Not a first time traveler by any means, and I have experienced all levels of service. Cabin crew very polite and efficient. Two free food services in economy (food was adequate), and on the A330, so many free entertainment options. Just a delightful experience. Would fly Air Berlin again.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to TGL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"last time I will fly Air Berlin"

(Israel)

I flew Berlin to Tel Aviv overnight. There was not enough pillows or blankets for everyone. My seat in row 13 would not recline backwards - even though the seats behind had extra space (35 euro extra), and the pitch of the seat made it impossible to get comfortable. The snack was a joke - chocolate or a packet of crisps. It was obvious they where only concerned in increasing revenue by pushing people to buy overpriced food. Its the last time I will fly Air Berlin.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTXL to TLV
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"seat pitch not very good"

(Netherlands)

Zurich to Dusseldorf via Berlin, and two full flights but Air Berlin does the job well. Still with drink, snack and chocolate heart, but usually much more expensive than say Eurowings. Crew with no smiles with the odd arrogant crew member. The flights were punctual, seat pitch not very good however.
AircraftA319 / A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZRH to DUS via TXL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"seats appeared very cramped"

(Germany)

Flew Air Berlin for the first time last week. From the start of online booking I began to have serious doubts; poor user interface, deceptive pricing and more. The airfares initially shown are not comparable to competing airlines because of Air Berlin a la carte pricing. A rule of thumb would be to add at least €70/person when flying within Europe to make a realistic comparison. Amazingly, the staff made the determination of overweight baggage by lifting my hand carry themselves. An airline can't extract more junk fees based on their subjective impression of weight. They must have a certified scale! Onboard after a chaotic boarding the seats appeared to be very cramped but cabin service was efficient.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMUC to TXL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"awful seating arrangement"

(United States)

New York to Zurich via Düsseldorf with Air Berlin, and awful seating arrangement for their A330 business class. I can't figure out for the life of me as to why they would comaprtmentalize the business class seats. I am 6 foot 4 and I do not fit lengthwise in their seats (in "bed" mode). Their service, food and entertainment is great, but they need to redesign their business class seating. There are many areas in business class that have unused pockets of space - pockets that can be utilized for a more comfortable seating experience.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJFK to ZRH via DUS
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no