Air Berlin

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 523 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Air Berlin customer review

Review by (Germany)

Flew on leisure as a couple. Tried to book window/aisle seats in advance (16 EUR per person and segment). Airline said "no it's against the regulations" and forced us to book either window/middle or middle/aisle seat. Never heard of such regulation before. Other than that the usual mediocre AB service standards, chaotic check-in and boarding. You get what you pay for.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteTXL to ACE
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Air Berlin customer review

Review by (Hong Kong)

Flight started with two hours delay though the plane arrived in Rome from a previous flight with only marginal delay. Boarding was a total chaos with no pre-boarding for status clients. No reasons for a delay were given before boarding and no announcements were made by ground staff. Flight was then rerouted to Hannover with a subsequent 3 hour bus ride to Berlin because the airport in Berlin closes at 11 pm. and the flight left Rome only at 10.40 pm. The passengers were not informed until 15 minutes before the plane landed in Hannover though it must have been clear in Rome before the start that the flight was not going to Berlin.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteRome to Berlin
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

Air Berlin customer review

Review by (Canada)

Boarding at Zurich was well organized and staff were helpful. The cabin of the A320 was clean and neat. The seat, 19F, was a standard slimline seat with some recline and padding. Legroom was mediocre and was tolerable for the 2hr flight (I am 5'9"). The flight was very noisy as there were many families travelling on the flight, but I was able to sleep a bit, the seats were not all that uncomfortable. Cabin service was decent for a LCC, with some complementary snacks and drinks. In-Flight Entertainment on the overhead screens was not very great (mix of sitcoms and comedy TV-Shows) so bringing a book or tablet/laptop with your own movies or shows is recommended. It should also be noted that the seats do not have so be sure to fully charge your devices before using them on-board. Cabin crew were very helpful and kind. Overall the flight was ok, but not extraordinary. I would consider flying with Air Berlin again, but I'll give some preference to larger European flag-carriers.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteZRH to ALC
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Air Berlin customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Good service from the cabin crew. Seat had lots of space and the interior of the aircraft was clean. I will definitely be recommending the airline.
AircraftDHC-6
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteKrakow to London Heathrow via Berlin
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Air Berlin customer review

Review by (United Arab Emirates)

We had to disembark the plane due to brake failure and spend the night at a hotel. No one to show us where to go to get hotel voucher etc. Due to it being around 11pm the hotel was not offering any food and I was told I could go downstairs in the airport where there was a supermarket. Drag my luggage down there now. The next day I check in only to discover my boarding tag was made out to some woman continuing on to Bangkok. I told them I was going to Abu Dhabi only, but the guy at the check in counter said it was ok. So back to the service desk. They issue me a new boarding pass and ensure my luggage would arrive in Abu Dhabi. Of course it didn't, and to make matters worse, they did not give me a claim ticket on the new pass. Again no apology. After clearing security I am asked to return to the ticket counter. Back through the airport again. All they wanted was to say my luggage would be ok and to apologize. At least someone finally said they were sorry. I get to the gate and the plane was latte leaving by an hour. Very arrogant and ignorant people at the gate. As people said earlier, bad food and tiny seats.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDusseldorf to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Air Berlin customer review

Review by (Belgium)

As platinum and very loyal customer to Etihad we tried this year the Etihad partner Air Berlin to fly from Dusseldorf to Los Angeles (good ticket price, non-stop connection, earning Etihad miles and according to the website of Etihad also access to the lounge). But, no access to the lounge in Los Angeles (afterwards Etihad confirmed but their typical customer service apology e-mails. No miles seen yet, Etihad is working on it (after another apology e-mail). During the flight to Los Angeles: only a couple of movies possible to watch due to technical issues, it was a very long flight. No priority lane boarding, chaos in Dusseldorf during boarding, very small seating, pitch 30. Very bad. Not child-friendly. Very unfriendly crew. I'm used to the excellent service of Etihad and question why Etihad is partening with this kind of low-budget / non-customer focused airline.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDusseldorf to Los Angeles
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Air Berlin customer review

Review by (Colombia)

On time flights, smooth check-in process. Nice, clean aircraft, friendly crew. Awful pre-ordered Sansibar lunch, but nice beverage available to buy. Overall a good option. Will fly them again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBerlin Tegel to Madrid
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Air Berlin customer review

Review by (United States)

Changed gate with no notice on board, made hundreds of already checked in customers wait in a hallway near the gate for over an hour with no explanation or communication of any kind. There was no reason for the wait except to tell us that the flight was delayed 5 more hours, and to give us a tiny credit to one food concession stand which could not come close to paying for the lunch we were now going to need to buy in the airport. We showed up to the proper gate early only to be told there was an additional hours delay. Got on board only to be told there would be another hours delay. Husband who is 5'9 and 150 lbs was unable to sit in his seat without his knees cutting into the metal frame structure of the back of the seat ahead of him. His seat did not recline at all and his screen for movies/tv did not work. He was in pain and discomfort for the whole time we waited on-board.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDusseldorf, Germany to JFK, USA
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

Air Berlin customer review

Review by (United States)

With a business class ticket we got into the admiral club at JFK. Club was neat, comfortable, offered two cocktails and pre-flight snacks including a corn bisque which was quite good. Boarding the plane was quick and soon enough we were airborne. The A332 is roomy but the seats in business were tight and at times a bit uncomfortable. Without an air control, the temp got really sweaty and hot. Sleeping was rough! Food was sufficient but there was no prior cocktail service. Nothing was offered. After asking, the FA was cordial and served us the drinks of choice. Service was professional and exceptionally quick. Flight was safe and upon arriving on route to Rhodes, the lounge in Germany was a great place to get a rest and some complimentary breakfast, the lounge was better than AA's admiral's club at JFK. Dependable but nothing special for a business class service. Would rather fly American Business.
AircraftA332
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJFK to Düsseldorf
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Air Berlin customer review

Review by (Germany)

The new business class is outstanding. Service is top notch, so are the food and drink. The seats are comfortable and have a massage function included. The way they are placed gives you loads of privacy. Way better than Lufthansa, KLM etc.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTXL to LAX via DUS
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes