Shanghai Pudong Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 163 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"This airport needs some management help"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This airport needs some management help. The inside is clean and security isn’t bad but could be improved. The shops are plentiful but not much in food options so recommend eating before security. The China Eastern sky lounge is always packed too much and very hard to find seats. My biggest issue with this airport is the constant non use of a jetway. 4 times already they have made my Delta flight from Detroit disembark on the tarmac and take a bus. This is not good for travelers who have been on a plane for 14 hours. Plus I was in a leg cast and had to figure a way downstairs with no help. What is this airport thinking on having passengers get off of an international flight to a non jetway in the 21st century. That’s why I give bad review and will advise people to avoid this airport but the other airport at SHA, does the same thing so your screwed either way. Just be prepared for that is all I have to say.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airport I have been to"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | By far the worst airport I have been to in my life and I travel a lot. Smelly dirty and impolite staff that won’t even attempt to speak English. Don’t expect anything from the Busiess or senator lounge eat elsewhere terrible food that looks like it’s been out for hours! For a city of close to 30 million and many tourist coming through this airport it’s appalling! If you want to be state owned then look after it!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"What a screwed-up airport"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | What a screwed-up airport. I was a transit passenger from San Francisco going to Bangkok via Shanghai Pudong. Upon arrival in Shanghai, I had to be finger printed, passport scanned and facial recognition taken before I could proceed. Then I had to obtain a transit visa, go through passport control, finger prints and facial recognition taken a second time. I was then forced to exit into the baggage claim area, even though all my bags were checked through to Bangkok. I had to exit the airport arrival area, go upstairs to departures and check back in with the airline, even though I had a boarding pass. Next step security control, long lines and yes, you guessed it, passport control where they scanned my finger prints again for the third time and facial recognition. Approximate transit time 1 hour. Luckily I had 2 1/2 hours between flights. To access WiFi in the Air China lounge, yes they scanned my passport again and my email and telephone number were required. FYI - China blocks many websites such as Google, Facebook, Line, so communicating via social media is next to impossible. Bottom line is transiting through a Chinese airport is a big hassle and time consuming with collection of your personal data many, many times.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Stay away from China Transit"

(United States)

Trip Verified | After exiting from the plane to the arrival hall, everyone went into a bank of electronic machines to scan the passport. There is no sign telling people what to do. I just follow the crowd. I scanned my passport and placed my left 4 fingers on the glass plate. The machine kept on repeating “place your 4 fingers on the glass plate” and having countdown timing. After 2 minutes I hailed down an officer stood by 5-feet away and asked for help. He said, “Never mind, the immigration officer will do the finger printing process for you. It’s the same.” I explained that I was on transit and asked where I should go next. He directed me to take the escalator going down to the immigration “Dee Err Tai”. After I descended the escalator, I saw in front of me long lines of people facing windows #30, #32, #34, …#46, #48 a hundred meter to the left and right. There was an information booth in front of the escalator. I spoke in fluent Mandarin that I was on transit immediately and asked location of window #2. He pointed to the line directly in front which is window #34 and instructed me, “GO THERE!”. I waited in line in the “foreigner” section and after 20 minutes the immigration officer asked me for the visa form. That was the line applying for China entry Visa. So, the guy in the information booth just not bother to listen carefully and shoo me away. I was told to walk to the end of the building where there is window #2. There was no sign that I had to fill out a form for a temporary 24 hour transit visa but I saw a table with all the forms and fill it out anyway. There was a young woman with her 6 years old child in front of me. The officer gave her hard time asking for more document. Eventually, the woman was allowed to proceed for transit. After the facial recognition photo taking and finger print, I found a small sticker of 24 hour transit visa stamp affixed to my passport page. I had also to fill out a bottom stub to give to the immigration when exiting China. It is strange that there is no matching number with the top part of the card so that later immigration can match up and speedup processing in recognizing that this person has entered and exited the country. I waited 10 minutes to pick up my luggage from the carousel. There was at least a hundred other passengers placing their luggage into the X-ray machine and walked pass the green “Nothing to Declare” custom lane. This take times and eventually I was officially exit the airport. It’s a long 10 hours layover and only a bank of chairs in front of all the checkin counter. This section is fully seated with all the Chinese. People was cursing and yelling loudly into their phone regardless of the person sat next to him. His voice literally can be heard a block away. People are coughing /sneezing without covering their mouth or nose (I guess that’s how I caught the common cold suffering sickness 4 days later). I waited 7 hours and check in my luggage, got a new ticket (they don’t take the ticket issued from the airline flying to final destination). I gone thru security and immigration, onward to the gate. The ticket agent scanned the ticket and checked the passport, just ten feet away was another officer rechecking my passport then enter the plane. Stay away from China Transit. Save yourself aggravation.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Customer service is so horrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | This has to be the worst Airport I’ve ever been to in my life. Customer service is so horrible it’s a shame this is an international airport. I’m from the U.S and no one we found speaks any English whatsoever and if you ask if they do they just shake their head and keep on walking. It’s unfortunate that I had to stop at this airport enroute to Hong Kong. Never again to this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"frustrating and poorly organized airport"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | A very frustrating and poorly organized airport. Upon arrival it took 30 minutes from a very remote part of the airport to Immigration. (I catch this flight every weekend so I know it is standard). It then took 50 minutes to clear immigration and we still had to wait quite some time for the bags to arrive. After an absurdly long wait for baggage you are met with a huge queue to leave the airport. All bags are scanned again to search for gifts or luxury products they can charge duty on. They rarely find anything as the security are laughing, play fighting and horsing around rather that looking at the security cameras. Shanghai airport staff have a unique unprofessionalism I have never seen anywhere else. Departure is a similar debacle, I arrived at the airport with 1 and half hours before my flight. (10.50 as the flight was 12.20) Unfortunately bags are scanned before entering the airport by a similar disinterested and unfocused security person, yawning and dozing and occasionally looking at the screen. ‘Security check 1’ this took 35 minutes just to get into the airport and by the time I went to check in the flight had closed. It’s important to add that check in staff can be rude at best. They found me a seat on the 1.00 pm flight which gave me 1 and a half hours to reach the gate. The usual chaos that takes place at immigration and security meant that after waiting in line for almost an hour I had to be rushed through security as I was going to miss yet another flight. The gate had been changed without any notice on the main board to the complete opposite side of the airport. Anything this airport can get wrong they will with flying colours. They have the latest infrastructure but it seems when they get a system that is efficient they immediately change it to create complete chaos. I dread using this airport! They have excessive security checks but the sheer lack of serious professionalism across almost all support staff makes you feel as if a person could carry anything through their security.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"unique unprofessionalism"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | A very frustrating and poorly organized airport. Upon arrival it took 30 minutes from a very remote part of the airport to Immigration. (I catch this flight every weekend so I know it is standard). It then took 50 minutes to clear immigration and we still had to wait quite some time for the bags to arrive. After an absurdly long wait for baggage you are met with a huge queue to leave the airport. All bags are scanned again to try and squeeze some extra money in duty for gifts or luxury products they find in suitcases. Sadly they rarely find anything as the security are laughing, play fighting and horsing around rather that looking at the security cameras. Shanghai airport staff have a unique unprofessionalism I have never seen anywhere else. Departure is a similar debacle, I arrived at the airport with 1 and half hours before my flight. (10.50 as the flight was 12.20) Unfortunately bags are ‘scanned before entering the airport by a similar disinterested and unfocused security person, yawning and dozing and occasionally looking at the screen. ‘Security check 1’ this took 35 minutes just to get into the airport and by the time I went to check in the flight had closed. It’s important to add that check in staff can be rude at best. They found me the worst seat they could on a 1.00 pm flight which gave me 1 and a half hours to reach the gate. The usual chaos that takes place at immigration and security meant that after waiting in line for almost an hour I had to be rushed through security as I was going to miss yet another flight. Expectedly, the gate had been changed without any notice on the main board to the complete opposite side of the airport. Anything this airport can get wrong they will with flying colours. They have the latest infrastructure but it seems when they get a system that is efficient they immediately change it to create complete chaos. Frankly I am shocked that they don’t feel any shame or embarrassment for delivering a system that could be improved by a 5 year old. I dread using this airport! They have excessive security checks but the sheer lack of serious professionalism across almost all support staff makes you feel unsafe. Still have to say the treatment of passengers is still better than in any US airport I have visited!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Food choices were meagre"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I am a Star Alliance Gold member, so I was not overly concerned when I was facing a ten-hour layover at this airport: I thought I would spend it in the lounge and get a good day's worth of work done. Not so fast: you must enter China and transit without a visa if you connect between terminals 1 and 2. Going through immigration is relatively straightforward if you know that you need the blue slip and not the yellow slip. The queue was long, taking about 45 minutes to clear. If you do not know that you need the blue slip, you have to do the whole procedure of queuing up twice. Don't expect anybody to speak English or be helpful in any way. Online check-in was not permitted, so once I cleared immigration, I had to wait until the counters opened about four hours before the flight. So six hours were spent in the grimy public area, repeatedly harassed by people trying to sell me iPhones and taxi rides. Vegan food is not available. Once I could finally check in, I went to the lounge. It is one of the worst I have seen. Food choices were meagre, particularly for vegans, but to their credit, they had some nice loose tea. The rest area was very noisy and not particularly conducive to get work done.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I’ve seen"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airport I’ve ever seen in my 33 years of traveling. When we went through customs they had 1 booth open with a very long long. We waited one hour, which means people behind us could have waited up to three. Every staff member ranged from unwelcoming to rude. I asked one how to get to terminal 2 and he literally shrugged his shoulders and walked away. The food options were literally beef or pork, everywhere. I eat neither. It’s probably the worst airport we could have spent 10 hours in, we were going to try and explore Shanghai a bit but gave up due to everyone’s attitude and how confusing the airport was to navigate.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"It's a horrible terminal"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Shanghai was a connection with China Eastern Airlines. I will pay more and take longer journeys to avoid Pudong Airport. The international terminal is very dated. There are no charging stations or outlets per seat. It's 2019, that is unheard of. They do have a few charging stations. There is roughly 2 per gate with not all working. And, those stations are only for two people (one each side). Doing the math, 2 people can charge per gate. In my 2-layovers totaling 10 hours, I saw only 1 security guard and he was standing at Starbucks getting coffee. He wasn't concerned that most of the seats are used by people sleeping on them (mainly one particular race). However, no one was there to get them to sit up so people could sit. Passengers are standing because people are using 3-4 seats so they can lay. Others are using empty seats for their bags. There was a bratty child who's parents were lying on the seats while he was trying to fly his drone in the terminal. He hit multiple people with it but no one was there to correct it. I used the kiosk to get internet. the code never worked. Asking the staff, they had no idea. It's a horrible terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no