Shanghai Pudong Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 155 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst airport I’ve seen"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airport I’ve ever seen in my 33 years of traveling. When we went through customs they had 1 booth open with a very long long. We waited one hour, which means people behind us could have waited up to three. Every staff member ranged from unwelcoming to rude. I asked one how to get to terminal 2 and he literally shrugged his shoulders and walked away. The food options were literally beef or pork, everywhere. I eat neither. It’s probably the worst airport we could have spent 10 hours in, we were going to try and explore Shanghai a bit but gave up due to everyone’s attitude and how confusing the airport was to navigate.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"It's a horrible terminal"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Shanghai was a connection with China Eastern Airlines. I will pay more and take longer journeys to avoid Pudong Airport. The international terminal is very dated. There are no charging stations or outlets per seat. It's 2019, that is unheard of. They do have a few charging stations. There is roughly 2 per gate with not all working. And, those stations are only for two people (one each side). Doing the math, 2 people can charge per gate. In my 2-layovers totaling 10 hours, I saw only 1 security guard and he was standing at Starbucks getting coffee. He wasn't concerned that most of the seats are used by people sleeping on them (mainly one particular race). However, no one was there to get them to sit up so people could sit. Passengers are standing because people are using 3-4 seats so they can lay. Others are using empty seats for their bags. There was a bratty child who's parents were lying on the seats while he was trying to fly his drone in the terminal. He hit multiple people with it but no one was there to correct it. I used the kiosk to get internet. the code never worked. Asking the staff, they had no idea. It's a horrible terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely terrible"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport in the world! Smelly toilets! Long queues! Had to walk in the cold and rain to the plane! Waiting lounges were as cold as a fridge with zero heating! Terrible! Simply and absolutely terrible!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"hope that the signage becomes more clear"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Roughly 5 hour HK/INTL transit, all on Air China Terminal 2. First got fingerprinted at a kiosk and obtained a receipt which was easy. Next I got upstairs and saw a sign for transit passengers, yet still somehow managed to wait in the wrong line. I became quite upset. Ultimately though I was shown the correct line and got a 24 hour visa free transit stamp. I then had to exit through customs as there was no separate lane leading to the gates for transit passengers. Since I was outside the secure area anyway, I went outside and got some fresh air. There was a small lake and a wooded area right near the terminal. I didn't feel I had adequate time to visit the city, but it was a possibility. Finally I went back inside and went through the exit passport check and security and got into the gate area. Overall a nice clean terminal with plenty of seating, clean restrooms, and water dispensers. In short however, I was quite disappointed that the transit experience was so different from the one in Beijing, where if you had an immediate connection you could simply follow a clearly marked and only slightly tedious path to get right to your connecting gate, without having to fill out any paperwork. I hope that the signage in Shanghai becomes more clear and less confusing for international transit passengers, simply stating that you have to get a 24 hour transit stamp, so just fill out a blue card, not a yellow one, and go straight to counters number 1 or 2 at the far left hand side of the building if you're arriving in Terminal 2 as you enter to do so.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"pathetic excuse for an international airport"

(China)

Trip Verified | What a pathetic excuse for an international airport! I flew a round-trip from Pudong to New York and then when I returned to Pudong, caught a domestic flight to Nanchang. On both legs this airport was grossly understaffed. On my outbound flight only 2 of the immigration desks for foreigners were manned and most were empty. The queue was long and slow moving. Nobody came round to check if anyone had an imminent flight so it would be easy to miss your flight here. On the way back it was the same at immigration with most desks unmanned. When queuing up to check-up for my flight to Nanchang, the queues for domestic check-in in terminal 1 were so long that they stretched way beyond the snake barriers and it became confusing as to which desks passengers could use. For some reason China Eastern domestic passengers were only allowed to use the 'B' check-in area, even though the 'C' check-in area, which also belongs to China Eastern, was open but with hardly any passengers. Again many desks were unmanned and staff did nothing to assist or prevent people queue-jumping. Furthermore, seating is woefully inadequate and the staff does nothing to stop local passengers reserving seats for their friends and family hence it is often impossible to find somewhere to sit down. Overall this airport is a national embarrassment to China and passengers should try to avoid using it, especially terminal 1.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"turned out to be a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport turned out to be a nightmare. They had a two hour window which wasn't enough getting a connecting flight and missed the flight. They force passengers to collect luggage. Get fingerprinted go through security as if its not a connecting flight. Also huge queues to immigration for no reason, all signs are in Chinese, also WiFi impossile unless you speak Chinese. All passengers were forced to pay for new flights if you didn't have a credit card you would be stuck in China. My wife had to pay £400 for a new flight as everyone else did some passengers also had kids. The airport is an Incompetent mess. Who makes connecting flight passengers go through immigration and security with your whole luggage this one does its insane.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"you'll enjoy Pudong"

(United States)

Not Verified | LAX to Clark (CRK) via PVD, 21 Nov on China Eastern was smooth all the way. Boarding passes for LAX Pudong and Pudong to CRK have been printed in LAX. Luggage had been routed to CRK direct. Airline staff said "No need to get out of Pudong airport." Upon arrival at Pudong, China Eastern uses bus shuttle to transport pax to Arrivals cum Transit. Then follow foreigner transit sign, use computer (a crew is watching if you are doing it right, helps you in case of problems) to input your transit info, take photo, or finger print, then machine prints your document to show the immigration and custom staff one floor above Arrivals. Procedure is routine and basic international system, lines may be long, etc. Then find your gate! Why are other passengers crying out foul about this? Because they are not alert, are tired or dismissive. Once you are used to this procedure, you'll enjoy Pudong! and China Eastern's low low air fare!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"avoid this place if you can"

(Canada)

Not Verified | If there's ever an airport to avoid, let it be this one. Unprofessional, bureaucratic with multiple processes. Fingerprints are taken multiple times, multiple immigration lines even if you're just catching another flight. You have to take your luggage, take it through security and check it in again, then exit the airport before finding the transit area. Then go through immigration again. Most importantly, if you have a passport from a non-Western country, avoid this place if you can. They will treat you like a second-class citizen. I nearly missed my flight simply because they did not believe I had a right to transit through the country (though I was already there and had transited through China before) and because they felt my Canadian visa was fake. I've had this happen at other airports but never as humiliating as this.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"we didn’t miss our plane"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | A very big thank you to your security manager and his team! My daughter, Domino, had purchased duty free gift for her friend in Sydney at Frankfurt airport but forgot to pack this in her checked luggage. She was required to rush back to checked luggage after we’d already cleared long queues and passed through security gates. She has asthma, was jet lagged and anxious. The head of security was amazing! He sent his team to find her - we didn’t miss our plane!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a lot that can be improved"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | For a modern large airport, there is a lot that can be improved. We recently flew in at 18.30 from Sydney to take a flight to Munich at 23.55. The transit process took 3.5 hours working it out for ourselves because you have to go through passport control, reclaim luggage and check in for your ongoing destination. Here are some hints and tips: - Transit Visa needed to be filled in prior to going through customs. Look out for 24 hour visit/transit visa. It’s a blue and white form, not the yellow departure form needed if you are departing the airport. - Have a pen handy. - Passport control booths 2 and 3. - Check terminal of next departure. We landed in T1 and needed to get to T2, but made the mistake of following Transfer signs in T1 not realising. - Reclaim baggage. - T2 check-in is a long walk. If you cannot walk far, have young children or little time, see if there’s a shuttle. - Lufthansa check in took a while. - Passport control took time. - Once in departure lounge, no obvious convenient options for sleeping or showering unless you are a member of a Frequent Flyer Club with access to lounge or have access to first class lounge. We landed up resting against a glass barrier on the carpet next to our departure gate. A good position for when you board, as you then don’t need to move. - There is apparently a day room at T2 Max VIP Rooms between departure gates 25 and 26. Ran out of time to explore even with five hour wait! - USB charging ports are available. - Food options looked okay - cafes, McDonalds. - Shops open late - still open as we were boarding close to midnight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no